COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2892 cases, 50 deaths, 2076 active, 766 discharged in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » September 12th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Shakes my one of my padner from Guaico now message and say one of yesterday seven deaths was his mum's cousin. Originally from Grande.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2892 cases, 50 deaths, 2076 active, 766 discharged in T&T

Postby 88sins » September 12th, 2020, 8:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
ron_28 wrote:Additional death
101 more positive

Wda downward trajectory my ass.

This folly to believe a politician or its minions.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2020, 8:16 pm

this whole thing is being handled exactly animal farm style
where the bosses refer the bs talk to be handled by hinds et al
just like the propaganda pig in the book

Postby Kenjo » September 12th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Shakes my one of my padner from Guaico now message and say one of yesterday seven deaths was his mum's cousin. Originally from Grande.

Obese or anything ? Or she was normal and healthy ?

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2020, 8:23 pm

why deal with “projections” when you have facts in front of you ?

adnj wrote:Projections show a downward trend for new infections followed by increases at the end of October. Image

Postby redmanjp » September 12th, 2020, 8:34 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
elec2020 wrote:What that make no sense. Its equivalent to me starving for food while throwing away a gourment meal in a bin.

There has been a talk all the time that people feel great with this disease then suddenly decompensated. Older folks with hypertension, diabetes and previous heart attack aren’t in the great shape as we think . They might seem like they are going about their normal day to day duties but they can’t properly walk up a flight of stairs

Ok. There may be some truth to that. But just how u could find a way to fine people for not wearing masks u can't find a way to fine them for coming off the ventillator?

the difference is not wearing a mask can endanger others- you taking off your own ventilator only endangering yourself

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 12th, 2020, 8:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Shakes my one of my padner from Guaico now message and say one of yesterday seven deaths was his mum's cousin. Originally from Grande.

I think that was the one who was given the high flow oxygen...cuz ventilators scarce nuh

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2020, 8:57 pm

you mean regular oxygen mask or nasal
it not so easy for a person to remove themselves from a ventilator. tubes going down into throat and sealed

redmanjp wrote:
the difference is not wearing a mask can endanger others- you taking off your own ventilator only endangering yourself

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 12th, 2020, 9:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

I think that was the one who was given the high flow oxygen...cuz ventilators scarce nuh

Hmm... It's obvious there is a shortage but...

Deyalsingh: TT has excess ventilators

TT has 52 ventilators available for covid19 patients, of which only two are now required for use, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh told Monday’s briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, while saying more are being ordered amid the pandemic.

He said TT’s entire public health system at any time has 160-170 in all.

Deyalsingh accounted for the 52. "At Couva we have 12, then as I promised some time ago there was a batch of 25 that came in over two shipments and that took it up to 37. Then as I indicated last week, in Arima we commissioned 15 more last week.”

He related these 52 ventilators to the covid19 patients who will need them, that is, the case burden.

“For every 100 people who get covid, regardless of age about five per cent will need ventilator support. So, if we have 52 ventilators dedicated only to covid, at Couva and Arima, it means we could accommodate based on the current statistics a positive number of covid patients in TT of 1,040. We currently have 105.” Deyalsingh said TT’s current ventilator capacity is more than enough.

“However, we have been in contact with the Government of the People’s Republic of China towards getting more ventilators. Also, one of the local agents, whom we normally buy ventilators from, from Europe, is also sourcing ventilators for us during April and May."

He said TT is at present oversupplied with ventilators, but seemed to suggest that it is unknown if the outbreak would spread.

Deyalsingh turned to Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram who said at present only two covid19 patients are on ventilators.

This update came amid news of the US Government seizing 20 ventilators purchased for donation to Barbados. Bajan Health Minister Lt Col Jeffrey Bostic at a Sunday briefing claimed there was no shortage of ventilators in Barbados despite the seizure. The Barbados Nation reported assurances that the 48 ventilators now in Barbados are at present more than enough, as only three of the country’s 56 covid10 patients need ventilators. The newspaper said five ventilators out of a batch donated by Bajan pop star Rihanna will soon reach the island, while the Bajan Government has otherwise ordered and paid for 150 more, from various sources. Bajan leader Mia Mottley has reportedly promised an “open cheque” towards such purchases.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/07/deyals ... ntilators/

killercow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2993 cases, 51 deaths, 2176 active, 766 discharged in T&T

Postby killercow » September 12th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Wasn't absolutely sure where to leave this so see Covidiot thread for main article.
_20200912_225047.JPG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2993 cases, 51 deaths, 2176 active, 766 discharged in T&T

Postby pete » September 13th, 2020, 12:03 am

The test figures continue to not make sense. This morning completed tests (unique + repeated) added up to total tests submitted to the labs. This afternoon the total test number increased by 83 but 101 new cases.

I get the feeling the people in charge of releasing that info are getting overwhelmed. For the past couple weeks there have been a few strange things showing up in the reports.

Postby redmanjp » September 13th, 2020, 12:18 am

killercow wrote:Wasn't absolutely sure where to leave this so see Covidiot thread for main article. _20200912_225047.JPG

i saw the video- d man say he take off d mask tuh drink bayrum oui :lol:

Postby redmanjp » September 13th, 2020, 12:26 am

pugboy wrote:you mean regular oxygen mask or nasal
it not so easy for a person to remove themselves from a ventilator. tubes going down into throat and sealed

redmanjp wrote:

well i guess so

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 13th, 2020, 10:20 am

2 more deaths
26 more positive
SmartSelect_20200913-101849_Instagram.jpg
SmartSelect_20200913-101906_Instagram.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2020, 10:40 am

3563!

