Re: PNM in Gov't

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby paid_influencer » March 14th, 2021, 7:01 pm

If you are a business, it would be idiotic to convert any of your hard-earned export revenues back to TTD. You would be in a ridiculous position when you have to buy raw materials for your next order and everything is tied up in a worthless island currency.

This is what Manning knew when he and Wendell Mottley (the best Finance Minister in the history of T&T) floated the exchange rate back in the 90's. We devolved from that straight to banana republic economics under Rowley. PNM used to be much better than this.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 14th, 2021, 7:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:If you are a business, it would be idiotic to convert any of your hard-earned export revenues back to TTD. You would be in a ridiculous position when you have to buy raw materials for your next order and everything is tied up in a worthless island currency.

This is what Manning knew when he and Wendell Mottley (the best Finance Minister in the history of T&T) floated the exchange rate back in the 90's. We devolved from that straight to banana republic economics under Rowley. PNM used to be much better than this.

Manning's and Panday's government did a lot for us, we are reaping the benefits of policies put in place from 1985-2010. PP did some good but sadly wasted a lot.

I've been saying it for years we need to devalue.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2021, 7:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:is there legislation which requires usd export earning companies to “cash back” usd to tt ?

Facts don't matter here. The idea is to convey that PNM is bad and reality has to fit that.
Jack arse,

Nothing is stopping you from expanding your company abroad and banking the profits in an offshore accounts. There is no law for it.

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2021, 8:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:is there legislation which requires usd export earning companies to “cash back” usd to tt ?

Facts don't matter here. The idea is to convey that PNM is bad and reality has to fit that.
Jack arse,

Nothing is stopping you from expanding your company abroad and banking the profits in an offshore accounts. There is no law for it.

Anybody disputing that? Stick to your script nah.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2021, 8:28 pm

idea is to convey, trini is not attractive to investing manufacturing in.

next few years, the labor force will be selling breeze and sqeezy by the traffic lights.

job creation rowlely style.. not pnm, cause manning did things different somewhat.

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2021, 9:45 pm

sMASH wrote:idea is to convey, trini is not attractive to investing manufacturing in.

next few years, the labor force will be selling breeze and sqeezy by the traffic lights.

job creation rowlely style.. not pnm, cause manning did things different somewhat.

I always remembered going to a symposium and the speaker said that to gauge the state of a country, its leadership and economy look at the vending by the traffic lights and that will tell the tale.

There seems to be a lot more highway vendors these days. I hope we never get like Nigeria and Angola where man selling fridge and stove on the highway!!!

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2021, 10:12 pm

caroni roundabout. jawb kreeashawwn

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2021, 10:42 pm

SM Jaleel has factories in Saudi Arabia, India and South Africa and has a global reach for its products. But they don't teach you that in T&T..

sMASH wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/13/associated-brands-ceo-reports-factory-in-colombia-nears-completion/
newsday wrote:
Associated Brands CEO reports factory in Colombia nears completion
Ria Chaitram Yesterday

Trade and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon, Associated Brands Industries Ltd (ABIL) chairman Arthur Lok Jack, centre, and ABIL deputy chairman and CEO Nicholas Lok Jack at a tour of a factory on Monday. -

Associated Brands Industries Ltd (ABIL), a local snack foods and cereals manufacturer, is capturing new markets outside the Caricom region.

The company which manufacturers chocolate confectionery, biscuits, snack foods and breakfast cereals is nearing completion of a manufacturing factory in Bogota, Colombia.

At a tour of one of its factory in on Monday, with Trade and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon, the group’s deputy chairman and CEO Nicholas Lok Jack said the company’s modernisation and expansion was a natural part of its business growth.

“Despite significant investments in our Trinidad and Tobago factories our group has also been investing heavily outside Caricom and is in the completion phase of a Greenfield manufacturing factory in Bogota, Colombia, he said in a statement on Friday.

“While investment in a physical factory is important, investment in the marketplace in intangible assets like brands is also critical.”

ABIL currently markets and distributes products in over 45 countries which includes Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Panama, Costa Rica, Ireland, Taiwan, the US, the Middle East, the Mediterranean and Caricom countries. It employs over 1,000 people in TT in its four factories locally, ABIL also has two factories in Malta and now one in Colombia. Its headquarters is at Bhagoutie Trace, San Juan.

