RIP George Floyd

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 12:49 am

With all the ills in the US I am supprised all the pro so call African tuners have not posted about George Floyd.

Alll these afro tuners are a bunch of imposters..

These people only black on certain days and when it's suits them

RIP George Floyd and jah bless you
Last edited by zoom rader on May 29th, 2020, 12:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: RIP George Floýd

Postby Gladiator » May 29th, 2020, 12:57 am

That murder was one of the most horrific things I have ever seen....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 29th, 2020, 8:07 am

Republican Congressman / Former State Prosecutor - Trey Gowdy said that was Murder and it was murder 1, 2 or 3 but murder by anyother name

He also called out that sh!t hong Mayor on his pretend sadness, Trey said if you were so concerned about cops murdering colored people why then were you fcking hiring racist psychopath cops in the first place? The mayor sat on his ass and did NOTHING when this same police officer was guilty of more sheit recently and nobody did anything. Never even once addressed the recruitment process for hiring police officers in his city.

Postby maj. tom » May 29th, 2020, 8:49 am

Longest standing problem in America, institutionalized racism. So much was said and done during the Ferguson riots, and the thousands of other incidents before. Go back to the Chicago riots 1919. It's all the same. America cannot change.

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2020, 8:55 am

nothing gonna change until 'unaffected' caucs take a stand against it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 29th, 2020, 8:59 am

maj. tom wrote:Longest standing problem in America, institutionalized racism. So much was said and done during the Ferguson riots, and the thousands of other incidents before. Go back to the Chicago riots 1919. It's all the same. America cannot change.

If the people in charge of these places for the last what 100 years? actually gave a sh!t they would have addressed the obvious issues found in recruitment of police officers.

Republicans couldn't give a sheit for the most part and narcissistic Ivy League Democrats who run these cities realize all them black seats is a "safe seat" their vote is guarantee so they also refuse to give a sh!t. But when something like this happens the people in charge of these places are the first to write up a pretty poetic speech excited to use all what they have learned in Yale and Harvard to make themselves look nice.

At the end of the day fixing this problem requires work and actual work is the last thing a career politician is interested in.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2020, 9:06 am

same shirt different day
from rodney king where a man tape with vhs
to now with cellphone
it’s just history repeating over and over

maj. tom wrote:Longest standing problem in America, institutionalized racism. So much was said and done during the Ferguson riots, and the thousands of other incidents before. Go back to the Chicago riots 1919. It's all the same. America cannot change.

George Floyd Death Triggers Protests Across USA

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 9:54 am

Police clear streets after fires in Minneapolis; violence in Columbus, Louisville
Ryan W. Miller, Jordan Culver, Joel Shannon, Erick Smith and Trevor Hughes | USA TODAY | 4 minutes ago

USA TODAY, Wochit

MINNEAPOLIS – After a Minneapolis police precinct was torched late Thursday, residents awoke to smoke billowing, fires burning and police lining their streets after another intense night of protests following the death of George Floyd, a black man who died in police custody this week after a white officer pinned him to the ground under his knee.

Police largely let protesters light fires and loot buildings into the early hours Friday before advancing through the area and creating a perimeter around the burnt precinct. During the clearing of the streets, a CNN reporter and crew were arrested.

phpBB [video]

Amid the escalating violence, President Donald Trump criticized the city's mayor and called protesters "thugs." Twitter later put a public interest notice on that tweet.

Earlier in the deeply shaken city, thousands of peaceful demonstrators marched through the streets calling for justice.

There were protests and rallies across the country, too – including New York City, Chicago and Denver. In Louisville, Kentucky, a protest to demand justice for Breonna Taylor, the 26-year-old Louisville ER tech shot and killed by police in March, turned violent. Seven people were shot.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nat ... 279830002/
Last edited by adnj on May 29th, 2020, 10:24 am, edited 4 times in total.

Police arrest CNN correspondent Omar Jimenez and crew on live television

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 10:05 am

phpBB [video]

(CNN) A CNN crew was arrested while giving a live television report Friday morning in Minneapolis -- and then released about an hour later -- as the crew covered ongoing protests over the death in police custody of George Floyd.

State police detained CNN correspondent Omar Jimenez, his producer and his photojournalist shortly after 5 a.m. CT (6 a.m. ET) as Jimenez was reporting live from a street south of downtown, near where a police precinct was earlier set ablaze.

Jimenez could be seen holding his CNN badge while reporting, identifying himself as a reporter, and telling the officers the crew would move wherever officers needed them to. An officer gripped his arm as Jimenez talked, then put him in handcuffs.

"We can move back to where you like. We are live on the air here. ... Put us back where you want us. We are getting out of your way -- wherever you want us (we'll) get out of your way," Jimenez said to police before he was led away.

"We were just getting out of your way when you were advancing through the intersection," Jimenez continued.

