T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Re: T&T Budget 2020 is on October 5th

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2020, 12:20 pm

88sins wrote:Like I said, he did a lot of not thinking.
Public transportation here needs a a lot of work, particularly with regards to services for places outside business hubs. There's very large well established communities with hundreds of families, many of whom that actually don't own vehicles and would really appreciate access to an efficient bus service in their area, where ptsc just don't provide sufficient service if any at all, and it's been that way for decades and not going to change. These people have only two options, buy private vehicles, or use private sector transportation. And when it comes to the convenience of being able to come and go as you want when and where you want safely, taking taxi and maxi can't compare to having your own transportation.

We really should be decentralizing tho. There's so many benefits to it, such as more jobs would be available closer to where workers live, reducing commute times and traffic congestion on the roads and as a result lower our carbon emissions, kids would be able to get to school and back easier and with less stress, people would save on fuel costs due to shorter commutes as well as it'd be costing the state less in fuel subsidies, and much more.
But this requires forward thinking and planning. And we all know what that means in this place.

Many people would actually avoid the hassle of having to take a vehicle everywhere, look for park, gas, wear and tear etc. if they could. The rail was/is a good idea, but when we had the money for the proper infrastructure, we pissed it away on corrupt projects that brought no real benefits, and even if they did, they were shipped overseas or squandered/stolen by our politicians and their goon squads.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 1:34 pm

You all act as though the bus service can't be improved. People buy cars because they are affordable and viewed as a status symbol in TT. That is why some households of 4 also have 4 cars between them.

Has nothing to do with reliability of public transportation. I know people living on the bus route who own multiple cars. There is a myriad of transportation options including ph car, taxi, maxi, ptsc and now rideshare companies popping up.

If fuel had been more expensive in the past then people would have driven less. How many cars would have beem on the road had there been no foreign used cars being sold?

You really only need reliable public transportation up to a certain time. Let us say 10:00pm. After 10 pm the only commercial entities open are bars and nightclubs.

The rail was a stupid idea because we haven't maximised bus use as yet. Also remember less cars on the road also mean less traffick for the buses so they could become more efficient.

Postby maj. tom » September 20th, 2020, 1:44 pm

So why don't they improve it then? What they waiting on to improve the bus service? It's been (2020 - 1962) years. What they waiting on?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 2:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:So why don't they improve it then? What they waiting on to improve the bus service? It's been (2020 - 1962) years. What they waiting on?

What is the first thing they buy when they get into parliament or ministry? Ent is a tax free luxury vehicle? Why fix something that you wouldn't have to use?
Last edited by Redress10 on October 7th, 2020, 10:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2020, 2:21 pm

Redress10 wrote:You all act as though the bus service can't be improved. People buy cars because they are affordable and viewed as a status symbol in TT. That is why some households of 4 also have 4 cars between them.

Has nothing to do with reliability of public transportation. I know people living on the bus route who own multiple cars. There is a myriad of transportation options including ph car, taxi, maxi, ptsc and now rideshare companies popping up.

If fuel had been more expensive in the past then people would have driven less. How many cars would have beem on the road had there been no foreign used cars being sold?

You really only need reliable public transportation up to a certain time. Let us say 10:00pm. After 10 pm the only commercial entities open are bars and nightclubs.

The rail was a stupid idea because we haven't maximised bus use as yet. Also remember less cars on the road also mean less traffick for the buses so they could become more efficient.

It has literally EVERYTHING to do with the lack of reliability of public transportation. You want an example? Ok

Take the San Raphael/Las Lomas/ Arena/Brazil/Talparo area in the east. Several thousand people live in that little region of this country, many of whom started out living up there without vehicles and quickly realized, without a personal vehicle and being dependent on ptsc and even taxis and taxis, expect some frequent serious problems. I dare you, to go up there and wait for a bus to get out of San Raphael on a Monday morning. I will even get you the schedule and personally drop you off at the bus stop in San Raphael and wait with you. Monday morning not good for you? Ok. On a weekday night, go to Arima and try to get a bus or a taxi to go Talparo or Las Lomas lafter 9 PM. Not a bus eh, a taxi. Yuh go figure it out real fast by the time the sun come up and you realize that you still there waiting.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2020, 2:46 pm

Redress10 wrote:You all act as though the bus service can't be improved. People buy cars because they are affordable and viewed as a status symbol in TT. That is why some households of 4 also have 4 cars between them.

