Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

screwbash

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Postby screwbash » October 23rd, 2020, 4:24 pm

bluefete wrote:
screwbash wrote:ramish and leela in the crossie in san juan closed down. i seeing it empty.

They had a case of Covid in the earlies.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/12-grocery-worke ... t-results/

Did they ever re-open though? Phone not even ringing.

If they closed, this should have made the news.

But things really bad when a grocery closes down in a pandemic.

There is more to that than meets the eye.

saw diskomart from tunapuna takeover the ramish and leela spot in the crossie. prices like they belong in the west. ramish and leela had poor man prices, i not seeing the same crowd after they pass tru the first time.

Postby eliteauto » October 23rd, 2020, 5:18 pm

screwbash wrote:
bluefete wrote:
screwbash wrote:ramish and leela in the crossie in san juan closed down. i seeing it empty.

saw diskomart from tunapuna takeover the ramish and leela spot in the crossie. prices like they belong in the west. ramish and leela had poor man prices, i not seeing the same crowd after they pass tru the first time.

Diskomart is HiLo/Massy, that's the brand they used when they took over FoodMasters in Tunapuna and LB's in Trincity

Postby bluefete » October 23rd, 2020, 5:27 pm

Correct. Now coming to post the same.

Croisee now has Massy Foods/Diskomart and Tru Valu. That is salt for the poor. But if you take a trip to Aranjuez, you can get some fairly decent prices at Better Deal.

eliteauto wrote:
screwbash wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Diskomart is HiLo/Massy, that's the brand they used when they took over FoodMasters in Tunapuna and LB's in Trincity

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 23rd, 2020, 5:29 pm

that was a perfect spot for ah xtra foods.

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2020, 5:32 pm

diskomart is a real old brand, used to be on avenue in the early 80s
corner of luis street where a big casino is now

Postby bluefete » October 23rd, 2020, 5:33 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Pennywise Plaza in Chaguanas has a Standards as well
screwbash wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:i hear Standards gonna close 5 of their stores.

How much stores them have? Can't be much more than 5 because I am regularly all over Trinidad and I know only GB, St James, Arima, probably one in south I guess......maybe one in Tobago i think.

it have one in the crossie in san juan and one in mt hope opposite the new food basket, idk if the one in queen street still around. it had one in princes town

Just 2 weeks ago i went into standards st.james to try to get a computer desk. The staff completely ignored me or prenteded they had other things to do so i left. They clearly don't want my money. The irony is that these same staff wondering how on earth standards closing down. I feel no pity for them

Young Sabga and dem let go the Managers who understood customer service because they wanted to cut labour costs. They then let the younger workers run wild and run down the reputation of Standards.

If they are closing 5 branches, I am almost sure that Mt. Hope will be one of them. That place is deader than a doornail!

Postby RedVEVO » October 26th, 2020, 3:32 am

" George, who is the chief executive officer of the Trent Restaurant Group which includes restaurants like Trotters, Buzo, Amara and Blue Star Diner said on Saturday he will now be forced to close more of his restaurants and send workers home "

" George has accused Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley of not having the courage to make the difficult decisions.

" George said the entire country is now ‘paying the cake’ for Rowley’s decision .. "

https://guardian.co.tt/news/businessman ... b5d2c733b8

Postby K74T » October 26th, 2020, 7:34 am

FB_IMG_1603711864027.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2020, 8:26 am

^ They were pretty saturated in down POS - Aboutique Mall, Excellent City Centre and across from NALIS. All within 5 mins of each other.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2020, 9:00 am

Chin: MovieTowne might not reopen

THE days of looking up at a big cinema screen could sadly be over, according to businessman Derek Chin, speaking to Newsday on Sunday.

He said the MovieTowne cinemas might not reopen, as a ban on patrons buying snacks and drinks now threatens to make cinemas uneconomical.

While the Prime Minister on Saturday lifted his previous shutdown of cinemas, aimed at curbing covid19, Chin lamented the ban on snack sales.

He said food and drink are the cinema’s main revenue-earner, along with advertising, in excess of earnings from box office sales, which are shared 50-50 with the landlord.

“I’m disappointed by what’s happened.

“People will say, ‘Why am I going to the cinema if I can’t get a hot dog?’”

