COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8235 cases, 145 deaths, 407 active, 7683 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » April 10th, 2021, 9:05 pm

sMASH wrote:how easy it was for india to jomp out 40k vaccines to donate to us? all they hadda get is a purchase order, and we gt. put a 100k purchase order every month or so until u get 2m doses to cover the booster shots. thats like 12m dollars.

too much money? how much is tourism, sport, youth ministries budgets? how much rent alwaris family collecting? how much they spending on lng tr1 TAR?

Serious question: I know some of the pharmaceutical companies have contracted Indian firms to produce batches of the vaccine according to strict protocols. But how can the Indian government be giving out vaccines if these vaccines are the property of private companies?
Is it that the Indian government is buying these vaccines are giving them away to other countries? Or is it the Indian government is producing its own version of a COVID vaccine, according to its own protocols and giving those out?
If the latter it may explain why Barbados was eager to give away and why some leaders are reluctant to accept the vaccines donated by India.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8235 cases, 145 deaths, 407 active, 7683 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2021, 9:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:how easy it was for india to jomp out 40k vaccines to donate to us? all they hadda get is a purchase order, and we gt. put a 100k purchase order every month or so until u get 2m doses to cover the booster shots. thats like 12m dollars.

too much money? how much is tourism, sport, youth ministries budgets? how much rent alwaris family collecting? how much they spending on lng tr1 TAR?

Rent for Faris's building is $575K/mo...or $87K USD.

The average price for most covid-19 vaccines is ~$20 USD per dose. So Faris's rent money can buy us ~4000 vaccine doses per month.

The cost of buying 3 million covid-19 vaccines for the entire population (two doses) is roughly $400M TT (assuming no donations provided).

If we included vaccines we got free from India, China and the African Union we'd probably only need $300M TT.

We are currently spending $1B on a new airport in Tobago, hundreds of millions of a new highway to Grande, the Toco Highway etc.

WHO-approved vaccines are available at less than US$5 per dose. The EU paid US$2.15 for each dose of AstraZeneca.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8235 cases, 145 deaths, 407 active, 7683 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 9:52 pm

So Faris rent can pay for ~35,000 doses a month.

Postby redmanjp » April 11th, 2021, 12:00 am

paid_influencer wrote:59 cases bai???

I just went mall, food court bustling with people chowing down and liming, no masks. About a hundred people inside there without masks.

Disgusting

if it is so much the mall may be violating the restriction of 50%. i think 555 is the number to call for covid violations

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 7:44 am

In just 10 days
FB_IMG_1618140978704.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2021, 7:48 am

it’s lax everywhere
ppl eating by doubles vendors normal
many bars outside pos packed

not much enforcement by ttps anymore

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 7:55 am

When lock down come ppl vex so it seems they like what is happening...people are literally dying from this but I guess it doesn't matter once it's not them
pugboy wrote:it’s lax everywhere

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2021, 8:09 am

ppl feel a lil temperature gun protocol check is good to go except most cases are asymptomatic

hover11 wrote:When lock down come ppl vex so it seems they like what is happening...people are literally dying from this but I guess it doesn't matter once it's not them
pugboy wrote:it’s lax everywhere

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 11th, 2021, 8:37 am

neighbor and other relatives who pull up by them now head out to go beach somewhere, packed coolers with ice , alcohol and whatever from the grocery. i guess 59 cases in one day not worrying to them. i does wonder sometimes if people does be thinking right in their head. i guess having $$$ dont make you smart, it just makes you lucky.

