COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: COVIDIOTS in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby paid_influencer » April 9th, 2021, 11:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Image

that graph wrong. proper mask use (covering both nose and mouth in public places) is about 30% by my side. social distancing doesn't happen unless there is an actual queue for some reason.

people really doh care anymore and starting to get vex when you tell them to pull up the mask and back off.

Postby De Dragon » April 10th, 2021, 2:43 am

Devourment wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Yeah the idiots who believe his story lol

The pics look legit to me. You can see the shadow of the paper her put up on the bottom right,

@Dohplaydat,

Do you have her permission to use her pics though? I would hope so as revenge porn etc. carries some hefty charges.

Back to covidiots, I have been noticing Trinis planning last lap limes this weekend.....steups.

DPD hit we ah Matt Gaetz

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 10th, 2021, 6:41 am

So when will you people be ready to talk about the fact that Texas is completely open, stadiums packed for games, no masks, no social distancing and what the media tells you should happen isn't happening?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 10th, 2021, 6:45 am

In the week leading up to the Easter long holiday weekend, over 50,000 people travelled between Trinidad and Tobago, both on the air and sea bridge.

This, according to Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan.

He said the figure represented a seven-day count.

He congratulated Caribbean Airlines, the Port Authority and the National Infrastructure Development Company Limited for facilitating the transportation of so many people without any challenges.

allyuh cyat was so scratching that you all had to go somewhere knowing covid rampant. you looking at possible 25000 new cases which will cripple the health system in trinidad and tobago an kill thousands who will go without hospital care all because allyuh cyat scratching

Postby matr1x » April 10th, 2021, 7:15 am

Rampant is an exaggerating term.

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2021, 8:51 am

Skanky wrote:So when will you people be ready to talk about the fact that Texas is completely open, stadiums packed for games, no masks, no social distancing and what the media tells you should happen isn't happening?
Still asking the same questions.

More than 30% of the Texas population has received at least one vaccination injection.

A vaccine will not end the pandemic unless everyone can get it

Nearly every day brings news of promising developments in the unprecedented global quest for a vaccine to COVID-19. Yet, finding an effective vaccine will not put an end to the pandemic unless countries can agree to cooperate on its development, production and distribution and ensure it is affordable and accessible to all, warns Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Professor of International Affairs at The New School and Member of the UN Committee for Development Policy.

https://www.un.org/es/desa/vaccine-will ... can-get-it

adnj wrote:
Skanky wrote:So Texas has been open for 3 weeks now and their cases have dropped to a new record low- no masks no social distancing no such crap.

Any of you with your degrees from The University of The Media care to explain this?
Recalibrate your perception.

20% of the population of Texas has been vaccinated.
2.8 million confirmed Covid-19 cases and 5.6 million estimated Covid-19 infections - nearly 20% of the population.

With an infection rate that is 7 times higher than TTO while at its "record low."

Last edited by adnj on April 10th, 2021, 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

BUG

Postby BUG » April 10th, 2021, 9:44 am

Skanky wrote:So when will you people be ready to talk about the fact that Texas is completely open, stadiums packed for games, no masks, no social distancing and what the media tells you should happen isn't happening?

So when will you people be ready to talk about the fact that Texas has already had an estimated 13 million people with natural immunity due to already having the virus + 8 million Texans including 6/10 seniors over the age of 60 already receiving the first dose of vaccines? Texas is on it's way to herd immunity.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.states ... 4821272001

When will you people base your life decisions off logic, reason and scientific fact instead of snowflake emotions?

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2021, 8:03 pm

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2021, 8:07 pm

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2021, 8:30 pm

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 8:36 pm

sMASH wrote:

ppl hadda married, them doh care if the granny dead in 2 or 3 weeks

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2021, 10:10 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
drchaos wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Drchaos what specialty you working in?

Microbiology for a year, emergency med and now primary care.

How was the Microb life? You loved the no call part ent?

It was the sweet life, Reg used to just take the calls on the phone ... Moving from this to A&E was like a brick in the face. :shock:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2021, 10:28 pm

BUG wrote:

So when will you people be ready to talk about the fact that Texas has already had an estimated 13 million people with natural immunity due to already having the virus + 8 million Texans including 6/10 seniors over the age of 60 already receiving the first dose of vaccines? Texas is on it's way to herd immunity.

