Stay home SIQ thread 30/03 to 15/04

Re: What's your plan if Covid shuts down schools and offices?

Postby redmanjp » March 5th, 2020, 8:56 pm

the economy will take a hit either way- aggressive containment initially with isolation of any suspected cases plus all contacts
will cause a slowdown initially but will pick up next year when a vaccine is available.

or, the economy goes on well initially workers go out to work with mild or no symptoms but infected. the virus runs rampant and then taken more seriously weeks later with numerous workers now being absent due to illness. school, church and other places closed down, hospitals overwhelmed with ppl lying down in corridors coughing and spreading the virus more (no masks left) (the couva one designated for cov19 already full so others had to take up the slack). soe and curfew, economy crash.

the difference is the death toll in the former case would be much less than the latter

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 5th, 2020, 10:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i see the next few months playing out one of two ways:

- people do not take the virus seriously, believe hand washing and dust masks will work. school continues as "normal" with assembly talks on hand washing. Political rallies still being held albeit with screens and crowd barriers for the politicians. malls less busy overall, but still business as usual.

the virus spreads rapidly, everybody starts coughing after about a month, hospitals run out of beds. serious health crisis with multiple fatalities. minimum wage workers abandon their jobs (no KFC, no grocery packers), Economy crashes. public servants take leave, private businesses move as much as possible to remote operations, public utilities on 'autopilot' with breakdowns, schools closed indefinitely, public events cancelled. Election postponed, SoE declared and PNM remains in power until they call off the SoE (2021 or later).

or

-people do take it seriously, social distancing becomes the norm. radical lifestyle changes at the start of the outbreak - bars become open to regulars only, malls empty, fastfood outlets empty, grocery stores still operational but with masks for both cashiers and shoppers, public utilities on a shift system. prive businesses move to remote. parents stop sending kids to school. election rallies livestreamed, election day serious as a heart attack with masks everywhere. The electoral ink is given by individual napkin.

the virus spreads slowly, Couva hospital full but working, vaccine catches up in 2021/2022 under a UNC govt.

UNC worse than Covid 19 bro, trust me

Postby sMASH » March 5th, 2020, 10:28 pm

allyuh keep forgetting this is trinidad, pnm country, we not going to have effective containment till it reach an alarming level.
too many people will not be able to identify what they have, then when its suspected, it would not be handled properly, enough to reduce infecting other people, or the staff self. u will get a 2% or so of those being deaths.

if it reach here, what going to save we is people being paranoid and separating themselves from others over suspicion.

the vene community gonna take a big hit once them get it. their mentality right now is to take risks.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » March 5th, 2020, 10:44 pm

Trinis make up all kinda excuse to not have to go to work, so maybe after the first few cases show up and everyone goes in panic buy mode, they will see it as a blessing if they have to rock back and stay home.

Month-end when is time to pay the Flow bill and rent and all the money spend out on "Kush", might be a different story though.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 15th, 2020, 6:27 pm

So here we are... this isn't going to improve soon folks.

The worst is yet to come. Undoubtedly there are many untested ppl walking around with covid. Cases are going to baloon exponentially.

THe majority of the country lives paycheck to paycheck. What's going to happen when employers have no income to pay employees??

dogg

Postby dogg » March 15th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Germany sez 60% of the world will become infected.... I can't begin to comprehend the fallout from this thing

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2020, 11:22 pm

On one hand: Less traffic on the road, I can get more work done.

On the other: If suppliers closed, well stress.

If the public service locks off then thats a blow to my revenue stream and backlog on payments I have to get.

With loss of income crime rates might go up.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2020, 11:24 pm

With schools closed its another loss of income for me because classes are delayed so completion of courses will get pushed back and so will my payments.

Postby goalpost » March 16th, 2020, 5:27 am

I'm an engineer at an essential service.

Plus I on call this week.

So no rest for me.

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2020, 7:50 am

With business relying on od facilities I can't see many being able to shut down and pay workers. This will really be a test to see how some will adapt and continue and how many will not.

Postby 16 cycles » March 16th, 2020, 7:56 am

retail may be hit hard - hoping commercial land lords are understanding and do the right thing...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2020, 9:02 am

Protective screens for KFC, Subway, Starbucks front counters

Protective screens are being installed at the front counters of KFC, Subway, and Starbucks restaurants.

The response is part of Prestige Holdings’ (PHL) response to the new coronavirus pandemic to ensure the safety of all staff and customers.

PHL in an update on these efforts said the screens will prevent the possible transfer of respiratory droplets between customers and staff.

PHL in its last update committed to increased frequency of sanitisation of touch points at all our restaurants.

It has also taken a decision to install hand sanitiser dispensers at all its restaurants for customers’ use.

PHL added that it will continue to provide updates as the situation progresses.

