COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8806 cases, 150 deaths, 748 active, 7908 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2021, 1:26 am

Suggestion for the OP or mods- include the vaccination numbers in thread title.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8678 cases, 150 deaths, 685 active, 7843 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » April 18th, 2021, 2:57 am

redmanjp wrote:It will continue to be high or get higher. It will only go down if ppl abide by the mask protocols, even of it was exacerbated by the Easter activities.

This is because even if each person only infect 1 other person it will stay at that level, to bring it back down it has to be under 1.
Mask usage has decreased.Image

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8806 cases, 150 deaths, 748 active, 7908 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2021, 9:16 am

mask usage definitely dropped. About 80% of people wearing chin covers full-time.

You tell them pull it up and they ignore you or watch you hard hard now. Old people especially doh care one tail anymore about masks.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 18th, 2021, 4:10 pm

Last edited by DMan7 on April 18th, 2021, 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » April 18th, 2021, 4:12 pm

Widdyfok

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 18th, 2021, 4:15 pm

Those are just remaining in the system, it will be back below 40 on Monday.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 18th, 2021, 4:22 pm

DMan7 wrote:Those are just remaining in the system, it will be back below 40 on Monday.

Yea that's NOT how this works. Viruses don't spread and then just stop spreading.

The Easter spike leads to an overall increase in new cases afterwards.

Imagine 500 got infected after Easter. Then each of those 500 infect 1.2 persons on average, so their cases will come in next week as a rise again. They too might infect 1.2 persons and so on.

The lockdown attempts to reduce that 1.2 to under 1.

Comprende?

Postby hover11 » April 18th, 2021, 4:24 pm

Gotta love your optimism, it's really unrelenting
DMan7 wrote:Those are just remaining in the system, it will be back below 40 on Monday.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 18th, 2021, 4:27 pm

hover11 wrote:Gotta love your optimism, it's really unrelenting

Well what else do we have in these times? :(

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 18th, 2021, 4:29 pm

K74T wrote:Widdyfok
That's my name.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 18th, 2021, 4:29 pm

3 deaths as well... hmm

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2021, 4:58 pm

yup, and Monday everyone will breathe a sign of relief and the crisis averted.

Postby adnj » April 18th, 2021, 5:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Yea that's NOT how this works. Viruses don't spread and then just stop spreading.

The Easter spike leads to an overall increase in new cases afterwards.

Imagine 500 got infected after Easter. Then each of those 500 infect 1.2 persons on average, so their cases will come in next week as a rise again. They too might infect 1.2 persons and so on.

The lockdown attempts to reduce that 1.2 to under 1.

Comprende?
Soldier on brother.

You're still explaining the mechanism of infection. They know. They just don't want to know.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 18th, 2021, 5:59 pm

1 month ago we were under 88 active cases.
Now we’re at 847

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 18th, 2021, 6:02 pm

:x
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:1 month ago we were under 88 active cases.
Now we’re at 847

5 weeks ago we had 4 hospitalisations, by tomorrow it might be 100.

Postby aaron17 » April 18th, 2021, 7:08 pm

All this from easter?

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2021, 7:18 pm

numbers being manipulated. cases were never as low as they told us.

they kept numbers low when they had no vaccines. Now that vaccines here, look a convenient spike to drive people into taking the vaccine.

Postby aaron17 » April 18th, 2021, 7:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:numbers being manipulated. cases were never as low as they told us.

they kept numbers low when they had no vaccines. Now that vaccines here, look a convenient spike to drive people into taking the vaccine.
Convenience

BUG

Postby BUG » April 18th, 2021, 7:32 pm

paid_influencer wrote:numbers being manipulated. cases were never as low as they told us.

It must be exhausting to live a life where anything that doesnt confirm your bias must be a grand conspiracy. The education system has clearly failed many in this thread.
Last edited by BUG on April 18th, 2021, 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 18th, 2021, 7:36 pm

full lockdowns are a coming

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 18th, 2021, 7:50 pm

elec2020 wrote:full lockdowns are a coming

Damn and I now getting back my gym body, cyah even show it off anywhere now.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 18th, 2021, 8:01 pm

i bought some gym equipment from sports and games. that is keeping me together. cause even after the vaccine... restrictions not going to be lifted just so. and we vaccinating really slowly. so i feel maybe 2023 all restrictions will be lifted

Postby De Dragon » April 18th, 2021, 8:03 pm

aaron17 wrote:All this from easter?

Thanks to JUHN "Tobago iz de place tuh be" Scarfy :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2021, 8:22 pm

BUG wrote:

It must be exhausting to live a life where anything that doesnt confirm your bias must be a grand conspiracy. The education system has clearly failed many in this thread.

You know, you are right. I retract my statement and humbly apologize to everyone.

Postby aaron17 » April 18th, 2021, 8:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
BUG wrote:

You know, you are right. I retract my statement and humbly apologize to everyone.
Rel confusion here ...sarcasm etc

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2021, 8:40 pm

Nah he's right. I have no evidence the numbers are being manipulated.

