Why does Licensing Office need this info for drivers permit?

abducted

Why does Licensing Office need this info for drivers permit?

Postby abducted » October 23rd, 2020, 7:19 pm

Why does Licensing Office need to see your utility bill, rental or lease agreement, letter from the land lord, National ID Card?

00260ac2-b8e6-4ef1-8999-f23308a8e010.jpg

Re: Why does Licensing Office need this info for drivers permit?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 23rd, 2020, 7:21 pm

Just to stress out ppl soul

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2020, 7:32 pm

But you always needed those things to get a driver's licence for all classes. To show proof of address. And verify who you are through a previously authenticated ID, like a Birth Certificate or a National ID card. The clerk is just supposed to believe you on your word for a government issued ID? For the 1st Provisional License you just have to show 2 forms of ID. If you change your address, you must get it updated at Licence Office... with the listed documents above.

Your driver's licence doesn't have your address on it? This not making sense to you? Really? Someone had to explain this? You does vote?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 23rd, 2020, 7:44 pm

So dey could send your offences/ticketing to you directly... Probably

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2020, 7:53 pm

"yes officer ah living by the big mango tree near the park. The house with the black gate and dead manicou in front. Yuh eh need to see meh licence, i telling yuh the truth. Promise. Arks meh insurance, ah did tell them the same thing and they did believe me."

*facepalm*
Last edited by maj. tom on October 23rd, 2020, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » October 23rd, 2020, 7:54 pm

"Always" yeah ok.

now self is the time to rent. get "proof of adress", and unleash all the transactions.

Postby j.o.e » October 23rd, 2020, 8:12 pm

I don’t mind it .... too many fraudsters in trinidad. Hit and run at least if you pull a certified copy you have a better chance of locating the maggots

hindian

Postby hindian » October 23rd, 2020, 8:14 pm

I cannot ever remember taking mih mudda light bill to get my driver's permit so I not sure about "always". I have class 3&4 and not once I can recall them asking for that. What I want to know is, do I now have to take a utility bill to do a renewal now?

Postby paid_influencer » October 23rd, 2020, 8:27 pm

for real tho, is so they can send traffic tickets to you via registered mail.

:drinking:

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2020, 8:41 pm

I renewed mine this year, and the clerk asked if my address changed from what was already on their system. I said no, so no further proof was needed. If they're now demanding for proof of address verification, that so hard to walk with a utility bill when you going to Licence Office? The piece of paper is a piece of neutron star? 3 years ago i changed my mailing address, and had to show proof. When they say proof of address, they mean they need a mailing address for their system.

If they didn't ask for it before, it was a very overlooked error and corruption which they are trying to fix. Because they have to verify the address on your government issued ID. An ID which is going to be used to authenticate your identity in the future to any party or institution. Kind of like how there is 2-step verification on the internet? They do this in other countries too when you apply for a licence, you need a bank statement or a utility bill. You could have 10 houses and moved 16 times, they just want somewhere to mail official notices. If you're renting and the bill is in the landlord's name, how ...... i feel i shouldn't have to explain this nah. How the ass allyuh registered for a National ID card? Ent they sent someone to verify your address? The poll card appeared by magic in the mailbox? They just believed what you told them?

Subscribed to read all the conspiracy theories and how it not right so corruption and malfeasance can continue in the Licensing system. Seems like we really like it so.

Postby paid_influencer » October 23rd, 2020, 9:08 pm

I also cyar remember having to walk with any utility bill, but that was like 20 years ago?

DP not accepted as a government ID in most places here. it half-way accepted, so if they say two forms of ID it will work, but not by itself. I personally had to tack back more than once because all I had was my DP on me.

The utility bill is a pain because is not something I personally can produce. I am not a home owner. It depends on another person, who is not me, to be co-operative and timely. Which generally sucks.

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2020, 9:19 pm

but how it stopping fraud?

Postby paid_influencer » October 23rd, 2020, 9:27 pm

sMASH wrote:but how it stopping fraud?

i really cyar see how fraud enter into this. This is a means for the MoWT to legally mail you the red light ticket. Start and end to that book.