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2020, 11:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:3563!

Doh worry Shakes. Let them continue playing their games.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 13th, 2020, 12:21 pm

It's interesting that the ICU figure at Couva is never more than this initial figure of 12...

Does this mean that the additional 25 ventilators for this facility were obtained as stated in the article or just managing the reported figures...?

Dohplaydat wrote:
TT has 52 ventilators available for covid19 patients, of which only two are now required for use, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh told Monday’s briefing at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s, while saying more are being ordered amid the pandemic.

He said TT’s entire public health system at any time has 160-170 in all.

Deyalsingh accounted for the 52. "At Couva we have 12, then as I promised some time ago there was a batch of 25 that came in over two shipments and that took it up to 37. Then as I indicated last week, in Arima we commissioned 15 more last week.”

He related these 52 ventilators to the covid19 patients who will need them, that is, the case burden.

“For every 100 people who get covid, regardless of age about five per cent will need ventilator support. So, if we have 52 ventilators dedicated only to covid, at Couva and Arima, it means we could accommodate based on the current statistics a positive number of covid patients in TT of 1,040. We currently have 105.” Deyalsingh said TT’s current ventilator capacity is more than enough.

“However, we have been in contact with the Government of the People’s Republic of China towards getting more ventilators. Also, one of the local agents, whom we normally buy ventilators from, from Europe, is also sourcing ventilators for us during April and May."

He said TT is at present oversupplied with ventilators, but seemed to suggest that it is unknown if the outbreak would spread.

Deyalsingh turned to Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram who said at present only two covid19 patients are on ventilators.

This update came amid news of the US Government seizing 20 ventilators purchased for donation to Barbados. Bajan Health Minister Lt Col Jeffrey Bostic at a Sunday briefing claimed there was no shortage of ventilators in Barbados despite the seizure. The Barbados Nation reported assurances that the 48 ventilators now in Barbados are at present more than enough, as only three of the country’s 56 covid10 patients need ventilators. The newspaper said five ventilators out of a batch donated by Bajan pop star Rihanna will soon reach the island, while the Bajan Government has otherwise ordered and paid for 150 more, from various sources. Bajan leader Mia Mottley has reportedly promised an “open cheque” towards such purchases.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/07/deyals ... ntilators/

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3019 cases, 53 deaths, 2194 active, 772 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Screenshot 2020-09-13 at 12.28.10 PM.jpg

Six months after being infected, some young people still suffer chest pains, migraines, severe breathlessness, dizziness and exhaustion.

About 600,000 people have some sort of post-Covid illness, according to Tim Spector, professor of genetic epidemiology at King’s College London, who says that around 12% of sufferers report symptoms to the Covid Tracker app for longer than 30 days. One in 200 says the effects last for more than 90 days.

Record numbers of people in their 20s are testing positive for covid-19, according to the latest figures from Public Health England, which showed 3,366 had the virus in the first week of September.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/ ... ill-unwell

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3019 cases, 53 deaths, 2194 active, 772 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2020, 12:36 pm

:| :|
IMG-20200913-WA0123.jpg

killercow

Postby killercow » September 13th, 2020, 12:56 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote::| :|
So I guess this is what is required now to get the relevant sectors to perform.. Very sad. + he eh getting back da lawyer letter money.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 13th, 2020, 1:07 pm

If the homeless man decide to not pay the ticket, will they send police to his address?

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2020, 1:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote::| :|

that means, what ever they doing, it can be done faster, its just that they choosing not to do so. unless compelled to by the law.

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2020, 1:10 pm

govt workers doing what they do best
pushing paper slowly

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2020, 3:42 pm

Ah wonder how terrence failed to mention the entire floor in Arima hospital filled with + patients....oh well....if I was you all, try your very best and stay away from that hospital

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2020, 4:49 pm

was there any official statement about arima since it had been added to the daily reports last few days ?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2020, 5:04 pm

Coping with the death of a family member from Covid-19 is already a traumatic experience.

But the process for disposing of the body after death has left one family further traumatised and stuck with a $16,000 bill.

A relative of a Covid-19 patient who died earlier this month said she was left confused after the death of her father-in-law.

The patient was admitted to the San Fernando General Hospital for treatment of a pre-existing condition. While there, he tested positive for Covid-19 and was transferred to the Augustus Long Hospital in Pointe-a-Pierre, where he died a few days later, his daughter-in-law told the Sunday Express on condition of anonymity.

The family was shocked to learn the hospital had already made arrangements for the disposal of the man’s body when they were contacted. A funeral agency was engaged and, with little input from the family, the body was taken away to be cremated.

The family was told that due Covid-19 restrictions, they would not be able to view the cremation or participate in any way in the disposal of their relative’s body, which had to be done as quickly as possible. The funeral agency offered a memorial service to be held at a later date, as part of its funeral package costing just over $16,000.

The relative told the Sunday Express she was confused by this, as the family was not given the choice to select a funeral agency. Had they been given a choice, they may have been able to select one they could afford, she argued.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2020, 5:25 pm

All that fuss for the body? Jess put on a mask and sanitize it's hands, should be safe enough after.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2020, 6:42 pm

23 cases in the evening update
IMG_20200913_184152.jpeg

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Anything to shade the truth.

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2020, 9:24 pm

Sunday’s and Monday’s usually real low numbers