UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Re: UNC Internal Election 2020

Postby Rovin » November 28th, 2020, 7:14 pm

anybody does take he orn anymore

anyway somehow i get a feeling certain things are being stacked against vasant in favor of kamla, like she supporters still look up to her as some kinda goddess & still driving that 1 day she go be their pm again

poo nm ppl must be looking orn & happy like pappy ...

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2020, 8:57 pm

UNC not important at this stage.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 28th, 2020, 9:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:UNC not important at this stage.
To topple the institution that is the PNM, they need a different strategy and leadership. The petty internal bickering doh look good from outside, but they running a scorched earth policy in there.

Postby paid_influencer » November 28th, 2020, 9:21 pm

we officially one week away from the UNC Internal Election.

just one week away folks

Postby MaxPower » November 28th, 2020, 9:22 pm

zoom rader wrote:UNC not important at this stage.

Exactly..

I just happen to open the thread by accident.

Here irrelevant.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 28th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Rovin wrote:anybody does take he orn anymore

anyway somehow i get a feeling certain things are being stacked against vasant in favor of kamla, like she supporters still look up to her as some kinda goddess & still driving that 1 day she go be their pm again

Yeah it looking like Kamla would win but it would be interesting to see what Vasant could do with UNC as the leader.

Postby paid_influencer » November 28th, 2020, 9:29 pm

Vasant and Devant already telling people the election rigged and dais why they loss

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 28th, 2020, 10:45 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

Yeah it looking like Kamla would win but it would be interesting to see what Vasant could do with UNC as the leader.

Vasant is almost too good for the UNC, it's rare you ever meet someone so intelligent, kind and with genuinely good intentions for the country. He reminds a lot of well behaved Basdeo Panday.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 28th, 2020, 10:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Vasant is almost too good for the UNC, it's rare you ever meet someone so intelligent, kind and with genuinely good intentions for the country. He reminds a lot of well behaved Basdeo Panday.

UNC could really do with a Panday circa 1995. Was a good PM and leader. If Vasant gets leadership he could build back a bomb squad that Panday did back in the day.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 29th, 2020, 11:14 am

Vasant to Kamla: Fix irregularities for internal elections

Former United National Congress (UNC) minister Vasant Bharath is calling on the party’s incumbent leader to address new irregularities which his team is experiencing while campaigning for the party's internal elections carded for December 6.

During a news conference at Gaston Court, Chaguanas, on Saturday, Bharath, who is challenging incumbent Kamla Persad-Bissessar for the leadership role of the party said "The membership list essentially was supposed to have provided us with information with regard to the membership of the party, how we could properly canvass the membership, we expected details like telephone numbers, email addresses, house numbers and membership numbers.

"None of those items of information was present on the list, it was raked of all pertinent information, all we got was a name and a general area; that was it.

"A proper list does exist because Mrs Persad-Bissessar and her slate have been busy lobbying the membership for the last month, they had been receiving emails, telephone calls, paraphernalia in the post and text messages.

"Clearly, that intention is to place our team at a significant disadvantage with that list which is totally useless. We have to resort to using an outdated list that is five years old given to me in the internal elections of 2015."

He said since August 11 it was claimed that the general secretary in keeping with the party's constitution had stepped down, there was no declaration made by the party as to the identity of the new general secretary was and there was no information forthcoming.

Bharath said his team had also been asking for representation on the elections committee for transparency and the perception of non-bias. He said that having a committee allegedly hand-selected by the political leader who was also contesting the election was a conflict of interest.

He said another significant issue he wanted to raise was that several constituency executives, councillors and MPs had offered endorsements on behalf of the political leader and her slate and many of these persons were going to be involved in the electoral process as polling agents, clerks and presiding officers.

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2020, 9:16 pm

vasant did a good interview today on morning edition with fazeer ....

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 30th, 2020, 9:26 pm

anything important was said?

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 2nd, 2020, 9:39 pm

Jack on team Vasant

Postby MaxPower » December 2nd, 2020, 10:44 pm

The thread of losers

Postby shogun » December 2nd, 2020, 10:44 pm

Devourment wrote:Jack on team Vasant

^Let's hope Vasant not on team Jack?

"irregularities?" Vasant trying to be so civil that he holding his tongue. Just say rigged.

Postby sMASH » December 3rd, 2020, 1:42 am

Is either vassant win or it was rigged...

Said the ilp backed pnm agent.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » December 3rd, 2020, 3:47 am

sMASH wrote:Is either vassant win or it was rigged...

Said the ilp backed pnm agent.

