Trinidad 2020 carnival - absolute disgrace

Re: Trinidad 2020 carnival - absolute disgrace

Postby mero » February 27th, 2020, 12:56 pm

Jesus Crice this man could forking cry!!

cyah imagine ppl who hadda put up with OP irl yes

Postby zoom rader » February 27th, 2020, 1:50 pm

Redman wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Tens of thousands of participants in Carnival annually, 10 vids and a couple of pics of a few stupid humans doing what stupid humans do = the whole thing bad and gone through. Y'all must lead really interesting lives

Thank you.

Judging whole populations using the lowest common denominator and a narrow sample must be a thing.
Did not see write about this when non PNM goverments got more total votes than this minority PNM goverment.

Postby Rovin » February 28th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Kes music is not among the best in the world bro.... he has very little singing ability. Probably better than the rest locally but listen to a live performance and if you appreciate that then your standards for music kinda low.

oh really? dude............i don't listen to armen van whateverhisnameis........or taylor swift or any of that nasty dancehall garbage that south and central men love to blast on the highway. KES is one of the best musicians in the country, in the world for that matter. I am a serious collector of music, so i believe my opinion carries at least some weight. As i said, i listened to magic by kes, jimmy october and Etienne charles(who had the #1 rated jazz album on Billboard for a few months) live and i know not only that Kes is quality but also his band. Man if you would come out of that non-permeable membrane you're stuck in, then maybe you'd realize good, in fact great things can come from TT
Well if you know so much.....tell us some better artistes nah

i jes aksin for my enlightenment eh , whats wrong with taylor swift's music ?

& also for some examples of whats in ur serious collection .... :|

Postby Gladiator » February 28th, 2020, 9:08 pm

Rovin wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Kes music is not among the best in the world bro.... he has very little singing ability. Probably better than the rest locally but listen to a live performance and if you appreciate that then your standards for music kinda low.

oh really? dude............i don't listen to armen van whateverhisnameis........or taylor swift or any of that nasty dancehall garbage that south and central men love to blast on the highway. KES is one of the best musicians in the country, in the world for that matter. I am a serious collector of music, so i believe my opinion carries at least some weight. As i said, i listened to magic by kes, jimmy october and Etienne charles(who had the #1 rated jazz album on Billboard for a few months) live and i know not only that Kes is quality but also his band. Man if you would come out of that non-permeable membrane you're stuck in, then maybe you'd realize good, in fact great things can come from TT
Well if you know so much.....tell us some better artistes nah

i jes aksin for my enlightenment eh , whats wrong with taylor swift's music ?

& also for some examples of whats in ur serious collection .... :|

Yeah Rovin... it really doh make sense to carry out a conversation about music with someone that says that Kes is one of the best in the world... he wont even be able to comprehend what is real music and real talent.

As the late great Morgan Job once said... expose a child to soca music alone and that would be all that they would ever know or care for.

Postby maj. tom » February 28th, 2020, 9:18 pm

yeah this is why Kes is in the top 10 on Spotify/Apple Music/Google Play/Deezer/Tidal/Pandora... you name it!
He also charting on the Billboards and has appeared several times on international charts.

yeah...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2020, 9:24 pm

Soca, especially recently, as an art form is quite good and is actually far better than most music produced in other countries. Travis, Precision and a few others have produced world-class beats.

The problem with Soca is that it relies a lot on a beat rather than melody, like a lot of Latin music. Hence why many don't get into it. If you don't like to dance then you won't enjoy most Soca (power soca). It's like EDM in Europe or hell, even death metal, great musicality in it but hard to get into.

Groovy Soca has more potential to be liked by first-timers. It has come a long long way and believe it or not, many of our local songs are played in clubs, radio stations and festivals away.

Right now, it's still very niche and problem will always be niche given that Soca is made for Carnival not everyday listening.

Back to Kes, he's talented but I wouldn't say Kes the singer is majorly so, his band and production team are quite good though.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 28th, 2020, 9:27 pm

Kes is actually quite good, though if you listen to local stations you wouldn't think that, even during the Carnival season, people don't seem to play too much of his music on air.

