COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1184 cases, 15 deaths, 991 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 25th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Just wanna say at this point a 14day full lockdown would not help ease up the health facilities as everyone who currently has it will infect their family.

For that to work it needs to a month.

Even then though, unless we construct make shift hospitals and recruit care givers and doctors in that time, as soon as things open back within two weeks we are back to this point.

I think at this point it's safe to say we lost control and it's a mad scramble.

If we want to save lives, we need a similar lockdown as to what we had from March to June, anyone ready for that again? Cuz economically the fall out will be disastrous.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1184 cases, 15 deaths, 991 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 25th, 2020, 4:14 pm

Fallout wouldn't be too different than if we continue to operate as we are now.

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 4:15 pm

terry turning every uwi and utt campus into covid hospitals
but by next week they might run out of spaces
plus the nursing manpower gonna be stretching more

Postby aaron17 » August 25th, 2020, 4:16 pm

Parliament resumes on Friday ..
looptt

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 25th, 2020, 4:25 pm

Just as I said last week...quite a few prison officers got their + results today. A couple prisoners were added to the mix as well

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 4:26 pm

that prison situation could cascade into a real mess

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2020, 4:37 pm

20200825_163604.jpeg

Via CNC3

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 4:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Gladiator wrote:I know one of the COVID doctors and she said that they were made to sign a non disclosure agreement with jail time and high monetary fines for breech... They cannot say anything unless told to do so... Not even Roshan Parasram
fokhan_96 wrote:Shakes, question.
When you started with these stuff a few weeks ago we all thought you was on sheit. But turns out you are correct. Can you find out why health care workers are silent. Not one statement from frontline doctors and nurses. It's very strange the media has not yet been able to interview a frontline worker. Are they being silenced? Why is everyone so silent.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So...there is info that suggests that 3 nurses have tested +. They were attached to valencia and coryal. The system is heavily strained at this point. I was told that its 2 nurses to 30 patients and there were nurses who didnt even finish final exam and they are being called out.

Another rumour is suggesting another 14day lockdown. This time no1 would be able to leave their homes. Sounding real suspect to me...but...shrugs shoulders

the answer is highlighted...I know where my info coming from. I'm just being ah good brethren and looking out for allyuh..Up to you if you choose to believe

take care they make u sign one too

but if they feel that secrecy could stop a virus like this from raging and then 10s of ppl falling down like fly everyday let them ask china nuh- they try to silence doctors back in December- and look what happen

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 5:10 pm

so we making triple digits today ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 25th, 2020, 5:36 pm

pugboy wrote:so we making triple digits today ?

Undoubtedly, but I have a feeling they'll release only 14 cases later.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 25th, 2020, 6:08 pm

ADD 68

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 25th, 2020, 6:08 pm

68 new cases this afternoon
That's 153 new cases today

118372672_3641979079165207_761447728620051401_n.jpg

MoH media conference tomorrow Wednesday 26th at 11am

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2020, 6:10 pm

Not suprising at all

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2020, 6:17 pm

and still a several day batch
is god still a trini ?

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2020, 6:23 pm

Keith,

Lay the pipe.

Trinis need to be held accountable for their actions.

You have begged them to comply and they have outrightly ignored you and the entire MOH.

Lay the pipe, no need to pay anyone to stay home, they wont die.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 25th, 2020, 6:24 pm

It will take about 10 days more for the cases to start declining.

Dr Keith is trying to balance the economy and this thing, can't shut down again maybe just 1 more time but after that we can't afford to any longer.

Covid is a part of our life now and will forever be so we need to learn to live with it.

A good start is jail anybody caught without a mask in public.

Look at it on the bright side, we will never have to worry about the seasonal flu and many other viruses again. The nasty Norovirus aka stomach flu will also go the way of the DODO.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 25th, 2020, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » August 25th, 2020, 6:25 pm

He suppose to lay pipe weeks ago but elections was more important.

Now here we are...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 25th, 2020, 6:27 pm

The_Honourable wrote:He suppose to lay pipe weeks ago but elections was more important.

Now here we are...

He had no choice bro, he needed to do all he could to win that election.

Because had he not done what he did, the UNC could have possibly won if this delayed any longer people would have lost confidence in the PM and UNC would be in office which would be double trouble as the drunken leader of the Opposition would be recommending us to drink rum and bleach instead of following the science and passing laws making it mandatory to wear mask in public

Postby redmanjp » August 25th, 2020, 6:35 pm

^he couldn't have done this weak lockdown on bars (they still open but for take away) & restaurants 2 weeks before? could of avoided this 'log phase'

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 25th, 2020, 6:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:68 new cases this afternoon

Why MOH can't get their act together with reporting? A form 5 student using Excel Online for a SBA project can do a better job of reporting figures than them. This is really sad since without timely data and analytics they cannot make good decisions. Instead of all of those medical doctors and epidemiologists look like they need some OJTs than can use Excel.

