Red House Reopening Friday 24th Jan 2020

Postby redmanjp » January 23rd, 2020, 7:53 pm

pressure tomorrow

https://guardian.co.tt/news/traffic-restrictions-in-pos-friday-6.2.1037094.50fa280266

Traffic restrictions in PoS Friday
One of this coun­try’s most his­toric build­ings—the Red House will be re-open Fri­day.

Af­ter al­most nine years of con­struc­tion, the Red House, which served as the seat of this coun­try’s Par­lia­ment, will re­sume sit­tings of the Up­per and Low­er House, but not be­fore pomp and cer­e­mo­ny take place.

The house will be pro­claimed by Pres­i­dent Paula-Mae Weekes and will see a host of dig­ni­taries in at­ten­dance to mark the oc­ca­sion.

To ac­com­mo­date the cer­e­mo­ny, traf­fic re­stric­tions will be in ef­fect in the cap­i­tal city of Port-of-Spain.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 25th, 2020, 9:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ProtonPowder

Re: Traffic restrictions in PoS Friday for Red House Reopening

Postby ProtonPowder » January 23rd, 2020, 7:58 pm

i for one am filled with national pride :drinking:

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2020, 8:13 pm

Who else feeling the $450milliom pride from PNM?

Rspann?
Elite?
One eye?
Randy?
Mero?

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2020, 8:19 pm

Let me leave this right here.

2 Days Ago Arthur Dash
Downtown 'lockdown'on Friday

THE EDITOR: Well it seems that once again anyone who wants to be in “town” on Friday will enter a “lockdown” city.

This is because of the ceremonial and unnecessary pomp to reopen the Red House.

It is not as if anyone entering the Red House will be doing so in order to work. Nope. Work will still not begin until another week passes.

So people, brace yourselves, no parking, no walking on the sidewalk near to the Red House. Traffic, traffic, and more traffic. Wrecking and more wrecking.

How come in this year 2020 we cannot get some respect from these lazy lawmakers? They just got six weeks of vacation – because why must they work in January? Already they are behind with the procurement legislation.

I feel that if they so desperately need some parade and costumes, then do that on a Sunday. Same for the stupid and wasteful opening of the Law Term. Do it on a Sunday.

Why not? None of them are going to work afterward anyway.

Shucks man.

ANNE DE SILVA

St Joseph

Postby rspann » January 23rd, 2020, 8:22 pm

Zoom ,yuh jealous? $450m is not a lot when you think about it. 10 years of permanent scaffolding all around is quite a large sum. Plus the bones had to be removed, and you know that ceremony alone is some money too. Deyalsingh wife had to make a profit, so all in all it not really bad. You see special dignitaries will be invited? Well I is one.

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2020, 8:25 pm

Spannie, allyuh getting tie up and taking chain up from Rowley and dem. It did NOT cost $450 million to renovate. That is what it cost to FINISH the job in the last couple years.

The total cost is closer to $900 million. Poeple forget that this project took almost 20 years to finish.

rspann wrote:$450m is not a lot when you think about it. 10 years of permanent scaffolding all around is quite a large sum. Plus the bones had to be removed, and you know that ceremony alone is some money too. Deyalsingh wife had to make a profit, so all in all it not really bad. You see special dignitaries will be invited? Well I is one.

Postby rspann » January 23rd, 2020, 8:28 pm

Red house red and ready. We got it done. Zoom, red paint is the most expensive paint. When allyuh win, ah know it going in yellow.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2020, 8:29 pm

bluefete wrote:Spannie, allyuh getting tie up and taking chain up from Rowley and dem. It did NOT cost $450 million to renovate. That is what it cost to FINISH the job in the last couple years.

The total cost is closer to $900 million. Poeple forget that this project took almost 20 years to finish.

rspann wrote:$450m is not a lot when you think about it. 10 years of permanent scaffolding all around is quite a large sum. Plus the bones had to be removed, and you know that ceremony alone is some money too. Deyalsingh wife had to make a profit, so all in all it not really bad. You see special dignitaries will be invited? Well I is one.
Dat is too much maths.

PNM ppl cah understand dem figures, dem does only have $40 in their pocket at any one time

Postby rspann » January 23rd, 2020, 8:30 pm

Bluefete,dais small money, it's all about national pride. Social services and roads and them kinda thing not as important.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2020, 8:34 pm

rspann wrote:Red house red and ready. We got it done. Zoom, red paint is the most expensive paint. When allyuh win, ah know it going in yellow.
UNC better fly in a pundit from India to bless and drive away dem PNM sprits from Tobago.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 9:01 pm

so after getting accustom eating hyatt food
and spending the night there and ting
what going to happen now?
hyatt gonna have to do a delivery service?

