COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4277 cases, 70 deaths, 2085 active, 2122 recovered in T&T

Postby Country_Bookie » September 26th, 2020, 5:03 pm

Whenever I drive past bars on a weekend and see the amount of ppl congregating outside the bars, liming like normal, mask under their chin so they could drink or smoke, makes me lose whatever little faith I had in trinis. Worse yet is police not doing anything about these situations. Is this just in the east or you all seeing this type of thing all over?

Thing is we shouldn't even need police to tell us not to do something that could lead to contracting the virus and ultimately death. I guess it's a combo of God is a trini logic with I issa big man and I invincible mentality.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4277 cases, 70 deaths, 2085 active, 2122 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » September 26th, 2020, 6:13 pm

FB_IMG_1601158199812.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2020, 6:27 pm

dramatic drop in cases this week

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2020, 7:02 pm

pugboy wrote:dramatic drop in cases this week

long weekend vibes

Postby matr1x » September 26th, 2020, 8:18 pm

At the testing tents in chaguanas and south there are sick venes. And they were not letting ppl film.

The first wave of venes are engaging in fraud. The amount that buying land with fake US is hilarious

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 26th, 2020, 8:41 pm

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 26th, 2020, 9:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:dramatic drop in cases this week

long weekend vibes

Also

The Prime Minister said health officials are looking to get COVID-19 numbers down to 20 infections a day so T&T can get back to some semblance of participation with other islands and actively engage in the CARICOM Travel Bubble (to also repatriate Nationals in Grenada and other islands). He said he expects to make “one or two decisions” when he next meets with the national community on COVID-19.

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2020, 10:09 pm

well they getting the numbers down quite easily as we can see

Postby paid_influencer » September 26th, 2020, 11:04 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
The Prime Minister said health officials are looking to get COVID-19 numbers down to 20 infections a day so T&T can get back to some semblance of participation with other islands and actively engage in the CARICOM Travel Bubble (to also repatriate Nationals in Grenada and other islands). He said he expects to make “one or two decisions” when he next meets with the national community on COVID-19.

I feel we going down the route of Florida. We going to re-open fully, come hell or high water.

that benchmark of "20 infections a day" is some serious misdirection. Every other country use a percentage positive target - creating incentive to test more people. We are doing the opposite.

Postby MaxPower » September 27th, 2020, 12:56 am

matr1x wrote:At the testing tents in chaguanas and south there are sick venes. And they were not letting ppl film.

The first wave of venes are engaging in fraud. The amount that buying land with fake US is hilarious

Slim,

LMAO.

All the testing tents in Chag and south have sick Venes? Stop spreading fake news bro.

You tell Trinis to wear their mask...they dont.
You tell Trinis to sanitize....they dont.
You tell Trinis to social distance....they dont.
You tell Trinis to stay home...the dont.
You tell Trinis dont film and they all comply? LOL

Again Slim, if the situation was that bad, there would have been footage by now.

Come on chunkalunks try again na....the stories, rumors, assumptions, accusations and lies are just not adding up.

Postby matr1x » September 27th, 2020, 5:34 am

First of all, you are lying. From the start. Venes are bringing this plague over.

Everywhere people are wearing their masks . And social distancing in lines. Do we get it right all the time? No. But so do many countries.

Point is, these cockroaches have brought death to our front door.

Postby aaron17 » September 27th, 2020, 7:55 am

matr1x wrote:At the testing tents in chaguanas and south there are sick venes. And they were not letting ppl film.

Slim,

LMAO.

All the testing tents in Chag and south have sick Venes? Stop spreading fake news bro.

You tell Trinis to wear their mask...they dont.
You tell Trinis to sanitize....they dont.
You tell Trinis to social distance....they dont.
You tell Trinis to stay home...the dont.
You tell Trinis dont film and they all comply? LOL

Again Slim, if the situation was that bad, there would have been footage by now.

Come on chunkalunks try again na....the stories, rumors, assumptions, accusations and lies are just not adding up.
You tell venez......they no speak english?

