COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 76 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 6:32 am

Glad this is seems to be a major political event for some people here. And mirroring half the population too.
:fist:

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 6:39 am

adnj wrote:
K74T wrote:Exercise at home
This.

CoP says people can exercise outdoors in twos

Members of the public are now being advised that they can exercise while the stay-at-home order remains in effect.
However, Police Commissioner Gary Griffith is advising against exercising in groups.

“If one or two persons are jogging or walking together, that is okay,” Griffith told Guardian Media during a walk-through of the Chaguanas Market yesterday.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cop-says ... 21ae4c74b8

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2020, 6:56 am

skipping rope

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 66 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby 88sins » March 29th, 2020, 7:09 am

maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:
This.

Members of the public are now being advised that they can exercise while the stay-at-home order remains in effect.
However, Police Commissioner Gary Griffith is advising against exercising in groups.

“If one or two persons are jogging or walking together, that is okay,” Griffith told Guardian Media during a walk-through of the Chaguanas Market yesterday.

Ignore Gary.
You enjoying your jog outdoors and the person 50 feet unwind of you coughs at the same time a nice strong breeze blows from their direction straight to you. You really wanna risk it for sake of keeping fit?
Right now a better investment in fitness for those that like to run would be a treadmill.

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2020, 7:42 am

courts closed, cant buy no treadmill.

death365

Postby death365 » March 29th, 2020, 7:55 am

I just love Christian preachers , on a radio station close to 102.2 a preacher now stated that over the last few month there were 21 million cell phones disconnected in China...

So take away 4 million for normal deaths an stf... And the true death toll in China from covid 19 is 17 million... An he did the research so its facts...

Not considering any fact of persons having more than 1 cell phone and disconnected the other ones. But God.... Yes God himself told him to do the research and enlighten the world of the lies from China...

Postby hydroep » March 29th, 2020, 8:09 am

Case study: China — how to profit from the mess you created...:|

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 8:21 am

death365 wrote:I just love Christian preachers , on a radio station close to 102.2 a preacher now stated that over the last few month there were 21 million cell phones disconnected in China...

So take away 4 million for normal deaths an stf... And the true death toll in China from covid 19 is 17 million... An he did the research so its facts...

Not considering any fact of persons having more than 1 cell phone and disconnected the other ones. But God.... Yes God himself told him to do the research and enlighten the world of the lies from China...

Scientists already explained this though. 21 million migrant worker who went back to their homes in rural areas and disconnected their city plans. Outside a city center any area code would mean long distance charges. Since these workers now went home due to quarantine why would they waste money to maintain phone service only valid inside the city hundreds of km away?

China is a huge place, like Canada, like USA. Even within a city like Toronto, there are 3 major phone area codes 416/647/437 in the city of Toronto itself, but 3 million people live just outside the city limits and have long distance area codes compared to calling within the city itself. Right outside in Mississauga near the Pearson Airport is 905 which means long distance rates to call downtown 20 km away. So 21 million people disconnected in China... was already explained in the simplest and most logical manner, and anyone who has ever traveled to another country could understand what huge distances are.

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2020, 8:37 am

FB_IMG_1585484985497.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 8:40 am

^ I will stick to the official what the Ministry says.

Quite a lot of conflicting info on this exercise thing.
Look yet another media article saying the opposite.

Stay at home

This literally translates to staying where you are until the coast is clear.

This means these persons shouldn’t be out unless getting food, gas or other essentials, or for medical reasons.

Going outside for a walk or exercise is allowed, and even encouraged, but people are asked to keep their distance from others. It’s all about social distancing, and by now, we probably all know that means keeping six feet apart from other people when out and about.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/what-qua ... f90f083a27

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2020, 8:50 am

maj. tom wrote:^ I will stick to the official what the Ministry says.

Quite a lot of conflicting info on this exercise thing.
Look yet another media article saying the opposite.

Stay at home

This literally translates to staying where you are until the coast is clear.

This means these persons shouldn’t be out unless getting food, gas or other essentials, or for medical reasons.

Going outside for a walk or exercise is allowed, and even encouraged, but people are asked to keep their distance from others. It’s all about social distancing, and by now, we probably all know that means keeping six feet apart from other people when out and about.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/what-qua ... f90f083a27

is gg boys that have to enforce it, and gg say just two at a time. gg leaning towards like what germany did, u can go outside, but dont go in large groups or bunch up.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 29th, 2020, 9:03 am

Here's the difference between you and me I stood down and stood corrected about the house visits which I was sure I hear him say in the first or second press conference. But probably how I consumed alot of info I mixed up countries I honestly not going to re-watch to prove to you because even if he did say that Ministries can change policies in crisis so its no longer relevant due to the recent tents being erected for people with flu like symptoms.
You on the other hand flaunting a gotcha moment in one instance and have been irresponsibly wrong in almost every post u made in this thread to the point that you admitting more or less that the only reason you posting such utter madness is because you don't like the PNM. The exact policies if implemented by a UNC led govt you would support though. And call KPB the devi goddess for her insight and care towards the people and it's the people who making she look bad.

