COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6077 cases, 112 deaths, 592 active, 5373 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 17th, 2020, 7:42 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Wait so are you saying the mandatory mask wearing law isn't working, since we are getting cases regardless...as we open up more the cases will rise, more people interacting
redmanjp wrote:Even if we take out the prison cluster cases are going up again in the community. I'm afraid this is the beginning of the 3rd wave which might see restrictions by Christmas

Mask mandates help greatly, BUT they have to be worn properly EVERY TIME. Take a casual look at any group, and count how many you see with none, under their chin, below their nose etc.

Before we ever check how its worn...we need to check the type!!!!! 80% of masks out there are cloth which does nothing. Only a handful of people using surgical or n95

Quoted:

"Cloth masks have limited inward protection in healthcare settings where viral exposure is high but may be beneficial for outward protection in low-risk settings and use by the general public where no other alternatives to medical masks are available."

https://www.cureus.com/articles/38957-e ... ing-review

I still not risking it

Shrugs shoulders
guide-to-face-masks_orig.png

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6077 cases, 112 deaths, 592 active, 5373 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » November 17th, 2020, 8:15 am

North Dakota Hits Highest COVID-19 Mortality Rate In The World

South Dakota is close behind as residents of both states also have the lowest rate of face mask use.

North Dakota had the highest COVID-19 mortality rate of any other state or even any other country in the world last week, according to a shocking analysis by the Federation of American Scientists.

South Dakota ranked third-worst in the world.

Both states also have the lowest rates of face mask use in the nation.

The rates are what health experts would expect in a war-torn nation — but not in the U.S., the scientists said.

“How could we allow this in the United States to happen?” Dr. Ali Mokdad, a health professor at the University of Washington in Seattle, told USA Today. “This is unacceptable.”

It’s a situation “as bad as it gets anywhere in the world,” complained Dr. William Haseltine, president of Access Health International, who blamed state leaders for failing to adopt lifesaving health measures. 

North Dakota, which first hit the top of the FAS global mortality charts last month, tallied 18.2 deaths per million last week, and South Dakota had 17.4 deaths per million, according to the FAS analysis.

North Dakota finally moved last week to require masks in certain settings and imposed business restrictions. “Our situation has changed, and we must change with it,” Republican Gov. Doug Burgum said in a somber video message Friday after health care workers pushed for a mask mandate. 

But South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem, a Republican favorite of President Donald Trump, remains adamantly opposed to a mask mandate and frequently questions if masks are any use in preventing the spread of COVID-19.

She also welcomed mass gatherings in her state this summer, including the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally and the state fair — action Haseltine equated to manslaughter.

“The facts are simple: mask mandates, harsh lockdowns, massive testing and contact tracing haven’t worked — in the United States or abroad,” Noem’s spokesperson Maggie Seidel falsely insisted in an email Monday to The Associated Press. Scientists and medical and public health experts armed with actual evidence strongly disagree.

The University of Washington’s Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation’s  model predicts that under current conditions, total deaths in North Dakota and South Dakota will more than double by March 1. That means more than 3,000 more people are expected to die of COVID-19 by then in the two states with a combined population of fewer than 2 million people.

https://www.huffpost.com/entry/dakotas- ... D=ref_fark

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2020, 12:55 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Wait so are you saying the mandatory mask wearing law isn't working, since we are getting cases regardless...as we open up more the cases will rise, more people interacting
redmanjp wrote:Even if we take out the prison cluster cases are going up again in the community. I'm afraid this is the beginning of the 3rd wave which might see restrictions by Christmas

Mask mandates help greatly, BUT they have to be worn properly EVERY TIME. Take a casual look at any group, and count how many you see with none, under their chin, below their nose etc.

