COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8964 cases, 154 deaths, 834 active, 7696 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » April 19th, 2021, 9:37 pm

India's COVID tsunami leaves bodies piling up as oxygen, medicines, vaccines and hospital beds run short
https://www.cbsnews.com/news/india-covid-cases-vaccine-medicine-hostpial-shortages-modi-criticized/

BY ARSHAD R. ZARGAR
UPDATED ON: APRIL 19, 2021 / 9:58 AM / CBS NEWS

New Delhi — Most hospitals are full. In some cases, two patients share a bed. Stocks of oxygen, medicines and vaccines are all running out. Doctors and nurses are overworked. Thousands of patients are dying every day, leaving bodies to pile up outside crematoriums and graveyards. There's panic in the air as coronavirus cases multiply across India at the most fearsome rate since the pandemic struck more than a year ago.

India's second wave really started gaining steam this month, with the daily count of new infections repeatedly setting new records throughout April. The total number of COVID-19 cases reported in India now stands at over 15 million. More than 1.5 million of those infections have been reported in the last seven days alone. The daily average is now about 220,000 new cases — the fastest rate of COVID-19 spread in the world.

The second wave started in mid-March, and was underestimated on many levels: Many Indians had lowered their guard and stopped taking precautions, including wearing masks and maintaining social distancing; the government took several missteps, including allowing massive election campaign events and a huge religious gathering; even many experts predicted the second wave wouldn't be as bad as the first.

People line up outside a wine store to buy alcohol after Delhi's state government ordered a six-day lockdown to limit the spread of the coronavirus disease, in New Delhi, India, April 19, 2021.
ADNAN ABIDI/REUTERS

Over the winter, as many countries struggled with third waves of infections, the numbers in India were coming down. Some experts suggested India might not even see a second wave.

But it hit, and as of right now, government data show it to be about three-times worse than the first wave. With the pace of new infections still climbing, there's no indication yet that the top of this wave has even been reached.

Hospitals overwhelmed

Many doctors are calling this second wave a tsunami, and it's stretching India's already-lean healthcare infrastructure beyond its limits. Coronavirus patients often can't even find space to be admitted to a hospital. There simply aren't enough beds.

Maithili Badriprasad, 50, a healthcare practitioner, had to wait four days to get admitted to a hospital in Bengaluru, one of the top tech hubs in the world. She tested positive on April 5 and was recommended hospitalization as her condition worsened. But there were no beds. She was lucky to get an oxygen tank to use at home until April 9, when she was finally admitted to a local ward.

"There was no stretcher or wheelchair, I was asked to walk downstairs to get myself admitted. I was about to pass out," Badriprasad told CBS News.

She was discharged after a week of what she called a "shocking and unbelievable experience." Her lungs still haven't recovered fully.

"I told my daughter it's like a Jurassic world out there," Badriprasad said of the scenes she witnessed inside the strained hospital. "The doctors and nurses, who work like robots and get very little sleep in their PPE kits, get no time to listen to patients. They don't look at you, they look at your reports alone to make sure your COVID is treated… I am disillusioned with how things are happening without accountability."

Patients suffering from the coronavirus disease get treatment at the casualty ward in Lok Nayak Jai Prakash (LNJP) hospital in New Delhi, India, April 15, 2021.

"We waited two days for a hospital bed for my uncle," Manoj Bagle, a resident of Mumbai, told CBS News. "By the time he got one, his condition had deteriorated… he couldn't be saved."

Mumbai, home to Bollywood, is India's richest city, but its healthcare system is straining as new cases mushroom. Maharashtra, where Mumbai is located, is India's hardest-hit state with 35% of the country's total active cases.

The entire state has been put under lockdown until the end of April, with restrictions expected to get even stricter this week.

Double mutant strain

Some public health experts suspect a new, Indian-origin "double mutant" coronavirus variant — called B.1.617 — is behind the rapid spread of the disease in India.

"But we can't say that for sure at this stage; more analysis is needed," Dr. Prabhakaran Dorairaj, a senior cardiologist and Director of Centre for Control of Chronic Conditions at the Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI), told CBS News.

"It's affecting a lot of young people and children, too, and the symptoms are different from what we saw last year," said Dorairaj.

"This is a variant of interest we are following," Maria Van Kerkhove, the World Health Organization's technical lead officer on COVID-19, said on Friday. "Having two of these mutations, which have been seen in other variants around the world, is concerning."

The double mutant, which, like other variants that have emerged around the world, is suspected to be more infectious than the original strain of the disease, has now been discovered in at least 10 countries, including the U.S. and the U.K.

Drugs and oxygen running out

At least 11 of India's 29 states, including Maharashtra, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, and Chhattisgarh, have notified the national government of shortages of hospital beds, medical oxygen and key drugs used to treat COVID-19, seeking immediate help.