This is what I have gathered from your posts. Also the same internet anybody consuming fake news from its the same internet that GOOGLE resides in but people too lazy. And it just has to do with information be it false or not landing in their comfort zone. Perfect example of this is Fox News.

sMASH wrote:
boxy wrote:This is why I said a few days ago social media has created a platform fo a complete dunce with zero passes in basic proficiency cxc to just create a page and post utter rubbish without repurcusssions and people will believe every word and run with because it falls within their comfort zone. The comments alone from those posts prove how illiterate some people are.
shogun wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG

https://factcheck.afp.com/image-shows-b ... e-minister

Brazilian flag clearly in the background, eh?

Just proves how elements of the media/population fear mongering/sensationalizing the hell out of the situation to get traction. If so many innocent people weren't affected, I'd start rooting for the virus, yes. Serious.

that pic ABOUT italy, but featuring bolsonaro was circulating since it was known that trump had met with him... and that pic of him crying got mixed up with a lot of pics about the rate in italy. but it was foreign in origin. i not expecting local people to know who is bolsonaro, to be able to recognize him and say, that is not the italian president, that is just not common knowledge enough for a trini.

the same mentality it takes to say, ' wash ur hands, dont study details of this disease, dont question the govt' is the same kind that forwards all those good morning posts, and all the hope and prays memes concerning this disease.

*oh, the flag clearly in the background. the MoH poster clearly stated to visit ur nearest medical facility, but u bashing people with great froth that they call and the govt come to u... since when is PNM going to be that careful... never, not even wtih self isolation from yam voyages*

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 9:25 am

maj. tom wrote:Allyuh check out the Trini meaning of "social distancing." More than half of our population is stupid and illiterate. And they are the voters. These photos are from yesterday.

JTA Supermarket in Marabella

Tunapuna Market.

Xtra Foods Endeavour

Xtra Foods Arima

This is madness!

If we get as bad as Italy, the world will see how irresponsible the tribesmen of T&T are.

No one care about T&T right now, but it we become a highlight on the globe, I will be sure to forward CNN all the pictures and videos circulating that shows our togetherness and unity.

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 9:29 am

Ent we can do a ratio jus like how we produced alarming amount of garbage as a ranking?

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 9:30 am

sMASH wrote:
boxy wrote:This is why I said a few days ago social media has created a platform fo a complete dunce with zero passes in basic proficiency cxc to just create a page and post utter rubbish without repurcusssions and people will believe every word and run with because it falls within their comfort zone. The comments alone from those posts prove how illiterate some people are.
shogun wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG

https://factcheck.afp.com/image-shows-b ... e-minister

Brazilian flag clearly in the background, eh?

Just proves how elements of the media/population fear mongering/sensationalizing the hell out of the situation to get traction. If so many innocent people weren't affected, I'd start rooting for the virus, yes. Serious.

that pic ABOUT italy, but featuring bolsonaro was circulating since it was known that trump had met with him... and that pic of him crying got mixed up with a lot of pics about the rate in italy. but it was foreign in origin. i not expecting local people to know who is bolsonaro, to be able to recognize him and say, that is not the italian president, that is just not common knowledge enough for a trini.

the same mentality it takes to say, ' wash ur hands, dont study details of this disease, dont question the govt' is the same kind that forwards all those good morning posts, and all the hope and prays memes concerning this disease.

*oh, the flag clearly in the background. the MoH poster clearly stated to visit ur nearest medical facility, but u bashing people with great froth that they call and the govt come to u... since when is PNM going to be that careful... never, not even wtih self isolation from yam voyages*

Hahaha nail on head

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 9:34 am

aaron17 wrote:Ent we can do a ratio jus like how we produced alarming amount of garbage as a ranking?

Yes. Trinidad (54/1 M pop.) has had a total cases rate close to China (57/1M pop.). And that's early figures mostly from the Balandra quarantine. https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Who knows what next 2 weeks will look like since the Ian Alleyne fiasco. People just not taking this seriously at all, and most people really think "it's just like the flu so it's not that bad." This is how we know more than half of our population is illiterate and stupid.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 76 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 9:50 am

abducted??

Morning bro where u at?

The Govt, the media, the very few law abiding and caring citizens has HAD IT with Trinidadians. That is why I will continue to make it known in every 5 posts, just as the Govt will in every press conference....

