Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

screwbash

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Postby screwbash » October 28th, 2020, 3:43 pm

kamakazi wrote:Creamery is favorite with a different name. Most products taste the same, vanilla has changed.

Dark and gold is now creamery yummy
screwbash wrote:is flavourite no more ? will there never be a next dark and gold made? or is it a product we will get in short supply ?i only seeing a next brand in the supermarkets a while now.

sweet, i will look for that creamery yummy. i cleaning the freezer to organize for the christmas and i come across a dark and gold. it still taste good an it in there almost a year.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 28th, 2020, 4:01 pm

screwbash wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
screwbash wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Hwells wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
screwbash wrote:is flavourite no more ? will there never be a next dark and gold made? or is it a product we will get in short supply ?i only seeing a next brand in the supermarkets a while now.

Flavorite got delisted from the stock exchange a few years ago. I can't remember why. But I think it was due to allegations of gross impropriety. So if it is true that they got delisted due to poor management it wouldn't b so far fetched that if this issue was not addressed that the company would eventually go belly up. If that is really the case idk.

creamery ice-cream locally made as well and pretty good in terms of taste for price context.

thanks for that info. I am staying away from all sweets and flour though atm. Need to be fit so that when the COVID eventually hit me I can hopefully make a full recovery.

nobody make a full recovery from covid. i know a couple of men that complain from breathing issues to hearth issues after and one co worker of a family died 2 weeks from other issues after getting covid and going tru the process. man was 51

I understand. I should have said instead that i am trying to stay fit so that when covid eventually hits me i don't have any health complications that could aggravate the illness and turn me into a statistic.

i only going work, grocery, home. level mask and sanitizer. i have water in my trunk with liquid soap to wash hands. dey cud open best resturant, best cinema, best bar giving away free vene nanny and free white oak an i not going. i real low till that vaccine pass tru or the infections drop to zero.
my children aint leave the house since early march, i seeing people with they chirren in the grocery, kfc, walking going to the supermarket etc and i think what ass them is.

That is the right thing to do. And no slight on you eh. But not everyone have wife and kids and as such have regular, personal contact. From moving to a very social society to a recluse society is very challenging for most people and thats why u seeing more and more people up and about when they really don't need to be. The low testing also has people in a lax state. Time will tell who was right and wrong when it comes to addressing and operating under this pandemic

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » October 28th, 2020, 7:42 pm

elec2020 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
Sōsuke Aizen wrote:^^ you should take your own advice political blogger

for real, he ah dunce bat claimin degree an sheit, yet he fully dunce up enuff to speak out against anything that puts the PNM government in a bad light.
PNM doin chit donkey years now, use your *degrees* in economics to validate it, oh wait daiz ah fantasy, go back een political blogger see you in 4-5 years
So rather than read his comments and talk about that, both of you like many here rather determine the value of his comments based on perceived political allegiance? And you call him dunce?

Thats exactly why TnT can't move forward. Instead of listening to or trying to understand what those who informed have to say on national developments they judge the veracity of there claims by perceived political allegiances. Leave them. Let Mr. Aboud and other non-specialists continue to make incorrect statements on the economy. Its clear that they prefer to let their biases guide which information sources they deem to be correct.

TnT cannot move forward because it still have jack@rse like you that still believes that pnm working for the people.

By the way Elite, I have not judged him on political allegiance. Did you see me write pnm blogger or unc blogger?

Both of you saw 'political blogger' and ready to spew venom. Oh and your BSc. and MSc. degrees is probably sheit UWI degrees, bunch of 9000 IQ know-it-all boomers.

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2020, 8:00 pm

Clearly reading and comprehesion are mutually exclusive to you, I responded to 2 posts, neither my response nor the subsequent one has any "venom" are you fragile? You called him a political blogger, I said perceived political allegiance, the other person said he defends the PNM. Stop being so tender

Postby RedVEVO » October 28th, 2020, 8:12 pm

screwbash wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Creamery is favorite with a different name. Most products taste the same, vanilla has changed.

sweet, i will look for that creamery yummy. i cleaning the freezer to organize for the christmas and i come across a dark and gold. it still taste good an it in there almost a year.

Better try another ice cream :D

Massy had" creamery on sale " for like 2 mass containers for $25

Ben and Jerry / H - Daz / Bee's is much better :D

How much ice cream do you REALLY eat ?

So when you EAT :D

EAT quality :D

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 28th, 2020, 8:33 pm

Sōsuke Aizen wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
Sōsuke Aizen wrote:^^ you should take your own advice political blogger

for real, he ah dunce bat claimin degree an sheit, yet he fully dunce up enuff to speak out against anything that puts the PNM government in a bad light.
PNM doin chit donkey years now, use your *degrees* in economics to validate it, oh wait daiz ah fantasy, go back een political blogger see you in 4-5 years
So rather than read his comments and talk about that, both of you like many here rather determine the value of his comments based on perceived political allegiance? And you call him dunce?

