COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 8:04 pm

Also need some form of proper enforcement and education of the masses who continue to flout
Because when lockdowns are relaxed they will simple spread again.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1184 cases, 15 deaths, 991 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2020, 8:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:^That's simple. Directives given to them by their administrators to not speak about it, don't undermine the system, etc. ... a ladder going all the way up to the top Administrator of Health in the country.

let dem post here anonymously
As dumb as the regular police is u will meet in public, they cyber crime peeps like they have some good hackers and software tracking.

We don't have much anonymity online. They may not be able to use what they gather legally, but they have the ability to gather.

I not in circles to get details like shakes, but but the lil things I come across tends to be in line with what we get here. So when u get here, I tend to trust it.

Do what u can, cause that's all u can do. When u have a govt thst encourage people to left foot right foot, u can't really depend on them to lead by example.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 8:27 pm

people think it is a choice... lockdown or the economy. The reality is without a lockdown, the health sector collapses, then national institutions (prisons/fire/police) collapse, and the rest of the economy collapses thereafter. We will not handle this as well as the US or Europe did.

people saying wearing masks, sanitize, etc are all that is needed... look at the current graph. Project that curve ahead and look at the numbers. I deal in reality, and that approach is a death sentence to our public hospitals.

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2020, 8:27 pm

Locking down will do little to stop it now. It's already all over. A month after reopening from lock down, the virus will cycle up again and u will get ur cases again, a second wave.

The main thing is to distance. If u have no need to move about, then don't. But let other people do what they have to do. It don't make sense keeping ur self safe from covid but other people will suffer from stsrvstion. Prevent people from earning their incomes and they will take more risks to get their sustsinace.

With the first lockdown when people lined up for food aid, they didn't think of covid. Lock down again and u will get covid from a bandit in ur house or the police taking the report from u. P

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2020, 8:31 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^he couldn't have done this weak lockdown on bars (they still open but for take away) & restaurants 2 weeks before? could of avoided this 'log phase'

yup. Look at NZ response to see how this should have been handled. Elections delayed, lockdown hard and early. No campaigning. And the results speak for themselves.

New Zealand’s biggest city will remain in lockdown until midnight on Sunday, the extra four days necessitated by the rising number of Covid-19 cases, the prime minister, Jacinda Ardern, has said.

A total of 101 people have been infected by the outbreak in south Auckland, making it the largest cluster in New Zealand.

Ardern said the cluster would have been significantly bigger if level three restrictions had not been imposed so quickly, as people had become infected at churches, shopping centres and on public buses.
New Zealand sends 500 military staff to bolster quarantine facilities
Read more

“If it weren’t for level three, this cluster would be exponential, of that I have no doubt,” she said on Monday.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/ ... n-extended

We made a massive mistake by not immediately rolling back to phase 1 on July 21st.

It's been a month since then and we've had over 1000 cases. And cases are going up. This current lockdown is a farse.

We need to go to full lockdown to control it.

But let's face it it's out of control and the government does not care. There are no immediate elections to look good for.
Changed your opinion ?

From April 1st:

Dohplaydat wrote:I'm beginning to think we should have gone the route of Sweden, S. Korea, Iceland and Japan.

Yes limit mass gatherings, talk about social distancing, washing hands etc, even encourage mask-wearing.....but carry on business as usual, borders open and all.

Why? Trinis too damn harden and stupid, all these drastic measures may very well have little to no impact on flattening our peak.

Since u like to dig up posts, you'll probably see I was saying since back then, that a harsh lockdown would be fruitless as the moment we open back up cases will explode and trinis ain't going to want to lockdown again.

I was advising we deal with it back then, maybe introduce some mitigations like working from home, mask wearing and closing schools etc.

If we did that and controlled the growth better, right now we'd be in a position to re-open without overwhelming the health facilities.

That's all we can do with covid, you can't stop it unless you go full lockdown mode, with good contact tracers and a disciplined population (like NZ).

Now all we did was delay covid, f*ck up the economy and enable an already delinquent population to have lockdown fatigue.

Also, I was saying the time to go full lockdown has passed which it has, we can't stop covid anymore. All we can do now is lockdown hard if the heath facilities can't keep up. I am not in position to say if we're nearing that point to not.

Hello DPD,

I fully agree with your comments here in comparison of what you stated months ago.

Its very startling to know the extent some tuners go to prove a imaginary point by digging up old posts.

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 8:46 pm

sMASH wrote:Locking down will do little to stop it now. It's already all over. A month after reopening from lock down, the virus will cycle up again and u will get ur cases again, a second wave.

disagree strongly. A lockdown period would stop the exponential growth, let health facilities free up capacity, ease the testing burden, and allow contact tracing to actually to work. I haven't given up hope in our contact tracing, our smallness is an advantage.

the alternative - no lockdown - is guaranteed disaster. And the budgeting for cleaning up that disaster would not be a simple salary relief grant.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 8:51 pm

^ so basically buh bye hsf

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 8:53 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ so basically buh bye hsf

the annual budget is 40 billion to 50 billion dollars. they need between 5% - 10% of that if they want a full, extended lockdown.

