Father-in-law wants back his Benz

abducted

Father-in-law wants back his Benz

Postby abducted » March 4th, 2020, 9:06 am

A Penal businessman who recently bought his son-in-law a Mercedes Benz, valued at $.7 million, out of love and affection, is threatening a lawsuit for return of the luxury sedan because the husband is now divorcing the businessman’s daughter. The legal battle for the Benz, a C-350, is expected to engage the attention of the High Court if the son-in-law does not return the car in the next 14 days.

Rajan Seegobin Singh, 63, of Penal Rock Road, sent his son-in-law, Kevin Bissoondath, of Pluck Road, Woodland, a pre-action protocol letter threatening to sue him in the High Court.

51D7EB65-71D0-478C-A7BF-A9E2CC05B13A.jpeg

Bissoondath is an engineer while Singh is managing director of Pipe and Welding Inspection Consultants Services Ltd of Penal Rock Road.

Singh contends, in a letter dated February 4 which his attorney sent to Bissoondath, that he bought the C-350 Benz for $700,000 for Bissoondath in 2018. However, Singh said that some time in July last year, relations between Bissoondath and his daughter broke down.

The couple were married about three years ago and have two young children.

On Singh’s behalf, attorney Stephen Boodram said, “Due to the unhappy differences between yourself and your wife who is my client’s daughter, on or about July 2019, you (Bissoondath) took the said Mercedes Benz valued $700,000 from my client’s premises without his consent and left. Since then you have refused, failed and neglected to return the said Mercedes Benz to my client despite repeated requests to do so.”

Singh is giving Bissoondath an opportunity to return the Benz or respond to his letter within the next 14 days. Bissoondath did so last week Friday, replying through attorney Abayomi Ajene. In his response, Bissoondath admitted that until July last year, he lived with his wife and family in a house owned by his father-in-law.

He said that in October 2017, he got into an accident and his car was a write-off. Replying to Boodram’s letter on Bissoondath’s behalf, attorney Ajene said, “In about October 2017, your client offered to purchase a new vehicle for mine as a gift. My client accepted the said gift and arranged for purchase and importation of the said vehicle for which your client (Singh) paid.”

The Benz arrived in 2018 and in March that year, Bissoondath registered it in his name. Since then, Bissoondath said in his reply to his father-in-law, the car has been in his exclusive possession and only he uses it.

On her client’s behalf, Ajene wrote, “Regrettably, it appears that my client’s decision to petition the court to dissolve the marriage to your client’s daughter has motivated your client to rescind his gift of the said motor vehicle.”

However, Ajene continued, by virtue of a gift from a father-in-law to a son-in-law, there is no cause of action and Bissoondath is entitled to keep the Benz.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/03/fight-for-benz/

Re: Father-in-law wants back his Benz

Postby MaxPower » March 4th, 2020, 9:11 am

Penal People Problems

Postby Les Bain » March 4th, 2020, 9:12 am

Best way to deal with a petty ass gift giver is to return the gift. Damage is optional.

Postby K74T » March 4th, 2020, 9:17 am

Doh worry pops, yuh go geh back de car. When yuh dead too yuh go bury it in de grave or bun it by de creek too.

Postby maj. tom » March 4th, 2020, 9:25 am

Parents mold their children. His daughter must be a real prizewinning horse to commit to marriage huh?

Postby nemisis » March 4th, 2020, 9:29 am

Actually know a dude who did the same and take back his mac book pro via the courts from his ex wife. Well let's just say at least the chassis was in good order, which is saying a lot considering water was leaking out the harddrive
Les Bain wrote:Best way to deal with a petty ass gift giver is to return the gift. Damage is optional.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 4th, 2020, 9:30 am

sounds like the father in law was basically 'minding' him.

Mamoo right, the man is a neemakharam

antlind

Postby antlind » March 4th, 2020, 9:32 am

Anybody have pics of the daughter?

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2020, 9:33 am

The car is in the son-in -law's name , he is the owner . Nothing mamoo could do about it.

Postby eliteauto » March 4th, 2020, 9:37 am

Car registered in son-in-law's name, probably no documentation of payment or agreement, car is his, hard luck pops

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 4th, 2020, 9:37 am

rspann wrote:The car is in the son-in -law's name , he is the owner . Nothing mamoo could do about it.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
he is ah neemakharam, but he eh chupid :lol: :lol:

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2020, 9:42 am

Pics of the wife. I want to see if the Benz was worth it. For mamoo to mind him, the daughter must be either a mampee or a gruff.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 4th, 2020, 9:46 am

rspann wrote:Pics of the wife. I want to see if the Benz was worth it. For mamoo to mind him, the daughter must be either a mampee or a gruff.

