Re: PNM in Gov't

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2020, 9:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Have no fear....they gonna make back them taxes elsewhere. Budget coming soon
Yep, that's why income taxes is going up .

Your tax free allowance will drop back to the first 60k from 72k

So your 12k will be taxed for computers.

Take bull for all those that wanted PNM

buh buh buh, with the economy and job market they created, more people will be migrating below that bracket any ways.
when u want to sponsor carnival studies and soca degree, instead of programming and database technologies, this is what u get.

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2020, 9:49 am

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Have no fear....they gonna make back them taxes elsewhere. Budget coming soon
Yep, that's why income taxes is going up .

Your tax free allowance will drop back to the first 60k from 72k

So your 12k will be taxed for computers.

Take bull for all those that wanted PNM

buh buh buh, with the economy and job market they created, more people will be migrating below that bracket any ways.
when u want to sponsor carnival studies and soca degree, instead of programming and database technologies, this is what u get.
The PNM prime minister said it's going to be a difficult 2 years.

Ever since I was a teen I always hearing to tighten your belt , bann your belly and hold strain from PNM .

How much they want while they waste money Red house , presidents house, arse wari rent for nothing ect.

Take Bull

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2020, 10:13 am

yeah a lil tablet done tax relief to fool the masses
might as well give tax free sneakers too

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 5th, 2020, 10:30 am

If sneakers become tax free, then PNM will secure all GE without question even if the PM himself planasses all of us with a guava stick chicken whip for spite and makes ANSA McAL the only business to sell everything we want. Is Jordans and Yeezies right through them will wear from birth to the ground.

Postby The_Honourable » September 5th, 2020, 10:49 am

yet pnmites praising colm :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2020, 11:00 am

While ole people ( a.k.a ole fart ) like to relive the past .. :lol: :lol:

And they complain even when Imbert reconsidered :lol: :lol:

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2020, 11:17 am

The_Honourable wrote:yet pnmites praising colm :lol:

does really wonder how ppl so fackin DOTISH , is not only pnm ppl but unc ppl praising too :roll:

is imps who tax everybody mc for almost 5 yrs but when he self remove it ppl like aaah boi u hadda gee dem credit fuh dat : gr8 is d pee nm ....... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2020, 11:38 am

Notice all the PNM elections blogger gone

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2020, 11:42 am

This is such a facepalm. Like epic PNM Trinidad stupidity facepalm. WWHHHHyyyyyy people so stupid in this country!!!!

January 12, 2016

Surprisingly, the Government has chosen, in a retrograde step, to add books, computers and computer peripherals to that list, ending an almost two decade long moratorium on those items, which also led directly to an explosion in, specifically computer use, placing this country in the lead for consumption of information on the Internet (though that consumption is primarily Facebook and YouTube).

Books namely literary works, reference books,directories,collections of letters or documents permanently bound in covers, loose-leaf books, manuals or instructions whether complete with their binder or not, amendments to loose-leaf books even if issued separately, school work books and other educational texts in question-and-answer format with spaces for insertion of answers, children’s picture and painting books, exercise books, other paper and paperboard of a kind used for writing, printing or other graphic purposes (Heading No.
4823.90.30)

along with…

The items contained in the First Schedule to the Customs Act under Tariff Heading No. 84.71, being automatic data processing machines and units thereof,magnetic or optical readers, machines for transcribing data onto data media in coded form and machines for processing such data, not elsewhere specified or included.

and finally…

Computer peripherals and mouse pads, not including audio compact discs of Tariff Subheading 8523.40.40 and digital versatile discs (DVD’s) of Subheadings 8523.40.60 and 8523.40.70.

Terminal equipment or other equipment to be installed or used for a public telecommunications network or telecommunications service or radio communications service and certified as such by the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago.
https://technewstt.com/govt-tax-tech/

4 years later they removed the same tax that they themselves put on computers. What about the books? The even taxed copy books and writing paper! WDMC!!!@!@!!@!
Such facepalm. So much frustration at the reality of how stupid the people of this country are. What is wrong with allyuh? The excuse last time was the dropping oil prices and the treasury empty right? So what about now? The oil prices are at a record all time low and the treasury definitely empty due to covid. What the ass wrong with allyuh people who does vote? whatttttt!!!!

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2020, 12:36 pm

maj. tom wrote:This is such a facepalm. Like epic PNM Trinidad stupidity facepalm. WWHHHHyyyyyy people so stupid in this country!!!!