Police told the crew they were being detained because they were told to move and didn't, one member of the CNN crew relayed to the network.

Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz told CNN Worldwide President Jeff Zucker that he deeply apologizes for what happened and would work to have the crew released.

Stelter: Arresting reporters at a protest is an affront to the First Amendment

Jimenez and the others -- producer Bill Kirkos and photojournalist Leonel Mendez -- were taken to the city's downtown public safety building, but were released after 6 a.m. CT.

Jimenez, after his release, reported live outside from downtown and said he'd been treated cordially after he'd been led away.

"We're doing OK, now. There were a few uneasy moments there," Jimenez said.

The Minneapolis State Patrol said this about the incident:

"In the course of clearing the streets and restoring order at Lake Street and Snelling Avenue, four people were arrested by State Patrol troopers, including three members of a CNN crew. The three were released once they were confirmed to be members of the media."

CNN disputed the state police characterization in a statement on Twitter.

"This is not accurate - our CNN crew identified themselves, on live television, immediately as journalists. We thank Minnesota @GovTimWalz for his swift action this morning to aid in the release of our crew."

Another CNN reporter was 'treated much differently'
CNN's Josh Campell, who also was in the area but not standing with the on-air crew, said he, too, was approached by police, but was allowed to remain.

"I identified myself ... they said, 'OK, you're permitted to be in the area,'" recounted Campbell, who is white. "I was treated much differently than (Jimenez) was."

Jimenez is black and Latino.

"A CNN reporter and his production team were arrested this morning in Minneapolis for doing their jobs, despite identifying themselves -- a clear violation of their First Amendment rights. The authorities in Minnesota, including the Governor, must release the three CNN employees immediately," CNN said in a statement shortly after their arrest.

Former Philadelphia police commissioner Charles Ramsey, a CNN law enforcement analyst, said the arrest made no sense.

"State police are going to have a lot to answer for this arrest here," Ramsey said. "(Jimenez is) standing there ... you can see his credential. Just move him where you want to be."

"They should have a designated (media) area, and just tell them to move to that area."

https://www.cnn.com/2020/05/29/us/minne ... index.html

7 shot during protests in Louisville, police say

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2020, 10:21 am

7 shot during protests in Louisville, police say
May 29, 2020, 2:44 AM EDT / Updated May 29, 2020, 4:55 AM EDT
By Phil Helsel and Dennis Romero
Seven people were shot in Louisville, Kentucky, one of whom was in critical condition, during protests that turned violent Thursday night, police said.

Circumstances of the shootings were not immediately clear, and a police spokesman called the situation downtown fluid early Friday.

Officers were not involved in the shootings, Police Sgt. Lamont Washington said.

phpBB [video]

No other details were immediately available from police. Mayor Greg Fischer said in a video statement early Friday that seven people were shot "from within the crowd" and no police officers fired their weapons. Five were in good condition, two were sent to surgery, he said, adding "my prayers are with all of them."

The violence happened as hundreds had gathered to protest the death of Breonna Taylor, a 26-year-old woman who was killed by Louisville police this spring.

"What we are seeing tonight in this community is the obvious frustration of the tension between police and residents," police special adviser Jessie Halladay said earlier in a video call.

"What started out as a peaceful protest earlier this evening is now escalating into property damage, more aggressive action, and we've just heard reports of shots fired in the crowd," she said at the time. She said that in addition to property damage bottles had been thrown at officers.

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/7- ... y-n1217576

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2020, 10:49 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

If the people in charge of these places for the last what 100 years? actually gave a sh!t they would have addressed the obvious issues found in recruitment of police officers.

Republicans couldn't give a sheit for the most part and narcissistic Ivy League Democrats who run these cities realize all them black seats is a "safe seat" their vote is guarantee so they also refuse to give a sh!t. But when something like this happens the people in charge of these places are the first to write up a pretty poetic speech excited to use all what they have learned in Yale and Harvard to make themselves look nice.

At the end of the day fixing this problem requires work and actual work is the last thing a career politician is interested in.

You should read the book Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. It's about fast paced decisions and he highlighted the story of an African migrant Amadou Diallo in NYC that was shot by the NYPD whilst reaching for his wallet. The problem is greater than recruitment.

Its the national mindset, culture and opinions.

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2020, 10:52 am

So justice for Floyd is looting and burning down businesses in your own community... worse yet during a pandemic. Then when businesses don't rebuild and/or move out, you more vex.

Well done.

Coppershot

Re: George Floyd Death Triggers Protests Across USA

Postby Coppershot » May 29th, 2020, 10:56 am

Full Video.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2020, 10:57 am

that was the exact excuse they used for rodney king too
they had him on the ground and claim his hand reached back so they let him have it from there in case he really had a gun

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

You should read the book Blink by Malcolm Gladwell. It's about fast paced decisions and he highlighted the story of an African migrant Amadou Diallo in NYC that was shot by the NYPD whilst reaching for his wallet. The problem is greater than recruitment.