When will you people base your life decisions off logic, reason and scientific fact instead of snowflake emotions?

This guy continues to falsify facts ...
According to official data not this Lizard worshiping Insect ... Texas has only 2.8 million confirmed cases meaning only 2.8 million have possible natural immunity to at least 1 variant not 13 million that he is lying about.
https://coronavirusintexas.org/
or just google Corona virus cases in Texas.
and only 1.8 million doses of vaccines both moderna and Pfizer have been given.

So where is he getting these facts that 13 million have natural immunty and 8 million people having had the vaccine?

Lying about facts to prove his point ... typical lizard worshipers.

So no .... he doesn't have an answer for the fact that Texas is open for business they not dropping like flies.

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2021, 11:51 pm

drchaos wrote:
BUG wrote:

According to official data not this Lizard worshiping Insect ... Texas has only 2.8 million confirmed cases meaning only 2.8 million have possible natural immunity to at least 1 variant not 13 million that he is lying about.

So where is he getting these facts that 13 million have natural immunty and 8 million people having had the vaccine?

So no .... he doesn't have an answer for the fact that Texas is open for business they not dropping like flies.

*sigh*

The total number infected is greater than than the total confirmed cases in Texas: ~ 6 million to 14 million. There was no 100% testing throughout the last 15 months.

The first dose of vaccine has been administered to 4.5 million people in Texas. The total number of persons fully vaccinated is 2.5 million. An indeterminate number of people that have been infected have been vaccinated -- you cannot simply add the numbers.

The threat of death from Covid-19 for the average American citizen is now comparable to the threat of death for American combat soldiers due to enemy action during the Iraq War.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 11th, 2021, 12:21 am

drchaos wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
drchaos wrote:

It was the sweet life, Reg used to just take the calls on the phone ... Moving from this to A&E was like a brick in the face. :shock:

Just curious, how hard is it getting a job in Microb now?

BUG

Postby BUG » April 11th, 2021, 1:05 am

drchaos wrote:
BUG wrote:

The "Dr" who says that Bill Gates and the New World Order are behind a Covid-19 conspiracy ignores the fact that the CDC itself says that case numbers in the US are on average at least 5x higher than officially reported due to a multitude of factors (spoiler alert: a Bill Gates conspiracy is not one of the factors):

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... d-n1234480

As anyone who genuinely wanted to educate themselves on covid-19 would already know, Covid-19 is asymptomatic or so mild as to not arouse suspicion in a large number of carriers, this is the very reason the virus is so difficult to control.

From the link:

"The researchers likely detected infections in people who may have had no symptoms or only mild illness, and who never got coronavirus tests.

In the first set of data, taken from late March to early May, estimated infection rates were from six times higher than reported cases in Connecticut to 24 times higher in Missouri."

Furthermore, as of tonight, 30.6% of Texas' total population of 29 million have received at least one dose of a covid-19 vaccine. I understand maths is difficult for some people so I'll do the sums for you "Dr", that's 8,874,000 Texans who have received at least one dose of vaccine.

https://www.npr.org/sections/health-sho ... your-state

Now I'm not sure if you consider NPR to be a part of your Bill Gates' Covid-19 NWO conspiracy cabal, but I hope you at least take some of this information on board.

So why do you continue to ignore facts to try and prove a point "Dr" Chaos?

*edited to add Texas vaccination numbers with source

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 11th, 2021, 8:20 am

Imagine the 1% and 0.1% owned news telling you to stay home, while they out and living it up in St Clair.
Do as I say not as I do is for fools.

P.s Have you ever wondered where the funding for all those news articles, medical journals and publications you all quoting come from? Those things cost lots of money for the research and publication.

For example the stats for covid from Johns Hopkins shown on tv do come from Johns Hopkins but what you're convenient not told is that it's the Bloomberg Johns Hopkins School of medicine as in Michael Bloomberg the billionaire who wanted to run against Trump last election.
When billionaires invest money it's to make more money not for the good of the world and certainly not for the good of you naive bunch.