It has literally EVERYTHING to do with the lack of reliability of public transportation. You want an example? Ok

Take the San Raphael/Las Lomas/ Arena/Brazil/Talparo area in the east. Several thousand people live in that little region of this country, many of whom started out living up there without vehicles and quickly realized, without a personal vehicle and being dependent on ptsc and even taxis and taxis, expect some frequent serious problems. I dare you, to go up there and wait for a bus to get out of San Raphael on a Monday morning. I will even get you the schedule and personally drop you off at the bus stop in San Raphael and wait with you. Monday morning not good for you? Ok. On a weekday night, go to Arima and try to get a bus or a taxi to go Talparo or Las Lomas lafter 9 PM. Not a bus eh, a taxi. Yuh go figure it out real fast by the time the sun come up and you realize that you still there waiting.

Red Dress salty because he can't afford a car?
That could be the only reason for arguing an against all available evidence argument about public transport. Public transport is unreliable, unsafe and unworkable. If when money was flowing, it wasn't invested in upgrades and maintenance, what makes you think it's going to be done now in Covid-19 times? Sadly, when we return to some state of normalcy, the PNM will still ignore it.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Everything you all are complaining about public transportation can be fixed with political will and proper management. Ever see how many buses are rotting away on PTSC compound? That is alluh taxpayers money going down the drain. You will never see that amt of waste in a developed wealthy country but remember what the doc said "money is no problem". Ha

The other idiot wanted a rapid rail for 25 billion tt I believe. Imagine how many bus stations could have been built and upgraded with that. Imagine how many buses could have procured and repaired with a quarter of that money. But buses don't sound cool so rapid rail it was to bamboozle a population. TT hasn't even maximised its bus service but talking abt trains. Without subsidies alluh really feel that you could train travel on a daily basis? That isn't exactly cheap.

Alluh complaining about poor management and population planning. These things can be fixed but it requires the will to do so. Politicians not gonna fix it. When last a politician use public transport? Politicians in better, wealthier and more developed countries even cycle to work. Alluh forget plebgate? First thing out politicians do is buy a luxury vehicle because its a status symbol. This is part of the colonial brainwashing. If it wasn't they'd all be driving tiidas.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 20th, 2020, 5:09 pm

Redress10 wrote:Everything you all are complaining about public transportation can be fixed with political will and proper management. Ever see how many buses are rotting away on PTSC compound? That is alluh taxpayers money going down the drain. You will never see that amt of waste in a developed wealthy country but remember what the doc said "money is no problem". Ha

The other idiot wanted a rapid rail for 25 billion tt I believe. Imagine how many bus stations could have been built and upgraded with that. Imagine how many buses could have procured and repaired with a quarter of that money. But buses don't sound cool so rapid rail it was to bamboozle a population. TT hasn't even maximised its bus service but talking abt trains. Without subsidies alluh really feel that you could train travel on a daily basis? That isn't exactly cheap.

Alluh complaining about poor management and population planning. These things can be fixed but it requires the will to do so. Politicians not gonna fix it. When last a politician use public transport? Politicians in better, wealthier and more developed countries even cycle to work. Alluh forget plebgate? First thing out politicians do is buy a luxury vehicle because its a status symbol. This is part of the colonial brainwashing. If it wasn't they'd all be driving tiidas.

Dude you are right on this one, every country I've visited, including many third world countries had a proper working bus system.

Our public transport is a mess, there's barely any info online and they're more long haul type trips. Hence why maxi taxi (nothing against them) and PH drivers make mass.

Maxi's are excellent, BUT again there's no order. They can stop anywhere. There needs to be much more regulated and have drop off and pickup points.

Jack had a really good plan to have a short drop shuttle service with over 50 routes throughout POS. If it worked there then it'd be taken to Arima, Chauanas and SF.