Sonia Gandhi, leader of India's principal opposition party, the Indian National Congress, has accused Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government of "gross unpreparedness… in foreseeing, evaluating and managing the crisis."

Delhi's Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal, described the situation in his state as "very serious and worrisome," and said supplies of oxygen and the number of ICU beds were "decreasing very sharply."

Ramesh Verma, a senior government officer overseeing the coronavirus response at Delhi's Burari hospital, told CBS News they were facing an acute shortage of doctors and nurses, too.

Maharashtra state Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray also phoned Modi's office last week to warn of oxygen shortages.

The federal government insists there are sufficient oxygen supplies, but it has ordered the construction of 162 new medical oxygen plants across the country. Indian media reports have said the government may be looking to import 50,000 metric tons of the life-saving gas.

Indian social media channels are filled with frantic appeals by people looking for help getting loved ones into hospitals, and for oxygen cylinders, plasma donations and the drug remdesivir. The medicine, shown to help people recover from COVID-19, started hitting the black market in India last year.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8964 cases, 154 deaths, 834 active, 7696 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2021, 10:34 pm

Well, so with this variant it's young and old alike ending up in hospital and skyrocketing cases leading either to a horrific death toll, or to prevent that a FULL lockdown.

Time to start saying some prayers yes.

Its vaccine vs variant. But in this country with less than 2% vaccinated well....

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8964 cases, 154 deaths, 834 active, 7696 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » April 19th, 2021, 10:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:Well, so with this variant it's young and old alike ending up in hospital and skyrocketing cases leading either to a horrific death toll, or to prevent that a FULL lockdown.

Time to start saying some prayers yes.

Its vaccine vs variant. But in this country with less than 2% vaccinated well....

1.3% and only 0.07% have received two doses.

Meanwhile, in Brazil 11.5% have received one dose and 4.1% two doses.

Their deaths are still super high, equivalent to us having 20 a day.
Screenshot_20210419_163415.jpg

Postby adnj » April 20th, 2021, 7:52 am

US State Department To Issue Travel Warnings Amid 'Unprecedented' COVID-19 Risks

The U.S. State Department on Monday announced plans to expand travel advisories, urging U.S. citizens to stay home as the COVID-19 pandemic continues to pose "unprecedented risks" around the globe.

The updated travel guidelines are intended to curb visits "to approximately 80% of countries worldwide" which are currently experiencing dramatic spikes in cases, the department said in a statement. New guidance is expected be released later this week.

The latest recommendations come as the coronavirus "continues to pose unprecedented risks to travelers," and the new guidelines "better reflect the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's science-based Travel Health Notices," according to the notice.

The State Department added: "As always, we are closely monitoring conditions around the globe, and will regularly update our destination-specific advice to U.S. travelers as conditions evolve."

https://www.npr.org/2021/04/19/98894063 ... d-19-risks

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 20th, 2021, 3:11 pm

Death toll may be on an upward trend. Couva hospital
IMG-20210420-WA0038.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 20th, 2021, 3:21 pm

We're gonna average 1.5 deaths a day for the next month

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 3:57 pm

so what number playing this afternoon ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 20th, 2021, 4:04 pm

pugboy wrote:so what number playing this afternoon ?

Postby K74T » April 20th, 2021, 4:23 pm

171 new and 3 deaths

Postby K74T » April 20th, 2021, 4:23 pm

FB_IMG_1618950214373.jpeg

Postby hover11 » April 20th, 2021, 4:25 pm

Lock down needed

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 20th, 2021, 4:31 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:so what number playing this afternoon ?

Lol was off by 100

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 4:33 pm

that “tobago is the place to be” essentially made a lot of ppl drop their guard and switch off

Postby hover11 » April 20th, 2021, 4:35 pm

Places were booked in advance way before he made such a statement so come again,why people never want to take responsibility for their own actions?
pugboy wrote:that “tobago is the place to be” essentially made a lot of ppl drop their guard and switch off

Postby Habit7 » April 20th, 2021, 4:38 pm

hover11 wrote:Places were booked in advance way before he made such a statement so come again
pugboy wrote:that “tobago is the place to be” essentially made a lot of ppl drop their guard and switch off

I keep saying this. Ppl believe 1 week before Easter, the PM say Tobago and suddenly everybody rush and buy tickets.

Well, welcome to the 2nd wave.