Postby K74T » September 27th, 2020, 10:17 am

9 new cases + more ICU numbers

ImageImage

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 27th, 2020, 10:24 am

So we had cases by the 100s each day last week and now we have about less than 50 each day this week here. Sus

Postby goalpost » September 27th, 2020, 10:51 am

Just in time to reopen the country.

Aye this place jokey eh, allyuh be safe for Christmas eh.

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2020, 11:24 am

and end of next week will be 15. Downward curve and all.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2020, 12:15 pm

goalpost wrote:Just in time to for the greatest show on earth..

Aye this place jokey eh, allyuh be safe for Christmas eh.

Ah fix eeeet for yuh

Postby bluefete » September 27th, 2020, 12:42 pm

1 Covid Carnival coming up via Zoom.

Never mind that Brazil cancelled theirs for 2021.

Maybe, we could get all those tourists who would have gone south for the winter.

BTW - 6 ICU in Couva & 3 ICU in Arima. More deaths to come.

Postby bluefete » September 27th, 2020, 12:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:and end of next week will be 15. Downward curve and all.

Everyone has to tow the balisier line. If they say flatten the curve, it does not matter how it is done.

Real curve flattening going on.

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4321 cases, 70 deaths, 2017 active, 2234 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » September 27th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Curve flat = mask fines working. Great is the PNM and the TTPS

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4321 cases, 70 deaths, 2017 active, 2234 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 27th, 2020, 2:03 pm

matr1x wrote:First of all, you are lying. From the start. Venes are bringing this plague over.

Everywhere people are wearing their masks . And social distancing in lines. Do we get it right all the time? No. But so do many countries.

Point is, these cockroaches have brought death to our front door.

Slim,

You dont have any evidence of the Venezuelans bringing this “plague”, therefore you are carrying news and spreading false claims.

Allyuh Trinis have the xenophobia really bad, but remember its just a very small number of allyuh that have a problem with the Venezuelans.

The majority of the population including your Govt welcomes them......and there is nothing you can do about it........thoughts?

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2020, 4:35 pm

reminder: Shelly Dass on tomorrow (Monday) for 200 Days of COVID, on TV6 @ 8:30pm - 11:00pm.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » September 27th, 2020, 4:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:reminder: Shelly Dass on tomorrow (Monday) for 200 Days of COVID, on TV6 @ 8:30pm - 11:00pm.

weii know how long i aint hear about that ole fowl

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4321 cases, 70 deaths, 2017 active, 2234 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » September 27th, 2020, 6:27 pm

1 death + 41 cases

FB_IMG_1601245601013.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2020, 6:33 pm

50 positives out of 79 samples today

maybe not so good

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2020, 6:42 pm

the big news in that release: 12 cases (so far) in a center for children

Postby bluefete » September 27th, 2020, 6:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the big news in that release: 12 cases (so far) in a center for children

Orphanage? Pre-school? I know that some people are running pre-schools!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4362 cases, 71 deaths, 2057 active, 2234 recovered in T&T

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2020, 8:14 pm

Doh talk about them ole people, I met a guy this week, he started speaking to me from over 6 ft apart, i told him put on his mask its needed . He put it on and his whole nose outside.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4362 cases, 71 deaths, 2057 active, 2234 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » September 27th, 2020, 10:44 pm

good video, but the testing advice needs to be discussed.

two types of tests available right now.

nasal swab (PCR) tests - these work by detecting the virus. they are positive while you are infected (even on the first day you get sick), and negative after you have recovered. The nasal swab measures your viral load (how much virus is in your body).

blood tests - do not directly detect the virus. They measure your body's production of antibodies to the virus. Your body takes some time to make the antibodies, so during the infection you might get a negative test even though you have symptoms and are infectious. Your antibodies also stay for some time after you've been infected, so you will get a positive test after you've recovered.

summary chart:
https://www.whitehouse.gov/wp-content/u ... idance.pdf
long version:
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... lines.html

the guy in the video did the right thing by nasal swab on day 3 (excellent), and the wrong thing by doing a blood test to see if it cleared. The blood test was of course going to be positive (and will stay positive for some weeks after). The nasal swab might have been negative.