Nah I feel the gramps wanted he grandkids to ride in style. Was about them than the daughter.
Once grandkids around it usually becomes all about them.

Postby Kenjo » March 4th, 2020, 9:48 am

Pics wife still outstanding ! Who is a neighbour or belongs on their fb?

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 10:23 am

Damn I read that as 7million lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2020, 10:27 am

Looks at address....not surprised

Postby Gladiator » March 4th, 2020, 10:49 am

Why is this even news.... front page news too! Just Pathetic

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2020, 10:50 am

Probably the only time a marriage works in favor of a man.

Folks don't get married

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2020, 10:55 am

eliteauto wrote:Car registered in son-in-law's name, probably no documentation of payment or agreement, car is his, hard luck pops

you sure about that?

if the father pay with cheques from his company or withdrawals from his company?

how the son in law justifying the payment for the vehicle? where the money come from?

700k vehicle, source of funds haffi full out

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2020, 10:58 am

mersadees getting plenty publicity these days
first a lawyer now a engineer
all missing usa beethamite or a sealots

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2020, 11:07 am

if the vehicle on the son in law's name, there is no guarantee and he going to transfer that car if it is sold

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2020, 11:28 am

the father in law would have an equitable interest and the court can order it to be transferred

its just like a car you buy on loan , the certified copy in your name but the bank or finance company is the real owner until you pay off.

Postby eliteauto » March 4th, 2020, 11:31 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:the father in law would have an equitable interest and the court can order it to be transferred

its just like a car you buy on loan , the certified copy in your name but the bank or finance company is the real owner until you pay off.
There's an agreement of same, if there's no such agreement in writing hard luck pops

Postby hydroep » March 4th, 2020, 11:40 am

It could be viewed as the return of Dowry. Dunno how the courts down here does deal with that but in India Pops might have a case...:|

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2020, 11:44 am

i see yuh stressing on agreement in writing, that not as important as yuh think

If i buy you a car with the understanding that its for use for you and my daughter and grand children

and then you decide that out is out

unless you pay for the car, how the ass u guh keep it

i guess in 10 years we will see the outcome from the courts

how bout a friendly bet?

Postby eliteauto » March 4th, 2020, 12:11 pm

That will require a good memory on both our parts I understand contact law along verbal lines so you have a good leg to stand on. What we saying a bottle of Eldo 12 or a tomahawk steak?

Postby De Dragon » March 4th, 2020, 12:18 pm

The Benz arrived in 2018 and in March that year, Bissoondath registered it in his name. Since then, Bissoondath said in his reply to his father-in-law, the car has been in his exclusive possession and only he uses it.
Ollour ent seeing dis part? Soldier rolling around with he new scorch in de Benz, and pops daughter chain him up to get it back. :lol:

VII

Postby VII » March 4th, 2020, 12:33 pm

He probably get a Vene...

Poor pops,it must burn like a mofo,although it's unlikely that I would've been positioned to hustle a car from an inlaw as a man that works hard aiming for the best, had this been me I was gladly giving them back dey car,he only bought it in his daughter's and grandkids interest and in support of the union etc..

Had it been another random gift car/vehicle along the way during the marriage maybe I might have kept it,like a birthday gift convertible or sports car etc..but even then I would've sold it pronto after the breakup..

No real man can drive that Benz and feel good in that situation..

And if I was pops I wouldn't sue either knowing the car was on his name ugly all around..

Makes both men look bad.

That car woulda bin in my company name,sorry sonny boy it's for 'tax purposes'. .."you may own this company one day sonny boy, no big deal " (if you play your cards right) :wink:
Last edited by VII on March 4th, 2020, 12:51 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2020, 12:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:That will require a good memory on both our parts I understand contact law along verbal lines so you have a good leg to stand on. What we saying a bottle of Eldo 12 or a tomahawk steak?

its tuner, this same thread will revive itself when the case get decided

a eldo 12 or glenfiddich 12 , whichever yuh prefer.

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2020, 12:39 pm

no backsies old timer

2 funny things about "gifts"
They sometimes come with invisible strings attached
They cannot legally be rescinded., since in the act of gift giving you relinquish all right and title to the gifted item once the recipient accepts it with the understanding that it is a gift.

pops in for a surprise. that lawyer gonna lose that case if it goes to court, then send him a gift of an invoice for payment.