Alas, that plan fell through because it wasn't something to make much contract money off and Kamla wanted highway instead for her Legacy.

Have any of you used bus serviers in Europe? There are easily understood, have top up cards, route info on all bus stops. Bus stops have timers showing the ETA (in realtime for the busses). It is amazing.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 5:27 pm

Dohplaythat

It's not rocket science. It's done all over the world. We are suffering from poor management and wastage.

Let me ask you this. If PTSC drivers and managers had to use those same buses to get to and from work, do you think that PTSC would be in such a state? But bus is for "poor" people. The belief all over trinidad is that public transport is for people who can't afford to own a car.

Bro, ppl literally don't drive in Europe unless it's absolutely necessary. This is because driving is infact very expensive. There's road tax, high fuel costs, vehicle taxes. There's a lot of barriers there towards owning a car to keep congestion to a minimum and to protect the environment.

I don't see why we can't implement a national transportation policy that is efficient. It is necessary. Our way of life is not sustainable and the change has to happen NOW. This is difficilult because those in office love their luxurious vehicles. They don't care about the state of public transport because they are not affected

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2020, 6:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:Everything you all are complaining about public transportation can be fixed with political will and proper management. Ever see how many buses are rotting away on PTSC compound? That is alluh taxpayers money going down the drain. You will never see that amt of waste in a developed wealthy country but remember what the doc said "money is no problem". Ha

Well from what I see the only person complaining thus far is you, about how poor people shouldn't own a vehicle. Everything else so far has been everyone showing you exactly why they should and do own a vehicle.

Don't get it twisted.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2020, 6:41 pm

Redress10 wrote:Dohplaythat

It's not rocket science. It's done all over the world. We are suffering from poor management and wastage.

Let me ask you this. If PTSC drivers and managers had to use those same buses to get to and from work, do you think that PTSC would be in such a state? But bus is for "poor" people. The belief all over trinidad is that public transport is for people who can't afford to own a car.

Bro, ppl literally don't drive in Europe unless it's absolutely necessary. This is because driving is infact very expensive. There's road tax, high fuel costs, vehicle taxes. There's a lot of barriers there towards owning a car to keep congestion to a minimum and to protect the environment.

I don't see why we can't implement a national transportation policy that is efficient. It is necessary. Our way of life is not sustainable and the change has to happen NOW. This is difficilult because those in office love their luxurious vehicles. They don't care about the state of public transport because they are not affected

So, you'd force them to use public transport? How exactly are you going to do that? Those type of solutions only work in places where people think past their own pockets, and where the public interest comes first, not here where you have a GORTT who have systematically destroyed the rail/bus system that we used to have, where it could have been as you described today.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 20th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Public service too unreliable to be properly utilized.

Postby paid_influencer » September 20th, 2020, 7:15 pm

maybe the govt license some tech from Uber, Lyft, etc, to make a custom app for T&T Public transport. check in on the app, nearest licensed taxi gets routed to you, drops you off at a mass-transit hub or your destination.

but I admit there is no incentive for anyone in Government to do that.
Last edited by paid_influencer on September 20th, 2020, 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Well from what I see the only person complaining thus far is you, about how poor people shouldn't own a vehicle. Everything else so far has been everyone showing you exactly why they should and do own a vehicle.

Don't get it twisted.

Well no. This started with ppl not wanting to pay more for fuel or even any additional taxes that pertain to use of the road. I'm saying that these ppl probably can't afford a car anyway and if they could then any additonal taxes wouldn't care anyway. Do you think someone who can afford a range rover or bentley cares if fuel prices go up by 5%? Probably not.

The argument was that the price of fuel is so cheap that is makes owning a vehicle an attractive option instead of using public transport. The same way that when diesel was cheap, everyone went to buy pick up trucks and SUVs.
That is why ppl say subsidise public transport to incentivise ppl to use it. It's basic economics.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 20th, 2020, 7:21 pm

"A Tale of 2 Trinidads"

One where people buy out of luxury and others buy out of necessity.

I would say I know of both instances, however those who buy out of luxury eventually downsize on account of expense and it being a bit wasteful maintenance also becomes a hassle, and those who buy out of necessity, tend to by a "fixer upper" and probably spend more time fixing it that driving it.

