Burger King does the impossible with plant-based Whopper

daring dragoon

Burger King does the impossible with plant-based Whopper

Postby daring dragoon » November 8th, 2020, 3:29 am

On Friday, Burger King TT launched the Impossible Whopper with a plant-based patty that is said to be as good as the restaurant’s signature Whopper sandwich.

The Impossible Whopper is made of a flame-grilled, plant-based patty topped with freshly sliced tomatoes, fresh lettuce, creamy mayonnaise, ketchup, crunchy pickles, and sliced white onions on a toasted sesame seed bun. All Whopper. No beef!

Sue-Ann Solomon, brand manager for the franchise, said it was time for something new.

“The Impossible Whopper was launched in the US and Canada in 2019, and was extremely popular. We’ve had customers since that time asking us to make it available locally. We’ve listened!”

Solomon said, just like the original Whopper, the new veggie Whopper had a “delicious, juicy craveability” that people would love.

“The Impossible Whopper is just like the classic Whopper, but it’s made with the Impossible patty which cooks, tastes and smells just like beef but it’s made entirely from plants. So, it’s a twist on the same sandwich, but it’s just as good; it’s 100 per cent Whopper, zero per cent beef.
11418105.jpg

if the ting frying in the same oil that the beef patty fry in it must taste like beef. BK in gran bazar had only one fryer when i last buy their chicken sandwich about 4 years ago and i gave it away cause i only saw one fryer.

Numb3r4

Re: Burger King does the impossible with plant-based Whopper

Postby Numb3r4 » November 8th, 2020, 3:31 am

This is too much even for 2020.

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2020, 7:00 am

had it yesterday, it is excellent
main difference is it isn’t oily from the meat fat.

btw bk is flame broiled on something like those belt pizza ovens
not fried on plate like mcdonald’s or burger cart

Postby SMc » November 8th, 2020, 7:16 am

I've had it before ands its quite good. It is flame grilled on the same broiler as the burgers so though its plant based its not vegetarian and BK does not claim it to be.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 8th, 2020, 8:23 am

soy boys be like

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 8th, 2020, 9:01 am

Another dumb thing to spend limited forex on.

Postby paid_influencer » November 8th, 2020, 9:35 am

the other article had more detailed. The local BK rep confirmed the Impossible Whopper comes with mayo and is cooked on the same grill, but not at the same time, as other burgers.

TGI Friday has a Vegetarian menu with the Beyond Meat burger that looks similar. $99 tho

Myself buying Vege-burgers at Massy and making my own, because I cyar afford to eat outside. They have a bunch of Boca burgers (Kraft, Soya based) there that are good, and there is also one one from Darby that has rice and veges (no soya no chickpeas) and is well seasoned.

Postby paid_influencer » November 8th, 2020, 9:40 am

Redress10 wrote:Another dumb thing to spend limited forex on.

backwards thinking. we are in globalized world. let people buy what they want to buy.

Postby shogun » November 8th, 2020, 9:54 am

pugboy wrote:had it yesterday, it is excellent
main difference is it isn’t oily from the meat fat.

btw bk is flame broiled on something like those belt pizza ovens
not fried on plate like mcdonald’s or burger cart

Sounds good, because too much oil is my stomach's nemesis.

Postby Rovin » November 8th, 2020, 11:00 am

i doubt diwali ppl will buy

maybe after diwali they might wanna try it jes for so ... though if u strict with u religion it wud be a no-no

Postby maj. tom » November 8th, 2020, 11:05 am

Burger King has said that they cook it on the same grill, but not at the same time. So beef flavor getting in there for the Hindus who are concerned.

Author
Burger King Trinidad & Tobago
Hello Melissa. The patties are cooked on the same grill as other meats, although not at the same time.
https://www.facebook.com/BurgerKingTrinidadTobago/posts/3755251287853634

I think the Impossible Burger was all about an environmental issue, substituting plant for meat to reduce carbon footprint. That's why they worked so hard in the lab with a shitton of alterated food products to get it to taste like beef. A vegetarian doesn't care about meat tasting products. They know that their vege burger tastes like grass. They chose that. Then the long term question: is it healthy? They though HFCS was healthy at one time and that was another lab miracle of food science.

