Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Re: Landlords - Moratorium on Rent Payment ?

Postby 88sins » June 27th, 2020, 2:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:like yuh get a notice from the landlord.
Yuh going to court and fighting it?

fight it how & with what? he hath neither the brains to argue his own case, nor the wherewithal with which to aquire the services of a competent barrister.
In plain Trini-English, d boi broke & chupid.

what he fails to realize is that even though the laws as per evictions are there to safeguard tenants against unlawful eviction, there is no judge/magistrate/arbitrator/ombudsman/madman that would side with a tenant by default & allow them to occupy a landlords property rent free indefintely. the month you don't pay your rent when it's due & you in arrears by as little as one onth, covid or no covid, you have breached the contractual rental agreement in it's entirety, including but not limited to the terms listed for termination of said contract before it expires. So, contract states that you agree to give 3 months notice before you break it, but you don't pay your rent, so at the end of month one the landlord can move to evict with immediate effect.
far as I know, once the landlord serves notice to quit the most he could get is a total of 90 days rent free while looking to move out. at the end of which time, whether he find a place to go or not, landlord can then instruct him to vacate & empty the apt/house of his possessions & then landlord can change the locks. If he doesn't vacate, then the landlord can do it for him, putting his belongings out the apt, once they make sure none of his meager belongings get damaged or stolen of course.

What I will say tho, fellas, if yuh landlord wants to evict you, & he playin mid & vex & when you offer hi his rent he refuse to take it, document it properly. get a witness or get it on video. because you no longer owe that months rent. He can (and most do) ask for it later on, but you are under no obligation to give it to him.

Postby RedVEVO » June 27th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Private Landlords :

BIR POLICE have a LIST ..

They reviewing it once and twice and again .. and again and more again.

At the top of the list is ...... Mr Tax Evader ( confidential )

Anybody want to buy MY boat ?

Postby rspann » June 27th, 2020, 4:42 pm

Redvagina , you don't even know that a landlord does not need to evict a tenant. You just levy on him for rent arrears and he leaves on his own because he has no bed , stove , fridge ,TV or stereo. What will he do ? Buy food and sit on the floor and eat it and then go sleep on some old bedding ? I know you was accustomed to that growing up so it wouldn't bother you . BIR police coming for Nanny ? She collecting pension and have apartments rent out .

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 4:14 am

Number uno " tax evader " and " money laundry " ponders .

Fight or Flight ?

Hint:

Angola is beautiful this time of the year .

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 6:22 am

It's a free market in terms of rental. Only sufferers does complain about rent

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 8:06 am

matr1x wrote:It's a free market in terms of rental. Only sufferers does complain about rent

Agreed . Rent is a free market .

But when you do NOT pay tax and say you say losing $$$ for 15 years ... hmmm

You hiding blues chocolate under de bed :roll:

Tax evaders and money laundry to be exposed soon.

Rubber slipper and brazil weave to disguise go be normal normal :roll:

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 8:19 am

Redvevo

Why not save your money.

Get a mortgage.

Buy a rental property.

Let the rent pay for the mortgage.

Reap some of the benifits

Bull some women

In 20 to 30 years you will be living a good life like Rspann & elite

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 8:58 am

zoom rader wrote:Redvevo

Why not save your money.

Get a mortgage.

Buy a rental property.

Bull some women

Following the life of a Rastafarian .
Leather Slippers and a card board bax.
Like Red Beans and Lentils .

Landlords are part of an evil society .

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 9:08 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Why not save your money.

Get a mortgage.

Buy a rental property.

Bull some women

Well go squart it's free.

No need for you to get running water and electricity.

All ital and the mother land lifestyle

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2020, 9:08 am

What imaginary food yuh cooking today?

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:13 am

maj. tom wrote:What imaginary food yuh cooking today?

Ole Major Maco must get a life or a wife or a he-wife or a lil nino :roll:

The educated and scholars must be free to cook and sautee :D

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:17 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Why not save your money.

Get a mortgage.

Buy a rental property.

Bull some women

Well go squart it's free.

No need for you to get running water and electricity.

All ital and the mother land lifestyle

The Capitalist System allows Landlords to roam free - I agree

But when you refuse to PAY YOUR TAXES ..

Then thus problem ..

It's selfish when you ride uno X6 while people dying for a hamper .

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2020, 9:23 am

Like the mention of the imaginary Sunday lunch tingle up yuh tie-dye tranny prosthetic balls dey bai. So no fancy whimsical menu then?

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:29 am

maj. tom wrote:Like the mention of the imaginary Sunday lunch tingle up yuh tie-dye tranny prosthetic balls dey bai. So no fancy whimsical menu then?

Fasting now you little homo :roll:

Fasting is the ideology of scholars .

Landlords are an evil society .

They are controlled by evil Cats.
Last edited by RedVEVO on June 28th, 2020, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » June 28th, 2020, 9:31 am

Excellent... owing rent before covid but bawling covid... out you go!

Family evicted from San Fernando home

A woman who claimed she was waiting for two months to get the promised rental assistance from the government, was on Wednesday kicked out of their rented home in San Fernando.

Candice Roy and her family were owing rent for eight months.

Shortly after dawn when most of the family were asleep, a bailiff Ramkaran Ramparas and police arrived at the house on Seukaran Street with an eviction order for the family.

Expressing anger and frustration, Roy said she applied for the grant since March 28 and was hoping to get some assistance to pay her rent. Roy said two weeks later the Ministry of Social Development contacted her requesting further information which she supplied.

"I never heard from them again and I could not pay any rent to the landlord," she added.

Roy said she lived with her children and grandchildren and did not have any money to pay what was owed.