On the whole I know more folks who buy out of necessity, things are just too unreliable and inflexible.
I know of private cars being used a ambulances on account of the area not being properly serviced, mind you these were one of situations but still it give you and idea of how out of the way some places are and not really properly serviced in general.

Public transport probably could be good, but it isn't that's why persons buy out of need. Even when it does work it just doesn't, case and point the bus came on time, left on time then broke down half way to the intended destination.

Folks who were on the bus having bought their ticket, now had to either wait for PTSC to send another with a wait time closer to an hour, mind you the entire trip probably is only supposed to take 1.0hr.

The only other option would be to try to flag a maxi or taxi, which at this point is very hard as many are passing on account of being full. When you do get one you now have to pay the fare having not being refunded for PTSC's failure to provide a working service. So your day has started and your late and that much poorer for no fault of your own.

You at this point may want to consider buying a car, whatever the condition.

The days are getting hotter, the A/C just doesn't work, you end up at work hot sweaty and bothered after sending 2.0hrs in traffic in the bus, now you might spend 2.0hrs. in traffic in your car but chances are you might have serviceable A/C, so you might be late but not hot sweaty and bothered.

In many countries public transport is almost always subsidized however this is seen as tolerable as the net benefits are positive. The workforce is now mobile and their is less congestion on the roads, it makes life easier for the citizens, the subsidy is essentially your government and nation's income working for you.

I agree there are some things that existed in T&T that only encouraged the adoption of private as opposed to public transport, cheap gas and the availability of foreign used vehicles were among those, but poor management, and that includes the exclusion of some communities and poor vehicle maintenance as well as poor pricing of the service, also encourage the need to buy a vehicle.

It wasn't that folks didn't want the service, in many instances they just had no choice. Which goes against what most public services are supposed to do which is give citizens access to choice.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 7:26 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe the govt should commission Uber, Lyft, etc, to make a custom app for T&T Public transport. check in on the app, nearest licensed taxi gets routed to you, drops you off at a mass-transit hub or your destination.

but I admit there is no incentive for anyone in Government to do that.

Don't need uber etc to build such an app. It's not that complicated.

The problem begins with the fact that the lawmakers are not incentivised to move with the times. They don't even have a proper bus service but was doing feasibility study on rapid rail. We are governed by PR in this country and not sense.

You have to remove the class divisions in order to get your public transport up to scratch. Public transport is akin to public healthcare, is for the "poor" so it will always lack a quality because higher ups see it as nothing more than a hand out. So every couple of months, big ceremony and photograph to show off a couple new buses but no improvement on route optimisation or technology.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Don't get it twisted.

I would force them to use it because if more ppl use it, are affected by its quality then more ppl will complain causing it to improve hopefully. That is why I will force them to use it. By more ppl using it, you have more stakeholders involved.

By more people I mean all sectors of society yeh. Not just the ordinary man.

Let me ask you this. You think if iMPs and ministers had to pay 3 times the price for a vehicle instead of the tax breaks they get for vehicles, they would run and buy new cars one time? They are incentivised to acquire new vehicles. I'm sure that's why some of them end up in there in the first place.

Postby maj. tom » September 20th, 2020, 7:41 pm

The day you get your own car, you will realize that you can never go back to the horror of public transport in Trinidad again. Could be the most beat up, shutting down, dent up, scrape up, knocking engine, bad shocks, rip up seat vehicle you ever own. It still better than public transport in this country. Leave your car home and travel from Couva to Sangre Grande a morning and tell us how that goes.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 7:51 pm

I don't have a need to travel from couva to sangre grande? Why would I? The only out of the way place I travel to is San Fernando from pos. For that I take the luxury coach. It stops maybe 3 times for the entire journey and it's very comfortable ride.

But I also don't take my car and knock abt all over TT just for the sake of it. My car is to get me to work, home and supermarket etc. If Im going on the ave to lime then I get a rideshare. I'm not leaving west trinidad and go gulf city mall to walk abt for instance. But plenty trinis do stuff like that. That is wastage and inefficiency. What would they do if there were no fuel subsidy? Would people fly to tobago frequently if the airfare wasn't subsidised?

