Re: Stay home SIQ thread 30/03 to 15/04

Postby rebound » May 1st, 2020, 6:24 pm

Cant wait too see the completion...great project

Lance

Postby Lance » May 2nd, 2020, 9:29 am

ru$$ell wrote:
Lance wrote:Been working on a full-sized arcade. Slowed down by shipment issues with the electronics/components. IMG_20200401_182614.jpegIMG_20200401_182557.jpeg

have a complete HAPP 2 player setup for this( joysticks, buttons,etc) as well as additional concav happ buttons if you're interested, bought it for one of my builds i never completed
I have some sanwa joysticks that I bought as part of a kit. The buttons themselves don't feel smooth. But I'll know once I get it up and running.

Will contact you if anything.

Postby teems1 » May 2nd, 2020, 11:13 am

Those are the displays that are going to be used?

Isn't that border a bit thick?
pugboy wrote:test mounted a couple today, looks like we will need scaffolding

3C9EFB2C-AD86-4EA2-8C2A-A37F20AC2161.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 11:46 am

that is a 1/4” rubber shipping protection we left on
the actual border is thin about 2mm

teems1 wrote:Those are the displays that are going to be used?

Isn't that border a bit thick?
pugboy wrote:test mounted a couple today, looks like we will need scaffolding

3C9EFB2C-AD86-4EA2-8C2A-A37F20AC2161.jpeg

Postby Rovin » May 5th, 2020, 3:38 pm

another very hot day

i spend about a hr outside & run back inside to sit in front a fan

gonna go back out in a while to change\upgrade 2 security cams ...

Postby Ted_v2 » May 5th, 2020, 8:31 pm

ent, these days i train my body to sleep at around 1pm-5pm, that usually is the most unproductive hours of my day.
i could get stuff done at night and early in the morning, doing alot of reading on networking and setting up a proper home network.

already figured out a storage solution for my pc using 4 drives to make the most out of my hardware and data. Looking to get into building a machine with more than 4 drives too, just for the kicks.

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 2:10 pm

bolted up mounts and installed top row of screens

72BEF427-698A-47D1-BDEF-939DB2DF82F2.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » May 8th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Looking good man... if you don't mind some q&a What is the rationale behind the design? Design goals? Advantages?
pugboy wrote:bolted up mounts and installed top row of screens

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 6:02 pm

owner want a big screen for entertainment conference center and willing to spend.

for a big screen the only other option is projector cinema style and that is a different setup requiring plenty power and I guess unlit room
as well as a dedicated setup to house the equipment to shoot at the screen.

a modern led video wall will be more crisp and brighter imo.
either setup will be pretty flexible in video formats now as projector should be all digital computer based too.

Gladiator wrote:Looking good man... if you don't mind some q&a What is the rationale behind the design? Design goals? Advantages?

Postby Gladiator » May 9th, 2020, 8:54 am

Thanks man... Saw quite a bit of those screens at CES and they were pretty neat.

pugboy wrote:owner want a big screen for entertainment conference center and willing to spend.

for a big screen the only other option is projector cinema style and that is a different setup requiring plenty power and I guess unlit room
as well as a dedicated setup to house the equipment to shoot at the screen.

a modern led video wall will be more crisp and brighter imo.
either setup will be pretty flexible in video formats now as projector should be all digital computer based too.

Gladiator wrote:Looking good man... if you don't mind some q&a What is the rationale behind the design? Design goals? Advantages?

Lance

Postby Lance » May 9th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Any where else stocks a variety of rustoleum paints except farfan?

I need this grey hammered paint in particular.

I bought a quart from farfan, now I need more but they sold out.
Screenshot_2020-05-09-11-58-07-015_com.android.chrome.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2020, 12:07 pm

Peakes
They also have Hammerite brand

Lance wrote:Any where else stocks a variety of rustoleum paints except farfan?

I bought a quart from farfan, now I need more but they sold out.Screenshot_2020-05-09-11-58-07-015_com.android.chrome.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » May 9th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Peake's have... Also Bhagwansinghs have a spray cans hammered silver.

Screenshot_2020-05-09-11-58-07-015_com.android.chrome.jpeg

Lance

Postby Lance » May 12th, 2020, 9:05 pm

I'll give Peake's a call tomorrow. It's listed on their website but says out of stock. Not sure if it's just not updated.

I made a little progress today with the graphic work.
Gladiator wrote:Peake's have... Also Bhagwansinghs have a spray cans hammered silver.

IMG_20200512_173011.jpeg
IMG_20200512_174247_1.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2020, 2:38 pm

plenty heavy lifting today, all mounted
bottom row squared off and aligned.
5E83F16F-E9DD-4B2B-9F79-2680B7F02006.jpeg

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Pug that project is for someone up st helena side by chance?

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2020, 7:00 pm

nah maraval

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pug that project is for someone up st helena side by chance?

rebound

Postby rebound » May 27th, 2020, 9:35 pm

Update on the Sewing Machine stand table...

Red epoxy inlays in all cracks and clear gloss coating done.

I also inset a channel on the underside to avoid warping.
20200517_091927.jpeg
20200527_212221.jpeg
20200527_212246.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » May 27th, 2020, 10:39 pm

looks good, how much did that slab cost you?

dtrinishy

Postby dtrinishy » May 27th, 2020, 10:58 pm

Where do u buy your epoxy
rebound wrote:Update on the Sewing Machine stand table...

20200527_212246.jpeg
20200527_212221.jpeg
20200517_091927.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 9:50 am

The slab was $400 at a sawmill in Couva. Its Tapana.
eliteauto wrote:looks good, how much did that slab cost you?

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 9:51 am

Got the epoxy and pigment at Peakes.
dtrinishy wrote:Where do u buy your epoxy
rebound wrote:Update on the Sewing Machine stand table...

20200527_212246.jpeg
20200527_212221.jpeg
20200517_091927.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 11:00 am

Mounted to the base.
20200528_105435.jpeg
20200528_105441.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2020, 11:29 am

I am in the process of building a metal frame front gate using wooded planks/slabs inside the steel frame. What would be the best wood to use for outdoor. Something wirh a 1inch thickness

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 12:00 pm

For my gates I used Balata...they are 12years old now and I had to change the metal base section last year due to the dogs but the wood is still in good condition......the downside to wood panels taking all that weather is that you should reseal it annually.
zoom rader wrote:I am in the process of building a metal frame front gate using wooded planks/slabs inside the steel frame. What would be the best wood to use for outdoor. Something wirh a 1inch thickness

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 28th, 2020, 12:20 pm

This is mine with greenheart.

The downside is I have yet to find something to coat it with any longevity. I redo the planks every 6 months. Nothing penetrates. I have Flood CWF UV-5 on some outdoor pine going 3+ years with no issue, this greenheart just laughs at that.

IMG_20180301_170022164_HDR.jpg

rebound

Postby rebound » May 28th, 2020, 12:32 pm

I also use the Flood on the Balata but, U seal it with Berger sealant 30 mins before applying the Flood. That precoat helps

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 28th, 2020, 2:03 pm

rebound wrote:I also use the Flood on the Balata but, U seal it with Berger sealant 30 mins before applying the Flood. That precoat helps

What sealant do you speak of? Can you tell me the exact name? I can try it at my next redo in 3 months.

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2020, 2:36 pm

^^^ Was thinking of using pitch pine, any one had luck with using pitch for out door conditions?