Falling mango...our hail in trinidad

Postby aaron17 » May 19th, 2020, 9:19 am

Just letting you know .... to the tuners out there especially with sunroofs, watch out for those mango tree with fruits laiden on the roadways. One of that could go through the windscreen etc. Especially how hard it is to repair at this time. I believe it is hard to cut the trees too. Covid slowing everything down. I guess take another route. I know them cars playing Russian roulette.
Last edited by aaron17 on May 19th, 2020, 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Falling mango...our hail in trinidad

Postby hydroep » May 19th, 2020, 9:27 am

Neighbour have some Starch and Julie mango forever falling and ricocheting off the wall, denting our cars. Had to put up some BRC to reduce the problem.

Yuh forever hadda be cleaning the garage roof too.

On the plus side - free mango... 8-)

Postby aaron17 » May 19th, 2020, 9:29 am

hydroep wrote:Neighbour have some Starch and Julie mango forever falling and ricocheting off the wall, denting our cars. Had to put up some BRC to reduce the problem.

Yuh forever hadda be cleaning the garage roof too.

On the plus side - free mango... 8-)

Postby maj. tom » May 19th, 2020, 9:29 am

the worst is the bats that come to feast on the fruit. Bat guano is like an irremovable acid stain. And like they does practise dive bombing splash art on the walls.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2020, 9:32 am

If your neighbour is a monster who leave all the fruit to fall and rotten that's a different kind of stank.
If anyone has errant neighbours with starch, doudous, donkeystones or icecream - send coordinates. We rendezvous at midnight

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2020, 10:56 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:If your neighbour is a monster who leave all the fruit to fall and rotten that's a different kind of stank.
If anyone has errant neighbours with starch, doudous, donkeystones or icecream - send coordinates. We rendezvous at midnight

mind the tree owner eh mistake you for a manicou in dey mango tree & you get shot at by 00:01 :lol:

but all kix aside, dis year with this lack of rainfall thus far is taking a serious toll on mangoes, fruits seeing presha to ripen & remaining green on the tree longer than usual. I usually give away the starch to the kids in the village around this time so, but looking like this year they go get them late. This year so far the tree not bearing as much as last year either.

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 19th, 2020, 11:51 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:If your neighbour is a monster who leave all the fruit to fall and rotten that's a different kind of stank.

mind the tree owner eh mistake you for a manicou in dey mango tree & you get shot at by 00:01 :lol:

but all kix aside, dis year with this lack of rainfall thus far is taking a serious toll on mangoes, fruits seeing presha to ripen & remaining green on the tree longer than usual. I usually give away the starch to the kids in the village around this time so, but looking like this year they go get them late. This year so far the tree not bearing as much as last year either.

It thought it was just mine but is true. I eh get a ripe Julie or doux doux from my trees yet.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 19th, 2020, 12:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:the worst is the bats that come to feast on the fruit. Bat guano is like an irremovable acid stain. And like they does practise dive bombing splash art on the walls.

It is amazing how they can sheit sideways.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2020, 12:26 pm

NR8 wrote:

It thought it was just mine but is true. I eh get a ripe Julie or doux doux from my trees yet.

The julie mango tree bearing like rain here, but the fruit are not growing more than half their usual size and ripening on the tree. It gets watered every day, but that eh helping

VII

Postby VII » May 19th, 2020, 12:33 pm

Yeah boy,is mango symphony round by me all day and night by the neighbor starch and zabico "BRADANG BRADANG" !!! A lil old net below and is rel nice mango without the iron riddem section..buh like dey dont business..

Cant imagine living in that house nah.. "BRADANG" !!!!!

Postby aaron17 » May 19th, 2020, 2:22 pm

I thought green mango would not fall but the tree laden with them and it have rel cars on that road (main road).

Postby Rovin » May 19th, 2020, 3:39 pm

^^^ old ppl does have a saying "green mango does fall & leave ripe mango on d tree" which is a different meaning though ...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 19th, 2020, 5:51 pm

I have ah Graham aka donkey stones mango tree when that mango half ripe and you make ah chow with that, you then understand what chow really means. Nothing in the world does make chow like donkeystone

But when it ripe nah epic failure hadda go for juilee and starch I have all that. And ah plant 4 governor plum tree yesterday so in a few years ah go have unlimited plum chow

The common plum tree bearing that does bear after the governor ones stop, I cant wait is level chow again everyday come 3 weeks time. I hope I eh dead from all this salt

Postby K74T » May 19th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Zabico mango FTW

Postby nervewrecker » May 19th, 2020, 9:11 pm

We have a mango tree here with the trunk maybe about 5 feet in diameter. Its really like Russian roulette driving under it lol.