That first line, is TRUMPesque

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2020, 9:39 am

Vasant losing every ounce of cred if Jack in his circle.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 3rd, 2020, 2:46 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Vasant losing every ounce of cred if Jack in his circle.

I beg to differ, aligning with Jack is politically smart, given the power and influence he still wields. Plus, you cannot deny, Jack is likable And it's ok to judge someone based on their circle, but also remember Jack is not in the party, nor on his slate.

The real scene in politics is about winning over people and gaining power. So Vasant has to do what he has to do, UNC is a dead party without him. Everyone except Kamla's crew knows this, if he can use Jack to win UNC leadership then that is the best for the future.

At this point, Jack doesn't want any favors except to live out his life not in a US jail, if Vasant can maintain that (like Anand and Farris have), then I see no problem. Big picture my friend.

Postby paid_influencer » December 3rd, 2020, 7:36 pm

dog rice finding himself on TV these days

129126729_1302275310141614_3184204509090570474_o.jpg

Postby MaxPower » December 3rd, 2020, 8:08 pm

Unimportant news

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 3rd, 2020, 8:22 pm

Devourment wrote:

I beg to differ, aligning with Jack is politically smart, given the power and influence he still wields. Plus, you cannot deny, Jack is likable And it's ok to judge someone based on their circle, but also remember Jack is not in the party, nor on his slate.

The real scene in politics is about winning over people and gaining power. So Vasant has to do what he has to do, UNC is a dead party without him. Everyone except Kamla's crew knows this, if he can use Jack to win UNC leadership then that is the best for the future.

At this point, Jack doesn't want any favors except to live out his life not in a US jail, if Vasant can maintain that (like Anand and Farris have), then I see no problem. Big picture my friend.

If Jack was influential as you say, he would have won his seat on Aug 10th

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2020, 9:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:dog rice finding himself on TV these days

He was cleared of dog rice

Postby paid_influencer » December 3rd, 2020, 9:17 pm

He was cleared of dog rice

I call him that in reference to him being the inferior, substandard candidate.

If he wins on Sunday, I will stop calling him that.

Postby shogun » December 3rd, 2020, 10:01 pm

Devourment wrote:

The voting population in Trinidad is not much different from most others with similar systems. There's a segment that are staunch PNM/UNC voters and will vote for "their" party no matter what. THEN there's a swathe of voters in the center somewhere, that might have a leaning, but tend to vote/abstain for either party, according to how they perceive either/both parties... and they help decide elections. Those people aren't swayed by Warner's endorsement/involvement... and as a matter of fact, will view that kind of move cynically. You wouldn't believe how many people still to this day frown on the fact that the UNC under Kamla allowed Warner to act as PM during her tenure... and understood how that allowed us to be viewed by the rest of the world? I think if Vasant just run an honest campaign and focus on who will change the perception of the party enough to bring in new support from segments Kamla's style of leadership can't, to win elections... he could win over the party enough to take the internal election race.
Last edited by shogun on December 3rd, 2020, 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » December 3rd, 2020, 11:32 pm

I voted PNM because my initial UNC party had failed me and they continue to do so.

The PNM is a WOFT, but UNC is worst.

The UNC must stop the mickey mouse games.

Postby De Dragon » December 3rd, 2020, 11:33 pm

No mask, no social distancing and hugs to boot?
Vasant, I sorry, but in spite of your obvious intelligence and capabilities, you'll never get that leadership of the UNC, because your ability to connect with the base is weak.

Postby The_Honourable » December 3rd, 2020, 11:36 pm

No mask, no social distancing and hugs to boot?
Vasant, I sorry, but in spite of your obvious intelligence and capabilities, you'll never get that leadership of the UNC, because your ability to connect with the base is weak.

This...

Postby shogun » December 4th, 2020, 12:07 am

De Dragon wrote:No mask, no social distancing and hugs to boot?

Wait, what?!?? Someone tell me that sh!t not true and Vasant eh that tone deaf? Thaz an easy lay-up. Bungling basic first line of defense stances like that at this point? :lol:

Okay yeah, the UNC in trouble.

Postby De Dragon » December 4th, 2020, 5:10 am

shogun wrote:
De Dragon wrote:No mask, no social distancing and hugs to boot?

Wait, what?!?? Someone tell me that sh!t not true and Vasant eh that tone deaf? Thaz an easy lay-up. Bungling basic first line of defense stances like that at this point? :lol:

Okay yeah, the UNC in trouble.

Current leadership failed, aspiring ones leaving much to be desired.