No Refund, No Exchange, No Refund on Sale Items illegal in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2020, 10:30 pm

The Consumer Affairs Division (CAD) of the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) yesterday said 45 business establishments have been found in breach of the Adverse Trade Practices Order 2000 (ATPO) during a recent surveillance exercise conducted by the division.

In a news release, the Division said the Adverse Trade Practices Order 2000 (ATPO) makes it an offence for anyone, in the course of business, to engage in certain trade practices which adversely affect the economic interests and infringe on the rights of consumers within Trinidad and Tobago.

The ATPO specifically prohibits the display and/or publication, whether on business premises, advertisements or receipts/receipt books any of the following:

• “No Refund”

• “No Exchange”

• “No Refund on Sale Items”

The consumer affairs watchdog said businesses found in contravention of the ATPO are liable:

(i) On summary conviction to a fine of $5,000 AND to imprisonment of four months or;

(ii) On conviction on indictment to a fine of $10,000 AND to imprisonment for two years.

The Consumer Affairs Division said: “All that such displays and/or publications are not in keeping with the provisions of the ATPO.

“Further, the CAD is admonishing any businesses which may still be engaging in this practice, to take immediate steps to remove any offending phrases or signs in their establishments or on bill/receipt books and to ensure that they comply with all established consumer protection laws as part of their commercial practices.

The Government department requested that consumer be on the alert for displays such as those described above and to report to the Consumer Affairs Division any such discoveries via our Facebook page @ConsumerAffairsTT, e-mail at consumeraffairs@gov.tt or toll free hotline, 800-4277.

The division said it remains committed to ensuring the protection and empowerment of all consumers and intends to continue these surveillance checks in the coming weeks.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... 3c205.html

The amount of businesses I see doing this locally

Re: No Refund, No Exchange, No Refund on Sale Items illegal in T&T

Postby gastly369 » November 21st, 2020, 11:25 pm

Need to do some flyers with this for few shops around by me yes

Postby RedVEVO » November 22nd, 2020, 7:54 am

Wonder if this applies to food establishments.

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2020, 8:48 am

jockey shorts?

Postby shogun » November 22nd, 2020, 3:24 pm

sMASH wrote:jockey shorts?

Postby Chimera » November 22nd, 2020, 4:29 pm

I went into a hardware today in mc bean and bought a gworx deadbolt combo. The staff tell me 2 or 3 times it have no warranty. I say no scene. When I go to install it I realize why. For nothing the deadbolt working properly.

I'll probably go be an muffler bearing about it Monday.

Gworx deadbolt $130
Any other brand $260 up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2020, 10:17 pm

Postby Gem_in_i » November 24th, 2020, 10:48 pm

So many businesses do this and who been charged?

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » November 24th, 2020, 11:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

neva say nuttin about the act of denyin people a refund...

customer:"excuse me...i wa a refund on meh sou sou"
manager:"WE DOH GIV REFUND!!!"
customer:"it hav no sign sayin dat!"
manager:"yuh deaf oar!! IT HAV NO REFUND"

Postby redmanjp » November 24th, 2020, 11:46 pm

my car battery invoice have ah stamp 'NO REFUND/EXCHANGE ON TOOLS AND ELECTRICAL ITEMS'

Postby Ben_spanna » November 25th, 2020, 10:37 am

This will carry obvious exceptions and customers need to understand that as well and not be a total acka55, if you custom order down something or something special to be made thats not stock, you cannot ask for a refund or exchange if its NOT a stocking item.