Ansa McAl Hack Attack

Postby K74T » October 21st, 2020, 8:46 am

HACK ATTACK

SHUT DOWN: Online hackers have brought operations at Tatil Life Insurance, whose head office is on Maraval Road, to a screeching halt. - SUREASH CHOLAI

THE CARIBBEAN’S biggest conglomerate, Ansa McAl, is the victim of ransomware hackers holding some of the company’s IT systems hostage.

Newsday understands that work at Tatil, the country’s biggest insurer, has been effectively stalled for about two weeks as the IT department works to find and expel the ransomware from the company’s servers. If not, the company may have to pay the hackers’ ransom in order to free its data. In a statement late Tuesday evening, Ansa McAl said businesses were once again operational following a “security incident.”

It is unclear exactly what data and systems were compromised, but Newsday was told whatever was attacked is “very important (mission-critical) data that is crucial to Ansa’s operations.” Clients’ personal data was not compromised, Newsday was told.

In a tweet last Thursday, American cybersecurity specialist and ransomware recovery and prevention expert Eric Taylor (@ITSimplife) first noted the Ansa McAl attack. REvil, a criminal cybergang, has claimed responsibility.

The group says it has “numerous financial documentation, agreements, invoices, reports.” A screenshot of the hacked haul reveals a count of 17,000 documents. The group threatened, in the post that confirmed the hack, to release the confidential documents to a public server.

Newsday spoke with multiple sources in the Ansa McAl group, including Tatil, and was told that Japanese tech giant Hitachi has been retained to help with restoring the system.

Hitachi is scanning the system, Newsday was told, and staff have been advised not to do anything on the system until Hitachi gives the all-clear. Staff have been telling customers coming in with queries about claims that their server is down. Staff are unable to access any applications linked to the server and have been restricted basically to checking e-mail. “We are only now beginning to realise how serious it is,” said one person who did not work in the IT department.

BARBADOS ORIGINS

The attack apparently began at Ansa’s operations in Barbados, specifically, the automotive sector. Berger Barbados was also affected. Newsday was told a ransom was paid in some of the Barbados instances, but was not told how much.

In a release on Saturday, Ansa McAl Barbados said it can confirm that some of its IT systems in Barbados “were down due to a security incident.

“As a precautionary measure, some of our services to customers and clients are unavailable. As we carefully work through the restoration process, we are taking prudent and measured steps to ensure the integrity of our systems. Our teams continue to work on this incident and towards returning services to our clients as our highest priority,” the statement said.

Newsday contacted Ansa McAl’s group corporate communications office in Trinidad for a response specifically to the local incident. In a statement e-mailed Tuesday evening, the company acknowledged there was a “security incident” relating to its IT systems.

“We would like to inform that some of our companies’ IT systems in Barbados were recently affected by a security incident. This issue also impacted Tatil and Tatil Life in Trinidad. Since then, our local IT teams, with the support of international resources have taken prudent and measured steps to ensure the integrity of our systems.

“Although there has been some moderate disruption in service, customers continue to be served at Tatil’s head office (in Port of Spain) and all branch locations. We expect the situation to be normalised over the next few days. We take the security of our IT systems extremely seriously and regret any inconvenience to our stakeholders.”

COPS: THREAT NOT SERIOUS

Newsday also spoke with police sources to find out if the cyberattack had been reported to the Cybercrime Unit. One police contact in the Fraud Squad said when he asked about it, he was told a report had been made, but it was not considered “serious.”

“(Senior police) said they heard something along those lines of a cyberattack, but Cybercrime and Special Branch were handling it. They don’t know if it was a true threat, meaning that sometimes (if) a questionable software or occurrence happens in (a financial institution), (the institution) informs the police. A lot of the times, it doesn’t turn out to be a credible threat, it’s just something strange and it’s dealt with.”

The police officer said in terms of its being a cyberattack, he also didn’t think it was serious, because those are usually forwarded to his unit (Fraud Squad), but this one wasn’t.

“If there was an attack, it must have been very minimal, and more so the fact that we didn’t hear about it means it wasn’t anything substantial.”

RANSOMWARE

Ransomware, according to cybersecurity software company McAfee, is a type of malware (malicious software) that uses encryption to hold an individual or organisation’s information at ransom.

Critical data is encrypted so the victim cannot access files, databases, or applications. A ransom is then demanded to provide access. Ransomware is often designed to spread across a network and target database and file servers, and can thus quickly paralyse an entire organisation, McAfee said.

It is a growing threat, generating billions of dollars in payments to cybercriminals and inflicting significant damage and expenses for businesses and governmental organisations.