Postby paid_influencer » September 20th, 2020, 8:07 pm

Redress10 wrote: But I also don't take my car and knock abt all over TT just for the sake of it. My car is to get me to work, home and supermarket etc. If Im going on the ave to lime then I get a rideshare. I'm not leaving west trinidad and go gulf city mall to walk abt for instance. But plenty trinis do stuff like that. That is wastage and inefficiency. What would they do if there were no fuel subsidy? Would people fly to tobago frequently if the airfare wasn't subsidised?

which rideshare?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 20th, 2020, 8:21 pm

I used tt rideshare

Postby bluefete » September 20th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Redress10 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:So why don't they improve it then? What they waiting on to improve the bus service? It's been (2020 - 1962) years. What they waiting on?

What is the first thing they buy when they get into parliament or ministry? Ent is a tax free luxury vehicle? Why fix something that you wouldn't have to use?

Go straight to the head of the class.

I understand a whole bunch of luxury vehicles came in just around election time for the eventual victors.

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2020, 8:44 pm

With respect to the transportation issues, I posted the following on another ched after the rapid rail was scrapped:

The plan was scrapped...

The IMF told Imbert nope. Then the IADB in a report blank the GOTT in early 2016 saying it is not feasible and proposed the Bus Rapid Transit or BRT as it was found to be superior in 10/14 key criterias then matching in two others versus a rail system. If the Government did agree to this alternative, the IADB were willing to support and fund a BRT system.

Of course, politics trumps everything. Because Stephen Cadiz and the PP was correct in their assessment a few years before that the BRT would be a far better alternative especially in terms of costs, PNM decided that they will do nothing period in upgrading the mass transit system using the economic downturn as an excuse instead of a "PP" idea coming to fruition.

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2020, 9:28 pm

Anyway gents, let's get back on topic.

Postby maj. tom » September 23rd, 2020, 6:03 pm

US State Dept hits corrupt TT

CORRUPTION and bureaucracy are impeding foreign investments into TT, said a recent report by the United States State Department, 2020 Investment Climate Statement on Trinidad and Tobago.

It said TT is a high-income developing country with an annual GDP of $23.9 billion, which the International Monetary Fund predicts will fall by 4.5 percent this year due to collapsed global energy prices and the economic impact of covid19.

“TT’s investment climate is generally open and most investment barriers have been eliminated,” said the report, “but stifling bureaucracy and opaque procedures remain.”

The report hailed TT’s stable and democratic political system, its educated workforce, banking and insurance industries, rule of law and independent judicial system.

However it also spelt out the negative aspects of TT’s investment climate.

These were foreign exchange shortages, widespread perception of corruption among public officials, lack of transparency in public procurement, inefficient and complicated government bureaucracy, time-consuming resolution of legal conflicts such as enforcement of contracts, and violent crime.

The report said TT seeks foreign investment and has no laws nor practices to discriminate against foreign investors.

“But some have seen the decision-making process for tenders and the subsequent awarding of contracts turn opaque without warning, especially when their interests compete with those of well-connected local firms.”

Urging more help for administration and dispute resolution, the report lamented a difficulty of doing business. Out of 190 countries, TT ranked at 158 for registering property, 174 for enforcing contracts and 166 for payment of taxes, in a 2020 World Bank report.

While hailing TT’s judicial system as competent, fair and reliable, the report said the court system was very slow, requiring 1,340 days to resolve a contract claim, double the Latin American and Caribbean average.

The report reckoned the TT$ was overvalued by the Government.

“Shortages of foreign exchange, exacerbated by the Government’s maintenance of the local currency at values higher than those which the market would bear, cause considerable delays in conversion into world currencies.”

The report noted a pending withdrawal of US$1.1 billion from the US$5.9 billion Heritage and Stabilisation Fund to support covid19 measures.

“TT has laws to ensure protection of labour rights, consumers, and the environment.

“Enforcement, however, is lacking due to staffing shortages, capacity issues, and a bureaucratic judiciary.”