It is affordable without touching the HSF.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Debt to gdp is nearing 80 per cent though. Do they want to borrow now in a time where financial institutions will dig out your eye (you would anticipate loan costs to be high for governments right now as demand will be high as all countries will want loans to help supplement their fiscal revenues and/or put in place social safety nets to help disadvantaged families during covid). I anticipate withdrawals from the hsf for the next couple years.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 8:57 pm

The only alternative would be to cut recurrent expenditure (specifically wages and salaries the largest line item in the budget). But that has its own adverse knock on effects.

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 9:02 pm

elec2020 wrote:The only alternative would be to cut recurrent expenditure (specifically wages and salaries the largest line item in the budget). But that has its own adverse knock on effects.

this is specifically 5% to 10% of the budget for paying salaries and wages.

It isn't recurrent expenditure. The government can afford it. The sky will not fall down.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 25th, 2020, 9:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^1200 by next Saturday

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

Numbers looking good ent

Numbers getting worse or maintaining the same levels?

The contact tracing figures is the problem. Primary and secondary contact hitting that 6k figure. Expect to see a figure around 1775 by this time next week. Imo moh should just drop the bomb that has been ticking for so long but I guess they know what they doing. Shrugs shoulders.

Last bit of info I saw suggest that groceries, mini marts and other businesses in st.helena going straight down to montrose account for a lot of contact tracing.

Stay safe...id be back shortly

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 9:16 pm

We got a boatload of money for covid relief from international agencies
$190m usd or something like that.

They never said how it was spent.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby bluefete » August 25th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^1200 by next Saturday

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

Numbers looking good ent

Numbers getting worse or maintaining the same levels?

The contact tracing figures is the problem. Primary and secondary contact hitting that 6k figure. Expect to see a figure around 1775 by this time next week. Imo moh should just drop the bomb that has been ticking for so long but I guess they know what they doing. Shrugs shoulders.

Last bit of info I saw suggest that groceries, mini marts and other businesses in st.helena going straight down to montrose account for a lot of contact tracing.

Stay safe...id be back shortly

Closer to 2,000 would be more like it.

Postby bluefete » August 25th, 2020, 9:32 pm

pugboy wrote:We got a boatload of money for covid relief from international agencies

Election money.

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 9:33 pm

Yep, diff pockets of the same pants.

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:We got a boatload of money for covid relief from international agencies

Election money.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 25th, 2020, 9:48 pm

It is scary. I am always in that area from at Helena to Montrose and chaguanas. Feels like as you open your front door covid outside.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 9:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
elec2020 wrote:The only alternative would be to cut recurrent expenditure (specifically wages and salaries the largest line item in the budget). But that has its own adverse knock on effects.

this is specifically 5% to 10% of the budget for paying salaries and wages.

It isn't recurrent expenditure. The government can afford it. The sky will not fall down.

Government expenditure is split in recurrent and development (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... HZ97CSsWOw). The largest contributors to recurrent are wages and salaries and goods and services. If u cut back on either u will increase unemployment. Higher unemployment means less people will buy from businesses. Lower sales means businesses will raise prices (to recoup loses while increasing the cost of living for the layman) or go out of business. Raising unemployment and repeating the cycle once again. Any government has to be careful with how they tweak recurrent expenditure. Imo the best thing would be to reduce recurrent expenditure by cutting back on new ministry vehicles, furntiure, rennovations, etc. Those can go. But still i think they cant avoid having to dip into the hsf if they intend to implement a full lockdown with social safety nets. If they plan to do it with no social safety nets then they dont need to withdraw from the hsf but just note the economic impact will be quite significant as i doubt for example banks will defer loans again (i think most banks loan deferrals were extended from march to august/september i could be wrong eh).

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 25th, 2020, 9:59 pm

bluefete wrote:

Election money.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/trinidadex ... a.amp.html

Colm Imbert went into more detail on the expenditure during the mid year budget review.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2020, 10:32 pm

Just a fun fact for allyuh
Over roughly 24.2% (approx. 294k) trinbagonians are the age of 55 years and older. It just so happens that this is the demographic that the most at risk of serious health complications if they contract this disease.
If it turns out that 25% of them contract the virus, that's 73K high risk people infected. And if we say 3% require critical care, that'd be roughly 2200 corpses. This is only the elderly, not considering the other high risk groups (immuno-compromised or very young people)

Be careful people.

Postby sMASH » August 25th, 2020, 10:35 pm

U don't need to go extreme, they got it settled out.
If it wasn't for the elections it would have remained slow. Lockkng down now will just be postponing the inevitable.