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2020, 9:32 pm

sooo, if u dont get the ticket in the mail, it has no consequence? cause ttpost messes up mail delivery by us all the time.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 23rd, 2020, 10:03 pm

more than likely for a current mailing address for your tickets brosephs

Postby Kenjo » October 23rd, 2020, 10:07 pm

sMASH wrote:sooo, if u dont get the ticket in the mail, it has no consequence? cause ttpost messes up mail delivery by us all the time.

Registered mail

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2020, 6:20 am

wha i mean is, every single time u go u hadda carry a bill?

and the rest of the people in the house... they hadda get a signed dated letter with id copy.... its annoying.

what if the bill could include every body name..

axe

Postby axe » October 24th, 2020, 7:37 am

It may be for red light camera and spot speed citations.
These are mailed through ttpost.
However officers have found drivers not living at the address on their permit. Which is fraud.

When you receive a ticket/citation today:
After 30 days interest of 25% is added on to fine.
If another 14 days pass an additional 25% interest is added on.
You have 14 days to contest online.
Most people don't know that since your permit is legal identification and used for transactions it must have the correct address on it.
Many renters change address but not on their permit. This is illegal.
Additional note red light and spot speed violations are mailed to registered owners but have no demerit points attached.

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2020, 9:30 am

axe wrote:It may be for red light camera and spot speed citations.
These are mailed through ttpost.
However officers have found drivers not living at the address on their permit. Which is fraud.

When you receive a ticket/citation today:
After 30 days interest of 25% is added on to fine.
If another 14 days pass an additional 25% interest is added on.
You have 14 days to contest online.
Most people don't know that since your permit is legal identification and used for transactions it must have the correct address on it.
Many renters change address but not on their permit. This is illegal.
Additional note red light and spot speed violations are mailed to registered owners but have no demerit points attached.
If u have a few properties on ur name, what is ur correct address?

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2020, 9:43 am

Your mailing address. Where you collect your mail.

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2020, 10:22 am

maj. tom wrote:Your mailing address. Where you collect your mail.
would that not be the address on ur id/dp?

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2020, 10:42 am

correct

plus dp is generally viewed as a form of national id

j.o.e wrote:I don’t mind it .... too many fraudsters in trinidad. Hit and run at least if you pull a certified copy you have a better chance of locating the maggots

Postby 88sins » October 24th, 2020, 11:34 am

sMASH wrote:sooo, if u dont get the ticket in the mail, it has no consequence? cause ttpost messes up mail delivery by us all the time.

Easy enough to find out for sure.
Get some tickets and when they come in the mail do like you never get them and wait and see what happens.

Postby matr1x » October 24th, 2020, 11:46 am

ent allyuh vote for this?

Postby sMASH » October 24th, 2020, 12:34 pm

Easy enough to find out for sure.
Get some tickets and when they come in the mail do like you never get them and wait and see what happens.

so all that address verification every 3 months wouldnt be necessary? cause if the fines still valid and accumulating, the address isnt the important part.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 24th, 2020, 12:37 pm

matr1x wrote:ent allyuh vote for this?

faxxxxxx

VII

Postby VII » October 24th, 2020, 12:39 pm

To make a good attempt at mailing your on the road offences to the right address dah..

What allyuh think it is ? Steups..feel dem people care to know you like that ..is to ticket yuh arse ...
Last edited by VII on October 24th, 2020, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Not updating your address is an offence for all those who didn't know:
http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... p?t=447698

And if they feeling nice, they can probably add a 2nd offence on giving false info to a Uniformed Transport/ Police Officer who requests the driver's permit and was lied to about the correct address.

Postby j.o.e » October 24th, 2020, 2:37 pm

matr1x wrote:ent allyuh vote for this?

Political issue really? Accounting for where you reside while having the authority to operate a vehicle ? Lawlessness we love so ?

Postby Kenjo » October 24th, 2020, 4:39 pm

maj. tom wrote:Your mailing address. Where you collect your mail.

Lol I thought so too