The report said corruption amongst public officials can be addressed by the Integrity in Public Life Act, Freedom of Information Act, Police Complaints Authority Act and Prevention of Corruption Act, but lamented their “infrequent application” and “lack of thorough enforcement.”

“The laws do not extend to family members of officials or to political parties. TT does not have laws or regulations to counter conflicts of interest in awarding contracts or government procurement.”

However the report said the Government has helped develop non-binding corporate governance standards to encourage private companies to establish internal codes of conduct to prohibit bribery of public officials.

“There are no protections for NGOs involved in investigating corruption,” said the report, “but investigations are not feared since corrupt actors are rarely punished.”

The report concluded, “US firms often say corruption is an obstacle to FDI (foreign direct investment), particularly in government procurement, since TT’s procurement processes are not transparent.”
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/21/state- ... T0D55SQ5ZQ

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 6:13 pm

^^ That is definitely the pot calling the kettle black. The most corrupt country in the world calling out its smaller compatriot.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 23rd, 2020, 6:17 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ That is definitely the pot calling the kettle black. The most corrupt country in the world calling out its smaller compatriot.

Yes let's turn a blind eye to it because of the messenger.

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 6:17 pm

So ah hearing:

Wage freeze / salary cuts for public servants.

No devaluations as yet because it will mash up the country given our current finances.

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR

Good time to cut salaries of MPs, President

NEWSDAY 2 DAYS AGO

THE EDITOR: I think it is a good time for us to ask our government representatives – from President to Members of Parliament, to parliamentary secretaries – to take a pay cut. Also all appointments to boards of statutory authorities and state enterprises.

I know our Prime Minister has pooh-poohed this suggestion before. But before the “minister of tax” starts to talk about cutting the amount paid to old age pensioners and the disabled, think about this.

The pensioners have worked their entire lives and are dependent on this small fixed income. The families of the disabled are also dependent on this small allowance to provide for their families.

All members of government, including the President, receive salaries paid by these same citizens, through VAT and so on. They must bite the bullet first. Surely in hard times those citizens who can afford a luxury lifestyle should contribute to assist those in greater need.

I propose at least a 15 per cent cut in their salaries. No tax free-vehicles. No entertainment allowances. No lunch allowances. No gas and travelling allowances. Keep the drivers for the President and Prime Minister. Let us see an example from our leaders.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/22/good-t ... president/

And by the way, we need procurement legislation now.

ANNE DE SILVA

St Joseph

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2020, 6:20 pm

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2020, 6:34 pm

bluefete wrote:So ah hearing:

Wage freeze / salary cuts for public servants.

No devaluations as yet because it will mash up the country given our current finances.

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR

Good time to cut salaries of MPs, President

NEWSDAY 2 DAYS AGO

THE EDITOR: I think it is a good time for us to ask our government representatives – from President to Members of Parliament, to parliamentary secretaries – to take a pay cut. Also all appointments to boards of statutory authorities and state enterprises.

I know our Prime Minister has pooh-poohed this suggestion before. But before the “minister of tax” starts to talk about cutting the amount paid to old age pensioners and the disabled, think about this.

The pensioners have worked their entire lives and are dependent on this small fixed income. The families of the disabled are also dependent on this small allowance to provide for their families.

All members of government, including the President, receive salaries paid by these same citizens, through VAT and so on. They must bite the bullet first. Surely in hard times those citizens who can afford a luxury lifestyle should contribute to assist those in greater need.

I propose at least a 15 per cent cut in their salaries. No tax free-vehicles. No entertainment allowances. No lunch allowances. No gas and travelling allowances. Keep the drivers for the President and Prime Minister. Let us see an example from our leaders.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/09/22/good-t ... president/

And by the way, we need procurement legislation now.

ANNE DE SILVA

St Joseph
We already had a wage freeze, public servants are still on 2013 salaries going into the year 2021.... if they even think about cutting salaries then the unions will intervene. I have no issue with the politicians feeling the brunt of covid as they like to cry that we all in this together, then they can show us, those allowances and tax exemptions just aren't possible given the country's nay ...the world's economic climate
Last edited by hover11 on September 23rd, 2020, 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.