where is the center of Trinidad ?

daring dragoon

where is the center of Trinidad ?

Postby daring dragoon » October 31st, 2020, 6:30 am

anyone know where the exact point is located for the center of Trinidad ? any geography teacher or anyone from ministry of tourism can answer that?

sickbad

Re: where is the center of Trinidad ?

Postby sickbad » October 31st, 2020, 7:47 am

centre-point mall, chaguanas CENTRAL !

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 31st, 2020, 8:27 am

I was told in the back of Flanagin town. There's a road leading to a weather station or such deep inside.

Postby Redman » October 31st, 2020, 10:16 am

some where in the middle?

Postby maj. tom » October 31st, 2020, 10:39 am

worksux101 wrote:I was told in the back of Flanagin town. There's a road leading to a weather station or such deep inside.

Sounds about a good average.

For the OP, USGS official statement on this:
There is no generally accepted definition of geographic center, and no completely satisfactory method for determining it.

There’s no real reason for figuring out the middle of the country, aside from giving cartographers a point of reference and perhaps creating a tourist trap. It’s also an incredibly difficult mathematical problem to solve. As a matter of fact, the conclusion is forced upon us that there is no such thing as the geographical center of any state, country, or continent. The point determined will depend entirely upon the definition given by the one making the computation.

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-centers-united-states-180955253/#:~:text=%E2%80%9CBasically%3A%20imagine%20the%20entire%20country,balances%2C%20that's%20the%20center.%E2%80%9D

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 31st, 2020, 10:47 am

maj. tom wrote:
worksux101 wrote:I was told in the back of Flanagin town. There's a road leading to a weather station or such deep inside.

Sounds about a good average.

For the OP, USGS official statement on this:
There is no generally accepted definition of geographic center, and no completely satisfactory method for determining it.

There’s no real reason for figuring out the middle of the country, aside from giving cartographers a point of reference and perhaps creating a tourist trap. It’s also an incredibly difficult mathematical problem to solve. As a matter of fact, the conclusion is forced upon us that there is no such thing as the geographical center of any state, country, or continent. The point determined will depend entirely upon the definition given by the one making the computation.

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/many-centers-united-states-180955253/#:~:text=%E2%80%9CBasically%3A%20imagine%20the%20entire%20country,balances%2C%20that's%20the%20center.%E2%80%9D

makes sense

Postby Rovin » October 31st, 2020, 11:08 am

going by lines yea talparo cud work

going by eye sight guestimation it seem navet damn is dead center or it cud fall between Mundo Nuevo & 4 roads ....

http://www.caribbean-on-line.com/tt/tdmap.shtml

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 31st, 2020, 7:53 pm

we shud go in the center dey an do some prayers yes. dig a well and let the vatican bless the water into holy water or let angoustaura open a refinery dey and get a different holy water.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 31st, 2020, 8:36 pm

This question really makes u think about how much the eastern half of Trinidad is mostly rural and under populated.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 1st, 2020, 5:22 am

judging from the maps and intersecting lines the center of Trinidad look like st marys junction freeport where the gas station and the church is. it also have the big statue of hanuman, maybe these sites were carefully chosen to build that church etc.
land in that area to be too expensive rite now. i go wait a couple years.

Postby wagonrunner » November 1st, 2020, 7:43 pm

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 2nd, 2020, 11:55 am

Someone told me one time the centre is where the lakshmi narayan temple is built in siewdass rd freeport area

Postby zoom rader » November 2nd, 2020, 12:06 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Someone told me one time the centre is where the lakshmi narayan temple is built in siewdass rd freeport area
Yeah dat true

Jah bless dem Hindus

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 2nd, 2020, 12:15 pm

Monkey town

death365

Postby death365 » November 2nd, 2020, 1:06 pm

i kno u for reals but the centre of Trinidad is and has always been Port - of - Spain 1757 onwards

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 3rd, 2020, 6:53 am

Musical Doc wrote:Someone told me one time the centre is where the lakshmi narayan temple is built in siewdass rd freeport area

and yet we in so much trouble. we need to get a 200 foot statue of jesus place on the site to save trinidad. we will get some tourist $$ if they doh wah go brazil to see their own. or if brazil make noise that we steal their idea i find NLCB should put a 200 foot statue of the opium man from the play whe chart.