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8806 cases, 150 deaths, 748 active, 7908 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » April 18th, 2021, 8:50 pm

WHO warns of global surge in COVID cases, deaths as world approaches 'highest rate of infection'
The WHO said the global infection rate was approaching the highest so far.
https://abcnews.go.com/International/warns-global-surge-covid-cases-deaths-world-approaches/story?id=77090038

LONDON -- The pandemic is reaching deadly new heights across the world, the WHO warned this week, even as the focus in some countries, including the U.S., has shifted toward how quickly to ease restrictions as vaccination figures eke upward.

"Around the world, cases and deaths are continuing to increase at worrying rates," WHO Director-General Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said at a press conference on Friday. "Globally, the number of new cases per week has nearly doubled over the past two months. This is approaching the highest rate of infection that we have seen so far during the pandemic. Some countries that had previously avoided widespread transmission are now seeing steep increases in infections."

The bulk of new infections have been seen in Brazil and India, the second- and third-worst-affected countries. Earlier this week, the nongovernmental organization Doctors Without Borders warned that Brazil's coronavirus response had driven the country into a "humanitarian catastrophe." The country failed to impose an effective, centralized response, and had accounted for more than a quarter of the world's COVID-19 deaths through last week, the group said.

Some experts have warned that social-distancing recommendations have gone ignored in India, and this week the government made a desperate plea for citizens to wear masks.

"If we, all of us, start wearing masks starting today or tomorrow, we will see an immediate dip in this," Vinod Kumar Paul, a member of the government's planning commission, said at a press briefing on April 13. "We should not crowd. We must maintain social distancing and hygiene, then this virus will definitely stop. And we have repeatedly said wearing a mask is an effective social vaccine, which we should start today."

Of the 1,185 daily deaths reported in India in the 24 hours preceding Friday, around a third were in the state of Maharashtra, home to Mumbai, which was placed under a lockdown this week.

Even so, the holy festival of Kumbh Mela has seen millions of Indians travel throughout the country, with footage showing devotees bathing in the Ganges with no respect for social distancing, and hundreds of positive cases have been associated with the festival, according to the BBC. In recent weeks, the country has reported well over 100,000 new confirmed cases on a daily basis.

With the country struggling to contain the spread of coronavirus, vaccine exports have been suspended at the country's Serum Institute, which produces the bulk of the AstraZeneca vaccine doses distributed by the COVAX program. India has vaccinated more than 100 million citizens so far, according to the country's health ministry.

And in Europe, where most countries have adopted lockdowns to deal with rising infection rates, WHO Regional Director Hans Kluge announced that more than 1 million COVID-19 deaths had been surpassed in the European Region.

"The situation in our region is serious -- 1.6 million new cases are reported every week," he said at a press conference on Thursday. "That's 9,500 every hour, 160 people every minute. It is only among the oldest that we are seeing declining incidence."

On Monday, parts of the U.K. tentatively emerged from a monthslong lockdown, with outdoor dining in bars and restaurants, as well as shops, opening to customers. Now the country is reporting some of the lowest proportional number of cases and deaths in Europe, which Prime Minister Boris Johnson was keen to stress was the work of lockdowns -- not vaccinations.

"But it is very, very important for everybody to understand that the reduction in these numbers -- in hospitalizations and in deaths and infections -- has not been achieved by the vaccination program," he said this week. "People don't, I think, appreciate that it's the lockdown that has been overwhelmingly important in delivering this improvement."

Even countries that were initially praised for their handling of the pandemic, such as Germany, are now struggling, according to Reuters. German doctors have demanded action to deal with worsening situations in hospitals, with Angela Merkel having secured new powers to impose local lockdowns if cases surpass a certain threshold.

And while Britain is relaxing its lockdown laws, France entered a national lockdown earlier this month. The country became the third country in western Europe -- after the U.K. and Italy -- to record more than 100,000 coronavirus deaths.
Last edited by 2WNBoost on April 18th, 2021, 8:50 pm, edited 7 times in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 18th, 2021, 8:54 pm

2WNBoost wrote:COVID-19 infections approaching highest rates ever, WHO warns
https://news.un.org/en/story/2021/04/1089932

16 April 2021
Health
COVID-19 infections are approaching their highest rates since the pandemic began just over a year ago, the head of the World Health Organization (WHO) reported on Friday.
“Around the world, cases and deaths are continuing to increase at worrying rates”, said WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, speaking during his regular briefing.

“Globally, the number of new cases per week has nearly doubled over the past two months. This is approaching the highest rate of infection that we have seen so far during the pandemic.”

As of Friday, there were 138.5 million cases
WHO is the last group that should be talking because their job was to ensure sh!t like this doesn't happen.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 18th, 2021, 8:58 pm

Captain obvious WHO. It's also due to India and Brazil.

Postby goalpost » April 18th, 2021, 9:02 pm

elec2020 wrote:full lockdowns are a coming

Somehow i doubt this will happen
They will keep implementing restrictions.