Ransomware can be spread though phishing (scammer) e-mails and social media networks, including instant message applications, which can contain malicious attachments that infiltrate computer systems when they are downloaded and installed without the user being any wiser. It is difficult to purge. Systems, in most cases, may need to be wiped and rebuilt and data restored from a known, clean copy. REvil, also called Sodinokibi, the ransomware group, has been operating since June 2020.

– With reporting by Shane Superville and Mark Lyndersay

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/10/21/hack-attack-2/

Re: Ansa McAl Hack Attack

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2020, 8:50 am

It was reported to have affected their Barbados operations at first:

ANSA McAl reports Barbados “Security Incident”

In a press release issued on October 17, Rachel Pilgrim, Group Marketing Manager Barbados reported that some of the companies’ IT systems on that island were compromised.

ANSA McAl Trinidad and Tobago declined to answer questions about the nature of the cybersecurity incident or whether any TT companies or services had been affected.

The press release said…

We can confirm that some of our companies’ IT systems in Barbados are down due to a security incident.
As a precautionary measure, some of our services to customers and clients are unavailable.
As we carefully work through the restoration process, we are taking prudent and measured steps to ensure the integrity of our systems. Our teams continue to work on this incident and towards returning services to our clients as our highest priority.
Rest assured we have and will continue to keep our customers informed and appraised on this situation. We take the security of our IT systems extremely seriously and regret any inconvenience.
The company stated that any further information on the matter would be communicated via official press release.

UPDATED: October 20, 2020, with additional information and specifics on the hack.

In a press release dated October 20, 2020, ANSA McAl acknowledged that the “security incident” had impacted the operations of TATIL and TATIL Life, the company’s insurance companies.

https://technewstt.com/ansa-cybersecurity/

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 9:13 am

If it wasn't serious then why did they start payimg some of the ransom? This country is a joke from top to bottom. Also i don't believe for a second that personal clientelle information was not stolen. What else the hackers would have acquired to hold you to ransom then? Wages and salaries, investment profiles, plans to raise premiums? Its because they have personal clientelle information and threatened to post it (which would be a significant loss in confidence towards the organisation and would cause individuals to rightfully cancel their policies with Tatil with no recourse by Tatil as they broke their part in the contract, that is, keeping your information confidential).

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2020, 9:22 am

tatil in a mess, they did not send me policy renewal notices for the last month and i had to renew myself after the fire policy expired

last time old man tony paid the ransom for the grandson kidnapping and told them to make sure and keep the money......
wonder how they tracking the bitcoin payment this rounds

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2020, 9:56 am

Mouth open, story jump out!

This now makes sense. He got fired via resignation.

Financial News
Ansa McAL Limited - Resignation of Director
Oct 06, 2020

ANSA McAL Limited (“the Company) wishes to advise that Mr. Nicholas V. Mouttet has resigned the position of Director of the Company effective October 10th, 2020.

Mr. Mouttet also resigns from the position of President and Chief Executive Officer of ANSA McAL (Barbados) Limited. Moving forward, overall corporate oversight of ANSA McAL Companies in Barbados will rest directly with the Group Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Anthony N. Sabga III and the ANSA McAL Corporate Team.

The Company wishes Mr. Mouttet all the best in his future endeavours.

Source:
The Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchange Limited
Tuesday 6th October, 2020

Postby redmanjp » October 21st, 2020, 10:01 am

this is why we need a data protection act to ensure businesses are compliant with IT security standards, including backup of data off of the network

also why IT personnel should be paid better

the attack could have been a worm which travels through their network which may be regional as it started in barbados then happened here

Postby maj. tom » October 21st, 2020, 10:08 am

I assume a big company like this does daily backups, either to a secure cloud service or to tapes.
The security solution is to never give in to ransomware, wipe the system, implement better security and restore the backups. If they pay, they will pay more and more which never ends, and then if they get back the system it will still be infected.

Postby 16 cycles » October 21st, 2020, 10:08 am

happened to Garmin a month or two ago - they had to pay a ransom ....

https://www.theverge.com/2020/8/4/21353 ... -evil-corp

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 10:17 am

If financial companies always looking for new ways to cut costs you think they willing to dash out the huge chunks of money needed for a secure IT system with qualified individuals? Doubt it. They probably was using the bare minimum standards using contracted (not in house) IT experts for more serious matters. It was always a matter of time till these big hacking groups realice that the Caribbean financial companies there for the taking.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2020, 10:21 am

This happened to the place I work in 2016. The company's servers were hacked and the encryption with ransomware of company files happened in alphabetical order so persons late on were unaffected.