However I was abroad and the store was playing music, I assume via a music streaming service, and lo an behold, Kes was playing, pretty cool, I thought that is was nice to know that a local artist could have a tune that is picked up by the algorithms.

I don't understand though, sometimes I think Kes doesn't get the kind of recognition he deserves, but I'm glad for him and the art form.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2020, 9:33 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Kes is actually quite good, though if you listen to local stations you wouldn't think that, even during the Carnival season, people don't seem to play too much of his music on air.

However I was abroad and the store was playing music, I assume via a music streaming service, and lo an behold, Kes was playing, pretty cool, I thought that is was nice to know that a local artist could have a tune that is picked up by the algorithms.

I don't understand though, sometimes I think Kes doesn't get the kind of recognition he deserves, but I'm glad for him and the art form.

I am a huge Kes fan and he will go far if he continues on this path. Not knocking him at all.

Right now Soca gets almost as much airplay on hip-hop stations as dancehall and reggae in London and NY. Not to mention the amount of Soca i hear on the streets or clubs in those cities.

And people love it, they love it far more than I thought.

Postby Gladiator » February 28th, 2020, 10:12 pm

The problem with soca is that the genre has no fixed identity. One year it sounds like techno, one year like dancehall, one year like reggae, one year like zook..... all the lazy ass local DJs do is sample other genres and try to fit the shouting and dotish flag flag, wine dong, pelt water, Savannah, stage dotish lyrics into the beat. Thank god for autotune...since none of them can actually sing (except for Naila Blackman who can sing but has the weirdest pitch). She needs to do something bigger and not waste her talent on local rubbish soca.

Some years they kill the beat and it sticks, but the shelf life of soca is still 2 weeks max. Then nobody wants to listen to it. Cause its just rubbish and has no real substance.

Now I not talking bout real calypso music by real talented musicians like Sparrow, Lord Kitch, Calypso Rose, Ras Shorty, Burning Flames, Byron Lee. Allison Hinds even Gypsy... etc they had real talent, real composers, real music and that music is timeless. Even the older soca chutney by Ricki Jai and Dupatee was good. They have a little singing talent.

Someone in the industry needs to bring back the original genre of SoKah.... maybe then we can get real music that you don't have to be stoned drunk to listen to.

Postby shogun » February 28th, 2020, 10:34 pm

maj. tom wrote:yeah this is why Kes is in the top 10 on Spotify/Apple Music/Google Play/Deezer/Tidal/Pandora... you name it!
He also charting on the Billboards and has appeared several times on international charts.

yeah...

None of those guarantee that your music is great though? Don't believe me? Go look at the top 10 on ANY of those right now.

Kes though Trinispougla? You're getting a lil carried away there buddy. Kes' music aight, but it's kinda derivative. Thing is Kes is just smart enough and eclectic enough in his tastes to make his music more palatable and given just enough crossover appeal to get rated here, but nowhere NEAR the greatest. You hadda be trollin'? Everything Kes doing, he borrowed from other artists like Rupees albums in the early 00's.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 28th, 2020, 11:09 pm

Gladiator wrote:The problem with soca is that the genre has no fixed identity. One year it sounds like techno, one year like dancehall, one year like reggae, one year like zook..... all the lazy ass local DJs do is sample other genres and try to fit the shouting and dotish flag flag, wine dong, pelt water, Savannah, stage dotish lyrics into the beat. Thank god for autotune...since none of them can actually sing (except for Naila Blackman who can sing but has the weirdest pitch). She needs to do something bigger and not waste her talent on local rubbish soca.

Some years they kill the beat and it sticks, but the shelf life of soca is still 2 weeks max. Then nobody wants to listen to it. Cause its just rubbish and has no real substance.

Now I not talking bout real calypso music by real talented musicians like Sparrow, Lord Kitch, Calypso Rose, Ras Shorty, Burning Flames, Byron Lee. Allison Hinds even Gypsy... etc they had real talent, real composers, real music and that music is timeless. Even the older soca chutney by Ricki Jai and Dupatee was good. They have a little singing talent.

Someone in the industry needs to bring back the original genre of SoKah.... maybe then we can get real music that you don't have to be stoned drunk to listen to.

