COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2777 cases, 45 deaths, 1970 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 6:39 pm

ICU should be empty now? We'll find out tomorrow.

dogg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2777 cases, 45 deaths, 1970 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby dogg » September 11th, 2020, 6:43 pm

Has the MoH provided information on whether or not the persons who died from covid were overweight/obese?

Postby toyolink » September 11th, 2020, 6:43 pm

The unfortunate truth is that based on the prevailing infection rate, things are most likely going to get worst for the foreseeable future.
The behavior shift that is necessary to start some positive modification to infection frequency has not happened and even if this takes place tomorrow, results may not show until maybe mid October.
Our attitude which allows for feelings of invincibility or 'it can't happen to me' may not be shaken until the death experience and horror of covid19 comes really close to home.
The heart rendering stories are about to unfold and personally I don't look forward to having to deal with them.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2020, 6:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Wipay is still in beta, their Rebel cards haven't officially launched.

At least in the cities, some African countries have wide deployments of visa and Mastercard debit cards.

Linx doesn't support online payments, so I'm not sure what you're getting at.

If we had VISA debit cards and could register for PayPal merchant accounts you'd see widespread online shopping options.

I really don't think you can blame the consumer here.

When I was in Senegal last year, I saw literally every bank had visa debit cards and almost every shop had a way to purchase online, most were click and collect. Food drop apps were plentiful.

Most of the banks in TTO offer debit cards so your argument is essentially moot. The online payment system is available and apparently not preferred sufficiently by consumers or businesses.

I believe that First Citizens canceled their debit card program but there are others:

RBC Royal Bank Visa Debit card
JMMB VISA International Debit Card 
Scotiabank Visa Debit Chip card
First National Bank in Trinidad VISA Debit Card
Unit Trust TT$ Income Fund Visa Debit Card

Have you tried applying for any of these? Good luck.

If you aren't able to qualify for a debit or credit card, that explains a great deal.

Perhaps you should go out and get a WiPay account and drive the change to a cashless society.

Postby MaxPower » September 11th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
matr1x wrote:Trinidad deserves covid 19 for being stupid enough to vote back in those morons.

Slim,

The Trinidadian mentality is to blame regardless of who is in power.

Trinis need to stop blaming others for their stupid actions and wake up and get with the times.

Max,

Apparently the Bayside crew were Venezuelan, anything to say about that?

Hello DPD,

Hope u and the family are doing good and keeping safe.

From what i understand, it was just a mere handful of Venezuelans.

Remember T&T has many many Venezuelans blessing us with their presence, so i must agree with you that some did attend the event.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 11th, 2020, 7:10 pm

when is the 28 days shut down of beaches etc suppose to end ?

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 11th, 2020, 7:15 pm

This weekend I believe

Postby teems1 » September 11th, 2020, 7:15 pm

With the Covid cases and death rate currently I can't see Rowley easing restrictions.

In fact the opossite might happen. Non essential places put on a 2 week lockdown.

Forced curfew for all civilians unless emergency services.
screwbash wrote:when is the 28 days shut down of beaches etc suppose to end ?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2825 cases, 50 deaths, 2013 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2020, 7:43 pm

That's 127 new cases and 7 deaths reported today

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2825 cases, 50 deaths, 2013 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 11th, 2020, 8:09 pm

exponential spread iwmc

because, from general observation:
people wearing masks (halfway), but not social distancing. People still having big limes and parties normal (not even talking about the bayshore sheit)
Handwashing not happening by stores, stalls and other shops - although sink, soap and signage there (police have to tell you to wash hands too?)

Apparently we've collectively decided that we've ended the pandemic (socially)
https://www.nytimes.com/2020/05/10/heal ... story.html

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Total number of deaths for October 1 was revised upward from 42 to 76. 164 deaths projected by December 31.

Daily infections projected to slow, then accelerate in November.

https://covid19.healthdata.org/trinidad ... &tab=trendImage
Last edited by adnj on September 11th, 2020, 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » September 11th, 2020, 8:27 pm

K74T wrote:20200911_110419.jpeg

So the PM going on TV tomorrow at 2:30pm. My bet is he going to talk about Kamla some more and be very serious about COVID19 while implementing no new measures.

:drinking:

I not even going to buy doubles to freeze tomorrow. I not even going to think about the L word. I just remind myself the government doesn't care about the death toll and the economy comes first.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 11th, 2020, 8:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

So the PM going on TV tomorrow at 2:30pm. My bet is he going to talk about Kamla some more and be very serious about COVID19 while implementing no new measures.

I not even going to buy doubles to freeze tomorrow. I not even going to think about the L word. I just remind myself the government doesn't care about the death toll and the economy comes first.

Stay the course brother, stay the course. We are doing well.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 11th, 2020, 9:02 pm

Damn.