Thats exactly why TnT can't move forward. Instead of listening to or trying to understand what those who informed have to say on national developments they judge the veracity of there claims by perceived political allegiances. Leave them. Let Mr. Aboud and other non-specialists continue to make incorrect statements on the economy. Its clear that they prefer to let their biases guide which information sources they deem to be correct.

TnT cannot move forward because it still have jack@rse like you that still believes that pnm working for the people.

By the way Elite, I have not judged him on political allegiance. Did you see me write pnm blogger or unc blogger?

Both of you saw 'political blogger' and ready to spew venom. Oh and your BSc. and MSc. degrees is probably sheit UWI degrees, bunch of 9000 IQ know-it-all boomers.

You just proving exactly what i said. So blinded by political hate that u don't care about the facts in my statement (specically that Mr. Aboud's comments on the economy are incorrect) and went into a tirade. Neither myself nor elite used profanities in our responses. But we spewing venom? You did that. And imo that is a tell tale sign of someone who doesn't know how to argue their point in a coherent manner. But i will give u a chance to prove me wrong. Since u looking down on my uwi degrees please explain to me where i was incorrect in my assesment on Mr. Aboud's statements. I look forward to hearing what someone who makes it appear like they have foreign degrees has to say on this matter.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 28th, 2020, 8:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:Clearly reading and comprehesion are mutually exclusive to you, I responded to 2 posts, neither my response nor the subsequent one has any "venom" are you fragile? You called him a political blogger, I said perceived political allegiance, the other person said he defends the PNM. Stop being so tender

Hate is clouding his judgement. Up to know he has not highlighted where I was wrong in my assesment on Mr. Aboud's statements on the economy. All i have seen from him is pnm this, pnm that, blah blah blah. Typical response of a political psycophant. U ignore the issue at hand cause it doesn't suit your agenda. I look forward to his response to my comment.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 29th, 2020, 4:26 am

RedVEVO wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Better try another ice cream :D

Massy had" creamery on sale " for like 2 mass containers for $25

Ben and Jerry / H - Daz / Bee's is much better :D

How much ice cream do you REALLY eat ?

So when you EAT :D

EAT quality :D

true dat eh, but not hagen daz. i go buy an support local. if creamery is being made by the same flavourite people with local people gettin wuk i go support. I stop buying blueban and squeezy and anything that used to be made by unilever since they fire all the locals and importing everyting and have spanish getting wuk in they factories somewhere in latin america. i go buy a product made in TT or caricom that employing we black people. squeezy was switched to one made by langston roach. they free to import but i doing my part to show them we vex for firing all we trinis.

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2020, 6:09 am

RedV: What are 2 "mass" containers for $25.00?

Is that 1 litre / 2 litres/ 4 litres?

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2020, 6:11 am

creamery is
made by hadco
same ppl who import haagen daz

Postby De Dragon » October 29th, 2020, 3:22 pm

OJT elec 2020 could real gargle bhai.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 29th, 2020, 8:03 pm

^ if you have nothing constructive to add to the discussion then please move along.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 29th, 2020, 8:25 pm

pugboy wrote:creamery is
made by hadco

is it made in trinidad ? do they have a factory somewhere or is it all imported made by some foreigner ?

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2020, 8:29 pm

Made in diamond vale estate, they doing a lot of exports

They smart and making easy flavors like coconut which is just them powdered coconut flavouring and artificial strawberry.

screwbash wrote:
made by hadco

is it made in trinidad ? do they have a factory somewhere or is it all imported made by some foreigner ?

Postby paid_influencer » October 29th, 2020, 8:47 pm

made by hadco

I was wondering why the grocery removed all the local ice creams and put haagen daz in there. Now it makes sense.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 30th, 2020, 7:02 pm

I think the issue with premium and economy as Mr. Aboud mentioned has to do more with businesses that are either specialty or luxury and general everyday business that don't specialize and offer a range of items.

In the country areas you see this in "good" times you find a number of small but specialty stores offering some items that would only be found in the mall or more built up areas a good example are clothing boutiques and stores that only sold cell phones (very common between 2001 and up to about 2013) and associated electronics.

In "bad" times what you find happening is that these stores either close down or have to sell more practical goods, like cheap plastics wares household items and such to survive. In the case of the electronic stores you find them selling more off brand equipment and accessories and even more cheaper bulk stuff that are just related to the electronic items they are selling.