January 12, 2016

Surprisingly, the Government has chosen, in a retrograde step, to add books, computers and computer peripherals to that list, ending an almost two decade long moratorium on those items, which also led directly to an explosion in, specifically computer use, placing this country in the lead for consumption of information on the Internet (though that consumption is primarily Facebook and YouTube).

Books namely literary works, reference books,directories,collections of letters or documents permanently bound in covers, loose-leaf books, manuals or instructions whether complete with their binder or not, amendments to loose-leaf books even if issued separately, school work books and other educational texts in question-and-answer format with spaces for insertion of answers, children’s picture and painting books, exercise books, other paper and paperboard of a kind used for writing, printing or other graphic purposes (Heading No.
4823.90.30)

along with…

The items contained in the First Schedule to the Customs Act under Tariff Heading No. 84.71, being automatic data processing machines and units thereof,magnetic or optical readers, machines for transcribing data onto data media in coded form and machines for processing such data, not elsewhere specified or included.

and finally…

Computer peripherals and mouse pads, not including audio compact discs of Tariff Subheading 8523.40.40 and digital versatile discs (DVD’s) of Subheadings 8523.40.60 and 8523.40.70.

Terminal equipment or other equipment to be installed or used for a public telecommunications network or telecommunications service or radio communications service and certified as such by the Telecommunications Authority of Trinidad and Tobago.
https://technewstt.com/govt-tax-tech/

4 years later they removed the same tax that they themselves put on computers. What about the books? The even taxed copy books and writing paper! WDMC!!!@!@!!@!
Such facepalm. So much frustration at the reality of how stupid the people of this country are. What is wrong with allyuh? The excuse last time was the dropping oil prices and the treasury empty right? So what about now? The oil prices are at a record all time low and the treasury definitely empty due to covid. What the ass wrong with allyuh people who does vote? whatttttt!!!!
As I said this country is fillied with idiots and stupid people and they all vote for PNM

Postby The_Honourable » September 5th, 2020, 12:37 pm

A pnmite now trying to justify that the tax was needed at the time in 2016 to help get out of the recession. Things change now with covid so we helping out the students :? :lol:

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2020, 2:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:A pnmite now trying to justify that the tax was needed at the time in 2016 to help get out of the recession. Things change now with covid so we helping out the students :?
Well, we in a greater recession now, so that tax need to triple, if u want that line of thought.
Last edited by sMASH on September 5th, 2020, 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2020, 2:27 pm

i notice here that when the PNM does sheit, the supporters don't come out and say so. I mean, fair is fair right? Call the cards as you see them. Supposed to be so. But they just remain quiet until it blows over.

But when UNC do their sheit, everybody on both sides does rail them hard. Interesting to observe that behaviour. After decades of this in real life, i see where zoom does be coming from with his preaching.

Postby The_Honourable » September 5th, 2020, 3:15 pm

maj. tom wrote:i notice here that when the PNM does sheit, the supporters don't come out and say so. I mean, fair is fair right? Call the cards as you see them. Supposed to be so. But they just remain quiet until it blows over.

But when UNC do their sheit, everybody on both sides does rail them hard. Interesting to observe that behaviour. After decades of this in real life, i see where zoom does be coming from with his preaching.

Allow me to show you pnm's logic at the time when imbert buss the tax on laptops and books. Study the usual suspects.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=655549

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2020, 3:19 pm

sMASH wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:A pnmite now trying to justify that the tax was needed at the time in 2016 to help get out of the recession. Things change now with covid so we helping out the students :?
Well, we in a greater recession now, so that tax need to triple, if u want that line of thought.

Budget coming soon....

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2020, 4:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:i notice here that when the PNM does sheit, the supporters don't come out and say so. I mean, fair is fair right? Call the cards as you see them. Supposed to be so. But they just remain quiet until it blows over.

zoom rader wrote:Notice all the PNM elections blogger gone
^^^^

rebound

Postby rebound » September 5th, 2020, 4:39 pm

This is interesting....
The_Honourable wrote:

Allow me to show you pnm's logic at the time when imbert buss the tax on laptops and books. Study the usual suspects.

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... 4&t=655549

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 5th, 2020, 5:29 pm

Manning was actually spot on for the vice tax agenda he had

Instead of taxing food.