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 6:47 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:68 new cases this afternoon

Why MOH can't get their act together with reporting? A form 5 student using Excel Online for a SBA project can do a better job of reporting figures than them. This is really sad since without timely data and analytics they cannot make good decisions. Instead of all of those medical doctors and epidemiologists look like they need some OJTs than can use Excel.

figures out coming exactly as planned bro

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2020, 6:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A Major problem we also face is that

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/07/30/fda-say ... ctive.html

^ A vaccine only needs to be 50% effective.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has said that a COVID-19 vaccine should reduce the chances of infection by at least 50%, compared with a placebo.
So even if a vaccine is developed, you are still flipping a coin whether you will die or not. BUT 50% is better than 0%, so make of that what you may.

MaxPower, my dear friend, I am sorry to say but you may not recover your bars that were closed down, Covid 19 could very well be with us our entire life, that is a real threat. Look at something as simple as Malaria, there is to this day NO working Vaccine for it.

Such is the price we pay for torturing animals in wet markets, nature's way of balancing things I suppose.

Hello ED,

Thanks for your concern my good lad.

The rumshops permanently closed with the initial lock down, had to cut my losses and work harder moving forward. I have a partnership with a sports bar but i am so embarrassed to say i am apart of it as we are looked upon in a disgusting light due to the behavior of our fellow Trinis.

Thanks to the big man above, and support from the business community, i have my mini marts going stronger than ever with positive thinking.

Apart from this, let me take this opportunity to plea to the public to adhere to the New Norm way of life.

Trinis, we MUST do better than this.

Let us show the world how we can stop this spread.

If everyone, i repeat, if everyone do what is asked, i am guaranteeing you a flattened curve.

Change starts with you.

I would also like to extend my warm regards to the brilliant Doctor, his Majestic Rowley on his successful Covid free self quarantine. Even though the situation is bad, I am confident that he is looking on and he, along with the aid of our highly trained medical experts, will come to a decision for the benefit of the citizens of T&T.
Last edited by MaxPower on August 25th, 2020, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » August 25th, 2020, 6:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:^he couldn't have done this weak lockdown on bars (they still open but for take away) & restaurants 2 weeks before? could of avoided this 'log phase'

yup. Look at NZ response to see how this should have been handled. Elections delayed, lockdown hard and early. No campaigning. And the results speak for themselves.

New Zealand’s biggest city will remain in lockdown until midnight on Sunday, the extra four days necessitated by the rising number of Covid-19 cases, the prime minister, Jacinda Ardern, has said.

A total of 101 people have been infected by the outbreak in south Auckland, making it the largest cluster in New Zealand.

Ardern said the cluster would have been significantly bigger if level three restrictions had not been imposed so quickly, as people had become infected at churches, shopping centres and on public buses.
New Zealand sends 500 military staff to bolster quarantine facilities
Read more

“If it weren’t for level three, this cluster would be exponential, of that I have no doubt,” she said on Monday.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/ ... n-extended

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 25th, 2020, 7:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^he couldn't have done this weak lockdown on bars (they still open but for take away) & restaurants 2 weeks before? could of avoided this 'log phase'

yup. Look at NZ response to see how this should have been handled. Elections delayed, lockdown hard and early. No campaigning. And the results speak for themselves.

New Zealand’s biggest city will remain in lockdown until midnight on Sunday, the extra four days necessitated by the rising number of Covid-19 cases, the prime minister, Jacinda Ardern, has said.

A total of 101 people have been infected by the outbreak in south Auckland, making it the largest cluster in New Zealand.

Ardern said the cluster would have been significantly bigger if level three restrictions had not been imposed so quickly, as people had become infected at churches, shopping centres and on public buses.
Read more

“If it weren’t for level three, this cluster would be exponential, of that I have no doubt,” she said on Monday.

We made a massive mistake by not immediately rolling back to phase 1 on July 21st.

It's been a month since then and we've had over 1000 cases. And cases are going up. This current lockdown is a farse.

We need to go to full lockdown to control it.

But let's face it it's out of control and the government does not care. There are no immediate elections to look good for.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Read more

We made a massive mistake by not immediately rolling back to phase 1 on July 21st.

It's been a month since then and we've had over 1000 cases. And cases are going up. This current lockdown is a farse.