Chin said on Monday he will meet officials of Caribbean Cinemas and Imax to discuss whether it makes economic sense to reopen, after which an announcement will be made.

He feared if new cases of covid19 rise from current levels of about 40 per day to, say, 70 per day, Dr Rowley might again close cinemas.

“You can’t be up and down, in and out,” Chin said of running a business.

He said the World Health Organization had warned of the economic cost of lockdowns.

“Right now, I am leaning towards not reopening.

“We’d like the Government to take a second look.”

Chin reckoned that with physical distancing and everyone facing the same direction looking at the screen, food and drinks could be safely consumed in cinemas, keeping them a viable enterprise.

“The notion of cinemas being a breeding ground for covid is simply not true. No outbreaks can be traced to cinemas.

“I’m obviously very disappointed. Hopefully all is not lost and we could talk to the Government.”

Asked if drive-in cinemas were the future, he said they too had economic costs, as patrons may prefer indoor air-conditioned cinemas rather than facing mosquitoes outdoors.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/10/25/moviet ... ot-reopen/

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2020, 9:19 am

^^^ Red arse goverment logic

Postby Les Bain » October 26th, 2020, 10:48 am

Like people fraid to say is illegal activities and gatherings that were responsible for the high surge after the initial lockdown.
Who in high class as well as low class gunta fete. Who transporting illegals and housing them. Who still bulling illegals in prostitution. Who falling in with the dumbass North American freedums mentality.

Everybody paying the price for that crowd.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2020, 11:12 am

Guardian Article:

While beaches are open today, indoor dining at restaurants and fast food outlets remain unavailable and some business owners are voicing their displeasure.

Businessman Peter George has described the Prime Minister’s decision to leave restrictions in place for bars and restaurants as a ‘travesty.’

George, who is the chief executive officer of the Trent Restaurant Group which includes restaurants like Trotters, Buzo, Amara and Blue Star Diner said on Saturday he will now be forced to close more of his restaurants and send workers home.

“I do not agree with this. Not just from the restaurant perspective, because what happens in the next two weeks we do not even know if we can open in two weeks,” George said about the decision to keep restrictions in place barring dine-in services at bars and restaurants.

“Public servants, the Prime Minister, ministers, MPs on both sides of the aisle, senators on both sides of the aisle, state board chairmen, state employees, civil servants, public servants have all been paid in full for the last nine months.”

George has accused Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley of not having the courage to make the difficult decisions.

“Our prime minister has been blown out of the sky by the likes of (Mia) Mottley, (Allen) Chastanet, (Andrew) Holness, even (Bharrat) Jagdeo and (Keith) Mitchell. We have done nothing but throw a cold blanket on this because we don’t understand the problem. None of them have skin in the game.”

George said the entire country is now ‘paying the cake’ for Rowley’s decisions.

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2020, 11:22 am

Again Friends,

If allyuh feel the 1% are really being affected.....then think again.

They are always a step ahead.

Remember what happens when one door closes?

Them done have that other door open already.

This is all business.

Postby RedVEVO » October 26th, 2020, 11:37 am

Les Bain wrote:Like people fraid to say is illegal activities and gatherings that were responsible for the high surge after the initial lockdown.
Who in high class as well as low class gunta fete. Who transporting illegals and housing them. Who still bulling illegals in prostitution. Who falling in with the dumbass North American freedums mentality.

There is no evidence or correlation that illegals responsible for high surge :roll: :roll:

It's huge numbers of citizens refusing to wear masks and not following protocol :!: :!: :!:

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Guardian Article:

While beaches are open today, indoor dining at restaurants and fast food outlets remain unavailable and some business owners are voicing their displeasure.

Businessman Peter George has described the Prime Minister’s decision to leave restrictions in place for bars and restaurants as a ‘travesty.’

George, who is the chief executive officer of the Trent Restaurant Group which includes restaurants like Trotters, Buzo, Amara and Blue Star Diner said on Saturday he will now be forced to close more of his restaurants and send workers home.

“I do not agree with this. Not just from the restaurant perspective, because what happens in the next two weeks we do not even know if we can open in two weeks,” George said about the decision to keep restrictions in place barring dine-in services at bars and restaurants.

“Public servants, the Prime Minister, ministers, MPs on both sides of the aisle, senators on both sides of the aisle, state board chairmen, state employees, civil servants, public servants have all been paid in full for the last nine months.”