I and many others listen to Soca year-round and if the genre was consistent people like you would complain that it lacks originality.

All music evolves, Soca included. Most soca doesn't have a short shelf-life, it's mainly the road march power soca that does.

I've played tones of soca to most of my foreign friends, several like it more I ever expected.

The songs they seem to love most were (not all were 2020, but just trying to remember what they liked).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbirfSxP49M
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00gl2N-pSiQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et47w9BFUVk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Omfe_tmkqVM
https://youtu.be/1upH9vnmR68
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxGTiH1k1rs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbMhoTqGouo

Postby Les Bain » February 29th, 2020, 10:08 am

The fact that OP upset about this behaviour proves that "some of we eh all of we." Stay home, listen to Jethro Tull and give thanks for the annual 4 day weekend.

I wouldn't mind seeing these videos but going by what makes it onto pornhub, i really not into watching gross looking people being sexual.

Postby matr1x » February 29th, 2020, 10:23 am

When the girls get generally hot, then carnival will have something

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 29th, 2020, 10:25 am

So who going Machel Mele on the seas?

Postby aaron17 » February 29th, 2020, 11:05 am

What positive about certain carnival music? Only money...

Postby Redman » February 29th, 2020, 12:47 pm

Whats positive about certain songs of ANY genre????

Its stupid judging people,music country on lowest common denominators.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 29th, 2020, 3:38 pm

OP, it's legal (?), so there's that.

Also, and generally all the time, but especially on ash-wednesday, EVERY CORNER IN PORT-OF-SPAIN IS PEE-STAINED AND SHT-STAINED.

Can we talk about that maybe? Mr. Mayor?

We should rename POS to POS-POS (pieces of sht port-of-spain).

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » February 29th, 2020, 3:40 pm

POS^2
POS²

Postby aaron17 » February 29th, 2020, 6:54 pm

For eg ...darude sandstorm.. at least there is no negative message in that.it not positive either unless u get motivational feelings from it.i guess its neutral.

Postby MaxPower » February 29th, 2020, 9:30 pm

Trinis feel they famous eh,

Throwing a lil concert in north America or Europe for example is quite normal for many Caribbean “artists”.

To be world famous means alot of work, and sometimes failing 1000 times before you succeed. Trinis come out with a 1 hit wonder, kill them dead the song is the best thing.

But what happens when they just cant upgrade from that Tiida?

Give up and vex.

Try harder and never give up.

Postby Gladiator » February 29th, 2020, 9:57 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis feel they famous eh,

Throwing a lil concert in north America or Europe for example is quite normal for many Caribbean “artists”.

To be world famous means alot of work, and sometimes failing 1000 times before you succeed. Trinis come out with a 1 hit wonder, kill them dead the song is the best thing.

But what happens when they just cant upgrade from that Tiida?

Give up and vex.

Try harder and never give up.

I tell yuh.... like Destra does go new york and have concert.... bout 120 basement dwelling trinis would attend.... so she is now ah international super star.... small island people yes!

Postby teems1 » February 29th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Didn't Machel sell out Madison Square Garden multiple times?

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » March 1st, 2020, 6:52 pm

Bunji played in Coachella
Kes, Nadia, Iwer, and others playing in Ibiza

Postby Les Bain » March 1st, 2020, 7:22 pm

Eh care for none of them music but i glad they succeeding out there.

Postby shogun » March 1st, 2020, 7:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:I tell yuh.... like Destra does go new york and have concert.... bout 120 basement dwelling trinis would attend.... so she is now ah international super star.... small island people yes!

You get tie up. You wouldn't believe the kinda diverse audiences attending those concerts.

The problem is there isn't enough widespread/crossover support for Soca in mainstream audiences. Especially with so many other genres vying for attention (K-Pop, Latin music, EDM etc) And now that we moved from an artist/album focused market to a "hit song" focused market, it just makes things harder for ANY artist to establish him/herself.

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2020, 7:41 pm

teems1 wrote:Didn't Machel sell out Madison Square Garden multiple times?

Maybe he did, and im very happy for him. Love his dedication and love for music.

Ok Who else?

