COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1773 cases, 25 deaths, 1063 active, 685 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » September 1st, 2020, 1:38 pm

Pic courtesy Dave V Surajdeen

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1773 cases, 25 deaths, 1063 active, 685 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2020, 1:40 pm

^ it don't matter nah
if you out on the road wear your mask
family or no family

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1773 cases, 25 deaths, 1063 active, 685 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » September 1st, 2020, 1:43 pm

Yes agreed

Postby K74T » September 1st, 2020, 2:36 pm

ROFL

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 2:54 pm

K74T wrote:Pic courtesy Dave V Surajdeen

but any PH jiver can print dat

Postby MG Man » September 1st, 2020, 3:07 pm

just wear de muddacornhusk mask :|

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 3:27 pm

MG Man wrote:just wear de muddacornhusk mask :|

But my upper lip is red ..

And I cannot breathe .

It's unconstitutional.

Nobody in the entire World passed such a stupid law :roll: :roll:

Postby aaron17 » September 1st, 2020, 3:30 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

And I cannot breathe .

It's unconstitutional.

And other countries are fining ppl who don't wear...you can add that.

FrankChag

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby FrankChag » September 1st, 2020, 3:40 pm

teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
sMASH wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:All this talk just to wear masks. Reminds a few years ago when they wanted to make it law to wear seatbelts. The older folks here would remember clearly. Same kinda shiet arguments people come up with... they can't breathe wearing seatbelts, it uncomfortable, it making them feel claustrophobic, it too tight, it cuts off circulation, some people are short so it does not fit them properly, the poor man cannot afford to install seatbelts in car, the fines too high for the poor man, you overburdening the children, etc. Now everyone wearing (or supposed to be wearing) seatbelts normal. Just like if you can't wear a seatbelt, then STAY HOME, if you can't wear a mask, STAY HOME.
Wearing the mask is not the issue. Getting charged for nonesene is the issue.

I'm still not clear on whether my kids in the back seat have to wear masks
,,, but when we're home, no?
The ordinance is, if only one person in a vehicle can be without mask. From two aand more, the all persons need to have on masks properly covering nose, mouth and chin. The if the persons are under 8 years of age, the the guardian will be charged. If the child is above 8 yrs, then the child can be charged if unaccompanied and eventually made to appear before the courts if it reaches that.

Ur own car is a pH taxi according to farris.

Police aren't mind readers. From a quick visual glance at your car, they can only tell if all the occupants are wearing a mask or not.

They cannot tell if you are

1) Working PH
2) same family in single home
3) extended family in single home
4) extended family in second home etc.

etc

If they can't tell those things, then it's safer to just wear the mask so they don't have to stop your vehicle and interact just to find out. It's safer to just wear your mask and remove all doubt.

^^ Makes sense.

vv They're too small to leave at home, so we take them. They only leave the house maybe 3 times /month since April.

carluva wrote:Is there a need for the kids to be out and about? Once they are home then this should not be a concern.

And if they really have to be out and about (which should not be really necessary), then to remove any doubt, have them wear the masks while in the vehicle.

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 3:54 pm

aaron17 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

And I cannot breathe .

It's unconstitutional.

And other countries are fining ppl who don't wear...you can add that.

Which countries ?

You are a communist ? :roll:

The Law is an excuse for failure .

Even children now are targets from a stupid Law .

A Law of desperation :roll: :roll:
Last edited by RedVEVO on September 1st, 2020, 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fokhan_96

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby fokhan_96 » September 1st, 2020, 3:57 pm

Meanwhile, people figuring out ways to challenge an officer if they pull them over for not wearing mask.
jhonnieblue wrote:3 deaths wth

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 1st, 2020, 4:05 pm

I know 5 people all waiting results more than 14 days now and exhibiting symptoms like crazy.

All who fell the reduction in numbers is cause of the actions of the govt could take easy chain up.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 963 cases, 14 deaths, 784 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » September 1st, 2020, 4:44 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:1000+ cases now and to think I thought we'd reach this number by mid September.

and 6 deaths for this wave so far. we will know very soon if this wave is much worse than the first. we had 8 deaths then.. let's see where we'll reach. but 6 in ICU according to this morning update so it definitely looking worse.