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8382 cases, 146 deaths, 513 active, 7723 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » April 11th, 2021, 4:02 pm

It's going back down again. :D

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8382 cases, 146 deaths, 513 active, 7723 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » April 11th, 2021, 4:06 pm

Where all you Doom and Gloomers at? :D

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 4:13 pm

Can't believe after a year ppl dont realize that Sunday and Mondays are the lowest figures due to the health centres are closed nationwide on weekends but sure have your moment bro
DMan7 wrote:Where all you Doom and Gloomers at? :D

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 11th, 2021, 4:15 pm

hover11 wrote:Can't believe after a year ppl dont realize that Sunday and Mondays are the lowest figures due to the health centres are closed nationwide on weekends but sure have your moment bro

Of course, but all I'm saying is we need to keep positivity alive amidst a negative situation. We have enough negativity for the past year to last a lifetime.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 4:20 pm

62 hospitalizations, no big deal.

Postby redmanjp » April 11th, 2021, 11:02 pm

hover11 wrote:In just 10 daysFB_IMG_1618140978704.jpeg

yuh see that last figure with 59? that is perhaps the beginning of the easter weekend spike. once the usual slow days up to tuesday finish we going to see that continue from wednesday/thursday.

He really warning of a lockdown- no, not a lil rollback like banning dining and beach, but a FULL LOCKDOWN one like we had back in March/April if ppl doh behave

so behave if u care about your job!! it's no longer about whether u personally will ketch covid or whether u young so covid eh go do anything to u. it now about your job! let's not point fingers at whatever wedding or politician didn't abide by the protocols and just do what we need to do to avoid this impending lockdown & consequent economic disaster.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 11:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:In just 10 daysFB_IMG_1618140978704.jpeg

yuh see that last figure with 59? that is perhaps the beginning of the easter weekend spike. once the usual slow days up to tuesday finish we going to see that continue from wednesday/thursday.

He really warning of a lockdown- no, not a lil rollback like banning dining and beach, but a FULL LOCKDOWN one like we had back in March/April if ppl doh behave

so behave if u care about your job!! it's no longer about whether u personally will ketch covid or whether u young so covid eh go do anything to u. it now about your job! let's not point fingers at whatever wedding or politician didn't abide by the protocols and just do what we need to do to avoid this impending lockdown & consequent economic disaster.

The easter spike wouldn't show up yet.

My parents went for testing on Tuesday and have yet to get their results.

People who would have been infected would only start to show symptoms 4-7 days after, so let's say Tuesday for the earliest.

So expect the Easter spike this week.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8404 cases, 146 deaths, 518 active, 7740 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 12:29 pm

Day 6, my parents have no covid-19 test results and 50+ calls to the numbers they gave them have gone unanswered. Good job TTGov.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8404 cases, 146 deaths, 518 active, 7740 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 12th, 2021, 12:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Day 6, my parents have no covid-19 test results and 50+ calls to the numbers they gave them have gone unanswered. Good job TTGov.

best they go private- assuming they willing to pay the cost

by the way, i assume the quarantine order allows u to leave home for a test?

Postby 16 cycles » April 12th, 2021, 1:01 pm

https://experience.arcgis.com/experienc ... 13f832112/

MoH arcgis resource - if it wasn't shared already on the thread..

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 1:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Day 6, my parents have no covid-19 test results and 50+ calls to the numbers they gave them have gone unanswered. Good job TTGov.

best they go private- assuming they willing to pay the cost

by the way, i assume the quarantine order allows u to leave home for a test?

It does not, but my dad broke the quarantine order to go grocery this morning as my brother would have gone, but he's staying with me as he has covid and I don't want him infecting them.

Nothing prevents me from leaving and going and infecting everyone as I'm likely positive but asymptomatic (or immune as I think I got it in September).

This covid thing seems to be a joke for the MoH. They were told they'd get a call daily, not a single call. They were told to call 3 numbers if they felt sick or wanted to get the results, those numbers go unanswered after 50+ calls or more.

They also have been trying to call the vaccine hotlines, no answer again. I could easily hack together an online system to make appointments, use SMS to send results etc.

It astounds me that after a year, this is our system.

Anyhow, they do seem to be negative though as it's been more than a week since my brother was by them and they have yet to show any symptoms.

