COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3434 cases, 60 deaths, 1905 active, 855 discharged in T&T

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2020, 7:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just imagine there was an 80 year old patient in UNCLE SAM who spent 81 days on a ventilator and survived. He was released yesterday.

In trinidad, if they find you taking longer than a week(off to a next life for you). As far as I was told (very reliable) once you start on a ventilator it is NOT supposed to come off until you showing good signs of improvement...

THAT IS NOT HAPPENING HERE
Shakes yuh usually talk sense but don't cherry pick data from the clusterfck that is covid in the usa

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3651 cases, 60 deaths, 2005 active, 822 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 18th, 2020, 7:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Its actually 4k plus though....but carry on

4000 additional positive cases or that's the total?

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3651 cases, 60 deaths, 2005 active, 822 discharged in T&T

Postby elec2020 » September 18th, 2020, 7:57 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Yet the minister saying we are heading down the bell curve

So basically the masks not working. Oh well at least imbert and them raking in that sweet sweet fines money.

Postby MaxPower » September 18th, 2020, 8:17 pm

elec2020 wrote:

So basically the masks not working. Oh well at least imbert and them raking in that sweet sweet fines money.

The masks cant work if Trinis dont wear it properly bro.

But i strongly believe surface contact is the main issue. Trinis are just touching sheit and then digging their faces.

Covid hard to beat when you dealing with Trinis.

Postby adnj » September 18th, 2020, 8:23 pm

remember these are positive cases reported on that day
not cases tested positive
They are reporting on testing that was done over a period of weeks
If they represent the data as number of tests showing positive by day it may show it is heading down the bell curve

Like this
119217999_10158457124740610_1088021611272145909_o.jpg
The seven day moving average is not trending downward. The projections are calling for 300 new daily infections and is trending down. But the percentage of positive tests indicates that there is not enough testing taking place to know exactly what the true number is.Image

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2020, 8:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Its actually 4k plus though....but carry on

4000 additional positive cases or that's the total?

Total

VexXx Dogg wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just imagine there was an 80 year old patient in UNCLE SAM who spent 81 days on a ventilator and survived. He was released yesterday.

In trinidad, if they find you taking longer than a week(off to a next life for you). As far as I was told (very reliable) once you start on a ventilator it is NOT supposed to come off until you showing good signs of improvement...

THAT IS NOT HAPPENING HERE
Shakes yuh usually talk sense but don't cherry pick data from the clusterfck that is covid in the usa

Didnt really cherry pick...was trying to make a comparisson of how an elderly guy was treated regarding ventilator use in relation to how my friend's dad was treated(may I even say neglected) but hey....what do I know.....easy easy id release bits and pieces

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 18th, 2020, 8:41 pm

elec2020 wrote:

The masks cant work if Trinis dont wear it properly bro.

But i strongly believe surface contact is the main issue. Trinis are just touching sheit and then digging their faces.

Covid hard to beat when you dealing with Trinis.

I convinced this virus meant to rebalance the population as is mainly dottish people that spreading this thing. Imagine driving on the main road and the car in front me slow down to talk to his partner driving in the opposite direction (both with no masks on). And when the convo done the two idiots well give each other a nice first bump. Enjoy your covid oui. Dottish

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 8:42 pm

we don’t use this graph in this country
doh mind ever other country uses it

we have some bright sparks who come up with their own graph

adnj wrote:

remember these are positive cases reported on that day
not cases tested positive
They are reporting on testing that was done over a period of weeks
If they represent the data as number of tests showing positive by day it may show it is heading down the bell curve

Like this
119217999_10158457124740610_1088021611272145909_o.jpg
The seven day moving average is not trending downward. The projections are calling for 300 new daily infections and is trending down. But the percentage of positive tests indicates that there is not enough testing taking place to know exactly what the true number is.Image

Postby redmanjp » September 18th, 2020, 10:13 pm

MOH should start to recommend Vitamin D

https://www.boston25news.com/news/health/boston-university-study-finds-vitamin-d-reduces-covid-19-risk/JYRFEMYN7JC33IQ4JTSLY5JY6U/?fbclid=IwAR0lZ9XrS8kymYFp0PqJoLpNA64n57HM8CI2STm7asEzzYB3yIHALA8Tnxk

Boston University study finds Vitamin D reduces COVID-19 risk
Researcher recommends supplementation to boost immune system

Updated: September 17, 2020 - 5:29 PM
BOSTON — A vaccine for COVID-19 may be months away, but a new study finds there is something already on the market that would appear to reduce the risk of coronavirus infection.

It’s Vitamin D.

“Vitamin D modulates your immune system,” said Michael F. Holick, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, physiology, and biophysics at Boston University School of Medicine. "It improves your ability to fight infectious diseases, including viral infections.

Content Continues Below

The study, which appears in PLOS ONE, compared COVID-19 infection rates against blood levels of 25-hydroxyvitamin D in more than 190,000 U.S. patients. Holick called the findings ‘remarkable.’

“If you’re Vitamin D deficient, you have a 54% higher risk of acquiring this infection compared to people who were Vitamin D sufficient,” he said. “This was for all ages, for all ethnicities and for all latitudes in the United States in all 50 states. So whether you’re in California, Florida, or Alaska this still remained the same.”