Dude we have literally 10x the cases and growing faster than ever, deaths will obviously be more.
The doubling rate was 8 days on August 17 and is still 8 days now. The rate of growth is currently not increasing.

It is reasonable to expect 2000 cases on or about September 3rd.
I looked back at the doubling rate. It has moved from 8 days to 10 days so the confirmed infection rate seems to be slowing down at the moment. Of course, it could also indicate a testing backlog.

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2020, 5:09 pm

the backlog will most def have an effect
and we have no true idea of how big is the backlog
so moh win here

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2020, 5:29 pm

Lehme buss ah mark for allyuh...who vex...VEX...

Yuh see that time period which says 23-30th...that supposed to be the second week in August. Yuh see that "8" they hit allyuh recently in an evening update?? That was pure GOBAR!!!!!

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 5:31 pm

just imagine we went from 1 case to 1100+ in what 6 weeks? Now just imagine if Govt didn't do anything, what 1100+ would have turned into in another 6 weeks! the math is very scary! or perhaps it could have been multiple imported cases (illegal immigrants) maybe let's say 20-30 going to 1100. otherwise the R0 is through the roof.

or actually 4 x 2^8 (Doubling every 5 days, this happened ~8 times)= 1024

so perhaps all it took was about 4 infected venes :roll:

another 6 weeks, if allowed to spread, well that's over 262000 cases :shock: with 1% of that being 2620 deaths ! of course the entire hospital system would have long collapsed so without any treatment or ventilators the death rate could easily be 5%= 13000.
Last edited by redmanjp on September 1st, 2020, 5:54 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2020, 5:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Lehme buss ah mark for allyuh...who vex...VEX...

Yuh see that time period which says 23-30th...that supposed to be the second week in August. Yuh see that "8" they hit allyuh recently in an evening update?? That was pure GOBAR!!!!!

Well I'm sure of it but what kind of numbers you have?

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 5:36 pm

so 2 ways to hide the true numbers without blatantly lieing:

1- limited testing
2- batching test results

Postby toyolink » September 1st, 2020, 5:43 pm

Our predicament at present seems really quite confused and difficult to assimilate all the information and disinformation being thrown around.
Prudence dictates application of the 'keep it simple' philosophy and for those who are serious about avoiding infection, just follow the simple rules.
To expect that Covid19 is going to be dealt with by the normal institutions in a fashion that demonstrates some kind of quantum leap of efficiency and innovativeness may be naive.
Our H1N1 experience over the years speaks volumes and well don't talk about dengue. In the latter case thank god Trini blood seems to have annihilated 'the mosquito'.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 5:43 pm

U hadda do 7 day average charts, cause the batch testing screwing with the numbers.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 5:45 pm

If they not infected, why should they be incumbered...
fokhan_96 wrote:Meanwhile, people figuring out ways to challenge an officer if they pull them over for not wearing mask.
jhonnieblue wrote:3 deaths wth

Postby K74T » September 1st, 2020, 6:07 pm

2 additional deaths unfortunately

FB_IMG_1598997986765.jpeg

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 6:21 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ it don't matter nah
if you out on the road wear your mask
family or no family

:lol: :lol: :lol: yes, the law is an ass, and so is this guy.

Face Mask Gives Migraines ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 6:26 pm

A 2006 study of 212 healthcare workers required to wear the medical-grade N95 face mask found that 37% said the mask gave them headaches, and 32% of those people had headaches more than six times a month.

https://www.withcove.com/learn/migraine-triggers-mask

Re: Face Mask Gives Migraines ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 6:29 pm

This law needs to be appealed .

It's a "desperation Law."

Wearing face masks can cause headaches .

It also restricts the supply of your vital oxygen for a healthy person .

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 6:32 pm

How can you charge an 8 year old for not wearing a mask ?

The solutions we have are desperate solutions .

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 1st, 2020, 6:34 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

How can you charge an 8 year old for not wearing a mask ?

The solutions we have are desperate solutions .

Maybe they expect the parents to pay?

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2020, 6:38 pm

The widespread use of cloth masks by healthcare workers may actually put them at increased risk of respiratory illness and viral infections and their global use should be discouraged, according to a UNSW study.

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 121724.htm