Taxes to be removed on Laptops and Tablets says Finance Minister

Re: Taxes to be removed on Laptops and Tablets says Finance Minister

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2020, 1:12 pm

Once you have your legit documents you will be reimbursed. You need to get the customs entry from your courier providing they paid that duty on your behalf. You need printed screen shots of your online purchase and perhaps a printout of your credit card page showing the transaction . There's a process to query the charges at customs house

Postby Ben_spanna » October 20th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Question - How is right or fair for customs to declare their own value for an item that clearly has an original receipt (also pre-alerted)?

I ordered a headphones that cost $120 on Amazon, customs CIF value is $275 wtf.....ended up paying more than $1000 TT to clear it (yes more than the item cost, despite it weight 1kg).

I know it's a headache but I'm going to. dispute the charges. I just wondering if customs working by vaps when it comes to declaring a value.

The MSRP of these headphones isn't even close to $275, it's $199

because some dumbfvk of a customs officer liked it more than you, so we went up online and found the most expensive place on the internet he could find it and used that to value your item.... yes its bullsh1t and yes they do it to people and you just have to sit down and take it.....

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 20th, 2020, 5:23 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Question - How is right or fair for customs to declare their own value for an item that clearly has an original receipt (also pre-alerted)?

I ordered a headphones that cost $120 on Amazon, customs CIF value is $275 wtf.....ended up paying more than $1000 TT to clear it (yes more than the item cost, despite it weight 1kg).

I know it's a headache but I'm going to. dispute the charges. I just wondering if customs working by vaps when it comes to declaring a value.

The MSRP of these headphones isn't even close to $275, it's $199

because some dumbfvk of a customs officer liked it more than you, so we went up online and found the most expensive place on the internet he could find it and used that to value your item.... yes its bullsh1t and yes they do it to people and you just have to sit down and take it.....

I feel so, because there's a special edition of these headphones that cost $259 on Amazon, this is the standard regular version and even older model.

Regardless, it is completely wrong of them to just declare a value despite having an invoice in front of their face.

Galvatron

Taxes on laptops

Postby Galvatron » January 23rd, 2021, 4:30 pm

Is there an end date for the removal of taxes on laptops?

Captain Awesome

Re: Taxes on laptops

Postby Captain Awesome » January 25th, 2021, 5:46 pm

There's no vat or duty on laptops.

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » May 1st, 2023, 8:11 pm

Can anyone tell me if this exemption is still in place and if it includes computer monitors and laser printers?

Postby paid_influencer » May 1st, 2023, 8:14 pm

i brought in a computer monitor like two months ago and paid no tax

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2023, 8:19 pm

ttphilip wrote:Can anyone tell me if this exemption is still in place and if it includes computer monitors and laser printers?
Yes yes and yes

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » May 1st, 2023, 8:37 pm

Thanks guys!

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2023, 9:29 pm

Don't order over 2700 usd in one order

Postby paid_influencer » May 1st, 2023, 9:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Don't order over 2700 usd in one order

what if I want a macbook pro 16" it is 2700+tax what they will do

Postby adnj » May 1st, 2023, 10:17 pm

$2700 is a bold move. That's pretty close to the limit.

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2023, 10:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

what if I want a macbook pro 16" it is 2700+tax what they will do
Once it cross or even close to 20k tt.....like all 19k tt n thing...they will bond it and tell you to organise a customs broker and do a commercial entry and get an appointment to clear and all kinda flabbergastery

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2023, 11:02 pm

customs need to up that limit, prices of everything worldwide has gone up
should be at least 5k

adnj wrote:

Postby redmanjp » May 2nd, 2023, 4:31 pm

pugboy wrote:customs need to up that limit, prices of everything worldwide has gone up
should be at least 5k

adnj wrote:

5k US? that amt is for ppl who reselling stuff mostly

solarkh

Postby solarkh » May 10th, 2023, 8:35 am

Good day all,

Was the exemptions for cellphones/cellphone cases etc. removed?

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2023, 9:06 am

solarkh wrote:Good day all,

Was the exemptions for cellphones/cellphone cases etc. removed?

Nothing has changed to my knowledge but
Cell phone cases and accessories incur duty, VAT and OPT.
Screen protectors incur VAT and OPT.

Postby teems1 » May 11th, 2023, 11:56 am

A Microcenter is opening up in Miami at the Midway Crossings Mall late 2023 to summer 2024

It will be cheaper to fly to Miami, buy what you need and return same day, than use a skybox or purchase from a local retailer.

Postby paid_influencer » May 11th, 2023, 5:59 pm

teems1 wrote:A Microcenter is opening up in Miami at the Midway Crossings Mall late 2023 to summer 2024

It will be cheaper to fly to Miami, buy what you need and return same day, than use a skybox or purchase from a local retailer.

seems like a lot of work

also i doh trust shopping in miami again. one time I went with family to a mall, load up all the computer stuffs and jockey shorts in a rental car trunk. went my merry way to a next location to do other errands. you know next time we pop the trunk everything gone. bandit tief it out

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2023, 6:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
teems1 wrote:A Microcenter is opening up in Miami at the Midway Crossings Mall late 2023 to summer 2024

seems like a lot of work

also i doh trust shopping in miami again. one time I went with family to a mall, load up all the computer stuffs and jockey shorts in a rental car trunk. went my merry way to a next location to do other errands. you know next time we pop the trunk everything gone. bandit tief it out
Happen to padna of mine as well.

They went shopping in dolphin mall over 20k usd in stuff.

Then went a nearby red lobster and come back and everything gone. When they gone 2 make a report the police tell them that's a normal thing that happens to foreigners

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 6:26 pm

them bandits have copies of car chipkeys or wha ?

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2023, 6:41 pm

They had break a glass in my bredrin case. I feel it was someone in red lobster was telling their people about good vehicles to break into. Easy enuff to know if a crew come from abroad and did plenty shopping

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 7:27 pm

yeah dolphin mall is plenty tourist shoppers