Exposure to the sun’s UVB rays triggers a reaction in skin cells which makes Vitamin D. How then, to explain, that the three states with the highest number of COVID-19 cases are also among the sunniest: California, Texas, and Florida?

“You only get Vitamin D from the sun from about 10 a.m. until about 3 p.m.,” Holick said. “And there’s been a lot of controversy about sun exposure so people put sunscreen on that basically prevents you from making Vitamin D.”

Holick said Vitamin D insufficiency is actually very common in Florida and California because of sunscreen use -- and the fact many avoid the midday sun.

“You might think well, if you have a healthy diet you’re getting all the nutrients and Vitamin D you need... not true,” Holick said. “Because only oily fish like wild-caught salmon, mushrooms exposed to sunlight, and cod liver oil are the only natural forms of Vitamin D in your diet.”

Milk and fortified orange juice can add additional small amounts of Vitamin D, but Holick said that still doesn’t add up to enough.

He said supplementation is a safe and effective way to maintain healthy levels of Vitamin D.

“Infants 400 to 1000 units a day, children 600 to 1000 units a day. And teenagers, in my opinion, should be treated like adults: 1500-2000 units a day,” Holick said. “If you’re obese you need two to three times more.”

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2020, 6:02 am

Men using graphs to try and fight covid...kinda like how nat sec does use graphs to fight crime. Them things makes NO sense at all...

According to 88sins: "wishful thinking"....idk when allyuh would realize we just have to ride this thing out, wait on a vaccine, try to stay hidden as much as possible and do the right thing!!!

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2020, 6:04 am

can you imagine the conversations that went on behind the scenes

Terry - we need to make up a graph to show us in a better light, stop using the graph everybody else using

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Men using graphs to try and fight covid...kinda like how nat sec does use graphs to fight crime. Them things makes NO sense at all...

According to 88sins: "wishful thinking"....idk when allyuh would realize we just have to ride this thing out, wait on a vaccine, try to stay hidden as much as possible and do the right thing!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » September 19th, 2020, 6:14 am

what mask you all using?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2020, 7:04 am

Ted_v2 wrote:what mask you all using?

I interchange between n95 and the surgical...using that n95 all day is kinda tough

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2020, 7:07 am

pugboy wrote:can you imagine the conversations that went on behind the scenes

Terry - we need to make up a graph to show us in a better light, stop using the graph everybody else using

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Men using graphs to try and fight covid...kinda like how nat sec does use graphs to fight crime. Them things makes NO sense at all...

I doh even want to imagine nuh...graphs are being generated based on info provided from Moh. Im sure you all notice by now that the info provided is inaccurate. Graphs would only work in favour of terrence et al(i.e flattening d curve)...

Just imagine that those figures yesterday, the man said he hoped the curve peaked there :|

Postby aaron17 » September 19th, 2020, 7:25 am

The sun...

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2020, 8:18 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:can you imagine the conversations that went on behind the scenes

I doh even want to imagine nuh...graphs are being generated based on info provided from Moh. Im sure you all notice by now that the info provided is inaccurate. Graphs would only work in favour of terrence et al(i.e flattening d curve)...

Just imagine that those figures yesterday, the man said he hoped the curve peaked there :|
PNM made up the lies in favour for elections and fooled the PNM ppl on the real Corvid figures

Postby MaxPower » September 19th, 2020, 9:36 am

Ted_v2 wrote:what mask you all using?

Hello Ted_v2,

Im using the surgical when driving and the N95 around Trinis.

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2020, 10:23 am

88+ this morning

FB_IMG_1600525339012.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600525335629.jpeg

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2020, 11:18 am

FB_IMG_1600528679915.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600528677331.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600528653951.jpeg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 19th, 2020, 11:26 am

88 this morning? Usually weekends does be low.

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2020, 11:35 am

FB_IMG_1600529699288.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2020, 11:45 am

Sundays and Mondays are the low days
elec2020 wrote:88 this morning? Usually weekends does be low.

Postby MaxPower » September 19th, 2020, 11:46 am

Wow

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 19th, 2020, 11:58 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Sundays and Mondays are the low days
elec2020 wrote:88 this morning? Usually weekends does be low.

Got u

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 19th, 2020, 12:02 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1600528653951.jpegFB_IMG_1600528677331.jpegFB_IMG_1600528679915.jpeg

This graph makes absolutely no sense since the sum of cases they've reported (as in when they report cases from sept 4th to the 18th) exceed the sun shown in that graph from the 4th to today.

Absolute BS.

Postby redmanjp » September 19th, 2020, 5:40 pm

So depending on whether your swab is the first or last in a batch determines whether u get results in 2 days or 2 weeks

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2020, 6:08 pm

Another male death and 114 new cases

FB_IMG_1600553224259.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2020, 6:22 pm

202 new cases reported today
217 new cases reported yesterday

jhonnieblue

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby jhonnieblue » September 19th, 2020, 6:38 pm

They need to stop this stupid phrasing of co morbidities.
Everyone has issues outside of the primary cause of covid.
They using that to try to lessen the perception of the failure to deal with the current outbreak

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 19th, 2020, 6:38 pm

Currently awaiting test results myself