COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2391 cases, 39 deaths, 1609 active, 743 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 7:15 pm

just harken back to the stories when covid was hitting america hard in the earlies, of the recovered ICU patients being wheeled out to applause by the staff.... that tellin u the staff was surprised that they pulled tru, lol. its not impossible, but damn near miraculous.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2391 cases, 39 deaths, 1609 active, 743 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2020, 7:25 pm

What about if the ratio of ventilators to patients that need them not adding up at all??

What if we reach a stage where doctors making snap decisions when they see you "wasting" a ventilator because they think you aint gonna survive and pass it to someone else leaving you to meet yuh maker faster??

What if officials are telling family members that your loved one was taken of a ventilator because they felt he was good but it was the total opposite??

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2020, 7:29 pm

what if yuh have a contact so your family gets a reserved ventilator

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 8th, 2020, 7:42 pm

Allyuh catching on^ nice nice

Postby Kenjo » September 8th, 2020, 7:43 pm

pugboy wrote:what if yuh have a contact so your family gets a reserved ventilator

People rushing for a ventilator you say ?

Postby redmanjp » September 8th, 2020, 7:45 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What about if the ratio of ventilators to patients that need them not adding up at all??

What if we reach a stage where doctors making snap decisions when they see you "wasting" a ventilator because they think you aint gonna survive and pass it to someone else leaving you to meet yuh maker faster??

What if officials are telling family members that your loved one was taken of a ventilator because they felt he was good but it was the total opposite??

so how much do we really have for covid patients?

Postby 88sins » September 8th, 2020, 7:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Yup, it’s one thing to be simply hooked up to a ventilator with a nurse only monitoring vitals

Vs have proactive doctors 24x7 monitoring and making adjustments to try different strategies to see any patient response.
Pulmonary critical care doctors are who are needed in these times.

elec2020 wrote:I guess its also dependent on the skills of our health care workers.

and they in extremely short supply.

most we can hope for is for the people we have here to take and properly apply information and tips gathered from medial healthcare professionals around the world over the last 6 months

Postby MaxPower » September 8th, 2020, 8:14 pm

Friends,

Any reports of hospitals overcrowding with Venezuelans and our locals unable to receive medical attention?

Postby MaxPower » September 8th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Reek,

You there?

Seeing you online.

I didnt forget the short video clip you asked me to listen to.

Only if you have time, i responded in my Venezuelan forum.

Looking forward to your comments as always.

wing

Postby wing » September 8th, 2020, 10:14 pm

pugboy wrote:what if yuh have a contact so your family gets a reserved ventilator
Is that so surprising? What would anyone do if they were in the same position? Of course nobody was prepared for a pandemic and have ventilators stored up somewhere. There will be unfair decisions made and you can't satisfy everyone. Thus, it becomes even more critical to protect ourselves and especially our vulnerable family members, to reduce the likelihood of being on the receiving end of a harsh decision.

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2020, 10:25 pm

Our hdu and Icu numbers still fairly low to say that we don't have enough ventilators. Is either we have like 4 ventilators in the whole country or it have a lot more severe cases than being let on.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 8th, 2020, 10:44 pm

Found out today from the Dr when I went to collect my fit for work, if you come in for a covid test and your not looking sick they are no longer mandated (as of yesterday) to give you the 14 home quarantine. You will be tested and able to return to life as normal. Only if you show strong signs and symptoms then you will be placed in home quarantine until your results come out. So imagine the amount of asymptomatic people gonna be able to mix and mingle with the general public....

Postby Gladiator » September 8th, 2020, 11:01 pm

It's almost as if they want it to spread out of control...
tropi_flakes wrote:Found out today from the Dr when I went to collect my fit for work, if you come in for a covid test and your not looking sick they are no longer mandated (as of yesterday) to give you the 14 home quarantine. You will be tested and able to return to life as normal. Only if you show strong signs and symptoms then you will be placed in home quarantine until your results come out. So imagine the amount of asymptomatic people gonna be able to mix and mingle with the general public....

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2020, 12:46 am

tropi_flakes wrote:Found out today from the Dr when I went to collect my fit for work, if you come in for a covid test and your not looking sick they are no longer mandated (as of yesterday) to give you the 14 home quarantine. You will be tested and able to return to life as normal. Only if you show strong signs and symptoms then you will be placed in home quarantine until your results come out. So imagine the amount of asymptomatic people gonna be able to mix and mingle with the general public....

but they weren't testing ppl without symptoms anyway, unless u were a primary contact

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 9th, 2020, 4:47 am

Gladiator wrote:It's almost as if they want it to spread out of control...

trumpism it is then..

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2020, 7:21 am

They must be reach the stage of faith and praying.

Whoever hadda get it will get it and who hadda die hadda die.

Private hospitals have ventilators and dealing with covid patients? Like someone with proper medical insurance. If they get sick they getting private care or gonna be sent to public?

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2020, 7:23 am

the rule is you get sent to govt facility
i don’t think private hospitals want to deal with covid either, they aren’t really setup to deal with this level of contagious disease, it will throw their entire operations out of whack

Phone Surgeon wrote:They must be reach the stage of faith and praying.

Whoever hadda get it will get it and who hadda die hadda die.

Private hospitals have ventilators and dealing with covid patients? Like someone with proper medical insurance. If they get sick they getting private care or gonna be sent to public?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 9th, 2020, 8:35 am

If you or a loved one ends up like this, don’t expect a made for TV recovery
IMG_0081.JPG

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 9th, 2020, 10:58 am

No update this morning?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 9th, 2020, 11:00 am

There's a conference on at 11am

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 9th, 2020, 11:03 am

Normally they still put out the update before the conference

Postby K74T » September 9th, 2020, 11:03 am

11:03 and no update yet

Postby K74T » September 9th, 2020, 11:06 am

Now came out

FB_IMG_1599663965716.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599663952391.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2020, 11:10 am

hmmm i thought they was late so was bracing for about 5 deaths oui

Postby Kenjo » September 9th, 2020, 11:35 am

2WNBoost wrote:If you or a loved one ends up like this, don’t expect a made for TV recovery
IMG_0081.JPG

Prone positioning . Yup the open eyes in one go and up and about like in young and restless ICU scenes. To reach there in the first place you are starting at the back of the survival class. In other countries the Icu admissions still not doing great and the weakest stock already died off

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2020, 12:01 pm

^ i think that is to help drain fluids from the lungs

Minister say they have ICU capacity at Arima & Couva

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2493 cases, 39 deaths, 1705 active, 749 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » September 9th, 2020, 6:12 pm

95+

FB_IMG_1599689382171.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599689387491.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2493 cases, 39 deaths, 1705 active, 749 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2020, 6:16 pm

so on the 5th, 32 police recruits, today 87.

total 119 recruits out of 130+ recruits tested positive.
wonder if more awaiting tests.

Hope they never left the barracks during that time.....

Postby goalpost » September 9th, 2020, 6:36 pm

Fadda lord.

Well that's the 2600 shakes was talking about.

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2020, 7:01 pm

I thought the initial cases reported on the 5th was it As per shakes but they really delay the results for one reason or another.

goalpost wrote:Fadda lord.

Well that's the 2600 shakes was talking about.