WTK: Legal issue with Land

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2020, 11:39 am

There is a 2 lot parcel of land lower down my street that has been abandoned for decades now.There is the frame of a structure and the place is overgrown with bush.From what I've heard,the owners living in America or Canada and no one knows if they are still alive or not.

Is there anyway to go about finding the correct owners to buy this lot of land LEGALLY?I heard one of the neighbours put a For Sale sign with their number attached awhile back trying to see if anyone would go back and tell the owners so he would find them but still nothing.

Re: WTK:Legal Land

Postby *KRONIK* » May 8th, 2020, 12:26 pm

Legal affairs
You go need somebody to pull a search from a general plan and get a copy of the deed
Then yuh go have to see if the ppl here or if they away, find a family here who can pass on a contact

Postby *KRONIK* » May 8th, 2020, 12:29 pm

When or if you do contact them, see if you can negotiate a sale

But if they are away, that can be difficult with
1) borders closed
2) signing contract
3) land taxes, wasa clearances etc
4) any issues with the deed need that may need to be rectified.

They can do a power of attorney for a family member here to make the sale process faster if they cant come.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Thanks alot Kronik

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 8th, 2020, 1:42 pm

YOLO

Plant yam in it

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 8th, 2020, 1:43 pm

ACTUALLY

Plant 5 marijuana plants in it, and let police do the work for you.

Postby MaxPower » May 8th, 2020, 1:55 pm

Friends,

Lets remember that every piece of land you see, even though a neglectful appearance, does not necessarily mean that it is for sale or the owners will comfortably welcome those who try to contact them or “track them down”.

I believe that whether land is for sale or not, the owner should at least do some sort or periodical maintenance. Be mindful/careful/cautious that some owners may take offense with strangers calling especially in these times.

Some properties are unoccupied due to family disputes, deaths, no care or the owners just simply do not want to be contacted etc.

But i don’t give people wrong for enquiring, it’s not a crime. If you do contact them you could start off by asking them to cut the grass and read the play from there to ask the big question.

Postby The_Honourable » May 8th, 2020, 2:49 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Legal affairs
You go need somebody to pull a search from a general plan and get a copy of the deed
Then yuh go have to see if the ppl here or if they away, find a family here who can pass on a contact

This...

If you have no leads on the owners, you can go Land & Surverys on Wrightson Road next to the Fire Station to get a copy of a map of the area. Each land division done at the time will have a number where you can go to the search clerk at Legal Affairs POS to conduct a search. This is the "shorter" and best way.

Another way is this:

Does the structure still have a T&TEC meter? There are lots of abandoned properties with bush growing that still have an electrical connection. Sometimes the owners still pay the bill. Use the meter number to pull up account information. Note that the T&TEC account holder many not necessarily be the owners of the land (previous owner, a tenant that left, a family member of the owner, etc).

If you get a lead at T&TEC, go with the name and address to WASA. Go customer service and get a bill print out. On the WASA bill have the Land and Building (L&B) tax number. Go to the nearest Revenue Division of the area (Warden's Office) to pull up info where you will have the owner(s) name and the last deed registered.

Keep in mind that at every visit to each institution, you could be blocked due to privacy. Then again is Trinidad...

Once you get the info, take it to a search clerk at Legal Affairs POS to verify the information and pull up any updates. Updates because a property can change hands and the new owners didn't register the new deed especially since 2010 with the pause on property tax.

Speaking from experience... good luck!
Last edited by The_Honourable on May 8th, 2020, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 8th, 2020, 2:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

This...

If you have no leads on the owners, you can go Land & Surverys on Wrightson Road next to the Fire Station to get a copy of a map of the area. Each land division done at the time will have a number where you can go to the search clerk at Legal Affairs POS to conduct a search. This is the "shorter" and best way.

Another way is this:

Does the structure still have a T&TEC meter? There are lots of abandoned properties with bush growing that still have an electrical connection. Sometimes the owners still pay the bill. Use the meter number to pull up account information. Note that the T&TEC account holder many not necessarily be the owners of the land.

If you get a lead at T&TEC, go with the name and address to WASA. Go customer service and get a bill print out. On the WASA bill have the Land and Building (L&B) tax number. Go to the nearest Revenue Division of the area (Warden's Office) to pull up info where you will have the owner(s) name and the last deed registered.

Keep in mind that at every visit to each institution, you could be blocked due to privacy. Then again is Trinidad...

Once you get the info, take it to a search clerk at Legal Affairs POS to verify the information and pull up any updates.

Lol .. :D .. Experience my ..

OP put up a house or plant corn and peas there and see how quick the owner contact you :D

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2020, 7:08 pm

Thanks alot The_Honourable

That property has been abandoned in excess of 30 years so that meter long gone.Wrt the search clerk...is it better to find out the information on your own providing there isn't any privacy issues or would it be better overall to go through a lawyer?
The_Honourable wrote:

This...

Another way is this:

Does the structure still have a T&TEC meter? There are lots of abandoned properties with bush growing that still have an electrical connection. Sometimes the owners still pay the bill. Use the meter number to pull up account information. Note that the T&TEC account holder many not necessarily be the owners of the land (previous owner, a tenant that left, a family member of the owner, etc).

Once you get the info, take it to a search clerk at Legal Affairs POS to verify the information and pull up any updates. Updates because a property can change hands and the new owners didn't register the new deed especially since 2010 with the pause on property tax.

Postby The_Honourable » May 8th, 2020, 7:41 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Thanks alot The_Honourable

That property has been abandoned in excess of 30 years so that meter long gone.Wrt the search clerk...is it better to find out the information on your own providing there isn't any privacy issues or would it be better overall to go through a lawyer?
The_Honourable wrote:

This...

Another way is this:

No problem man.

An attorney will still require basic information on the property who will then send it to a search clerk at Legal Affairs to conduct a search. Essentially the attorney becomes the middleman who will then charge you for such.

It's better for you to go in to Surveys and Mapping division on Wrightson Road, go through the maps, pinpoint your area, locate the spot and request a photocopy. (Suggest you walk with a magnifying glass). You can use google maps to get an idea of the area so when you visit the division, you find your area easier. Once you get the photocopy of the property, it will have numbers which you can take to the clerk who will then run a search for a deed. The clerk can then give you a verbal or written report on the findings. Verbal is simple and costs you less but written is better because you can get the updated deed number which you can use to apply for a certified copy. In some cases the deed might end up being a Certificate of Title (CT). That you can't get copies but you can still get a report on who the current owners are and if there are encumbrances on the property example mortgage, caveat, or court order.

Re: WTK: Legal issue with Land

Postby RedVEVO » May 9th, 2020, 7:51 am

OP, All the above is ole school ..
Advice from a dinosaur ..

PM and you have that info in a whip .