In a case like this you find stores in the country that were once (in the "good" times) looked down upon for being "too country" or not classy or not sophisticated are now the ones that are more in demand as they have more practical things available at reasonable prices. Think house wares, to stationary, to your kids school uniform.

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2020, 8:20 pm

pugboy wrote:Senior tuners here real big up that place, at least they get free food.

Rovin wrote:express jes now put up d story with hard rock cafe .... https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... ium=social

Trotters, who replaced Hard Rock, also closing their doors.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/10/30/more-j ... oses-down/

Last year, Gulf City had three expensive-dining restaurants: TGI, Ruby Tuesday and Hard Rock. Now it has scaled back down to just one, which makes sense for the location imo.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 30th, 2020, 8:30 pm

Their food court is still okay.

The indoor Haagen Daz and Starbucks are still good. I do miss having my ice-cream out side though.

Postby Rovin » October 30th, 2020, 8:33 pm

hmmm not feeling sorry for d owners but for 140 to lorse dey wuk - dat rel hard dawg ...

Postby K74T » October 31st, 2020, 2:03 pm

Closure of Sails Restaurant and Pub, Chaguaramas.

FB_IMG_1604167287235.jpeg

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2020, 2:28 pm

Rovin wrote:hmmm not feeling sorry for d owners but for 140 to lorse dey wuk - dat rel hard dawg ...

Why ?

Who you think gave them a chance at living the good life ? :roll:

Postby K74T » November 2nd, 2020, 8:56 am

FB_IMG_1604321725185.jpeg

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 2nd, 2020, 11:09 am

Sails service at that new location was complete dog ass.
Last year sometime we waited for about 45 minutes to an hour and all we got was water and excuses why our appetizers weren't ready.
There were about 4 tables occupied in total in the entire restaurant including our's.
Imagine an hour and not even appetizers in an empty restuarant.
Walked out that place and got food in about fifteen minutes in Zanzibar.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » November 2nd, 2020, 11:40 am

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1604321725185.jpeg

Cry me a river. Is only Trotters and co have it hard awa. That tongue in cheek comment of 30-40 infections a day somehow not being ok to open up bars and restaurants also did not better engender me to them.

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2020, 11:43 am

Friends,

Just because a business is “closing down”, it does not necessarily mean that things are hard.

This is not your average Trini burger cart and car wash.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 2nd, 2020, 9:29 pm

A lot of businesses have closed temporarily, if you have stores in all the major malls, you will close some till things pick back up. One of the more well-known businesses listed here that closed, I know the owners....they closed the one branch in the west and opened another one in the south. Big business has contracted while small to (some) medium have seen great growth (i'm lucky to have seen 60%-75% increase on my end, from the beginning of covid to now). As companies and gen public look at more family/"mom-and-pop" operations for better prices as opposed to big companies. There have been worse, things will be fine, the economy always bounces back.

Postby RedVEVO » November 3rd, 2020, 4:02 am

eurotuner wrote:A lot of businesses have closed temporarily, if you have stores in all the major malls, you will close some till things pick back up. One of the more well-known businesses listed here that closed, I know the owners....they closed the one branch in the west and opened another one in the south. Big business has contracted while small to (some) medium have seen great growth (i'm lucky to have seen 60%-75% increase on my end, from the beginning of covid to now). As companies and gen public look at more family/"mom-and-pop" operations for better prices as opposed to big companies. There have been worse, things will be fine, the economy always bounces back.

Yes :D

Postby RedVEVO » November 6th, 2020, 5:11 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Just because a business is “closing down”, it does not necessarily mean that things are hard.

This is not your average Trini burger cart and car wash.

Agreed :D

Some business people have suspended their ventures .

Soon to re-open :D

Relocate or to re-vamp their model and finances .

Business is NOT a hustle as many think - it's persistence and patience .

Postby zoom rader » November 6th, 2020, 6:48 pm

eurotuner wrote:A lot of businesses have closed temporarily, if you have stores in all the major malls, you will close some till things pick back up. One of the more well-known businesses listed here that closed, I know the owners....they closed the one branch in the west and opened another one in the south. Big business has contracted while small to (some) medium have seen great growth (i'm lucky to have seen 60%-75% increase on my end, from the beginning of covid to now). As companies and gen public look at more family/"mom-and-pop" operations for better prices as opposed to big companies. There have been worse, things will be fine, the economy always bounces back.
Alot of these bussiness are nothing more than fronts for washing money.

Postby RedVEVO » November 7th, 2020, 2:01 am

Alot of these bussiness are nothing more than fronts for washing money.

There is serious truth to this although it may sound farfetched to many .

But the fact that it is funneled into the financial system it has an economic benefit .

There are many examples but that "ole talk" should stay with the academics :D