Knocking sound (bad spindle)

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Mechanic checked under the wheels, changed the rear shocks but I'm still getting a noise which speeds up as the car speeds up. Is has been happening since around the same time that I noticed the speedometer stop working.

He says it could be the speed sensor but to reach the speed sensor in the transmission would cost me more than buying a new transmission, is that true?
Last edited by redmanjp on November 19th, 2020, 9:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Knocking sound after speedometer stopped working

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2020, 2:02 pm

What car/make/model?

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2020, 2:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:What car/make/model?

Nissan Y10 AD wagon

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2020, 2:19 pm

y10? is that cable based speedo? could be a busted speedo cable. sounds like you need a 2nd opinion from another mech

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2020, 2:33 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:y10? is that cable based speedo? could be a busted speedo cable. sounds like you need a 2nd opinion from another mech

could be but would it cause that sound?

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 9th, 2020, 2:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:y10? is that cable based speedo? could be a busted speedo cable. sounds like you need a 2nd opinion from another mech

If it is a cable speedo, busted cable flailing about inside the housing. It rotates faster as the car moves faster.

Postby Dave » November 9th, 2020, 3:22 pm

Passenger side towards the rear top of the transmission. Look around there.

Postby redmanjp » November 10th, 2020, 11:58 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

If it is a cable speedo, busted cable flailing about inside the housing. It rotates faster as the car moves faster.

so this would be easy for a mechanic to reach and not cost an arm and a leg like my mechanic suggested?

Postby rollingstock » November 10th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Yuh mechanic is a smart man.

team 394

Postby team 394 » November 11th, 2020, 6:16 am

Two pieces of advice: (1) Replace mechanic and (2) replace speedo cable

Postby redmanjp » November 12th, 2020, 11:49 pm

team 394 wrote:Two pieces of advice: (1) Replace mechanic and (2) replace speedo cable

good news and bad news

good news - he say he don't have to dismantle the transmission to inspect/replace the cable

bad news - he discovered the sound is actually from a bad wheel spindle- the left front wheel have a lil play so i can't drive it much

so now i have to find a spindle for a Y10 :cry:

Postby Ted_v2 » November 13th, 2020, 5:57 am

which is the same as a b14 to the best of my knowledge.

hindian

Postby hindian » November 13th, 2020, 10:12 am

Ted_v2 wrote:which is the same as a b14 to the best of my knowledge.
I think so as well basically a b14 wagon mechanically imo

Postby redmanjp » November 13th, 2020, 1:44 pm

anyone know where i can get it? i called bicks in arima but the one they have is for 4wd, the car is 2wd

hindian

Re: Knocking sound (bad spindle) after speedometer stopped working

Postby hindian » November 13th, 2020, 2:22 pm

Scrap yard maybe...

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 13th, 2020, 2:34 pm

Is the spindle damaged? Why not change the bearing if the spindle is hard to find. There isn't anything else on a spindle to cause noise/shake.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 13th, 2020, 4:11 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is the spindle damaged? Why not change the bearing if the spindle is hard to find. There isn't anything else on a spindle to cause noise/shake.
This is exactly my thinking also. Spindle usually doh have play unless yuh bearing going / gone. (although it did have dat one time dat somehow my spindle shaft did grind down).

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2020, 11:25 pm

if the hub is damaged, u could replace that also, thats the piece with the studs and the axle splines.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » November 16th, 2020, 7:01 am

Sounds like bearing. You can change the bearing and if the spindle is worn the machine shop can sleeve the bearing to fit the worn spindle if you can't get the spindle to buy. Did that to my ride

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2020, 9:49 am

finally got a spindle in bamboo- they had the whole unit and didn't want to sell the spindle alone tho