Still if you say that we have collectively socially ended the pandemic that only poses more questions as to what is the new normal?
If this is it then what about those who were let go and have had their jobs dis-appear?
We won't be seeing any new stimulus checks or such but that means that workplaces can't be mandated to stay closed, if you do you're literally creating un-employment and not caring about the outcome.
Will we then be opening up despite the COVID-19?

What is the long term effect on the health care system both in treating the disease and the fallout from it?

Will we continue with mask laws or quietly roll them back or just not enforce them? What about the other COVID-19 requirements?

Will kids be going back out to school at all, would they split their time between home and school?

Will digital & distance learning further the gap between the "haves" and "have-nots"?

With more folks either un-employed or working form home a lot of retail stores and jobs in general are just gone.
Will there be any entry level jobs for young folks?
What will be the education output (quality & quantity) in general?

Will we see a population decline?

There are many more questions but don't want to make this too long.

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 9:19 pm

screwbash wrote:when is the 28 days shut down of beaches etc suppose to end ?

tomorrow (12th sept it seems) but d way things going it will likely get extended

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Damn.

Still if you say that we have collectively socially ended the pandemic that only poses more questions as to what is the new normal?
If this is it then what about those who were let go and have had their jobs dis-appear?
We won't be seeing any new stimulus checks or such but that means that workplaces can't be mandated to stay closed, if you do you're literally creating un-employment and not caring about the outcome.

What is the long term effect on the health care system both in treating the disease and the fallout from it?

Will we continue with mask laws or quietly roll them back or just not enforce them? What about the other COVID-19 requirements?

Will kids be going back out to school at all, would they split their time between home and school?

Will digital & distance learning further the gap between the "haves" and "have-nots"?

With more folks either un-employed or working form home a lot of retail stores and jobs in general are just gone.

These are good questions as we realise that a vaccine can still possibly a year away.

Both Sweden and the US have set an example of what can happen if things are unchecked. But it's too soon to say whether their second waves of combined flu/covid season will be just as bad or not. If would be good to monitor and learn from them.

It seems like those who thought this would blow over were wrong. We will have to get back to some kind of normal, but so many business sectors have been forever ruined.

Postby Les Bain » September 11th, 2020, 9:35 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Damn.

The compliant folks can assure you they were thinking this from early, hence the compliance.

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2020, 9:36 pm

^^ sweden rectified their error in oversight, and are now consistently low, after its initial and only significant bump

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 9:42 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

good. the virus can apparently live for 2 years in a freezer

Postby paid_influencer » September 11th, 2020, 10:12 pm

^ speculation is this is how the virus got back into New Zealand... frozen food deliveries.

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2020, 10:12 pm

Increasing deaths, icu fully crowded, health system fully under pressure
The worst scenario happening and the objective of flatten the curve mantra failing
Yet everybody cool

Lewwe see what rowlee say tomorrow

Postby Gladiator » September 11th, 2020, 10:19 pm

pugboy wrote:Increasing deaths, icu fully crowded, health system fully under pressure
The worst scenario happening and the objective of flatten the curve mantra failing
Yet everybody cool

Most likely he would say learn to live with it.... it has become a part of our lives.

Time for COIVD to do what it was meant to do... trim off the excess population.

Postby goalpost » September 11th, 2020, 10:29 pm

Gladiator wrote:
pugboy wrote:Increasing deaths, icu fully crowded, health system fully under pressure
Yet everybody cool

Most likely he would say learn to live with it.... it has become a part of our lives.

Time for COIVD to do what it was meant to do... trim off the excess population.

After 7 deaths today alone, I doubt he would say that.

Postby matr1x » September 11th, 2020, 10:36 pm

Look at max defending the vene whores

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2825 cases, 50 deaths, 2013 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 11th, 2020, 10:43 pm

matr1x wrote:Look at max defending the vene whores

Slim,

How do you know they were whores?

You petty Trinis all over playing the ASS, not wearing masks properly, looking for ANY excuse not to wash their hands or social distance and then vex when others do it?

You Trinis have to stop macooing other ppl business and look at yourselves. The majority of you Trinis are an embarrassment to society.

Get serious T&T, allyuh dont like when ppl tell allyuh as is but idc......get serious.

Change starts now.

I will keep saying it because i believe allyuh could get it right....definitely not now with a big LOL but i still have faith in you Trinis.

Wear your mask properly
Sanitize your hands
Keep your distance
Stay at home

Get the effort in Trinis.

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2020, 10:53 pm

So how the 25% vene patients got Covid ?

Postby matr1x » September 11th, 2020, 10:58 pm

Sorry.....high class escorts. At the end would have their ankles over their ears.

Better?

Postby MaxPower » September 11th, 2020, 11:30 pm

pugboy wrote:So how the 25% vene patients got Covid ?

Hello pugboy,

The majority got it from Trinis.

Illegal entry plays a part as well but this only a minority.

Postby matr1x » September 11th, 2020, 11:38 pm

Max, even you can't expect us to buy that BS