R.I.P. Dennis " Sprangalang" Hall

Postby eliteauto » October 2nd, 2020, 10:09 pm

R.I.P. Sir and thanks for the laughs and lessons

The President, National Executive and membership of TUCO wish to express our condolences and sympathy to the family of Mr. Dennis Hall known in the entertainment world as "Sprangalang" who passed away on the evening of 2nd October, 2020 at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, Mt. Hope.
Mr. Hall was a comedian, historian, actor, producer, talk show host, singer/composer and a Lifetime Member of TUCO.
Mr. Hall starred in the 2003 situation comedy Lord Have Mercy! which was produced in Canada for VisionTV but has also aired on Caribbean International Network and other television stations in the Caribbean in the years since it was produced. He was also featured in the 2007 Canadian feature film A Winter Tale, written, directed and produced by Frances-Anne Solomon, as well as the stage play A Man in the Bedroom, alongside fellow Trinidadian comedian Errol Fabien in 2010. Mr. Hall was also known for his stinging stand up comedy and toured the Caribbean, the Americas and Europe.
To his wife, Natasha “Sexy Suzie” Nurse, family and loved ones, we at TUCO are here with you.
May he Rest In Peace. Asè
https://www.facebook.com/tuco.trinidadtobago/photos/a.314307292102580/1471114036421894/
Sprang.jpg

eurotuner

Re: R.I.P. Dennis " Sprangalang" Hall

Postby eurotuner » October 2nd, 2020, 10:11 pm

noooooooooooo :cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby eliteauto » October 2nd, 2020, 10:13 pm

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 2nd, 2020, 10:15 pm

Ah, a good one gone, met him in my younger days. He could make a stone smile.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 2nd, 2020, 10:19 pm

Great comedian and trini, RIP.

Postby maj. tom » October 2nd, 2020, 10:27 pm

Our local comedian legend above all others. One joke I'll always remember is something about the rasta who went by the obeah man and end up with a horse in the morning. He used to end his show with it.

Will revisit his memories in YouTube. RIP.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2020, 10:35 pm

RIP to a proper local legend.

Postby shogun » October 2nd, 2020, 10:37 pm

RIP to a national treasure.

Postby Gladiator » October 2nd, 2020, 10:43 pm

My Personal Favorite... RIP yuh clown.... you was the greatest and will be missed. You made us laugh even when the country was in shambles, you made us laugh..... lord boy 2020 would really go down in history as the worst year ever.

Postby Rovin » October 2nd, 2020, 10:44 pm

just a few days ago i was wondering if he got back good & i mentioned him in d errol fabien thread yesterday , u still often see him in d diana power mint ads on tv

a true 1 of a kind comic legend .... R.I.P ..... :(

Postby maj. tom » October 2nd, 2020, 10:47 pm

Aye don't forget one of his greatest and most hilarious roles in that Canadian show "Lord Have Mercy!" where he played a pastor. A Trini in Toronto!

Oh how i'll miss the laughs from this man. :(

The Gospel of Sprangalang :angel:
Last edited by maj. tom on October 2nd, 2020, 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

brickman

Postby brickman » October 2nd, 2020, 10:48 pm

R.I.P

Postby Country_Bookie » October 2nd, 2020, 10:52 pm

RIP Sprang. Met him in the late 90s when he was MC for a Christmas show in my village. Back then he was driving ah old van that he used to say does give ppl blood poison

Postby K74T » October 2nd, 2020, 11:43 pm

Rest in Peace Sprang

Postby Rovin » October 2nd, 2020, 11:44 pm

this might be b4 some of yall time but i do believe this is how d name "sprangalang" got stuck on him because of this segment of d show "gayelle" ... in this clip u will hear him intro himself as "draxsy" ...

from 1.04

VII

Postby VII » October 3rd, 2020, 12:07 am

Remember coming back home after school abroad and being terrified seeing him on TV all scruffy and unkept,lol..he grew on me as he did with many other people, was definitely one of a kind and comfortable and confident in his own way at all times..

I learned the hard way to never approach him in public with 'I'm telling you", he would promptly reply "I'm smelling you" and leave you right dey..shut you down immediately..

RIP Sprang..

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 3rd, 2020, 12:37 am

He was like our local version of Redd Foxx!

RIP Sir, I shall blast ‘bring drinks’ in your honor tomorrow.

Postby MaxPower » October 3rd, 2020, 2:57 am

RIP old boy...

One of my fav

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 3rd, 2020, 4:50 am

Part of my childhood there,
The real Christmas man....

Strange how we feel we know these ppl personally from seeing them and hearing their voices all our lives...

Sad

Postby Redman » October 3rd, 2020, 6:56 am

What we’ve lost here is a true compendium of local and cultural history,in the oral traditions.

RIP.

Postby aaron17 » October 3rd, 2020, 7:41 am

agent007 wrote:He was like our local version of Redd Foxx!

RIP Sir, I shall blast ‘bring drinks’ in your honor tomorrow.
^^ this

Postby aaron17 » October 3rd, 2020, 7:45 am

Rip bro ...I remembered the cleanser ..senar slim and skim skit.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 3rd, 2020, 7:50 am

Postby 88sins » October 3rd, 2020, 8:08 am

Well this weekend is ruined.
May he rest in peace, at least he with his brother now. I don't know if anyone did more to make people laugh and feel good in this country.

He will be sorely missed.

Postby sMASH » October 3rd, 2020, 8:40 am

Rovin wrote:this might be b4 some of yall time but i do believe this is how d name "sprangalang" got stuck on him because of this segment of d show "gayelle" ... in this clip u will hear him intro himself as "draxsy" ...

from 1.04

i remember seeing some special or interview or sumting where they said that... he was not sprangalang, it was the name of the show.

but look how forward thinking these people were so long ago. trying to teach people the different cultures we have here. if people did watch this, they might learn the difference between divali and eid.

Postby Les Bain » October 3rd, 2020, 9:57 am

Good memories from Gayelle and his time on Power 102 with Jus Jase.
Used to see him regular in front 102 when i was leaving town on a Friday. They don't make entertainers like him anymore.
RIP

Postby The_Honourable » October 3rd, 2020, 10:15 am

Cultural Sprang boi... :cry:

The only local comedian that would make me laugh from the heart. He and Tommy were a dynamic duo. Never forgot the husband and wife skits with Beulah at those comedy festivals.

Allyuh must remember Senna... Cleanser... Slim... and Skim...

RIP Sprang...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2020, 12:48 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Allyuh must remember Senna... Cleanser... Slim... and Skim...

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 3rd, 2020, 1:59 pm

Redman wrote:What we’ve lost here is a true compendium of local and cultural history,in the oral traditions.

RIP.

He was a national treasure indeed.

His knowledge of cultural and national history was almost unparalleled, the way he could recall details of the most varied of topics off the bat.

That coupled with his unique humour makes this a grave loss for us.

RIP sir...