Postby Rovin » November 8th, 2020, 11:13 am

^^^ this was a beat up on fb yesterday about using d same grill

now they hadda make 1 to taste like chicken for d none beef eaters

honestly even if they did, in general d amt of processing they do to these foods is best u make ur own food at home when possible ...

Postby RedVEVO » November 8th, 2020, 11:30 am

Yummy ..

Burger King is the BESS !

Salude Rafael !

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » November 8th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Somehow the plant based one looks like it go be unhealthier than the meat ones

Postby maj. tom » November 8th, 2020, 1:51 pm

costs more too. In USA it's $2USD more than a regular which will translate to about $600 here.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 8th, 2020, 2:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Another dumb thing to spend limited forex on.

backwards thinking. we are in globalized world. let people buy what they want to buy.

But you don't live in the globalized world. You produce nothing and export nothing that would allow you to earn the forex necessary for these frivolous purchases. Why spend limited forex on goods that can either be made here or have local made substitutes?

Bk could have partnered with any of the local or regional vege patties makers already on the market thus increasing demand and providing more opportunity for employment. Instead they choose to increase their already stacked food import bill and pass on the expenses to the customers.

Don't blame the gov't when essential imports such as food or medicine become more difficult because of limited forex. Blame consumer tastes and demand.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 8th, 2020, 2:48 pm

they free to make and sell what they want. is up to you if u spend yuh money for that nonsense. beef will fill u more than plant protein. 1 whopper vs 2 or 3 vege burger.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 8th, 2020, 2:52 pm

screwbash wrote:they free to make and sell what they want. is up to you if u spend yuh money for that nonsense. beef will fill u more than plant protein. 1 whopper vs 2 or 3 vege burger.

But that logic is flawed especially when it is the gov't that says they are the distributors and owners of all forex and it is illegal for people to sell forex to each other.

It can't be right that people are struggling to get 1 or 2 hundred usd from the bank but BK can get forex to sell "beef tasting" vege patties.

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2020, 3:04 pm

vegetarians got rights too bro

soon ppl might say babies gotta wear washable diapers instead of imported pampers

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 8th, 2020, 3:27 pm

pugboy wrote:vegetarians got rights too bro

soon ppl might say babies gotta wear washable diapers instead of imported pampers

But this product is not for "vegetarians". It is for people who are beef eaters to have a vegetarian option that taste, looks and feels like beef. This product is sold in the meat section alongside beef patties etc. This is for meat eaters. Vegans usually don't want a product that taste like meat.

This product was developed and promoted by pressure groups such as environmentalists and PETA to reduce the carbon footprint of meat consumption in the developed nations as well as inhumane conditions that farm animals are reared in to produce the amt of meat required. We don't have a problem with overconsumption of meat or environmental concerns regarding animal rearing. These are problems that we don't have so why spend limited forex creating a solution to a problem that doesn't need fixing. It's akin to importing water as some companies are allowed to do.

Like I said, if BK wanted they could have partnered with anyone of the local veggie manufacturers resulting in jobs being created.

Postby st7 » November 8th, 2020, 4:05 pm

i had it on friday and i wasn't impressed. i dont think i got any mayo on mine either. another person who got it didnt get mayo either...

the beyond burger from tgi is really good. the size of the patty is big, it just sucks that it's so much more expensive than the other burgers :(

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 8th, 2020, 4:16 pm

^A regular whopper is $36, how much is this new one?

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2020, 4:54 pm

$45
to save the world with reduced carbon footprint and better for your health

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2020, 4:55 pm

did wendys ever start back to sell their chicken asiago burger locally?

that new popeyes sandwich is great though, the spicy one is 10/10

Postby st7 » November 8th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:did wendys ever start back to sell their chicken asiago burger locally?

that new popeyes sandwich is great though, the spicy one is 10/10

i bought it about a month ago.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 8th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Had the TGI beyond meat burger tonight. Was ok.

Morning Star is without a doubt the best Vege burger around.
st7 wrote:i had it on friday and i wasn't impressed. i dont think i got any mayo on mine either. another person who got it didnt get mayo either...

the beyond burger from tgi is really good. the size of the patty is big, it just sucks that it's so much more expensive than the other burgers :(