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 10:58 am

The_Honourable wrote:So justice for Floyd is looting and burning down businesses in your own community... worse yet during a pandemic. Then when businesses don't rebuild and/or move out, you more vex.

Well done.
People are angry.

These very same bussines support exploration of black folk, you forgot Starbucks?

US Police kill more black folk than covid
Last edited by zoom rader on May 29th, 2020, 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 29th, 2020, 11:01 am

The_Honourable wrote:So justice for Floyd is looting and burning down businesses in your own community... worse yet during a pandemic. Then when businesses don't rebuild and/or move out, you more vex.

Well done.

Exactly!

Besides-Americas problems, not ours!

Coppershot

Re: George Floyd Death Triggers Protests Across USA

Postby Coppershot » May 29th, 2020, 11:01 am

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2020, 11:02 am

pugboy wrote:that was the exact excuse they used for rodney king too
they had him on the ground and claim his hand reached back so they let him have it from there in case he really had a gun

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Unlike Diallo who got 19 bullets, Rodney lived though and was able to enjoy some of the almost 4m in compensation he won until he drowned in his own pool.

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:04 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

Nearly every Trini has a family member in the US.

So it is a concern for TT.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 29th, 2020, 11:07 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

OH please... they dont even stand up for their family locally! Steups!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 29th, 2020, 11:08 am

Black folk live in a very different world to whites and other ethnicities in the US and well in most countries. Hell, if blacks were a minority in Trinidad they'd be subjected to very similar fates (and yes I know they are in some cases still, but it's not nearly as common nowadays).

The sad thing is that for every inhumane act forced on blacks in the US, they correspondingly add to it by some rediculous crime or behaviour they commit. It's a cycle that many smart black leaders will often speak about but no one has a real answer. Getting them out of poverty is the only real solution now.

Poor people will be tempted into crime regardless of where they live. Blacks in the US have been poor for so long that being poor or ghetto is part of their identity.

Not going to be an easy fix, and many young whites are just as racist as their parents.

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:08 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

What if it was your family member that had the same treatment by these white folk?

Postby Ben_spanna » May 29th, 2020, 11:10 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Black folk live in a very different world to whites and other ethnicities in the US and well in most countries. Hell, if blacks were a minority in Trinidad they'd be subjected to very similar fates (and yes I know they are in some cases still, but it's not nearly as common nowadays).

The sad thing is that for every inhumane act forced on blacks in the US, they correspondingly add to it by some rediculous crime or behaviour they commit. It's a cycle that many smart black leaders will often speak about but no one has a real answer. Getting them out of poverty is the only real solution now.

Poor people will be tempted into crime regardless of where they live. Blacks in the US have been poor for so long that being poor or ghetto is part of their identity.

Not going to be an easy fix, and many young whites are just as racist as their parents.

the reality of that is none of that will change as long as The almighty Orange idiot remains in power!

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:11 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Black folk live in a very different world to whites and other ethnicities in the US and well in most countries. Hell, if blacks were a minority in Trinidad they'd be subjected to very similar fates (and yes I know they are in some cases still, but it's not nearly as common nowadays).

the reality of that is none of that will change as long as The almighty Orange idiot remains in power!
Obama was in office, did it change?

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2020, 11:14 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

What if it was your family member that had the same treatment by these white folk?

I guess loot and burn down businesses. Some of them black owned where the owners/families live in the same community :?

That would surely get the powers that be to listen to me. :?

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:15 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

I guess loot and burn down businesses. Some of them black owned where the owners/families live in my own community :?

That would surely get persons to listen to me. :?
It gets the world to view in and know what was the root cause.

The world veiw is US is racist county that targets black for its prison industry.

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2020, 11:17 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

I guess loot and burn down businesses. Some of them black owned where the owners/families live in my own community :?

The world veiw is US is racist county that targets black for its prison industry.

Zoom... why yuh so :lol:

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 11:17 am

i myself surprised at how nobody made this topic from day 1

i not really following d story [not that i dont care :| but ole ppl saying : try not to take up other ppl problems] but seeing bits & pieces of it on fb

does violently destroying ur community really solve anything though ? , economies already hit hard all over d world from covid but ppl making things even harder for themselves ...

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:18 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

Well done.

Exactly!

Zoom... why yuh so
Cause the pro black tuners are africans for a day only

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2020, 11:19 am

Rovin wrote:i myself surprised at how nobody made this topic from day 1

i not really following d story [not that i dont care :| but ole ppl saying : try not to take up other ppl problems] but seeing bits & pieces of it on fb

does violently destroying ur community really solve anything though ? , economies already hit hard all over d world from covid but ppl making things even harder for themselves ...
Cause it shows the mind of the pro black tuners we have on here.

They black for a day only and then they
big up Buju and Rowlee