The Irony Of Life In T&T ...

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2020, 11:53 am

jes tort id share a well written letter in todays guardian ... :|

Re: The Irony Of Life In T&T ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 15th, 2020, 12:00 pm

We drive on the shoulders then complain how politicians doing underhanded things to get ahead of everyone else.

We bribe licensing officers then we complain how politicians too corrupt

We have free education but everybody too dotish to know just how dotish they are.

(feel free to add more)

Postby maj. tom » February 15th, 2020, 12:01 pm

in 3rd world politics, if you fixed those things (which is not an easy task, but two successive corrupt-free governments can really fix a lot of issues we face), what would they promise on the elections platform the next rounds? How would they get votes, the power, the fulfillment of self-interest through corruption in office, if they don't appeal to the basic inner human requirements on Maslow's Pyramid of needs? That way they can manipulate feelings and make people feel how they want in order to cast their vote. Politics is never about logic and doing the right thing for the people. The PNM does it every day by vilifying the Opposition and Rowley's never-ending rants on Kamla's fault. Yet they do 10 times worse, but obscure and misdirect their roles in the living corruption before our own eyes. Feelings.

You don't think politicians are not trained on the psychology of manipulation of the people? Every turn is a racial divide as well. Maybe not school-trained, but the ones that become senior are well aware of how the game is played. These are the growing pains of a young nation that will never end until a future generation of educated young people decides to end all this bs. It's not us, but i hope it's the next one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2020, 12:14 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:We drive on the shoulders then complain how politicians doing underhanded things to get ahead of everyone else.

People cut in lines and squeeze in, but no one tells them anything for fear of being shot.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 15th, 2020, 12:20 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:We drive on the shoulders then complain how politicians doing underhanded things to get ahead of everyone else.

People cut in lines and squeeze in, but no one tells them anything for fear of being shot.

I does block them

but you hadda know which cars is the criminal-esque ones though, it's an art

Be the change you want to see in the world, I take my own advice.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 15th, 2020, 12:40 pm

Fear and greed governs this place of ours. Tribal politics keeping things intact because no one actually wants change here. We like to talk to about it is all.

"The whole aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed (and hence clamorous to be led to safety) by menacing it with an endless series of hobgoblins, all of them imaginary" - H.L. Menken

maj. tom wrote:in 3rd world politics, if you fixed those things (which is not an easy task, but two successive corrupt-free governments can really fix a lot of issues we face), what would they promise on the elections platform the next rounds? How would they get votes, the power, the fulfillment of self-interest through corruption in office, if they don't appeal to the basic inner human requirements on Maslow's Pyramid of needs? That way they can manipulate feelings and make people feel how they want in order to cast their vote. Politics is never about logic and doing the right thing for the people. The PNM does it every day by vilifying the Opposition and Rowley's never-ending rants on Kamla's fault. Yet they do 10 times worse, but obscure and misdirect their roles in the living corruption before our own eyes. Feelings.

You don't think politicians are not trained on the psychology of manipulation of the people? Every turn is a racial divide as well. Maybe not school-trained, but the ones that become senior are well aware of how the game is played. These are the growing pains of a young nation that will never end until a future generation of educated young people decides to end all this bs. It's not us, but i hope it's the next one.

VII

Postby VII » February 15th, 2020, 12:40 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Be the change you want to see in the world, I take my own advice.

Bingo,hypocrisy is one of our greatest problems...

Same people does be bawlin murder will have man killed for shyte...and fully exploit all the corrupt loopoles for their convenience and personal gain..

Plenty sick people in this place in all shapes colours and sizes continue to enable,facilitate and encourage corruption and crime ..

Postby aaron17 » February 15th, 2020, 1:15 pm

The criminal elements have more rights than a civilian.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » February 15th, 2020, 1:27 pm

aaron17 wrote:The criminal elements have more rights than a civilian.

They will get a lawyer faster than you can get one. :?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » February 15th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Should be posted in the PNM achievement thread