COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8235 cases, 145 deaths, 407 active, 7683 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2021, 4:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i wondering if dentist requiring this. imagine if the person before u infected and underwent a cleaning with aerosol generating tools. the dentist might be wearing PPE but u can't as u have to take off your mask for the procedure.

my dentist does give an 'anti-viral rinse.' I eh sure how that does work.

is that before or after the procedure?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8235 cases, 145 deaths, 407 active, 7683 recovered in T&T

Postby Kenjo » April 10th, 2021, 4:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Ben to my dentist a few times since Dec with my son and myself. Only a questionnaire is conducted before hand. He has changed up his op. procedures though.
redmanjp wrote:i wondering if dentist requiring this. imagine if the person before u infected and underwent a cleaning with aerosol generating tools. the dentist might be wearing PPE but u can't as u have to take off your mask for the procedure.

but that doesn't address asymptomatic or pre-symptomatics infections. why don't we have the 15 minute rapid tests? yeah i know it's not as accurate but better than nothing

Who said we don’t have ? Are you willing to pay extra though ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 4:59 pm

Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Ben to my dentist a few times since Dec with my son and myself. Only a questionnaire is conducted before hand. He has changed up his op. procedures though.

but that doesn't address asymptomatic or pre-symptomatics infections. why don't we have the 15 minute rapid tests? yeah i know it's not as accurate but better than nothing

Who said we don’t have ? Are you willing to pay extra though ?

A covid rapid test online is like $150TT, many many people would pay double that to quickly get their covid results.

My parents still waiting since Tuesday to get their results back.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 5:20 pm

59 more cases today, 1 more death.

Highest number of cases since Nov 26th I believe

Hospitalisations down to 45 fortunately.

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2021, 5:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:59 more cases today, 1 more death.

not for long, with more than 500 active cases 15% will end up there soon which wil take it to 100. and this still doesn't include the Easter weekend infections where 50000 ppl went tobago!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 5:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:59 more cases today, 1 more death.

not for long, with more than 500 active cases 15% will end up there soon which wil take it to 100. and this still doesn't include the Easter weekend infections where 50000 ppl went tobago!

Yea they probably cleared out some to make room for many more who are more ill. I'm sure the number will be higher tomorrow.

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2021, 5:48 pm

Why isn't he locking down or rolling back on those restrictions clearly sports was a facade, it didn't target the root of the problem

Postby goalpost » April 10th, 2021, 5:53 pm

A lockdown didnt help either

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 5:55 pm

The time to lockdown to was 2 weeks ago, it's too late to stem this spread now unless we do a strict lockdown for 3 to 4 weeks.

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2021, 5:55 pm

It slowed it down drastically, the virus moves with us and if we continue this way then the entire country will get it , what then?at the moment there is too much movement and flouting of the covid protocols done on a daily basis, every week a ministry or place of business has to close due to sanitization
goalpost wrote:A lockdown didnt help either
Last edited by hover11 on April 10th, 2021, 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2021, 5:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:The time to lockdown to was 2 weeks ago, it's too late to stem this spread now unless we do a strict lockdown for 3 to 4 weeks.

they were hoping moral suasion would work.

strict meaning all non essential businesses closed like march/april last year? ppl go be bawling fuh money, but they can't say they were not warned.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 10th, 2021, 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2021, 5:59 pm

We seeing for ourselves that not working it's like you talking to children and hoping they do the right thing however they don't see the importance of such until later down the road
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:The time to lockdown to was 2 weeks ago, it's too late to stem this spread now unless we do a strict lockdown for 3 to 4 weeks.

they were hoping moral suasion would work.

strict meaning all non essential businesses closed?

Postby goalpost » April 10th, 2021, 6:11 pm

Rolling back on restrictions might be more suitable than a full lockdown like they did a year ago.
Remember we were getting hundreds of positive cases in August/September last year and they restricted some things and ultimately it helped

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2021, 6:12 pm

hover11 wrote:It slowed it down drastically, the virus moves with us and if we continue this way then the entire country will get it , what then?at the moment there is too much movement and flouting of the covid protocols done on a daily basis, every week a ministry or place of business has to close due to sanitization
goalpost wrote:A lockdown didnt help either

they did weeks of community testing from late may i think to early july which showed 0 cases. i really think not only did we slow it we probably eradicated it, then some venes brought it back in.