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 4:44 pm

you did not read my msg properly
he referred to tobago
but that statement in general caused many to relax, not only in tobago

hover11 wrote:Places were booked in advance way before he made such a statement so come again,why people never want to take responsibility for their own actions?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 20th, 2021, 4:48 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1618950214373.jpeg
Alot of persons will die in the coming weeks due to the incompetence of our PM.
RIP Trinidad.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Dai zess

wing

Postby wing » April 20th, 2021, 4:56 pm

So I keep reading that the PM is responsible for the recent surge in Covid cases. So we as a largely educated people will ignore all the scientific advice, news from other countries and basic common sense, and infer from Geologist Rowley that all of a sudden, the pandemic over and its a free for all? Trinis are the worst.....and are fully deserving of everything that comes to them.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 20th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 5:12 pm

its not hard to see how average well meaning citizens who are weary after over a year of restrictions can comprehend what he said to mean everything ok, so even if you cant reach tobago to have a good time as he basically said
you might as well have a good time where ever you are in trinidad so all hell break loose

wing wrote:So I keep reading that the PM is responsible for the recent surge in Covid cases. So we as a largely educated people will ignore all the scientific advice, news from other countries and basic common sense, and infer from Geologist Rowley that all of a sudden, the pandemic over and its a free for all? Trinis are the worst.....and are fully deserving of everything that comes to them.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 20th, 2021, 5:13 pm

wing wrote:So I keep reading that the PM is responsible for the recent surge in Covid cases. So we as a largely educated people will ignore all the scientific advice, news from other countries and basic common sense, and infer from Geologist Rowley that all of a sudden, the pandemic over and its a free for all? Trinis are the worst.....and are fully deserving of everything that comes to them.

Well to be perfectly fair, if he knew cases were on the rise and he did what he did, even though it might very well have been too late, he was wrong and should not have encouraged liming with his language.

Remember, him saying effectively to go Tobago and lime, would have put everyone's defenses down.

Tobago liming probably would have contributed little to this outbreak anyway as it's mostly small groups of people liming outdoors where covid spread is minimal.

All the easter limes, dinners, get togethers and beach house limes were worst and far more numerous.

But this outbreak would have happened without easter, it just would have happened a week or two later.

What should have been was in mid-March, when the CMO announced they were seeing a rise in cases, they should have locked done.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on April 20th, 2021, 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 20th, 2021, 5:14 pm

No lockdowns please, we have to learn to live with it.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8806 cases, 150 deaths, 748 active, 7908 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » April 20th, 2021, 5:19 pm

His exact words. If you can interpret that as free up yourself in Tobago and Trinidad, you need your head examined.
https://youtu.be/nCYp4PerWKo?t=2929
you know what's happening now
Tobago is almost full and overflowing
the place to be is in Tobago
and I tell you the best vacation you can
have at home in Trinidad and Tobago is
in Tobago
go to Tobago if you want but when you go
to behave yourself
behave yourself we are in a pandemic
wear your mask stay away from crows no
partying
and so on and so on and you can have a
wonderful easter in Tobago
nobody asks you to go and see I'm
building a mask on your face
but when you come out of the water
before you go to anybody
put on your mask and everybody gonna be
all right
and that for me is a success of the
people
of Trinidad and Tobago
[Applause]

Postby adnj » April 20th, 2021, 5:20 pm

DMan7 wrote:No lockdowns please, we have to learn to live with it.

Postby hover11 » April 20th, 2021, 5:33 pm

Lockdown happening once the CMO gives the green light which will happen soon they have to obey they are guided by the science

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 20th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Here's the thing, covid-19 management is hard, almost no one did it right.

Barbados is remarkably one of the few aside from Taiwan and NZ, that did an excellent job of balancing lockdowns and living with covid.

We should be learning to live with it, but if an uptick is being seen, then ultimately you need a lockdown.

This is why blaming ppl for the spread isn't a good mindset to adopt. Life needs to go on, just take precautions like wearing masks and keeping it on indoors. That's as best we can do.

If you're flouting those rules then yes you're being irresponsible.

The messaging from MoH has left a lot to be desired, especially with regards to when to wear masks. It should be when indoors mainly. Not outside, not on the friggin beach and not in cars with your family.

Also, they need to be educating the public on the need to improve indoor ventilation by opening windows.

Postby goalpost » April 20th, 2021, 5:57 pm

The hospitals are not overloaded so there should be no reason for a lockdown. Plus a lockdown will solve nothing. We have to live with it.
Even with this drastic increase, there appears to be no major fear in the public like last March/April

Postby paid_influencer » April 20th, 2021, 5:58 pm

allyuh calm down. The numbers today is just today and yesterday figures in one. Add up both, divide by two and the average is still less than 100. We in good shape. Measures working, give it some more time.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8806 cases, 150 deaths, 748 active, 7908 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 5:59 pm

its not a matter of exact words my friend you seem to not able to understand what I wrote

education has been free in this country for a very long time
dont get your panties in a bunch and I not looking to argue with you as it seems you like to nitpick

Habit7 wrote:His exact words. If you can interpret that as free up yourself in Tobago and Trinidad, you need your head examined.
https://youtu.be/nCYp4PerWKo?t=2929
you know what's happening now
Tobago is almost full and overflowing
the place to be is in Tobago
and I tell you the best vacation you can
have at home in Trinidad and Tobago is
in Tobago
go to Tobago if you want but when you go
to behave yourself
behave yourself we are in a pandemic
wear your mask stay away from crows no
partying