Postby Gladiator » March 1st, 2020, 7:58 pm

shogun wrote:
Gladiator wrote:I tell yuh.... like Destra does go new york and have concert.... bout 120 basement dwelling trinis would attend.... so she is now ah international super star.... small island people yes!

You get tie up. You wouldn't believe the kinda diverse audiences attending those concerts.

The problem is there isn't enough widespread/crossover support for Soca in mainstream audiences. Especially with so many other genres vying for attention (K-Pop, Latin music, EDM etc) And now that we moved from an artist/album focused market to a "hit song" focused market, it just makes things harder for ANY artist to establish him/herself.

Yes, but start thinking outside of small island numbers.... you not looking at an international fan base of a couple thousand but a couple million. Soca will never pull that... at least not in its current form!

Most of that "diverse" crowd probably just looking for somewhere to hang that night. But they have no real love for the music... the novelty would attract a crowd but as soon as it wears off there's just nothing for the artiste till next Carnival but a hope to cash in on some prize money and make a lil change from an all inclusive or two.

Postby shogun » March 1st, 2020, 8:18 pm

Gladiator wrote:Yes, but start thinking outside of small island numbers.... you not looking at an international fan base of a couple thousand but a couple million. Soca will never pull that... at least not in its current form!

Most of that "diverse" crowd probably just looking for somewhere to hang that night. But they have no real love for the music... the novelty would attract a crowd but as soon as it wears off there's just nothing for the artiste till next Carnival but a hope to cash in on some prize money and make a lil change from an all inclusive or two.

Again, not true. Those concerts pull diverse crowds consistently and it's not seasonal like our market as well. Audiences that know lyrics to songs and follow those artists religiously.

Gladiator wrote:Soca will never pull that... at least not in its current form!

^Thaz the problem.

To truly get the consistent mainstream presence needed, Soca would need to change from it's current form. Thaz a whole convo I ain't willing to carry orn now. Artists like Kes are on the the right track though. Globalize the sound, don't make it "Trini/Caribbean-centric" and pay attention to more popular song structure. However, thaz everything that would turn local audiences off for sounding too watered down. Basically walking a fine line and not an easy feat... but not impossible either. Would take the right artist though.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 1st, 2020, 9:56 pm

shogun wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Yes, but start thinking outside of small island numbers.... you not looking at an international fan base of a couple thousand but a couple million. Soca will never pull that... at least not in its current form!

Again, not true. Those concerts pull diverse crowds consistently and it's not seasonal like our market as well. Audiences that know lyrics to songs and follow those artists religiously.

Gladiator wrote:Soca will never pull that... at least not in its current form!

^Thaz the problem.

To truly get the consistent mainstream presence needed, Soca would need to change from it's current form. Thaz a whole convo I ain't willing to carry orn now. Artists like Kes are on the the right track though. Globalize the sound, don't make it "Trini/Caribbean-centric" and pay attention to more popular song structure. However, thaz everything that would turn local audiences off for sounding too watered down. Basically walking a fine line and not an easy feat... but not impossible either. Would take the right artist though.

Yes but at that point you're no longer making Soca, you're 'selling out' which is what Shaggy and Sean Paul did. Nothing wrong with that but if/when to do produce a mainstream conventional hit, it's unlikely to be true Soca, which again isn't a bad thing, just stating what should be obvious.

Also, I don't get why people routinely say Soca isn't popular internationally. Is you favorite death metal band, EDM artist, Latin music artist, Indian Bollywood etc popular outside of their local support base?

The answer is no. I listen to a wide variety of music and some really amazing Latin Bachata songs or EDM, Rock songs (from big bands with huge label support and marketing push), etc have less than 5M views on Youtube.

Yet Kes, Nailah, Nessa Preppy rocking 15M+ views on Youtube on songs released just last year.

I remember once in a conference I was telling this girl, a nice looking Muslim chick in hijab that I was from Trinidad and her response was "Omg I love Destra" and she starts listing names of songs that I couldn't even remember. I asked her how she knew about it and it turns on she heard some of her songs during the Nothing Hill Carnival hype train.

Postby MaxPower » March 1st, 2020, 10:01 pm

The Trinidadian accent is just not appealing to the majority of the world.