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 9:02 pm

btw did they put back a dragon on top?

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2020, 9:20 pm

Dat is real small money.

It does look good in the night though. I always think about the Palace of Versailles in France. Started in 1631 and finished in 1715. The cost varies but estimates put it at about US$2 billion at the least. That was real money in those days. Today, over 7 million people visit it. But the French understand tourism.

I wonder what the maintenance budget for the Red House will be per annum.

rspann wrote:Bluefete,dais small money, it's all about national pride. Social services and roads and them kinda thing not as important.

Postby zoom rader » January 23rd, 2020, 9:29 pm

Like dem PNM tuners not feeling the PNM pride?

Maybe dem prefer the other pride

Postby Ben_spanna » January 23rd, 2020, 10:05 pm

Government really should have set a better example.... so selfish, having their big red house re-opening and inconveniencing everyone around POS, they should have declared it a national half day or holiday or as previously proposed had it on a Sunday so that the general working population within pos is not affected.....

But I suppose asking the government ministers and friends to wear suits and do formal work on a Sunday is like asking them to be transparent about everything. :roll:

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 10:09 pm

that’s a big comparison you making there

a more realistic comparison is the mere fact that any church in france or italy would be miles ahead architecturally and construction wise than our red house,with less bobol i would assum

bluefete wrote:Dat is real small money.

It does look good in the night though. I always think about the Palace of Versailles in France. Started in 1631 and finished in 1715. The cost varies but estimates put it at about US$2 billion at the least. That was real money in those days. Today, over 7 million people visit it. But the French understand tourism.

I wonder what the maintenance budget for the Red House will be per annum.

rspann wrote:Bluefete,dais small money, it's all about national pride. Social services and roads and them kinda thing not as important.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2020, 2:31 am

IMG_20200123_204702_resized_20200124_022505375.jpg
IMG_20200123_204556_resized_20200124_022503899.jpg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 24th, 2020, 4:51 am

Sure half of you who complaining not working or living POS......besides pay in the bank and most of the lazy arse public servants working POS working half day anyway

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2020, 8:03 am

feel the pride yo

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2020, 8:29 am

pugboy wrote:feel the pride yo

That's $900,000,000 Pride .

Yet still these PNM fvckers complain about the cost of Panday airport

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2020, 10:14 am

i got through to my office on Edward St. ok at 10am- didn't see them block off Abercromby yet but police there by the library.

i hear it have downtown carnival today in d square too?

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2020, 10:17 am

who remember project pride under richard jackman

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2020, 10:19 am

Postby Spitfir3 » January 24th, 2020, 10:20 am

and i hadda go POS today of all days......lard

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2020, 10:20 am

Pnm mites feeling the pride today?? how much of you all getting to drink some tea

The red house
Paula house
Rowley house in bago

Make sure n feel the d pride

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2020, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:who remember project pride under richard jackman
Redman wont talk about that

$490,000,000 spent and not even a truck load of sand

Postby zoom rader » January 24th, 2020, 10:23 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Pnm mites feeling the pride today?? how much of you all getting to drink some tea

The red house
Paula house
Rowley house in bago

Dem feeling the rainbow pride

Postby Rovin » January 24th, 2020, 10:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Pnm mites feeling the pride today?? how much of you all getting to drink some tea

The red house
Paula house
Rowley house in bago

Dem feeling the rainbow pride

all these multi millions be spent all over yet none of it really benefits d average citizen in any meaningful way .....

Re: Traffic restrictions in PoS for Red House Reopening Friday 24th Jan 2020

Postby rspann » January 24th, 2020, 11:02 am

so Mrs Dealsingh is not ah average citizen?

Re: Traffic restrictions in PoS for Red House Reopening Friday 24th Jan 2020

Postby Rovin » January 24th, 2020, 11:16 am

she getting good pong as well as compliments ..... :roll:

whats with so many bright lights even if it might be LEDs, dise to see when cricket & football is being played orrrr ......

Dr. Nyan Dolly
12 hrs ·
We aren't a perfect country- but if these pics don't make your pores raise, then T&T blood cyar be flowing through them veins! What a beauty!

https://www.facebook.com/nyandolly/phot ... =3&theater

Last edited by Rovin on January 24th, 2020, 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.