It's about money and power.... nobody cares about you or your health... except you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2021, 9:34 am

Yuh know the lizard worshiping Bug and his lover adnj smoking some bad weed when they prefer to present guesstimates vs actual numbers then claim its official figures.

CDC estimates vs actual number

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2021, 9:41 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
drchaos wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Just curious, how hard is it getting a job in Microb now?

Not sure about Trinidad ... Plenty demand in the UK problem is training positions not keeping up with demand.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2021, 9:52 am

UK’s Covid vaccine programme on track despite AstraZeneca problems

Three-quarters of population could be fully immunised by first week in August, according to forecasts

https://www.theguardian.com/society/202 ... a-problems

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 11:48 am

drchaos wrote:Yuh know the lizard worshiping Bug and his lover adnj smoking some bad weed when they prefer to present guesstimates vs actual numbers then claim its official figures.

Maybe math is a subject you never took or passed but allow me to explain.

Imagine we took 10000 random trinis sprinkled across the country and gave them anti body tests. We then see than 10% of the 10000 so 1000 persons had Covid-19.

We can then use stats to estimate or guesstimate that we can be certain within a certain confidence interval that 10% of trinis had Covid. Compared to official testing which states that 0.6% of people had Covid-19.

Basically that's what CDC and other researchers have been doing, albeit probably using vastly better statistical methods than I just described.

The flaw in this would be how the antibody samples were taken, basically the same flaws that can affect the accuracy of polling.

However, it will be a close enough ballpark figure to make certain conclusions.

This would be because not everyone goes for a test who is sick, 80% of cases are mild to asymptomatic.

In the US mid year studies revealed they were only detecting 15% of cases.

In Trinidad, I believe we have even more mild asymptomatic cases due to higher vitamin D levels.

I think at best we're detecting 1 in 10 cases.

Postby redmanjp » April 11th, 2021, 1:58 pm

I not sure about the Vitamin D levels having an impact on testing, we have sun but we also have dark skin which impairs absorption and most ppl indoors except for the beach crowd. The Vitamin D doesn't necessarily prevent u from being symptomatic even if u have good levels.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 2:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:I not sure about the Vitamin D levels having an impact on testing, we have sun but we also have dark skin which impairs absorption and most ppl indoors except for the beach crowd. The Vitamin D doesn't necessarily prevent u from being symptomatic even if u have good levels.

This is definitely true but I do feel the amount of sun we get here makes up for it.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2021, 3:00 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:I not sure about the Vitamin D levels having an impact on testing, we have sun but we also have dark skin which impairs absorption and most ppl indoors except for the beach crowd. The Vitamin D doesn't necessarily prevent u from being symptomatic even if u have good levels.

This is definitely true but I do feel the amount of sun we get here makes up for it.
Coronavirus: Why some countries fare better in the pandemic than others

Experts see the imposition of extremely strict measures at a comparatively early stage in the pandemic as one main reason for the successful containment of the disease. The country [New Zealand] closed its borders in mid-March and tourists were not allowed to enter. Shortly afterward, a state of emergency was declared and a weekslong lockdown was imposed, which was one of the toughest in the world. Even now tiny flare-ups lead to the imposition of strict curfews. As a result, new infections are in the low single-digits — at the end of November, there are some 50 active cases.

Of course, it is considerably easier in political and geographical terms to seal off a small, remote nation with two main islands like New Zealand than a country at the heart of Europe — Germany has land borders with nine countries. The German federal structure with its 16 states also makes it tougher to impose swift, uniform measures across the country. New Zealand also appears to be paying the price economically for its tough lockdown — jobless figures are rising, but that is true for many nations around the world.

https://www.dw.com/en/coronavirus-why-s ... a-55744552

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 3:11 pm

Where all the Banana Republic people who defending PNM and UNC shrite? Talk now, nah!

Who was in the big wedding yesterday in St. Clair?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... s-birthday

https://www.indiatoday.in/coronavirus-o ... 2021-04-10

Norway PM Erna Solberg fined for violating virus restrictions

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg received a hefty fine on Friday for breaking the country's virus curbs,

Agence France-Presse
Oslo
April 10, 2021UPDATED: April 10, 2021 15:45 IST

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg (Photo: Reuters)
Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg received a hefty fine on Friday for breaking the country's virus curbs by organising a family birthday dinner that she ended up not attending, police said.