But let's face it it's out of control and the government does not care. There are no immediate elections to look good for.

hadda study tho, they already saying no salary relief grant will be paid. at least before that was some help to look forward to, even tho many ppl never received it. Now, even the idea of hope for help gone. So when there's a lockdown now, it's the poor, and the working poor & the lower middle class that will be affected the most by a total shut down, they going to feel a very hard shaft. So one can reasonably expect to see a sharp uptick in robberies larcney & house breking.

Meanwhile, during the first lockdown, many govt workers were sent home to do nothing but scratch & draw a full salary for zero productivity. And said salary was paid for by way of the tax dollars collected from the poor, working poor & middle class in the private sector.
see the irony?

Postby MaxPower » August 25th, 2020, 7:38 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Read more

hadda study tho, they already saying no salary relief grant will be paid. at least before that was some help to look forward to, even tho many ppl never received it. Now, even the idea of hope for help gone. So when there's a lockdown now, it's the poor, and the working poor & the lower middle class that will be affected the most by a total shut down, they going to feel a very hard shaft. So one can reasonably expect to see a sharp uptick in robberies larcney & house breking.

Meanwhile, during the first lockdown, many govt workers were sent home to do nothing but scratch & draw a full salary for zero productivity. And said salary was paid for by way of the tax dollars collected from the poor, working poor & middle class in the private sector.
see the irony?

I see the irony.

And Let’s say for some reason the govt workers were sent home with no pay, its not like that money wouldve been saved.

Covid is like christmas for politicians....they can basically say and do anything and have the pandemic as an excuse as to where the money went.

This budget is going to be bad.

Everything will raise and they have the perfect reason to say why.

Postby adnj » August 25th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Read more

Changed your opinion ?

From April 1st:

Dohplaydat wrote:I'm beginning to think we should have gone the route of Sweden, S. Korea, Iceland and Japan.

Yes limit mass gatherings, talk about social distancing, washing hands etc, even encourage mask-wearing.....but carry on business as usual, borders open and all.

Why? Trinis too damn harden and stupid, all these drastic measures may very well have little to no impact on flattening our peak.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 25th, 2020, 7:50 pm

Bro, keep the info coming. And if nobody said it, Thank you !
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Gladiator wrote:I know one of the COVID doctors and she said that they were made to sign a non disclosure agreement with jail time and high monetary fines for breech... They cannot say anything unless told to do so... Not even Roshan Parasram
fokhan_96 wrote:Shakes, question.
When you started with these stuff a few weeks ago we all thought you was on sheit. But turns out you are correct. Can you find out why health care workers are silent. Not one statement from frontline doctors and nurses. It's very strange the media has not yet been able to interview a frontline worker. Are they being silenced? Why is everyone so silent.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So...there is info that suggests that 3 nurses have tested +. They were attached to valencia and coryal. The system is heavily strained at this point. I was told that its 2 nurses to 30 patients and there were nurses who didnt even finish final exam and they are being called out.

Another rumour is suggesting another 14day lockdown. This time no1 would be able to leave their homes. Sounding real suspect to me...but...shrugs shoulders

the answer is highlighted...I know where my info coming from. I'm just being ah good brethren and looking out for allyuh..Up to you if you choose to believe

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 25th, 2020, 7:50 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Read more

Changed your opinion ?

From April 1st:

Dohplaydat wrote:I'm beginning to think we should have gone the route of Sweden, S. Korea, Iceland and Japan.

Yes limit mass gatherings, talk about social distancing, washing hands etc, even encourage mask-wearing.....but carry on business as usual, borders open and all.

Why? Trinis too damn harden and stupid, all these drastic measures may very well have little to no impact on flattening our peak.

Since u like to dig up posts, you'll probably see I was saying since back then, that a harsh lockdown would be fruitless as the moment we open back up cases will explode and trinis ain't going to want to lockdown again.

I was advising we deal with it back then, maybe introduce some mitigations like working from home, mask wearing and closing schools etc.

If we did that and controlled the growth better, right now we'd be in a position to re-open without overwhelming the health facilities.

That's all we can do with covid, you can't stop it unless you go full lockdown mode, with good contact tracers and a disciplined population (like NZ).

Now all we did was delay covid, f*ck up the economy and enable an already delinquent population to have lockdown fatigue.

Also, I was saying the time to go full lockdown has passed which it has, we can't stop covid anymore. All we can do now is lockdown hard if the heath facilities can't keep up. I am not in position to say if we're nearing that point to not.

Postby goalpost » August 25th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Agreed. We need to lockdown and fast.