Recommend a drone for a 9yr old

Galvatron

Recommend a drone for a 9yr old

Postby Galvatron » August 22nd, 2020, 11:37 am

Any recommendations on drones for a 9 yr old? Camera and good battery time is a requirement.
Will be purchasing online, so let me know about any restrictions/requirements.
Thanks.

Re: Recommend a drone for a 9yr old

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2020, 11:44 am

DJI Mavic Mini or DJI Spark (with remote, don't use your phone as a controller)
Anything DJI has better resale value that other brands too

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » August 22nd, 2020, 11:51 am

A bit expensive for a kid...any other suggestions

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2020, 12:03 pm

In Trinidad and Tobago, drones are divided into five categories:

Category 1 UA: maximum take-off weight up to 750 grams.
Category 2 UA: take-off weight of more than 750 grams and less than 20 kilograms and a maximum speed of 40 m / s.
Category 3 UA: take-off weight of more than 750 grams and less than 20 kilograms and a speed of more than 40 m / s.
Category 4 UA: From a weight of 20 kilograms and less than 100 kilograms.
Category 5 UA: All other unmanned aerial vehicles that do not fall into the four categories above.

Regardless of weight and purpose, all drones must be registered with the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA). The only exception is made if you use a category 1 UA multicopter for recreational purposes.
https://drone-traveller.com/drone-laws- ... nd-tobago/

https://caa.gov.tt/unmanned-aircraft-systems-uas-drones/
The TTCAA urges all UAS/Drone owners to register all drones of weight 750 grams or heavier. For registrations or inquiries please contact the TTCAA at email: drones@caa.gov.tt.
Please note the prohibited and restricted areas (No Fly Zones) and operating guidelines for Trinidad and Tobago.

TTCAA No Fly Zones in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby SMc » August 22nd, 2020, 12:11 pm

Galvatron wrote:A bit expensive for a kid...any other suggestions

Why dont you put your budget in the thread or post title so you get more relevant information.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 22nd, 2020, 2:34 pm

Trust me, you would be better off with a Mavic! Its bullet proof and very stable.
Only other decent drone I heard that is okish is the Holy Stone.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 22nd, 2020, 2:46 pm

Galvatron wrote:Any recommendations on drones for a 9 yr old? Camera and good battery time is a requirement.
Thanks.

Try a Tello

Built with DJI technology and specifically made for children to learn.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2020, 3:17 pm

In my little experience you will end up buying multiple cheaper drones that will not last or not work as well and end up spending more money in the long run for things you cannot resell when he advances. If you invest in a Mavic Mini he will be able to fly it (they almost fly themselves) and you will be able to use it to do family videos, teaches him videography and if later on he or you want to upgrade you will be able to sell it for a decent price. Even as parts, broken DJI drones are worth money.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » August 22nd, 2020, 6:46 pm

He'll be fedup of this within a month time....so don't see the need for something expensive. Roblox has taken over his life!

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2020, 8:23 pm

well just go island hobbies or toymart and buy whatever suits your budget
Why waste ppl time here :|

carluva

Postby carluva » August 22nd, 2020, 8:27 pm

Why bother to buy the drone if he will be fed up in a month.

By small man a Lego and save Yuh money

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » August 22nd, 2020, 8:35 pm

everyone wants the best for their kids but buying an expensive drone for 9 yr old boy is a risk because he could lose or mash it up
it have many places locally selling those cheaper drones so get one of that for him if he really wants one

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 23rd, 2020, 4:02 am

https://www.my-best-kite.com/how-to-bui ... ite-s.html

not joking

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » August 23rd, 2020, 7:44 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Galvatron wrote:Any recommendations on drones for a 9 yr old? Camera and good battery time is a requirement.
Thanks.

Try a Tello

Built with DJI technology and specifically made for children to learn.

Checked this out and it seems suitable...thanks for the recommendation.

Thanks to Duane and maj.tom for their input as well.