Anyone sucessfully lockoff social media

philliprock

Anyone sucessfully lockoff social media

Postby philliprock » July 20th, 2020, 12:13 am

Facebook, whatsapp, instagram are the main ones...

How long did you last?

Mines was about 2years. Finding hard to quit.

Re: Anyone sucessfully lockoff social media

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2020, 12:59 am

philliprock wrote:Facebook, whatsapp, instagram are the main ones...

How long did you last?

Mines was about 2years. Finding hard to quit.

Only visit FarseBook couple times per year, or when family abroad post something. Not on Instagram. WhatApp only for work chats.

Postby shogun » July 20th, 2020, 1:32 am

Locked off my Instagram years ago for the same reason my facebook suffered the same fate a lil more recently. Strangers, people from everywhere from primary school and up inquiring a lil too hard about your business. Basically using a "fake" facebook account and/or my gf's accounts when needed. Congrats on the 2 year stretch though.. it really sucks up time and productivity when tied to it too much.

matix

Postby matix » July 20th, 2020, 1:39 am

Social media for me is TriniTuner & WhatApp. Been off FB maybe since 08/09. Never missed it

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2020, 1:58 am

I wouldn't count WhatsApp as social media, it's a chat app. Yes they have stories but it's more of a gimmick.

I've cut Facebook off for years but Covid and now elections have me back on. The level of stupidity I see shown on Facebook is scary.

I use IG to gape all the time.....but Covid slowed that down a lot and now tiktok is where you gape. Snapchat is for teens.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2020, 5:03 am

Watsapp is the new media for fake news, it is a social media in every sense now.

I stop using trash like facebook.

One thing to note humans are social creatures, if you think that you will lock off social media and do something "positive" think again you will either drink rum or watch movies or play video games or lime with friends and family.

I rather play GTA Online than drink rum, it cheaper plus these days my criminal empire pumping out a lot of cash, I going and build a Cocaine empire soon already order 1 Ferrari and a Lambo, looking to tune up and turbo a V8 Diesel F250 but these phaggots using cheats / mods Online does get on my nerves. GTA really delivers that glamorous life you would never experience in real life and it does it beautifully.

I found this method of life wasting to be much more rewarding than shitty facebook etc.

The sheer brilliance of GTA5 is truly something, when you think you about to do a mission ready to stop out of your Lambo or Fighter Jet and the Fergie "Glamours" song come on the radio you does have no choice but to mash down and drive or fly off at max speed until the song finish, some kinda unexplained psychological effect. I still trying to understand why tho, thousands of people on reddit has the same issue, the sheer brilliance of GTA is remarkable.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 20th, 2020, 6:20 am

Stopped fb since 2011. Never had the time to even sign up for IG. I get all my info via tuner and watsapp. As I got older, made me realise there is no point in posting all my business for people to see

Postby Ben_spanna » July 20th, 2020, 7:37 am

Just put down your phone and only use it for what it was invented for- to make and receive calls! and you should be fine :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » July 20th, 2020, 7:50 am

You get used to not being on it.
I got IG late last yr to see what it was about. I use it to search for nail design pictures mostly :lol:

Postby MG Man » July 20th, 2020, 8:18 am

shogun wrote:Locked off my Instagram years ago for the same reason my facebook suffered the same fate a lil more recently. Strangers, people from everywhere from primary school and up inquiring a lil too hard about your business. Basically using a "fake" facebook account and/or my gf's accounts when needed. Congrats on the 2 year stretch though.. it really sucks up time and productivity when tied to it too much.

you can set your profile to control who sees your info, to prevent that
Also put something nondescript as your profile pic

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2020, 8:23 am

I have all - Twitter, FB and Instagram

Rarely use Instagram, might log on once a month.
I browse Twitter and FB everyday however around 5 years ago I decided to take a more background approach to FB so I stopped posting pics, doing statuses frequently and removed all the info in the "about me".
And as MG Man said above with security settings I have it set to the max. Sometimes I like to go to the CNC and Express comments and put something but even that is very infrequent because of the amount of ignorant and closeted racists in this country.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 20th, 2020, 8:59 am

Stopped FB since 2011
Never was on IG or Twitter, etc.

I'm only on WhatsApp and well I was told that this platform could be argued as not being genuinely considered as "social media".

Postby nemisis » July 20th, 2020, 9:22 am

I treat tuner as a social media site

Postby The_Honourable » July 20th, 2020, 9:52 am

Had an IG account for a few years but never used it until recently. Padnas was streaming during covid lockdown. Have a twitter account but hardly use it.

I'm on fb still but as dizzy said, background approach. Best i check in hi5.