I also stored all my stuff on my desktop as well as backing up to the servers so I personally was unaffected.
Our CRM is cloud based so that also helped alot.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » October 21st, 2020, 10:47 am

maj. tom wrote:I assume a big company like this does daily backups, either to a secure cloud service or to tapes.
The security solution is to never give in to ransomware, wipe the system, implement better security and restore the backups. If they pay, they will pay more and more which never ends, and then if they get back the system it will still be infected.

Read the article my brother, they were in Possession of confidential files.

Postby maj. tom » October 21st, 2020, 11:09 am

Count it as a loss. Get sued for shitty security and data loss. Hackers don't work on good faith and promise, even if ransom is paid. That is the procedure for the industry.

They also have many papers published on the subject and what NOT to do. IT specialists hired by any company should be reading those papers and keeping their systems up to industry standard as recommended by these security organizations. (I hope yuh reading this eh Duane) This includes:

*Keep operating systems, software, and applications current and up to date.
*Make sure anti-virus and anti-malware solutions are set to automatically update and run regular scans.
*Back up data regularly and double-check that those backups were completed.
*Secure your backups. Make sure they are not connected to the computers and networks they are backing up.
*Create a continuity plan in case your business or organization is the victim of a ransomware attack.

The FBI does not support paying a ransom in response to a ransomware attack. Paying a ransom doesn’t guarantee you or your organization will get any data back. It also encourages perpetrators to target more victims and offers an incentive for others to get involved in this type of illegal activity.

https://www.fbi.gov/scams-and-safety/common-scams-and-crimes/ransomware

As ransomware attacks continue to cripple networks, most recently forcing medical centres to shut down their systems and turn away patients, the FBI has issued some unambiguous advice for organisations on how they should handle ransom demands:

Don’t pay.

The FBI does not advocate paying a ransom, in part because it does not guarantee an organization will regain access to its data. In some cases, victims who paid a ransom were never provided with decryption keys. In addition, due to flaws in the encryption algorithms of certain malware variants, victims may not be able to recover some or all of their data even with a valid decryption key.

In other words, the FBI says that paying up is no guarantee that hackers will unlock the encrypted data on your computer.

And that’s true. There is no guarantee. And you would have to be in a pretty desperate position to place your trust in anonymous cybercriminals who have already proven themselves to have no qualms about breaking the law and exploiting a situation for their financial advantage.

But then, companies and organisations who find themselves in the middle of a hard-hitting ransomware infection are often desperate. This can especially be true if firms did not have a secure backup system in place from which they can restore their precious data or if they determine that recovering from a backup might take a lot longer (and cost them more money) than paying their extortionist.

However, as the FBI points out, there are other major reasons why they advise against paying ransomware demands: you are encouraging criminals to launch more attacks.
https://www.tripwire.com/state-of-security/featured/fbi-dont-pay-ransomware/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2020, 11:44 am

They had an opportunity to hire people to prevent such actions. They did not want to pay. I know this because my bro was up for grabs in the cyber sec field

Postby 16 cycles » October 21st, 2020, 12:58 pm

do they offer insurance for events like this?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2020, 1:11 pm

Funny thing is 95% of ransome is caused by people clicking on random sheit or running stuff they were not supposed to

wingnut

Postby wingnut » October 21st, 2020, 1:31 pm

16 cycles wrote:do they offer insurance for events like this?
I recently saw guardian life offering cybersecurity insurance. Didnt even know that was offered locally

Ironically tatil was hit with a ransomware attack

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 21st, 2020, 5:01 pm

Maybe I should follow up on that CheckPoint quotation, thanks for the reminder.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 5:03 pm

Its not farfetched to think that insurers (like tatil) have insurance for themselves (provided externally by guardian for example). Whether or not there policy covers cyber risk due to regional exposures is another thing. Gotta read the fine print boi

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 5:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:They had an opportunity to hire people to prevent such actions. They did not want to pay. I know this because my bro was up for grabs in the cyber sec field

No surprise. Anyone working in the financial sector can tell you that all management care about is profits, keeping costs down and working there staff to the bone. Horrible industry. But high job stability (as when your financial companies closing down thats when u know your country not coming back anytime soon)

Postby redmanjp » October 21st, 2020, 5:10 pm

maybe they can cover themselves :lol:

Postby redmanjp » October 21st, 2020, 5:15 pm

elec2020 wrote:If financial companies always looking for new ways to cut costs you think they willing to dash out the huge chunks of money needed for a secure IT system with qualified individuals? Doubt it. They probably was using the bare minimum standards using contracted (not in house) IT experts for more serious matters. It was always a matter of time till these big hacking groups realice that the Caribbean financial companies there for the taking.