“As we continue to look for ways to mitigate risks associated with the spread of COVID-19 in Trinidad and Tobago, we will continue to provide you with updates regarding enhance protection at all our restaurants: KFC, Subway, Starbucks, TGI Fridays and Pizza Hut.”

It advised customers to be cognisant of their personal responsibility to limit the spread of virus by practicing regular handwashing and not touching their faces.

“Your health is also in your hands,” it said.

PHL urged customers to continue to work together to keep Trinidad and Tobago safe in the face of growing concerns over the virus.

As of 7.30 pm on Sunday evening, the number of confirmed cases of the virus after 81 samples tested remains at two.

http://www.looptt.com/content/protectiv ... t-counters

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2020, 9:09 am

Top T&T Restaurants close

In response to the growing national threat of CoVid-19, Trent Restaurants Ltd announces the closure of all portfolio restaurants (Trotters, Buzo, Amara, Blue Star Diner and Tommys) from Tuesday 17, March for an initial period of no less than 10 days

All brands will continue to service their customers via curbside pick up and delivery options, once deemed safe, using the strictest WHO protocol standards from their international consultants.

Staff members will be rotated to ensure minimal disruption and every measure will be taken to preserve their financial and physical well being.

Trent owner Peter George commented that ‘This is not a step out of panic but out of prudence. T&T has stayed ahead of this virus and it’s critically important that we remain so through short term sacrifice’.

Postby Rovin » March 16th, 2020, 1:10 pm

all dem fast food places that have d cashiers touching ur $$$$ & ur food shuda never happen in d 1st place , that has been going on for yrssssss

if d doubles, aloo pie, sahena etc vendors cud afford a separate cashier why couldnt d big food places not doing that too all d time .... why did d ministry of health not enforce that yrsssss ago

Postby maj. tom » March 16th, 2020, 2:09 pm

^ 2 weeks of not buying junk food and Trinidad might lose some weight.

Postby redmanjp » March 16th, 2020, 2:27 pm

maj. tom wrote:^ 2 weeks of not buying junk food and Trinidad might lose some weight.

not really

All brands will continue to service their customers via curbside pick up and delivery options, once deemed safe, using the strictest WHO protocol standards from their international consultants.

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 4:00 pm

Meanwhile in Barrackpore

Postby MaxPower » March 16th, 2020, 4:23 pm

Merge

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 4:26 pm

Rovin wrote:all dem fast food places that have d cashiers touching ur $$$$ & ur food shuda never happen in d 1st place , that has been going on for yrssssss

if d doubles, aloo pie, sahena etc vendors cud afford a separate cashier why couldnt d big food places not doing that too all d time .... why did d ministry of health not enforce that yrsssss ago

Postby Rovin » March 16th, 2020, 5:07 pm

apparently corona not affecting d guest house bisnis cause ah see on fb a new 1 famous name recently open between felicity & chaguanas .....

devrat

Postby devrat » March 16th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Rovin wrote:apparently corona not affecting d guest house bisnis cause ah see on fb a new 1 famous name recently open between felicity & chaguanas .....
Self +1 or 2 quarantine

Postby Gladiator » March 16th, 2020, 8:14 pm

What is even more frightening than the virus itself is that this situation lays the foundation for the powers that be to change social order at a global level from what we know it to be.

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2020, 8:26 pm

Many ppl suddenly sent on no pay leave, hours and salaries cut back. Domino effect here which isn't good for an already struggling economy.
Ppl do without what you can and only get what is necessary. Observe and limit unwanton wastage in all regards.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2020, 9:52 pm

Looking to get protective gear for my boys from tomorrow yes.
Can't have them out here without it in these times. They done kinda reluctant to come out already but we have to make sure at least the police comfortable.
we ride at dawn.jpg

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » March 16th, 2020, 10:28 pm

Rovin wrote:all dem fast food places that have d cashiers touching ur $$$$ & ur food shuda never happen in d 1st place , that has been going on for yrssssss

We accept it as customers. If everyone refuses to take the food you'd see how quickly it would become policy.

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 10:51 pm

nervewrecker dize your behavior?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2020, 6:54 am

The_Honourable wrote:nervewrecker dize your behavior?

schools closed yes, only good thing is less traffic......other than that, wukk as normal (no harm done)

Postby maj. tom » March 17th, 2020, 8:26 am

But why a klaxon type emergency alarm noise? Especially in a these crisis times? How some people are like this in life? Are they really psychopaths walking in our society pretending that they're normal?

Police should find and charge for mischief.
(Yeah right that could never happen in Trinidad.)

Postby Kenjo » March 17th, 2020, 11:50 am

The_Honourable wrote:nervewrecker dize your behavior?

Thing to throw one big stone at their windscreen for

dogg

Postby dogg » March 23rd, 2020, 12:00 pm

How does one go about preparing a legal will?