Crank tax on alco, cigs and gambling.
Crack down on illegal gambling.

Consider the sugar tax, sugar is actually making people sick with lifestyle diseases. Obesity, hbp, diabetes etc.

Make healthy food cheaper and more accessible.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2020, 6:12 pm

taxing casinos is touchy business
a certain % own most of the big casinos

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2020, 6:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Manning was actually spot on for the vice tax agenda he had

Instead of taxing food.

Crank tax on alco, cigs and gambling.
Crack down on illegal gambling.

Consider the sugar tax, sugar is actually making people sick with lifestyle diseases. Obesity, hbp, diabetes etc.

Make healthy food cheaper and more accessible.
i am all for luxury taxes and taxes on exorbitant earnings.

Postby Redman » September 5th, 2020, 6:20 pm

pugboy wrote:taxing casinos is touchy business
a certain % own most of the big casinos

Taxes also force declarations by those hiding income.

False declarations are the basis for many a investigation and charges.

Real Estate fraud increased exponentially post 2009.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 5th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Good policy promotes good behaviour.

Postby Rovin » September 5th, 2020, 8:22 pm

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2020, 10:33 pm

someone said that the teachers are printing work books for children without computer access, to work as a substitute. that wasnt in public news. any body know about this?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 6th, 2020, 2:27 am

sMASH wrote:someone said that the teachers are printing work books for children without computer access, to work as a substitute. that wasnt in public news. any body know about this?

I can't confirm this but this sounds like a descent enough alternative, still this method would mean that a fair amount of self study without instruction would be required of the student.

At the very least the student would have a basic enough guide to keep himself on track.

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2020, 3:12 am

If true, it will work in the interim. Until the other 67000 laptops are sourced

Postby zoom rader » September 6th, 2020, 7:07 am

Teachers are making a mess for themselves.

Online and YouTube will replace teachers if they continue.

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2020, 7:28 am

if u think about it, a video is just a moving version of a text book. the teacher should just be there to clear up the unique misunderstandings, that the vid and texts dont cover or to go over things to ensure it sticking. most questions should go to a FAQ section for the vid, and then the next year, they revise the vid to also include the FAQ info, there those questions are up/downvoted like on reddit. they can also cut pieces out that are unnecessary. rinse repeat. teachers should just be guides/coordinators for group work, rather than deliverers.

Postby zoom rader » September 6th, 2020, 8:20 am

sMASH wrote:if u think about it, a video is just a moving version of a text book. the teacher should just be there to clear up the unique misunderstandings, that the vid and texts dont cover or to go over things to ensure it sticking. most questions should go to a FAQ section for the vid, and then the next year, they revise the vid to also include the FAQ info, there those questions are up/downvoted like on reddit. they can also cut pieces out that are unnecessary. rinse repeat. teachers should just be guides/coordinators for group work, rather than deliverers.
zoom rader wrote:Teachers are making a mess for themselves.

Online and YouTube will replace teachers if they continue.
I have family that depend on you tube to get though Uwi rather than teachers.

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2020, 5:09 pm

This is EXACTLY what the PP did in 2015.

Money flowing at CEPEP by Curtis Williams Sun Sep 06 2020

Amid a financial crisis facing T&T comes revelation that the Board of Directors of state-owned CEPEP has raised the salary of the company’s Chief Executive Officer Keith Eddy to a whopping $65,000 a month and weeks before the August 10 general elections, changed his contract, to add a year to it.

These are some of the revelations in a series of documents provided to Guardian Media by whistleblowers in CEPEP and the Ministry of Finance that point to not only massive increases in some staff salaries, but also a pattern of re-doing contracts for some employees just as the general election approaches.

In a memorandum dated November 28, 2019 CEPEP’s Corporate Secretary Nicole Gopaulsingh wrote to the company’s Senior Human Resource Officer Willa Guy-Straker indicating that at a meeting of the Board of Directors held on November 28, 2019, it was “resolved to amend the organisational structure”.

As part of the amendment of the structure, the decision was made to change Eddy’s title from General Manager to CEO and with it a change of salary from a base of $40,000 a month to $61,500 a month and an entertainment allowance from $2,500 to $3,500 a month for a total package of $65,000 from a previous package of $42,500.

CEPEP is also leasing a luxury Q7 vehicle for Eddy. It is fully maintained by the company. His package also includes a telephone.