Gopee-Scoon said she was pleased with the group’s innovation, use of technology and continued investment in their manufacturing and production processes

“The growth and expansion of ABIL over the years is as a direct result of their ongoing drive to penetrate new markets and diversify their product offering. This current expansion will further aid this agenda and increase the global competitiveness of your various product lines," she said.

“The government remains committed to providing the necessary support to businesses seeking to meet international standards and quality, enter new markets and increase their exports.”

Also present at the tour was ABIL’s chairman Arthur Lok Jack.

read the tea leaves.

this shows this business is successful and doing the things right.
the problem is, to be successful, they found it necessary to open factories OUTSIDE of trinidad. when the push should be to produce things here and export, the numbers dictated that a local producer manufacture OUTSIDE of trinidad, and eventually ship it here.

isnt TCL doing sumting like that? producing outside, importing it and repackaging it here?

Postby timelapse » March 15th, 2021, 8:45 am

Manning had class.Growley is a crass sasafras that only business about raising the price of gas. I got my sesame street points for the day
sMASH wrote:idea is to convey, trini is not attractive to investing manufacturing in.

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 10:04 am

Habit7 wrote:

Jack arse,

Then hush ya arse with your stupid comments

Businesses are now forced to move out of Trinidad with Rowlair crashing the economy to look like Nigeria and North Korea

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby MaxPower » March 15th, 2021, 10:26 am

Good Morning Team,

Our MP for Point Fortin, His Excellency the Hon. Kennedy Richards Jr. wishes to advise that our New Point Fortin Hospital located at Point Fortin Main Road is 100% operational as of today.

This is what the people voted for.

Join us.

IMG_6543.JPG

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2021, 10:32 am

Trinidad and Tobago holds notable benefits for industry, and manufacturers are increasingly looking abroad for expansion

Although an important part of the Trinidad and Tobago economy, the manufacturing sector’s performance has been disappointing in recent years. According to the T&T Manufacturers’ Association (TTMA), the value of manufacturing output declined at an average annual rate of 4.3% from 2010 to 2014.

In its “Review of the Economy 2014”, a report published in mid-2014, the government noted that economic activity in manufacturing fell by 5.8% in 2012, and by 1.8% in 2013. At that point, the review said the government was predicting a further contraction of 0.7% in 2014. By sub-sectors, the biggest declines were expected in wood and wood-related products; garments and footwear; and assembly type and related industries. But positive growth was expected in food, beverages and tobacco – the largest sub-sector – and in printing and publishing. Growth was also expected in iron and steel, where it was noted that output of iron and steel products had risen by 5.6% in the first nine months of fiscal 2013/14, to reach 1.96m tonnes.

https://oxfordbusinessgroup.com/overvie ... ly-looking

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 10:42 am

Habit7 wrote:

Jack arse,

Businesses are now forced to move out of Trinidad with Rowlair crashing the economy to look like Nigeria and North Korea

Just link to one business being forced to move out

You complaining about stupid comments while flooding the threads with your own.

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 11:33 am

Redman wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Jack arse,

Just link to one business being forced to move out

You complaining about stupid comments while flooding the threads with your own.
Pt lisas is near gone jack arse

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 11:36 am

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:trinidad: first world restrictions and taxation, with fourth worth world debt and conditions.
thank u, rowliar
Petrotrin made ah profit of 800mill but no account for where the money was spent or where it went.

On top of that 1.5 billion gone from HSF

I think we seeing Panama all over again

see goalpost change below
2 billion made and Trinidad have nutting to show for it .

Impsbert talks and Rowlee lies after 6 years we have still have nutting but taxes and shoddy services

What the toco port feasibility study taking that money to make red government minsters and agents rich overnight

We living in North Korea now

Creative accounting, when you don't pay SPT, it's easy to look like you're raking in money. Note how carefully Imbert skirts the issue and your antenna instinctively rises. So this moron wants us to believe that by not paying the SPT,(as is mandatory by LAW!) they're actually paying the SPT? :?
“As part of the re­struc­tur­ing of Petrotrin and the re­fi­nanc­ing of the US$850 mil­lion Petrotrin bond that was tak­en over by Trinidad Pe­tro­le­um and due for pay­ment in Au­gust 2019, the Gov­ern­ment gave an un­der­tak­ing to make eq­ui­ty in­vest­ments in Her­itage Pe­tro­le­um to fi­nance the ex­plo­ration and pro­duc­tion of oil, in sums equal to the amount of sup­ple­men­tal pe­tro­le­um tax that would be due and payable over the pe­ri­od Ju­ly 2019 to June 2021,” Im­bert said.