The ease up on the parallel system will happen after a month, but because it spread so much it will not ease up thst much.
But definitely self employed people and low wager people will be without income. And with no govt sustsinance, the u will get people sneaking and doing work. And they will not get tested for fear of prosecution.

Keep it as is, reopen the beaches, just post police to keep it spaced out, and roll like that.

Screenshot_2020-08-25-22-26-28.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 11:08 pm

Ttps report 3 venes held at uwi Canada hall covid facility escaped and they looking fo them.

Contrary to maxi pad it is clear that venes have been found with covid...

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 25th, 2020, 11:11 pm

3 teens
IMG_20200825_230809.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 11:33 pm

^ who was guarding them? is that not a state quarantine?

and regarding contact tracing- why have they not considered contact tracing apps for all those unknown cases? Google/Apple already provided the framework for it.

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 11:38 pm

Them venes might need a separate secure facility otherwise handcuffs
They don’t care about the rest of us

redmanjp wrote:^ who was guarding them? is that not a state quarantine?

and regarding contact tracing- why have they not considered contact tracing apps for all those unknown cases? Google/Apple already provided the framework for it.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1184 cases, 15 deaths, 991 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 11:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So...there is info that suggests that 3 nurses have tested +. They were attached to valencia and coryal. The system is heavily strained at this point. I was told that its 2 nurses to 30 patients and there were nurses who didnt even finish final exam and they are being called out.

Another rumour is suggesting another 14day lockdown. This time no1 would be able to leave their homes. Sounding real suspect to me...but...shrugs shoulders

https://www.facebook.com/PoliceServiceTT/photos/a.246104478741574/3523568264328496

August 25th, 2020
MEDIA RELEASE

Debunking False News-
Complete Lockdown and Quarantine at Home

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) is reminding members of the public to be cautious of false information sent via social media, which can cause unnecessary panic and anxiety.

The information in the accompanying image is false.

Members of the public are advised to check and stay updated with TTPS Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages for accurate information on matters relating to crime and policing and the Ministry of Health and other Government sources for COVID-19 related matters.

Corporate Communications Unit
August 25th, 2020
END

killercow

Postby killercow » August 25th, 2020, 11:54 pm

88sins wrote:Just a fun fact for allyuh
Over roughly 24.2% (approx. 294k) trinbagonians are the age of 55 years and older. It just so happens that this is the demographic that the most at risk of serious health complications if they contract this disease.
If it turns out that 25% of them contract the virus, that's 73K high risk people infected. And if we say 3% require critical care, that'd be roughly 2200 corpses. This is only the elderly, not considering the other high risk groups (immuno-compromised or very young people)

Be careful people.
Ent Trinidad is extremely high on the list for heart disease and obesity? (for starters). And one of the recent deaths was a 41 year old male with other medical complications? Your analysis alone is scary but understated imo. Many people aged 40 and above already have plenty additional health issues. What % of the population is aged 40 and above?

And on another note, I've also heard rumours of this additional looming lockdown. But at the rate things are progressing, when (not if eh, when) the bed spaces run out, hospital staff shortages become worse and the rate of the death toll resembles that of Italy months ago, will we still not lockdown to at least temporarily curb the spread?

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 12:07 am

pugboy wrote:Them venes might need a separate secure facility otherwise handcuffs

Hello pugboy,

You are right.

The Venes did bring Covid, so did other Trinis from abroad.

Venes do not care about Trinis

Trinis do not care about Venes

Trinis dont even care about other Trinis

Facts my good man

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 26th, 2020, 12:54 am

pugboy wrote:Them venes might need a separate secure facility otherwise handcuffs

Hello pugboy,

You are right.

The Venes did bring Covid, so did other Trinis from abroad.

Venes do not care about Trinis

Trinis do not care about Venes

Trinis dont even care about other Trinis

Facts my good man

Correct is right my good sir.

According to the Distinguished Dr Richard Dawkins an Evolutionary Biologist, life is in competition with itself constantly and always evolving seeking it's own interest at the expense of any and everything, the selfish gene as he calls it in his brilliant 1976 book.

Having said that I have had the pleasure of working with Venes lots and lots of them, ALWAYS extremely helpful when it was time to load my truck, all the nasty Trinis would hide behind the toilet area but the Venes would come to give me a helping hand. They did it with a smile a beautiful pleasant smile even tho their lives were ruined but never once refused to help or never once treated a customer badly

So even tho evolution, natural selection is ALL about being selfish, programmed hardwired into us the majority of Venes were never selfish which says a lot. It pains me to see these nasty Trinis lie on the poor hard working people daily on facebook while they continue to contribute MORE to Trini Society than anyother group of people. Thankfully the Distinguished Dr Keith has reaffirmed us that he is accepting Vene Marriages with locals, a brilliant man no doubt understanding that with such a hard working young workforce he could attempt to rebuild this country.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 26th, 2020, 1:41 am

When your neighbor's house is on fire...

https://aatishb.com/covidtrends/?locati ... =Venezuela