Glass bottles banned for Carnival

Postby redmanjp » February 21st, 2020, 11:12 pm

https://www.looptt.com/content/5-things-know-about-carnival-glass-bottle-ban
5 things to know about the Carnival glass bottle ban

Legislation surrounding a ban on the use of glass bottles over the Carnival period was approved this year and as a result, many revellers will not be allowed to have glass bottles in or near Carnival events.

Here are five things to know about the Carnival (Prohibition of Glass Bottles) Regulations, 2020.

1. Carnival glass bottle ban from 4.00 am Carnival Monday – Midnight, Carnival Tuesday
The Carnival ban on glass bottles will last from Monday, February 24, 2020 at 4.00 am to Tuesday February 25, 2020 at midnight.

2. Only authorised persons can have glass bottles (during Carnival)
According to the legislation, no one other than an authorised person can ‘serve or consume a beverage from a glass bottle in or within the vicinity of a Carnival event in any public place’ during the Carnival period.

Vendors and servers are to pour drinks into plastic cups or beverage containers before serving to customers.

Authorised people are listed as:

Anyone holding a liquor licence under the Liquor Licenses Act
Anyone holding a special event licence
A food vendor with a registered food badge
A server of a registered Carnival band
Public sanitation workers (Municipal Corporation, CEPEP or SWMCOL workers) or
An employee of a manufacturer or distributor of glass bottle beverages who is on duty during Carnival.

3. $1,000 fine, possible jail time if caught with a glass bottle
According to the legislation anyone held with a glass bottle at any Carnival events in a public place during the Carnival period can be fined up to $1,000 or arrested and serve up to six months jail time.

4. Carnival areas where glass bottles are banned
The legislation lists the following areas where glass bottles are banned during the Carnival period:

Port-of-Spain, St. James, San Juan, Santa Cruz, Maracas Bay, Tunapuna, Arouca, Arima, San Rafael, Maracas St. Joseph, Sangre Grande, Rio Claro, Mayaro, Chaguanas, Couva, Freeport, San Fernando, Princes Town, Fyzabad, Siparia, Penal, Cedros, Point Fortin, La Brea, Santa Flora, Scarborough, Crown Point and Roxborough.

5. Police can seize glass bottles, arrest offenders
Under the legislation, police can seize your glass bottle and arrest you, if caught with one in your possession without the relevant authorisation.

Just a caveat, the courts are usually closed over Carnival so your matter may not be heard until Ash Wednesday.

Make sure to take your reusable (non-glass) cups with you, and Happy Carnival!

Re: Glass bottles banned for Carnival

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2020, 10:28 am

how they expect me to fight people then?

It go sound funny when I try to hit somebody in dey face with a 20oz coke bottle and everybody go laugh and fight go done

Government doh care bout the people.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2020, 5:52 pm

this is not a new thing

Postby rspann » February 22nd, 2020, 6:06 pm

No badman ever say " ah go lick way yuh face wid this plastic cup".

Postby Rovin » February 22nd, 2020, 6:08 pm

well it still have other ting to use like gun, 3canal, knife, shanks, iron, wood, big stone etc ... :|

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 22nd, 2020, 7:12 pm

they ban Styrofoam, they say plastic bottles and cups polluting the environment, glass can be recycled but they ban dat too, how i suppose to carry meh punchin and cane juice to watch mas ? wen i drink that plastic ah punchin i pelting that bottle at d first man i see sneezing or coughin, like i go hadda transport my rum in coconut shells an that even better to do some damage with.

Postby 88sins » February 22nd, 2020, 9:36 pm

screwbash wrote:they ban Styrofoam, they say plastic bottles and cups polluting the environment, glass can be recycled but they ban dat too, how i suppose to carry meh punchin and cane juice to watch mas ? wen i drink that plastic ah punchin i pelting that bottle at d first man i see sneezing or coughin, like i go hadda transport my rum in coconut shells an that even better to do some damage with.

camelbak

Postby matr1x » February 22nd, 2020, 10:24 pm

screwbash wrote:they ban Styrofoam, they say plastic bottles and cups polluting the environment, glass can be recycled but they ban dat too, how i suppose to carry meh punchin and cane juice to watch mas ? wen i drink that plastic ah punchin i pelting that bottle at d first man i see sneezing or coughin, like i go hadda transport my rum in coconut shells an that even better to do some damage with.

camelbak

Or cameltoe.

But if you burr the edges, plastic just as dangerous

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » February 22nd, 2020, 11:36 pm

It go be like "yuh muddacu...*badoonk..fizzzz*
ruffneck_12 wrote:how they expect me to fight people then?

It go sound funny when I try to hit somebody in dey face with a 20oz coke bottle and everybody go laugh and fight go done

Government doh care bout the people.

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 9:27 am

Zoom rader send a message to tuners. He say they should save glass bottles and ban carnival instead .

Postby redmanjp » February 23rd, 2020, 1:57 pm

So if I hadda go grocery for glass bottles that banned too?