if we had data protection laws where they can get sued for tens or hundreds of millions like in the US then im sure they would rather shell out the money to secure their systems and hire professionals.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2020, 5:21 pm

elec2020 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:They had an opportunity to hire people to prevent such actions. They did not want to pay. I know this because my bro was up for grabs in the cyber sec field

No surprise. Anyone working in the financial sector can tell you that all management care about is profits, keeping costs down and working there staff to the bone. Horrible industry. But high job stability (as when your financial companies closing down thats when u know your country not coming back anytime soon)

Yuh see what happen with tatil? My bro providing his services for deutsche bank and them people real serious when it comes to their investors. From his estimation, this is what could have taken place with tatil " an oracle port was not secured so it was easy picking, the attack which was used is already known to many, all apps etc are to be checked and closed off to prevent it from happening again, something a basic IT team could do"

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2020, 6:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

Yuh see what happen with tatil? My bro providing his services for deutsche bank and them people real serious when it comes to their investors. From his estimation, this is what could have taken place with tatil " an oracle port was not secured so it was easy picking, the attack which was used is already known to many, all apps etc are to be checked and closed off to prevent it from happening again, something a basic IT team could do"
Dais cause that bank have reslllll bobol customers. Cant risk a leak or their customers might 'retaliate'.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 7:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:
elec2020 wrote:If financial companies always looking for new ways to cut costs you think they willing to dash out the huge chunks of money needed for a secure IT system with qualified individuals? Doubt it. They probably was using the bare minimum standards using contracted (not in house) IT experts for more serious matters. It was always a matter of time till these big hacking groups realice that the Caribbean financial companies there for the taking.

if we had data protection laws where they can get sued for tens or hundreds of millions like in the US then im sure they would rather shell out the money to secure their systems and hire professionals.

very true but which government going and put in a law that can cost the 1 per cent, sorry their financiers millions of dollars? NONE

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 21st, 2020, 7:15 pm

elec2020 wrote:

Deutsche Bank? He inside. I hope he will not be impacted by their on-going job cuts. Even so, that is real good experience to put on a CV. I'm not an IT expert but having worked in the financial sector for almost 10 years almost all the organizations i have been in lax when it comes with IT security. It will come to bite them. Hackers will take note of the Tatil hack and realize the Caribbean is easy food (again i am no IT expert but from what you said that sounds like a very easy hack). Its all again because management to busy cutting costs in favor of profits. Which serious IT security specialist going to work in a company for under 10k? But that is what these managers want. So take your hacks.

Postby stev » October 22nd, 2020, 12:27 am

maj. tom wrote:I assume a big company like this does daily backups, either to a secure cloud service or to tapes.

the fact that this make news means that there are no backups...probably an old ass / useless one...also the fact that they willing to pay the attackers show how uneducated management and staff are are about basic IT Security.

seconded....an ex-coworker and good friend of mine worked there for a bit...their IT infrastructure is very simple and easy to mange from what he said....they just dont pay their IT staff properly.....my friend lasted six months before moving on. lol

Postby stev » October 22nd, 2020, 12:29 am

agent007 wrote:Maybe I should follow up on that CheckPoint quotation, thanks for the reminder.

the Fujitsu is strong with you...

Postby matr1x » October 22nd, 2020, 1:59 am

I know their head of IT operations.

I gotta say

HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHA

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 22nd, 2020, 6:07 am

elec2020 wrote:

Deutsche Bank? He inside. I hope he will not be impacted by their on-going job cuts. Even so, that is real good experience to put on a CV. I'm not an IT expert but having worked in the financial sector for almost 10 years almost all the organizations i have been in lax when it comes with IT security. It will come to bite them. Hackers will take note of the Tatil hack and realize the Caribbean is easy food (again i am no IT expert but from what you said that sounds like a very easy hack). Its all again because management to busy cutting costs in favor of profits. Which serious IT security specialist going to work in a company for under 10k? But that is what these managers want. So take your hacks.

Yup, Deutsche Bank. He's at the branch in Jacksonville, waiting for the Covid to slow down before heading to Germany. Primarily, all he simply does is monitor his quota of systems and prevent people from doing what went on with Tatil.
Trinidad no where close to that, when he finished his Bs he came to UWI to asking about what they have to offer in terms of cyber sec in a masters program. UWI watched him like "wah sheit you talking".....he went back to FIU

He ended his masters program with the following. He has to gain experience and phd for it after
IMG-20200921-WA0098.jpg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 22nd, 2020, 9:59 am

^ really good stuff. Also a pity we lose another well educated national due to our constant habit of being behind the times.