Police concluded that the dinner organised in part by Solberg had exceeded the number of guests allowed at private functions.

For the infraction, the head of government was fined 20,000 Norwegian kroner (about $2,300, 2,000 euros).

"Even if the law is equal for everyone, everyone is not equal," Commissioner Ole Saeverud told a press conference.

"Solberg is the country's foremost elected official and has, on a number of occasions, been the leading figure in the government's decisions on measures to counter the pandemics," Saeverud added.

"It is therefore considered justified to give a sanction to maintain public confidence in the health rules," he argued.

Public broadcaster NRK revealed in mid-March that Solberg celebrated her 60th birthday with her family at a ski resort under conditions that seemed to violate health guidelines.

On 25 February, 13 members of her family had dined at a restaurant in the town of Geilo, although rules limited the number of participants in a private event in a public space to 10.

Solberg herself had not attended the dinner as she needed to go to the hospital to deal with eye issues, but police still held her responsible for organising the event.

After the event came to light, Solberg made a public apology and said she was prepared to pay potential fines.

On Friday, the prime minister reiterated her apology and said she wouldn't appeal the decision.

We should not have broken the rules and I want to apologise again," she told broadcaster TV2.

The affair, which has made the rounds on social networks, has tarnished the image of the leader -- who has generally been praised for the government's handling of the health crisis -- ahead of the parliamentary elections on 13 September.

Commenting for news website ABC Nyheter, journalist David Stenerud called it "a good day for Norwegian rule of law".

"It's remarkable that our own Prime Minister was investigated for breaking the rules she imposed on us. And even more incredible that she is now convicted," Astrid Meland, editorial writer for newspaper Verdens Gang (VG), wrote.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 4:39 pm

bluefete wrote:Where all the Banana Republic people who defending PNM and UNC shrite? Talk now, nah!

Who was in the big wedding yesterday in St. Clair?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... s-birthday

https://www.indiatoday.in/coronavirus-o ... 2021-04-10

Norway PM Erna Solberg fined for violating virus restrictions

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg received a hefty fine on Friday for breaking the country's virus curbs,

Agence France-Presse
Oslo
April 10, 2021UPDATED: April 10, 2021 15:45 IST

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg (Photo: Reuters)
Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg received a hefty fine on Friday for breaking the country's virus curbs by organising a family birthday dinner that she ended up not attending, police said.

Police concluded that the dinner organised in part by Solberg had exceeded the number of guests allowed at private functions.

For the infraction, the head of government was fined 20,000 Norwegian kroner (about $2,300, 2,000 euros).

"Even if the law is equal for everyone, everyone is not equal," Commissioner Ole Saeverud told a press conference.

"Solberg is the country's foremost elected official and has, on a number of occasions, been the leading figure in the government's decisions on measures to counter the pandemics," Saeverud added.

"It is therefore considered justified to give a sanction to maintain public confidence in the health rules," he argued.

Public broadcaster NRK revealed in mid-March that Solberg celebrated her 60th birthday with her family at a ski resort under conditions that seemed to violate health guidelines.

On 25 February, 13 members of her family had dined at a restaurant in the town of Geilo, although rules limited the number of participants in a private event in a public space to 10.

Solberg herself had not attended the dinner as she needed to go to the hospital to deal with eye issues, but police still held her responsible for organising the event.

After the event came to light, Solberg made a public apology and said she was prepared to pay potential fines.

On Friday, the prime minister reiterated her apology and said she wouldn't appeal the decision.

We should not have broken the rules and I want to apologise again," she told broadcaster TV2.

The affair, which has made the rounds on social networks, has tarnished the image of the leader -- who has generally been praised for the government's handling of the health crisis -- ahead of the parliamentary elections on 13 September.

Commenting for news website ABC Nyheter, journalist David Stenerud called it "a good day for Norwegian rule of law".

"It's remarkable that our own Prime Minister was investigated for breaking the rules she imposed on us. And even more incredible that she is now convicted," Astrid Meland, editorial writer for newspaper Verdens Gang (VG), wrote.

