Digging up ah find these old TDK cassette tapes

death365

Digging up ah find these old TDK cassette tapes

Postby death365 » June 30th, 2020, 2:29 pm

Who remember these

Borrowing yuh partner tape to copy certain songs from it... Waiting on a song on d radio and hoping no body talking during it
IMG_20200630_142738.jpeg
Last edited by death365 on June 30th, 2020, 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Digging up ah find these....

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2020, 2:40 pm

nice find, good to see some in mint condition

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2020, 2:47 pm

death365 wrote:Who remember these

Borrowing yuh partner tape to copy certain songs from it... Waiting on a song on d radio and hoping no body taking during it IMG_20200630_142738.jpeg

You have a player?

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2020, 2:52 pm

death365 wrote:Who remember these

Borrowing yuh partner tape to copy certain songs from it... Waiting on a song on d radio and hoping no body taking during it IMG_20200630_142738.jpeg

You have a player?
I have one in my laser

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2020, 3:01 pm

I still have a couple unopened and I have about 3 working cassette players.

Postby Les Bain » June 30th, 2020, 3:10 pm

A D90 tape and an auto flip walkman was the bess thing back in the day.

Postby 88sins » June 30th, 2020, 5:11 pm

yuh bringing back some real good old memories with that find boy.
I still have a cassette recorder and player, but sadly not even a blank to put in it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2020, 5:17 pm

Big throwback!

I used to save my weekly allowance in Form 3-5 to buy mixtapes (FPM, DefBoys, ETC, HowieT, Music3000), then do my own mix using their mixes.

I feel I was real DJin back then.

Ruined all of them by magnetization - stored the showbox of tapes too close to some open subwoofers. :(

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 5:19 pm

and scotch tape over the tab hole to record over

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2020, 5:30 pm

Les Bain wrote:A D90 tape and an auto flip walkman was the bess thing back in the day.

still have 2 working Walkman and lots of cassettes, even have a couple double cassette players but what I want is a Sharp GF-555 but prices on ebay ridiculous now

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2020, 5:34 pm

the walkmans you would get in the west were much larger than the fancy ones sold in the eastern hemispere
I had a padna who got one from singapore,

it was literally just a little bigger than the cassette case and had a detachable aa battery

Postby Rovin » June 30th, 2020, 5:35 pm

well this thread go show up all who is ole ppl on tuner :oops: :lol:

still have my collection of cassettes somewhere home but when downloading came about i searched for each song & got it in good quality mp3s

i hear nuff ole dub in maxi to\from school so i doh really care much for those but my good pop songs classics & metal i remembered all & i downloaded them all , even nowadays once i hear a forgotten song on d radio i DL it 1time ...

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » June 30th, 2020, 5:37 pm

maxell had the best stickers

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2020, 7:22 pm

I just got rid (gave away) of a couple boxes of tapes, the only ones I wanted to keep were the mix tape ones but don't even have one of them left- all my Laundry, Howie-T, and a quite alot of Dr. Hyde (incuding specially made ones) all missing. All I seem to have left is the Iron Maiden, random early 90's bands ans stuff I dont remember buying

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2020, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:and scotch tape over the tab hole to record over

Yuh know good t'ing boy.

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2020, 7:46 pm

Still have bunches of cassettes, 45's and 33's. and one 78 somewhere.

Unfortunately, the Victrola gone through so the 78 can only collect dust.

death365

Postby death365 » July 1st, 2020, 7:02 am

It have man in Trinidad with brand new record players awia brand...

Can't remember where now... But he had stock of at least 10

Postby MG Man » July 1st, 2020, 8:24 am

death365 wrote:It have man in Trinidad with brand new record players awia brand...

was his name George by chance?

death365

Postby death365 » July 1st, 2020, 12:55 pm

Yeah ah think
death365 wrote:It have man in Trinidad with brand new record players awia brand...

was his name George by chance?

Postby RedVEVO » July 1st, 2020, 1:08 pm

A sad sad sad day for Trini ..

Worse that corvid 19

Ole ole graying men of tuners with a computer unite over what looks like a packet
of cheap 1940 chocolates or 1950 breath mints ..

Next thing they will want to do is have a "back in times concert" @ Hillview College ..

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 1st, 2020, 2:54 pm

Thread remind me of my pops rocking randy tape I supposed to get digitised. Can't find it now

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 1st, 2020, 10:48 pm

My almera has a cassette player

airuma

Postby airuma » July 1st, 2020, 11:13 pm

Les Bain wrote:A D90 tape and an auto flip walkman was the bess thing back in the day.

Id "auto reverse" they call it. D90 was plenty music but it used to put a strain on the drive belt. Real memories they! I also used to save my school money to buy tapes back in the day.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2020, 9:32 am

never liked 90s...always ended up 'dragging'
Pretty much everything I had was on TDK SA60s

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 2nd, 2020, 3:06 pm

Interesting (maybe) fact, these are still available in some stores.They still at around $5 ea tho

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2020, 3:20 pm

what about metal or high bias tapes ?

death365

Postby death365 » August 26th, 2023, 4:55 pm

Some more relics.... brand beware in box ...
20230811_080250.jpg
20230811_080301.jpg

Postby Les Bain » August 26th, 2023, 7:55 pm

Oh yes, the days of presenting a document full of random characters and claiming the floppy corrupted your assignment.

abbow

Postby abbow » August 27th, 2023, 11:14 am

just last week I was showing my son what cd's/ YT replaced - cassettes and what the flashdrive replaced - floppy disks

thats when i,again, realized i getting old fast.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 27th, 2023, 12:09 pm

I need to get a cassette player yes - have a bunch of old cassettes, can't even remember what on some of them.
Always wanted one of those Technics or Nakamichi cassette decks

To think our generation went through almost every form of physical media until there was no more physical media.
From 8-track tapes, cassette, vinyl 33 and 45 records, CDs, MiniDisc, CDRW, floppy disk 5¼" and 3½", Zip-disk, BetaMax, VHS, laserdisc, DVD, Bluray, flash drive - now everything is streaming or downloadable.