Do not congregate.

Lock T&T down, this is clear and present insubordination and disregard for the seriousness of this pandemic, not a joke.

Adjustments.JPG

Postby rspann » March 29th, 2020, 10:17 am

Meanwhile people going by the roti factory normal for stocks to celebrate the holiday tomorrow.

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2020, 10:18 am

MoH now posted an update but they pulled it because they had the date wrong (Sunday 28th). Probably upload it again in a while.

But the positive cases remained at 76, deaths at 3 and 13 more samples were sent to CARPHA to be tested.

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2020, 10:22 am

Re-release

FB_IMG_1585491692667.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 10:26 am

"Let us pray for ppl to practise social distancing"

Postby adnj » March 29th, 2020, 10:26 am

sMASH wrote:courts closed, cant buy no treadmill.
maj. tom wrote:
adnj wrote:
This.

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1585484985497.jpeg
There is less of a chance of BECOMING infected by someone else if you exercise at home.

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 10:49 am

aaron17 wrote:"Let us pray for ppl to practise social distancing"

Hello Aaron,

Prayer is the only thing we can do at this time.

Our “unity” and “togetherness” only exists in a grocery.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 29th, 2020, 10:56 am

I've always heard stories about how cruise ships have body storage facilities. I wonder how much because this ship been sailing for the last few days with 4 that died from Covid and probably might have more by the time it eventually gets permission to dock somewhere.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/travel/c ... 933381001/

carluva

Postby carluva » March 29th, 2020, 10:56 am

Wait nah... The roti factory in the lil back alley in Mohammedsville?

So your place is the place down the road on the corner?
rspann wrote:Meanwhile people going by the roti factory normal for stocks to celebrate the holiday tomorrow.

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 10:59 am

aaron17 wrote:"Let us pray for ppl to practise social distancing"

Hello Aaron,

Prayer is the only thing we can do at this time.

Our “unity” and “togetherness” only exists in a grocery.
Bruhh

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 29th, 2020, 11:08 am

carluva wrote:Wait nah... The roti factory in the lil back alley in Mohammedsville?

So your place is the place down the road on the corner?
rspann wrote:Meanwhile people going by the roti factory normal for stocks to celebrate the holiday tomorrow.

roti factory is i evlyn trace by a big breadfruit or mangro tree or somthing. only pass they once.mohammedville is somewhere else

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Borders opening on 01 April only for a Piarco to Miami flight?

Americans only and well the families of overstayed and illegal Trinis i.e - Permanent Residents?

Trump calling for his people?

Trini might be safer than the USA right now.

Hoss planes flying all over the world collecting citizens. Only Trinidad has abandoned it's people.

It is a chartered flight to Miami at $1500US per person.
14 days quarantine when you get there.

Hmmm big number.

That price should be tripled for the disgraceful Trinis in Barbados, Margarita etc....they should also pay for the flight crew, ground staff, govt departments as they have to leave the comfort and safety of their homes to be in close proximity of these pests. I hope they stay their ass quiet when they get some attitude.

I plea to Minister Stuart Young to keep them out until this crisis is under control.

Our borders are closed.

Postby 88sins » March 29th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Borders opening on 01 April only for a Piarco to Miami flight?

Americans only and well the families of overstayed and illegal Trinis i.e - Permanent Residents?

Trump calling for his people?

Trini might be safer than the USA right now.

Hoss planes flying all over the world collecting citizens. Only Trinidad has abandoned it's people.

It is a chartered flight to Miami at $1500US per person.
14 days quarantine when you get there.

Hmmm big number.

That price should be tripled for the disgraceful Trinis in Barbados, Margarita etc....they should also pay for the flight crew, ground staff, govt departments as they have to leave the comfort and safety of their homes to be in close proximity of these pests. I hope they stay their ass quiet when they get some attitude.

I plea to Minister Stuart Young to keep them out until this crisis is under control.

Our borders are closed.

I observe that you trying hard to make sense lately. Kudos.

Hope you remember that our borders are officially closed. So any pirogue loaded with venes headed in this direction need to either turn back or expect to get some nice big holes in their hulls as soon as they in our territorial waters.
Because no matter who says otherwise, right now Venezuelans illegally entering Trinidad are a real threat to the life of everyone on these islands.

VII

Postby VII » March 29th, 2020, 12:39 pm

Doh worry they would have plenty other cold storage options on board..

Dizzy28 wrote:I've always heard stories about how cruise ships have body storage facilities. I wonder how much because this ship been sailing for the last few days with 4 that died from Covid and probably might have more by the time it eventually gets permission to dock somewhere.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/travel/c ... 933381001/