First world nations, we can't compare.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2021, 8:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:Yuh know the lizard worshiping Bug and his lover adnj smoking some bad weed when they prefer to present guesstimates vs actual numbers then claim its official figures.

Imagine we took 10000 random trinis sprinkled across the country and gave them anti body tests. We then see than 10% of the 10000 so 1000 persons had Covid-19.

We can then use stats to estimate or guesstimate that we can be certain within a certain confidence interval that 10% of trinis had Covid. Compared to official testing which states that 0.6% of people had Covid-19.

Basically that's what CDC and other researchers have been doing, albeit probably using vastly better statistical methods than I just described.

The flaw in this would be how the antibody samples were taken, basically the same flaws that can affect the accuracy of polling.

This would be because not everyone goes for a test who is sick, 80% of cases are mild to asymptomatic.

In Trinidad, I believe we have even more mild asymptomatic cases due to higher vitamin D levels.

Maybe immunology/microbiology is not your strong point or life in general.

For most of this pandemic antibody tests kits have been terrible at giving actual data on diagnosis, there is a reason why we went to PCR only (and even they had a 30% false positive chance) .
So extrapolating a data point from a wrong data point does not make you wrong ... it makes you Stupid.
Serology kits are only now getting to the point where they are reliable.
Again I will say it guesstimating figures and calling them facts is what got us in this mess of panic and fear. Now you have Bug worshiping lizards saying we all gonna die.

Real science is saying that if you don't have the DATA then say you freaking don't know. Don't freaking claim the Infections are 13 million in Texas and the only way of confirming this accurately is with a test that only showed 2.8 million (which has a false positive rate of 30% mind you).

Lastly if you are admitting that we are detecting 10% of the cases then the death rate (which is already really low) plummets by 90% which means this is not a deadly virus and we have nothing to worry about.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2021, 10:03 pm

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

For most of this pandemic antibody tests kits have been terrible at giving actual data on diagnosis, there is a reason why we went to PCR only (and even they had a 30% false positive chance) .
So extrapolating a data point from a wrong data point does not make you wrong ... it makes you Stupid.
Again I will say it guesstimating figures and calling them facts is what got us in this mess of panic and fear. Now you have Bug worshiping lizards saying we all gonna die.

Real science is saying that if you don't have the DATA then say you freaking don't know. Don't freaking claim the Infections are 13 million in Texas and the only way of confirming this accurately is with a test that only showed 2.8 million (which has a false positive rate of 30% mind you).

Lastly if you are admitting that we are detecting 10% of the cases then the death rate (which is already really low) plummets by 90% which means this is not a deadly virus and we have nothing to worry about.
*sigh*

If you don't know what a Monte Carlo analysis is, move on.

Robust estimates of the true (population) infection rate for COVID-19: a backcasting approach

Steven J. Phipps, R. Quentin Grafton and Tom Kompas

Published:18 November 2020 https://doi.org/10.1098/rsos.200909

Abstract

Differences in COVID-19 testing and tracing across countries, as well as changes in testing within each country over time, make it difficult to estimate the true (population) infection rate based on the confirmed number of cases obtained through RNA viral testing. We applied a backcasting approach to estimate a distribution for the true (population) cumulative number of infections (infected and recovered) for 15 developed countries. Our sample comprised countries with similar levels of medical care and with populations that have similar age distributions. Monte Carlo methods were used to robustly sample parameter uncertainty. We found a strong and statistically significant negative relationship between the proportion of the population who test positive and the implied true detection rate. Despite an overall improvement in detection rates as the pandemic has progressed, our estimates showed that, as at 31 August 2020, the true number of people to have been infected across our sample of 15 countries was 6.2 (95% CI: 4.3–10.9) times greater than the reported number of cases. In individual countries, the true number of cases exceeded the reported figure by factors that range from 2.6 (95% CI: 1.8–4.5) for South Korea to 17.5 (95% CI: 12.2–30.7) for Italy.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » April 11th, 2021, 10:22 pm

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Ok so I have studied some stats at University level and I can tell you that actually having exact false-positive testing rates and a large enough sample size can indeed bring us to a fairly accurate estimate of those infected.

Both Dohplaydat and anjd are definitely more right than you.