Also, who have bat too-too, I have a friend that collects it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2020, 12:18 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have ah Graham aka donkey stones mango tree when that mango half ripe and you make ah chow with that, you then understand what chow really means. Nothing in the world does make chow like donkeystone

But when it ripe nah epic failure hadda go for juilee and starch I have all that. And ah plant 4 governor plum tree yesterday so in a few years ah go have unlimited plum chow

The common plum tree bearing that does bear after the governor ones stop, I cant wait is level chow again everyday come 3 weeks time. I hope I eh dead from all this salt

Damn right.
Half ripe donkey stones mango chow is the best

I think graham is ah different mango bruh, different shape

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2020, 9:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have ah Graham aka donkey stones mango tree when that mango half ripe and you make ah chow with that, you then understand what chow really means. Nothing in the world does make chow like donkeystone

Damn right.
Half ripe donkey stones mango chow is the best

I think graham is ah different mango bruh, different shape

Graham is all size and no substance
It's flavour is not as nice as the majority of our other local varieties particularly when ripe but still makes a mean chow at 1/2 ripe stage

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 20th, 2020, 9:59 am

I find hog mango half ripe make a good chow too.

zaria

Postby zaria » May 20th, 2020, 10:11 am

Post was going good till

Stinkntrini
Mother
And vene colon

I find best chow mango is what we call
10lb,heard some people call it donkeystones.
Good half ripe
Or ripe.

One problem I'm facing though is mango seed beetle.
Cut open the seed of ripe mango to see if you have.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2020, 10:13 am

Mango Rose to lift up she clothes
Mango Long to make it strong!!

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2020, 12:23 pm

lemme see how good allyuh is at identifying mango. it have a mango on the estate, got it some years ago from an old lady, she didn't know the name of it & not for love nor money I could figure it out

It's small almost the size of a starch, but it ripens with pink & yellow skin. when ripe the flesh is very firm, it's not overly sweet and the nice thing about that particular mango is when yuh bite into it, it doesn't leave any string between your teeth. It's not a grafted tree either.

Anyone have any idea what that could be?

Postby MaxPower » May 20th, 2020, 2:21 pm

88sins wrote:lemme see how good allyuh is at identifying mango. it have a mango on the estate, got it some years ago from an old lady, she didn't know the name of it & not for love nor money I could figure it out

It's small almost the size of a starch, but it ripens with pink & yellow skin. when ripe the flesh is very firm, it's not overly sweet and the nice thing about that particular mango is when yuh bite into it, it doesn't leave any string between your teeth. It's not a grafted tree either.

Anyone have any idea what that could be?

Reek,

Is it Doodoos?

Postby maj. tom » May 20th, 2020, 2:50 pm

Apple mango.

The truth is nobody can really tell because there are so many types of mango and breeds and cross breeds and local names different in every country. I going through the Wikipedia list for mango from India and some look quite strange.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_m ... prov=sfla1
Last edited by maj. tom on May 20th, 2020, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2020, 2:53 pm

MaxPower wrote:Is it Doodoos?

no DuncePower, is not "Doodoos".
You ever see a ripe "Doodoos" with pink skin & no string? :roll:

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2020, 3:30 pm

them is the original string mango

Postby MaxPower » May 20th, 2020, 5:02 pm

MaxPower wrote:Is it Doodoos?

no DuncePower, is not "Doodoos".
You ever see a ripe "Doodoos" with pink skin & no string? :roll:

Reek,

Yes, i have seen a ripe “Doodoos” like that...there are alot of variations. Find out more about what u want to ask na so you wont have to come across as clueless or a tourist.

And do a search, there is already a mango forum.

Now go get that wonder mango and calm yourself down, your mood swings are quite noticeable.

Always here if you need someone to talk to.

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2020, 5:35 pm

Ok MaxCunny
Now, do the world a service & STFU

Postby MaxPower » May 20th, 2020, 5:59 pm

88sins wrote:Ok MaxCunny
Now, do the world a service & STFU

Ok Reek,

I’d give it a rest for now.

Im sorry that i upset you and maybe it’s best i take some time off.

Shoot me a pm sometime.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 20th, 2020, 6:44 pm

I remember my boss told us about parking below mango trees, company lost about 2 windscreen per mango season.

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2020, 7:14 pm

A lil Trini math
mango+windscreen=problems
I does see plenty ppl with mango trees in their yard and the tree branches full of fruit and past their fence/wall and hanging over the road And not for nuttn these people would trim the tree. Is that does trip me.