I honestly, do not know how this boy didn't spread it to anyone. He had dinner with his gf and her parents while +ve, they didn't get it. Lives with my parents, they didn't get it. They are all lucky and he is a jack@ass for putting them at risk knowing he was sick.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » April 12th, 2021, 2:58 pm

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/second-case-of-u ... ted-in-tt/

The second case of someone infected with the UK variant of COVID-19 (B117) has been detected in the country.
This was confirmed by the Ministry of Health’s Principal Medical Officer of Institutions, Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards, during a virtual press conference on Monday.
“I’d like to reiterate the need for persons to follow all COVID-19 prevention measures. This is in light of information that we received of another case or the second case of the UK variant B117 from a repatriated national from the United States,” she said.
“This person is currently receiving medical care in the parallel healthcare system and is isolated,” Dr Abdool-Richards reported.
She noted that COVID-19 cases have been rising steadily, going from a seven-day rolling average of around four cases per day, to now 32, within the past five weeks.

Postby De Dragon » April 12th, 2021, 3:55 pm

ron_28 wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/second-case-of-uk-variant-detected-in-tt/

The second case of someone infected with the UK variant of COVID-19 (B117) has been detected in the country.
This was confirmed by the Ministry of Health’s Principal Medical Officer of Institutions, Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards, during a virtual press conference on Monday.
I’d like to reiterate the need for persons to follow all COVID-19 prevention measures. This is in light of information that we received of another case or the second case of the UK variant B117 from a repatriated national from the United States,” she said.
“This person is currently receiving medical care in the parallel healthcare system and is isolated,” Dr Abdool-Richards reported.
She noted that COVID-19 cases have been rising steadily, going from a seven-day rolling average of around four cases per day, to now 32, within the past five weeks.

Well dais it, borders closed forever now.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 3:58 pm

ron_28 wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/second-case-of-uk-variant-detected-in-tt/

“I’d like to reiterate the need for persons to follow all COVID-19 prevention measures. This is in light of information that we received of another case or the second case of the UK variant B117 from a repatriated national from the United States,” she said.

No problem, that's the whole point of mandatory quarantines when you return. They aren't a threat. It's the illegals who cross the border are a threat in bringing across the Brazilian strain.

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2021, 4:13 pm

do these ppl taking pcr tests before coming back and still positive?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 4:26 pm

pugboy wrote:do these ppl taking pcr tests before coming back and still positive?

Yea it's possible, hence why you need to quarantine.

Imagine 3 days before you travel, you take your PCR and the next day you get your PCR negative result. You then visit a few friends before you leave. You go to the airport, you fly, you land in Trinidad and a sample is taken.

Imagine one of those people you saw 2-3 days before you traveled had covid-19, you might be positive when your sample is taken in Trinidad.

However, let's assume you tested negative. On Day 6 of your quarantine, you are tested again and you can only leave to go home quarantine if you're negative.

I suspect most people testing positive at those who picked it up in the airport and tested positive on day 6.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 4:59 pm

37 new cases

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 12th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Postby redmanjp » April 12th, 2021, 5:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:37 new cases

for a Monday, that is quite high! swaps taken from the 9th to 11th- the only day health centres open is the 9th (Friday).

3 of them from foreeign but still

but now that we detecting the UK variant from the US, isn't high time to mandate 14 day state quarantine for US passengers? CDC has already said that is now the dominant strain there.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 12th, 2021, 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 12th, 2021, 5:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:

for a Monday, that is quite high! swaps taken from the 9th to 11th- the only day health centres open is the 9th (Friday).

My parents got tested on the 6th and they haven't gotten their results yet. Likely negative though, but I'm wondering what the delay in reporting is right now.

Postby redmanjp » April 12th, 2021, 5:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

My parents got tested on the 6th and they haven't gotten their results yet. Likely negative though, but I'm wondering what the delay in reporting is right now.

contact 1 of the reporters and let them highlight it for the next conference.