George has accused Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley of not having the courage to make the difficult decisions.

“Our prime minister has been blown out of the sky by the likes of (Mia) Mottley, (Allen) Chastanet, (Andrew) Holness, even (Bharrat) Jagdeo and (Keith) Mitchell. We have done nothing but throw a cold blanket on this because we don’t understand the problem. None of them have skin in the game.”

May basically say the red Goverment prime minister is a Dunce.

Postby j.o.e » October 26th, 2020, 12:10 pm

It have movies out to watch anyway ? I agree with Chin that opening with no concessions makes no sense for him though. However that doesn’t necessarily mean I think cinemas should be 100% open right now. Really hard to keep everyone happy and safe this rounds.

Postby RedVEVO » October 26th, 2020, 12:42 pm

Do you know if George's restaurants sell Lobster ?

Pursuing the menu on the internet and I do not see ANY apple and grapes salad .

But they have a casssava and goat main course :lol: :lol:

rebound

Postby rebound » October 26th, 2020, 1:01 pm

Les Bain wrote:Like people fraid to say is illegal activities and gatherings that were responsible for the high surge after the initial lockdown.

Yup, there are many bars that have alot of cars outside but the doors are "closed". Still going on all over.

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2020, 1:09 pm

And in a coincidence of titanic proportions ..this is the first post that ZR does not refer to a member of the 1% scum...as 1% scum.

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Redman wrote:

And in a coincidence of titanic proportions ..this is the first post that ZR does not refer to a member of the 1% scum...as 1% scum.
I am sorry they and including your beloved red prime minister whoes arse you lick every day are indeed Scum.

Postby Redman » October 26th, 2020, 3:35 pm

That’s the ZR we have all come to know and love.

Postby RedVEVO » October 26th, 2020, 6:50 pm

rebound wrote:

Yup, there are many bars that have alot of cars outside but the doors are "closed". Still going on all over.

Actually this is correct :D

MANY family houses/homes or private homes have been converted to " a sit down" restaurant .

They usually have full menus with drinks etc.

There is no take away or curb side services . It's 100% sit down and eat with buffet etc.

There is usually a "security guard " who watches through a window/curtain.

There are usually lots of cars parked in front the residence .

There is a legal loop hole with " private residence " and etc. etc.

killercow

Postby killercow » October 26th, 2020, 10:20 pm

So amm... Forget bout dis den?

_20201012_173430.JPG

Postby RedVEVO » October 26th, 2020, 11:48 pm

Movie Towne Chin is correct that when one goes to a Movie Towne movie they need /want the snacks , the hotdogs, the popcorn, pizza etc.

Why would you go to a cinema and NOT enjoy the total cinema experience @ $100 ?

And keep tuned in for Chin will get his Santa wish :D :D :D

Nobody messing with China :lol: :lol:

And @ Buccoo Reef they are in a similar position - no Nylon Pool ?

But they will NOT get their Santana wish :D :D

Postby Ben_spanna » October 27th, 2020, 9:45 am

So the public bleh bleh blleh-ing about "Chins" comments, i dont see them complaining about Caribbean Cinema or Imax..... whats with that! or is Chin the spokes person for the Cinema group?

Postby Les Bain » October 27th, 2020, 11:03 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So the public bleh bleh blleh-ing about "Chins" comments, i dont see them complaining about Caribbean Cinema or Imax..... whats with that! or is Chin the spokes person for the Cinema group?

That's a sign of a lazy populace. Try asking them who owns Imax or CC8 nah.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 27th, 2020, 7:25 pm

is flavourite no more ? will there never be a next dark and gold made? or is it a product we will get in short supply ?i only seeing a next brand in the supermarkets a while now.

Postby MaxPower » October 27th, 2020, 7:30 pm

I love the 1%

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 27th, 2020, 7:36 pm

screwbash wrote:is flavourite no more ? will there never be a next dark and gold made? or is it a product we will get in short supply ?i only seeing a next brand in the supermarkets a while now.

Flavorite got delisted from the stock exchange a few years ago. I can't remember why. But I think it was due to allegations of gross impropriety. So if it is true that they got delisted due to poor management it wouldn't b so far fetched that if this issue was not addressed that the company would eventually go belly up. If that is really the case idk.