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2021, 6:18 pm

goalpost wrote:Rolling back on restrictions might be more suitable than a full lockdown like they did a year ago.
Remember we were getting hundreds of positive cases in August/September last year and they restricted some things and ultimately it helped

the mask mandate also helped as ppl were compliant at the time, not anymore. all those places like car/tyre shops where ppl eh business anymore with masks should shut down for a 2 weeks. let other places that are still compliant stay open.

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2021, 6:28 pm

FDA authorizes rapid at-home Covid-19 tests without a prescription

April 1, 2021, 10:35 AM AST

By Denise Chow

Several over-the-counter Covid-19 tests were authorized Thursday by the Food and Drug Administration for use without a prescription, offering a way for schools, workplaces and other groups to conduct rapid screening.

The so-called antigen tests offer faster results with less lab work and can be used to quickly and frequently test people to catch, in particular, those who are asymptomatic and at risk of unknowingly spreading the virus.

https://www.nbcnews.com/science/science ... on-rcna570

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2021, 6:46 pm

59 cases bai???

I just went mall, food court bustling with people chowing down and liming, no masks. About a hundred people inside there without masks.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 6:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:59 cases bai???

I just went mall, food court bustling with people chowing down and liming, no masks. About a hundred people inside there without masks.

I was supposed to go to a dinner for lime, I ain't going cuz I self quarantining, but the lime still on.

No body doh care no more.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 10th, 2021, 7:02 pm

well everybody want to deny and dispute that covid rampant and move like this is a joke with 25000 kants going tobago in one weeks for no good reason. did the govt lift the stay at home order where unless you have a good reason to leave home you should stay the fuq home? expect the health system to collapse soon.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 7:04 pm

goalpost wrote:Rolling back on restrictions might be more suitable than a full lockdown like they did a year ago.

They will need to, I think hospitalisations are at their highest value since the pandemic started.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2021, 7:12 pm

there will be no rollback until after the THA election. Lewwe be real. BE REAL

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:there will be no rollback until after the THA election. Lewwe be real. BE REAL

When is that?

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2021, 7:21 pm

Just accelerate the vaccination acquisition and rollout.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 7:30 pm

adnj wrote:Just accelerate the vaccination acquisition and rollout.

Just test more, just use rapid tests, just deliver results in a timely manner, just buy more ICUs, just create an online appointment system, etc.

Lots of things we can do but not. Give up on expecting performance from this government.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2021, 7:32 pm

ain’t gonna happen with the way world supply is and efficiency of population to be vaccinated

adnj wrote:Just accelerate the vaccination acquisition and rollout.

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2021, 7:54 pm

how easy it was for india to jomp out 40k vaccines to donate to us? all they hadda get is a purchase order, and we gt. put a 100k purchase order every month or so until u get 2m doses to cover the booster shots. thats like 12m dollars.

too much money? how much is tourism, sport, youth ministries budgets? how much rent alwaris family collecting? how much they spending on lng tr1 TAR?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 10th, 2021, 8:14 pm

sMASH wrote:how easy it was for india to jomp out 40k vaccines to donate to us? all they hadda get is a purchase order, and we gt. put a 100k purchase order every month or so until u get 2m doses to cover the booster shots. thats like 12m dollars.

too much money? how much is tourism, sport, youth ministries budgets? how much rent alwaris family collecting? how much they spending on lng tr1 TAR?

Rent for Faris's building is $575K/mo...or $87K USD.

The average price for most covid-19 vaccines is ~$20 USD per dose. So Faris's rent money can buy us ~4000 vaccine doses per month.

The cost of buying 3 million covid-19 vaccines for the entire population (two doses) is roughly $400M TT (assuming no donations provided).

If we included vaccines we got free from India, China and the African Union we'd probably only need $300M TT.

We are currently spending $1B on a new airport in Tobago, hundreds of millions of a new highway to Grande, the Toco Highway etc.

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2021, 8:29 pm

thats the pfizer vaccine. astrazenica goin for 5.25 a pop. so double shots is 11. around half the pfizer

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2021, 8:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:59 cases bai???

Disgusting

Postby aaron17 » April 10th, 2021, 8:58 pm

Well eating seems like an excuse to them to not wear the masks...smh