Steps to make skateboard decks

keytien

Steps to make skateboard decks

Postby keytien » July 23rd, 2020, 11:37 pm

If you have been playing skateboard long enough, you may wonder how your skateboard deck is made and what it made of. I was like you, then luckily I found this information on Skateadvisors which I’m gonna share with you here.

The Skateboard deck manufacturing will begin with the felling of maple trees. Then the tree will be moved to the factory. The machine cuts the tree into pieces of veneer. After that, these thin will be shipped to the skateboard manufacturers. Here these veneer stips will be inspected and divided into two groups. Qualified veneer strips will be used for making the deck, while too imperfect veneer strips will be thrown away or recycled.

See also: Top 16+ Best Skateboard Decks Reviews (Top Rated 2020)

Then, qualified veneer strips will be divided into two other smaller types. One with the grain running against the veneer and the other one with the grain running along with the rectangle.

Typical, water-based wood glue will be applied on the thin sheets to hold them together. This is also to ensure the strength of your deck and make sure it will not loose off when you skate.

When the veneers are glued together, they create the first foundation of the skateboard deck. Commonly, a skateboard will be made of 7 layers of stacked veneer. The layers of veneer will be alternated between veneer with vertical grain and veneer with horizontal grain.

Next is the pressing process. In this step, the properly stacked veneer will be pressed by the machines. Different machines will be used to press the veneer according to the types of skateboard being created.

Also in this step, the deck begins to take shape. The decks after being pressed will be rested in at least 24 hours to fully dry. If you skip this step and continue the next step, the decks will be prone to warping and not skatable.

Next, a finished board will be used as a template for cutting the excess wood. The truck is now in its final shape. Eight holes will be drilled in the wooden surface to attach trucks.

The finished board used helps skateboard manufacturers create thousands of decks that are almost identical in form and size.

See also: What are the skateboard deck sizes for you - Guide 2020

The next very important step is to grind the sharp edges of the deck after cutting. This work must be done by hand to ensure the sharp edges are completely removed, and it will not cause injury to the players later on. This also helps your board last longer, as the round edge can prevent the skateboard from splintering when it hit the wall or something.

A skateboard is complete when it has graphics. To decorate the skateboard, first, the graphics will be designed on the computer, then it will be printed on a sheet of plastic. The skateboard makers will then use the heat to transfer those graphics to the board. The excess plastic will be removed to leave the clear graphics.

When the graphics are completely transformed, a layer of lacquer will be applied to preserve the board and the image. The paint also gives the board gloss and helps to bring out the color of the image to make the deck look more gorgeous. These decks will then be packaged and shipped to skateboard distributors nationwide and they will deliver it to users.

So that is how your skateboard deck is made and shipped to you. I hope this information is easy to understand. I love reading everything about skateboarding in my free time. Recently, I found a skateboarding website which I love the most, that is Skateadvisors. I found the blog on the search engine and I was hooked on its first article. If you are looking for a source to learn about skateboarding, Skateadvisors is definitely a good choice. Let’s check it out for your own reference!

Contact information of SkateAdvisors:

- Phone: (1) 646-707-4551

- Address: 902 Avenue C, Brooklyn, NY 11218, United States

- Business site of SkateAdvisors: https://skateadvisorsny.business.site/
Last edited by keytien on October 6th, 2020, 10:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Employment required.

Postby stev » July 24th, 2020, 12:16 am

PM me for my work email....i can't guarantee you a job but I can give your resume to HR....maybe there's something in the company or our sister company you can do temporarily.

Postby RedVEVO » July 24th, 2020, 3:37 pm

Met a beautiful Vene.

Well ALL of them are beautiful . Muy hermosa .

WE had a glass of the establishment's finest red wine ..

Remembered the wine was named Red something ..

Then we ate, talked and laughed .

Told her I can get her a job and she gave me her phone number ..

So next morning I text her " Hola carino ! " Carino is sweetie .

She said in a firm sultry voice in Spanish .. I will translate .. " This phone number is for job offers ONLY !! "

Well it a different culture .

Will continue later .. ocupado ahora ..

Postby Dave » July 24th, 2020, 3:41 pm

You remembered the name Red something lol.

Clearly this was a thought of your imagination.
RedVEVO wrote:^^

Met a beautiful Vene.

She said in a firm sultry voice in Spanish .. I will translate .. " This phone number is for job offers ONLY !! "

Postby stev » July 25th, 2020, 12:45 am

:lol: I Whatsapp the guy my work email but he didn't send anything as yet....there is actually a small position for him in the sister company of where I work....6 months contract.

hope he doh stick cuz that vacancy gonna get filled fast.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2020, 11:04 am

Dave wrote:You remembered the name Red something lol.

Met a beautiful Vene.

So after a few days I decided to call her again ..

We talked, we laughed , we ate ..

We exchanged photos of our pets ..

She showed me her Parrot , I showed her my pet mongoose ..

I told her mongoose were brought into Trinidad to chase away snakes in the cane fields ..

We met at Starbucks and ..

Postby goalpost » July 25th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Jeez why u hijacking OP thread?

Postby rspann » July 26th, 2020, 9:22 am

goalpost wrote:Jeez why u hijacking OP thread?

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » July 26th, 2020, 9:27 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Met a beautiful Vene.

I told her mongoose were brought into Trinidad to chase away snakes in the cane fields ..

Assuming this story is even real yo why you so weird? I mean I feel genuinely uncomfortable reading this.

To each their own yes. Maybe someday you meet the woman of your dreams who’ll show you her mongoose and you can live happily ever after

Postby De Dragon » July 26th, 2020, 2:35 pm

Met a beautiful Vene.

You got firm and sultry from a text? :lol: :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2020, 11:10 am

AstonMartV wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Met a beautiful Vene.

Assuming this story is even real yo why you so weird? I mean I feel genuinely uncomfortable reading this.

To each their own yes. Maybe someday you meet the woman of your dreams who’ll show you her mongoose and you can live happily ever after

You got firm and sultry from a text? :lol: :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » July 27th, 2020, 11:16 am

You ALWAYS know the old tunes who have no life ..

And who just unhappy with their vida !

It's not about money but about the adventure and intrigue .

No agenda just pure simple humanity with humor :D :D :D

The guy who is looking for a job.

Do not stay home and sulk and listen to your negative family ..

Pick a company which you like and go in person and give the secretary of the owner your resume !!

daron

Postby daron » July 27th, 2020, 11:56 am

morning, if anyone know any junior architect looking for a job?
+1 (868) 397-1339
South

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2020, 12:00 pm

daron wrote:morning, if anyone know any junior architect looking for a job?
+1 (868) 397-1339
South

What is the difference between a junior architect and a draughtsman?

Hwells

Postby Hwells » July 27th, 2020, 12:01 pm

nun just a more marketable name

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2020, 12:02 pm

Hwells wrote:nun just a more marketable name

LOL. Thanks.