"I want to tell the Prime Minister that when you promise something to the people, you all should deliver. People have children and we were not prepared to go through this. I complied with everything they said and up until the lockdown I had no arrears on my rent," Roy said.

She added that during the eviction, the eviction crew damaged her furniture.

"Look at what they did to my dresser," she said.

Roy explained that the eviction was unexpected and she had been hoping to get the rental grant from the government so she would not be evicted.

However, speaking to Guardian Media, bailiff Ramparas said the family owed rent since October last year.

"We have areas of rent $15,000 and $20,000 since before the COVID period. Since last year they haven’t paid rent. We are trying not to take anything from them. We will give them whatever stuff they have. We will make arrangements for them to pay the rent at another time," he said.

Ramparas denied that the landlord was acting unfairly.

"We understand that people are under serious pressure but at the same time, the landlord needs to get their rent also as they are paying mortgages on their properties. We are trying to be lenient and safe at the same time and are trying to assist on both sides," Ramparas said.

He added, " These rents are not from March or January. It is owed since October and November. That has nothing to do with COVID. Now that COVID came about they tried to make that an excuse."

Ramphal said the landlord arranged a three tonne truck for the evicted tenants so they could get free transportation to wherever they were going.

"We are trying our best to be as humane as possible. The landlord is being lenient and we will do whatever best we can to assist both parties," Ramparas added.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:34 am

Sad, sad , sad ..

Landlords are evil.

Let's hold hands and bow our heads in shame ..

When will T&T Landlords learn that your life is zero.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2020, 9:35 am

pressure, seems like big family of kids/grandkids
sad for kids to see this happen to their parents

always see both sides of story

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:42 am

pugboy wrote:pressure, seems like big family of kids/grandkids

And ..

Where is the Gov't assistance $$$ program ?

Dem looking like diehard PNM :D :D :D

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2020, 9:46 am

Man really get evicted yes. No more Sunday lunches.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 9:46 am

Gov't bail out CLICO with 50 Billion $$$ of Tax Payers money ..

But they cannot help a family with a small grant so KIDS are NOT on the streets ?

We live in an evil society .

Meanwhile Landlords eating dalpuri .

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 10:10 am

maj. tom wrote:Man really get evicted yes. No more Sunday lunches.

Yes I got evicted ..

Yes no more Sunday food . No food we starving .

You happy now :D :D :D

Tell Tuners why you happy and you laughing and you going church today ?

And you drinking sorrel rum later .. and you going to dance .

Tell us how and why you feeling happy ?

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2020, 10:26 am

Allyuh ever realize the best prices Venezuelans get on rent and Trinis ketchin dey ass?

Wonder how come

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 10:28 am

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh ever realize the best prices Venezuelans get on rent and Trinis ketchin dey ass?

Wonder how come
I doh rent venes

Landlords complain dem nasty and doh clean up their appartments.

Postby maj. tom » June 28th, 2020, 11:01 am

RedVEVO wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Man really get evicted yes. No more Sunday lunches.

Yes I got evicted ..

Yes no more Sunday food . No food we starving .

You happy now :D :D :D

Tell Tuners why you happy and you laughing and you going church today ?

And you drinking sorrel rum later .. and you going to dance .

Tell us how and why you feeling happy ?

what u so vex for bai, and calling people all kind of names? Yuh know you could just tell the man yuh hungry and ask for a lil food and he will give you, despite how much of an ass you are in real life. It may not be as fancy as your imaginary Sunday lunches though.

Hear nah, make sure and power wash the old lady school yard for the opening of the new semester eh. Yuh have the place looking like a dog kennel. And wash down the plastic infants chairs too.

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 11:06 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:It's a free market in terms of rental. Only sufferers does complain about rent

Agreed . Rent is a free market .

But when you do NOT pay tax and say you say losing $$$ for 15 years ... hmmm

You hiding blues chocolate under de bed :roll:

Tax evaders and money laundry to be exposed soon.

Rubber slipper and brazil weave to disguise go be normal normal :roll:

Still nothing compared to what the state does. Multimillion rent for unused property.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2020, 1:37 pm

pugboy wrote:pressure, seems like big family of kids/grandkids

True
But what I don't get, is how come they say they waiting on the rental assistance grant so that they would not be evicted, and at the same time saying that the eviction wasn't expected.
It is very stressful to have that happen, especially for the little ones to have to deal with that, but I believe it wasn't unexpected. They knew damn full well it was coming.
If going through the proper procedure as that landlord seemingly did, he would have served them notice to vacate @ least 3 months ago. Bailiff don't just go by ppl apartment and evict them, they require documentation (usually a court judgment) before they proceed to involve police, transport, etc. in an eviction.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2020, 1:40 pm

rental assistance for 2 months surely wasn’t going to get them out of the hole either

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 1:59 pm

pugboy wrote:rental assistance for 2 months surely wasn’t going to get them out of the hole either

Truth :D

But T&T like a free situation ..

And with an epidemic that free demand increases :D :D

But it's TAX MONEY which is the PEOPLE MONEY ..

It does not belong to Row Row Possey :roll:

This is where TT always FAILS ..

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 2:06 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Sad, sad , sad ..

Landlords are evil.

Wah wah wahhhhhhhhh....

8 months owing? Should have kicked them out at 6. Those are leeches that want everything for free.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 2:14 pm

matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

Sad, sad , sad ..

Landlords are evil.

Wah wah wahhhhhhhhh....

8 months owing? Should have kicked them out at 6. Those are leeches that want everything for free.

But not NOW with DEATH lurking and people have no money .. no jobs, no future ..

Landlords are leeches onto the public since they pay no taxes and launder money and
pretend to be pillars of society .

And THEN politicians playing games :wink: