Postby widdyphuck » December 13th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Next year for it...
FB_IMG_1607896048102.jpeg

sotf

Re: Cellphone Import Tax

Postby sotf » December 14th, 2020, 10:08 pm

wtf wrote:Next year for it...FB_IMG_1607896048102.jpeg

I would have know about this, but apparently he has an aversion to constructive criticism and blocked me on twitter.

Postby teems1 » December 15th, 2020, 12:19 am

hover11 wrote:Seems legit the same day tax is removed the gas stations will be privatized and the concessions off hybrid vehicles will be removed to compensate for the loss of revenue from duty removed from cellphones but hey at least we will have cheaper phones.FB_IMG_1607896399571.jpeg

PC parts included here?

Security cameras also?

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2020, 5:37 am

doubt cctv included so continue to get wood from customs

teems1 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Seems legit the same day tax is removed the gas stations will be privatized and the concessions off hybrid vehicles will be removed to compensate for the loss of revenue from duty removed from cellphones but hey at least we will have cheaper phones.FB_IMG_1607896399571.jpeg

PC parts included here?

Security cameras also?

Postby SR » December 15th, 2020, 5:45 am

My thoughts exactly

Cctv products still gettin wood from customs

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2020, 5:53 am

and they does give you real attitude at the airport

"oh the law states ONLY if the entire system (cams, MONITOR, dvr) all in the SAME box, you cannot bring a single piece separate"

SR wrote:My thoughts exactly

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 16th, 2020, 8:52 am

Wonder how customs will view a smart watch given that "mobile and digital equipment" will now be exempt.

Postby adnj » December 16th, 2020, 3:28 pm

dredman1 wrote:Wonder how customs will view a smart watch given that "mobile and digital equipment" will now be exempt.
Smart watches are known as "wearable devices" by the consumer electronics industry.

Mobile devices are smartphones and computers smaller than a mainframe are classified as digital devices.

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2020, 4:36 pm

pugboy wrote:and they does give you real attitude at the airport

"oh the law states ONLY if the entire system (cams, MONITOR, dvr) all in the SAME box, you cannot bring a single piece separate"

so if it's 1 shipment but 2 boxes- still salt?

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2020, 4:47 pm

most likely
unless the boxes labeling themselves say packed in 2 boxes

redmanjp wrote:

so if it's 1 shipment but 2 boxes- still salt?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 17th, 2020, 5:54 pm

Probably been asked and mentioned before but do laptop taxes go back to normal from Jan 1st 2021?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 17th, 2020, 6:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Probably been asked and mentioned before but do laptop taxes go back to normal from Jan 1st 2021?

GreeNThuMb

Postby GreeNThuMb » December 22nd, 2020, 11:08 am

So printers too? That's an accessory... Lol ..computer speakers.. monitors?

Postby hover11 » December 22nd, 2020, 11:10 am

Printers never had duty at least the ones I brought in didn't, 3 in one printers
GreeNThuMb wrote:So printers too? That's an accessory... Lol ..computer speakers.. monitors?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 29th, 2020, 1:20 pm

So just called websource and they said that they haven't gotten information yet as to the waiving of taxes from cellphones as yet.
Just got an update on the tracking of my phone and it's supposed to be in Miami on 31st Dec. Smh the one time I didn't need them to be efficient.

Postby hover11 » December 29th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Why rush you know nothing happens on time in trini especially with the tax on laptops ordeal where ppl were refunded months after
jhonnieblue wrote:So just called websource and they said that they haven't gotten information yet as to the waiving of taxes from cellphones as yet.
Just got an update on the tracking of my phone and it's supposed to be in Miami on 31st Dec. Smh the one time I didn't need them to be efficient.
Last edited by hover11 on December 29th, 2020, 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 29th, 2020, 3:48 pm

agreed i waitin till ah man post ah invoice showing like ~100 for an I12 b4 even ordering

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » December 29th, 2020, 5:03 pm

Funny thing is I brought in some wyze cams before Christmas and was only charged vat and the online purchase tax, no duty was applied. So I'm guessing the customs officer was in a good mood that day.

Postby Chimera » December 29th, 2020, 6:58 pm

That would have been viewed as a web camera. Not a cctv camera

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2020, 12:12 pm

24e67b00-9469-4ec1-8329-7d1590bc73f5.jpg

Postby Dave » December 30th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Exempt from customs duties....what about vat?

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2020, 1:34 pm

what are the items listed under that tariff heading ?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 30th, 2020, 10:59 pm

Steups...all the time Aeropost was playing the fool...all 5 days after arrival in Miami thing now looking to ship...
Now when I banking on that lil extra day..I check today and see the status as --- ' In transit to T&T'....---
allyuh pray for meh....

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2020, 6:37 am

Nah yuh gt.
Customs close for atleast 5 days lol

Screenshot_20201231-063932_Facebook.jpeg

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 31st, 2020, 8:08 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Nah yuh gt.
Customs close for atleast 5 days lol

Screenshot_20201231-063932_Facebook.jpeg

papsss....
well let us see how it works out. Hopefully it lands tomorrow (1st Jan) and not today. not sure how they apply the tax, if it is based on the day it lands or the day it is processed in customs. :?

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2020, 8:50 am

haha, software upgrade

doubt they will back date taxes but you never know
all the cases of scotch drinking now

Postby Chimera » December 31st, 2020, 9:06 am

They probably need to upgrade so their system automatically doesn't tax the items they removed taxes on. Laptops tablets cellphones etc.

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2020, 9:47 am

no modern computer software would require days to adjust a number

Phone Surgeon wrote:They probably need to upgrade so their system automatically doesn't tax the items they removed taxes on. Laptops tablets cellphones etc.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2020, 10:00 am

Its not a complete shutoff.
Urgent packages can still be cleared

abbow

Postby abbow » December 31st, 2020, 10:10 am

who in their right mind would plan a software upgrade at this time? Its end of year, xmas into new year with cov-19 increasing the need to purchase online etc and these fools doing update.....as PEA would say...

miss me with that BS....!!