Postby Les Bain » July 20th, 2020, 10:02 am

Whatsapp is more 'free' calls and messaging for me rather than social media.
Locked off Facebook years now.
I only use twitter to follow interests, news and see what the easily offended people offended at this week. Only have a few personal contacts there but they seem to use it as I do.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » July 20th, 2020, 10:07 am

Actually yes since last year I deleted my instagram, facebook and snapchat. I only keep whatsapp to keep in touch with the friends I am closest to. I take days to reply to those friends since stopped checking my phone often. Everyday see hundreds of notifications but I am not bothered to open any. Only if they call me then I actually read what they say. Bad manners but wwgd I am not interested in it anymore.

I advise anyone who thinking about locking it off JUST DO IT! You are better off without it. Trust me you won't miss it.

Postby matr1x » July 20th, 2020, 12:41 pm

What's the appeal of IG?

Facebook is for old people to post inspirational garbage

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2020, 12:46 pm

No "social media" strictly business account.. Thats it

Postby MG Man » July 20th, 2020, 12:46 pm

matr1x wrote:What's the appeal of IG?

as a certified old people, I use FB to link with similarly old ppl who have cars like mine, mainly in the UK...tht's the main purpose
I still don't understand the fascination kids have with instagram...bit worrying actually

Postby goalpost » July 20th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Had FB since 2007 but dont post much on it like real long time. Use it just to browse the newsfeed, comment occasionally and put up a few pics of the kids etc, but not statuses or anything else.
Had Twitter since probably 2009, but only recently (2019) started to use it, mainly for international news. I do believe people on Twitter are triggered for the simplest things.
Joined IG last year, to really check out pics of some holiday destinations is was checking up on. Now I use it to gape

Postby goalpost » July 20th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Everything on WhatsApp is muted.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2020, 12:58 pm

matr1x wrote:What's the appeal of IG?

Facebook is for boomers who believes in fake news the same kind who believes the Earth is flat.

instagram doesn't look old and retarded like facebook plus it was an alternative for kids to go and post pics of themselves without their parents noticing, nobody in their right mind would be on the same platform as their parents which is why the FB profiles that parents forced their kids to make was never ever used. No child wants their classmates laughing at them cause their parents who barely understands how the internet works is posting some rubbish on Facebook and their classmates laughing at stupidity of said child's parent.

It's a pretty embarrassing situation to actually have parents on facebook while you are going to school. Not to mention being on a platform that actively steals your personal data and sells it to China and Russia.

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Just put down your phone and only use it for what it was invented for- to make and receive calls! and you should be fine :lol:

u sound like me there , dise what i use mine for [& for d convenience of taking pics] i never use it for online , i eh like using a small screen , i only use my 24" work desktop or 17" home laptop

only social media i on is fb & here on tuner if u cud call it that , never did IG , WA or any of whatever else is out there, imo all of these other things take up too much of ur life

fb is for info , entertainment & business for my store so why wud i lock it off .... i doh live it on like some ppl though

philliprock

Postby philliprock » July 20th, 2020, 1:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:. As I got older, made me realise there is no point in posting all my business for people to see

Facebook is meme planet.
and the politics discussion board
ive never really seen anyone post there business, only they stush pompous vibes as they do in real life. if i do see people quarrellin or cussout, fight an ting i usually doh care.

philliprock

Postby philliprock » July 20th, 2020, 1:35 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Watsapp is the new media for fake news, it is a social media in every sense now.

The sheer brilliance of GTA5 is truly something.

you sound like a man of class... gran theff 4 lyfee.
i more on GTA: San Andreas vibes tho.. classics never die..

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 20th, 2020, 3:16 pm

nah, why you want to lock it off tho?
Like any activity, there are levels of unhealty vs healthy - don't see the need t lock it off unless you have a self-control issue

Postby MG Man » July 20th, 2020, 3:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:nah, why you want to lock it off tho?
Like any activity, there are levels of unhealty vs healthy - don't see the need t lock it off unless you have a self-control issue

shhhhhh..................let it run a few pages nah

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » July 20th, 2020, 4:14 pm

I used to have similar opinion of social media, until I discovered that it can be useful and not only for 'maccoo-ing'.

I currently use d fassbook to link with friends abroad, but also for groups and buying stuff.

I use IG for guitar lessons. These media have a lot more to offer, but are generally used by ppl to mind yuh business.

I recently joined pinterest, which is a great source of information, from exercise schedules, cooking and DIY.

abducted

Postby abducted » July 20th, 2020, 4:23 pm

philliprock wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Watsapp is the new media for fake news, it is a social media in every sense now.

The sheer brilliance of GTA5 is truly something.

you sound like a man of class... gran theff 4 lyfee.
i more on GTA: San Andreas vibes tho.. classics never die..

Both of you sound like men of class, Standard 3 in primary school to be exact.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 20th, 2020, 4:49 pm

The best thing any of you can do for yourselves is to turn off all news and learn to think for yourselves.
There's a reason they are called media magnates and you guys consumers.
Everybody in this world has an agenda especially the media.