You struggling with clear English-yet he is the MORON???

lol.

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2021, 11:43 am

Pt Lisas?

Gas curtailment started under Rowley? You need to link your comments to facts, not your bias.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 11:44 am

@Zoombindranath
you not talking about the companies that you were speaking up to that point.
No sweat
Carry on,my bad.
Last edited by Redman on March 15th, 2021, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2021, 11:44 am

u give them a chance to fix it?

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 11:49 am

Habit7 wrote:Pt Lisas?

Gas curtailment started under Rowley? You need to link your comments to facts, not your bias.
Rowlair had 5 years plus this year.

What has he been doing ? Back squeezing gas and contracts

Try harder idiot

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 11:52 am

Redman wrote:@Zoombindranath
you not talking about the companies that you were speaking up to that point.
No sweat
Carry on,my bad.
We taking about businesses that have left due to the hostile environment created by your red government king Rowlair and Guy Smiley

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2021, 11:57 am

it was a case of 'u owe my ah $10, but i hadda pay the parlour ah $10, so handle the parlour it for meh instead' .

and the e&p end up coming up a lil snake eyes. was it due to lack of funding, or lack of oil in the ground..... what evs, roget think he getting the refinery so the election done in the bag. dummies.

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2021, 12:01 pm

What has he been doing ?

Getting it done

https://www.offshore-energy.biz/bp-to-i ... -10-years/
https://www.looptt.com/content/shell-in ... rgy-sector
https://energynow.tt/blog/bhp-approves- ... on-in-2021
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/02/07/pm-tel ... d-by-2025/

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 12:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:

What has he been doing ?

Getting it done

https://www.offshore-energy.biz/bp-to-i ... -10-years/
https://www.looptt.com/content/shell-in ... rgy-sector
https://energynow.tt/blog/bhp-approves- ... on-in-2021
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/02/07/pm-tel ... d-by-2025/
Wow all those articles and plants shut down in Pt lisas. Petrotrin refinery gone.

Skilled workforce all gone and unemployed

Yup Rowlair got it done

Try harder idiot

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2021, 12:17 pm

zoom rader wrote:Wow all those articles and plants shut down in Pt lisas.

Yes because going back to the initial comment

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 12:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Wow all those articles and plants shut down in Pt lisas.

Yes because going back to the initial comment

Rowlair had 5 years to fix it and he failed.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 12:48 pm

sMASH wrote:it was a case of 'u owe my ah $10, but i hadda pay the parlour ah $10, so handle the parlour it for meh instead' .

and the e&p end up coming up a lil snake eyes. was it due to lack of funding, or lack of oil in the ground..... what evs, roget think he getting the refinery so the election done in the bag. dummies.

they should be running it making parlour decisions.... :roll:

Heritage inherited whatever the E&P was.
There was a need to reinvest into the producing assets
What sense is it for Heritage to pay the GORTT and then comeback to seek financing to re invest?
So for the first couple years they are not required to pay the tax....and they have been doing what they need to.
The SPT holiday is fully legal despite idiotic statements to the contrary.

A simple way to get the co producing more oil.

Finally as well we seeing upgrades to the contractual terms that the block operators work under.
First time.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 12:55 pm

I thought 5 years is too little time to fix stuff???
You said so Zoombindranath you said the 5 years UNC had with 100 oil and everything in their favor wasnt enough time to do anything.
Now you saying you expected Rowley to do it in 5 years.
You saying that Rowley betterer than the UNC.

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2021, 2:44 pm

Redman wrote:I thought 5 years is too little time to fix stuff???
You said so Zoombindranath you said the 5 years UNC had with 100 oil and everything in their favor wasnt enough time to do anything.
Now you saying you expected Rowley to do it in 5 years.
You saying that Rowley betterer than the UNC.

Kams had 5 years while the red government had 45 years , Rowlair had more than enough time

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2021, 2:48 pm

hence why i say 'what evs'. it had was to go back in any how. so u have no record of it coming out of TPHL, cause u put on the record, it will stay inside.

so if it actually went from the right hand to the left hand to ACTUALLY explore and produce, thats between them and their books.
i jess watching all the wheeling and dealing and wondering if u could attach a generator and make some electricity one time.

Postby Redman » March 15th, 2021, 3:07 pm

This back pedalling getting smooth with you boy.
Same tootz eh.
It just flowing smoother.