In the same memorandum, the Corporate Secretary advised that she too had gotten a raise of salary from $22,500 to $40,000 a month.

Guardian Media contacted Eddy but he refused to comment, instead suggesting that we speak to the chairman of the company.

Guardian Media has copies of the signed contracts of both Eddy and Gopaulsingh even though the company’s chairman Marilyn Michael denied knowledge of the new salaries.

Michael was chairman at the time the decision was made to increase the salaries.

In a recorded telephone interview she told Guardian Media: “Under my stewardship Mr Eddy has not gotten an increase in salary.”

When told that we had copies of Mr Eddy’s signed new contract, the CEPEP chairman pivoted and said: “That is when a proposal came forward. That has not been recommended or gone anywhere further than that.That’s a proposal and anything is possible. People can propose anything.”

Asked if she was saying that the corporate Secretary then misled the HR department in writing to them indicating the changes in salary for herself and Mr Eddy and if so what would be done about it, CEPEP’s chairman said: “Maybe that was a recommendation or a proposal...however that has not gone anywhere. Mr Eddy’s salary has not been increased. I stand here in a very positive way, well informed, this is not me speculating or saying maybe or maybe not. I am speaking from an informative position that Mr Eddy’s salary has not been increased.”

Asked if all the documents in Guardian Media’s possession were fake she said: “You don’t have to put that. You can simply say the chairman is not aware of any increases.”

Michael said the salaries could not possibly have been increased and she did not know. She called it mischief and said somebody had an objective or an aim and was not inclined to continue the conversations. She also advised that the story not be published since according to her it would be laughed at.

When it was pointed out that the article would be published and that the documents were also available for public scrutiny, she said:”I am not aware of any increase for Mr Eddy. I know that was a conversation but it has not gone anywhere in the light of being approved, even though I want to say to you that a board can make a recommendation but it doesn’t mean, I am not saying a recommendation was or was not made, I am saying it does not mean that it is an approved recommendation it has to go as you would rightly know to the line ministry and also to Ministry of Finance.The board does not have that authorisation to just increase somebody’s salary.”

When it was pointed out that Mr Eddy was already in receipt of his adjusted salary, the chairman of CEPEP said: “Maybe give me some time to investigate that.”

Michael then said she was in the middle of doing something and could not prolong the conversation.

“Please remember in all fairness to the chairman that you should say that I said I don’t know anything about what you are talking about and I would have to investigate it.”

Guardian Media reached out to the line Minister Kazim Hosein but although we called his phone on six occasions and sent him a WhatsApp message, there was no response.

Since Hosein took over responsibility for CEPEP there have been four chairmen in four years with Michael being the latest.

During that time, there has been a revolving door of managers at the organisation and hundreds of thousands of dollars paid out to employees due to how they were treated and dismissed. The daughter of a former PNM minister was paid hundreds of thousands of dollars after she was allegedly hounded out of CEPEP.

Guardian Media also has a dossier that was sent to Finance Minister Colm Imbert on October 29, 2019, in which there are major allegations against Hosein, including interference in the running of the company.

The report also has a legal opinion which concludes that Hosein’s alleged interference was preventing the board from optimally using the resources of CEPEP.

The legal opinion reads: “The direct intervention by the line minister in the affairs of state enterprise in a manner that fetters the discretion of the Board of Directors is tantamount to making the line minister a de facto or shadow director and may be construed as a unanimous shareholder agreement pursuant to section 137 (2) of the Companies Act as the line minister is clothed with the ostensible authority of Corporation Sole and as such, such direct intervention ought to relieve the Board of Directors from liability for the line minister’s actions if not addressed.”

Hosein has in the past denied interfering in the running of CEPEP even though Guardian Media was able to point him to a meeting he had with the management of the company without any of the directors present at Soongs Great Wall in San Fernando. At that time Hosein said it was a coincidental encounter since he was there for a meeting and the management team was having lunch. CEPEP was billed for the cost of the lunch.

Weeks before the general election, Eddy signed off on the extension of several contracts. Many of them were not even coming to an end this year but with the election due it appears a decision was made to extend contracts should the August 10 polls not have gone the way of the PNM. This is a practice Dr Rowley and the PNM railed against when it was done in 2015 by the UNC.

Over the last five years the country has spent more than a billion dollars supporting CEPEP.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/money-flowi ... 5da1dc4de4