Before we ever check how its worn...we need to check the type!!!!! 80% of masks out there are cloth which does nothing. Only a handful of people using surgical or n95

Quoted:

"Cloth masks have limited inward protection in healthcare settings where viral exposure is high but may be beneficial for outward protection in low-risk settings and use by the general public where no other alternatives to medical masks are available."

https://www.cureus.com/articles/38957-e ... ing-review

I still not risking it

Shrugs shoulders

cloth masks were meant to protect others, not the wearer. if u want protection from anti maskers u have to wear n95s or at least a surgical one. though the cdc stated that it reduces the viral load so u more likely get a mild infection

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6080 cases, 112 deaths, 566 active, 5402 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2020, 1:37 pm

what d hell, nobody was wearing masks there or what

https://www.twincities.com/2020/11/17/over-900-mayo-staff-have-gotten-covid-19-in-past-two-weeks/

900 on Mayo Clinic staff have contracted coronavirus in last two weeks
All 32 beds in dedicated Covid ICU at Mayo are now full, clinic adding more beds

Mayo Clinic
By PAUL JOHN SCOTT | Forum News Service
PUBLISHED: November 17, 2020 at 6:11 p.m. | UPDATED: November 17, 2020 at 8:34 p.m.
ROCHESTER, Minn. — Over 900 Mayo Clinic staff have contracted COVID-19 in the past two weeks, according to a Tuesday briefing by Dr. Amy Williams, dean of clinical practice.

Williams said that 93 percent of staff who have contracted the virus did so in the community, and that the majority of those who contracted the virus at work did so while eating in a break room with a mask off.

“It shows you how easy it is to get COVID-19 in the Midwest,” said Willams, during an afternoon press call. “Our staff are being infected mostly due to community spread, and this impacts our ability to care for patients. We need everyone in the communities we serve to do their part to limit the spread of COVID-19.”

The 900 staff newly diagnosed with COVID-19 equals over one-third of the 2,981 Mayo employees diagnosed since the start of the outbreak. When you add in staff who are quarantined or taken offline in order to care for relatives, the clinic is currently experiencing a stable shortage of 1,500 staff systemwide, 1,000 in Rochester.

In other news, with 32 COVID-19 patients hospitalized in the clinic’s General Medicine ICU dedicated for the care of COVID-19, the clinic has filled all of its allotted ICU beds for the virus in Rochester, and is in the process of expanding that center by 12 to 13 beds.

“We have 32 COVID patients needing tertiary care, and that’s not good,” Williams said. “It tells us we’re in a surge.”

The clinic has 18 specialty ICU wards in Rochester total with multiple beds in each, but those floors are designed to treat a host of other patients whose numbers are not decreasing.

Williams said there are currently 73 patients hospitalized with COVID-19 in a non-ICU setting at Mayo, 255 system-wide.

In northwest Wisconsin, Mayo has hospitalized 79 COVID-19 patients, nine in an ICU. In southeast Minnesota, Mayo has hospitalized 11 COVID-19 patients, three in an ICU. In southwest Minnesota, Mayo has hospitalized 38 COVID-19 patients, five in an ICU. And in southwest Wisconsin, Mayo has hospitalized 22 COVID-19 patients, one in an ICU.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6080 cases, 112 deaths, 566 active, 5402 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 18th, 2020, 1:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:what d hell, nobody was wearing masks there or what

https://www.twincities.com/2020/11/17/over-900-mayo-staff-have-gotten-covid-19-in-past-two-weeks/

All 32 beds in dedicated Covid ICU at Mayo are now full, clinic adding more beds

Mayo Clinic
PUBLISHED: November 17, 2020 at 6:11 p.m. | UPDATED: November 17, 2020 at 8:34 p.m.
ROCHESTER, Minn. — Over 900 Mayo Clinic staff have contracted COVID-19 in the past two weeks, according to a Tuesday briefing by Dr. Amy Williams, dean of clinical practice.

Williams said that 93 percent of staff who have contracted the virus did so in the community, and that the majority of those who contracted the virus at work did so while eating in a break room with a mask off.

“It shows you how easy it is to get COVID-19 in the Midwest,” said Willams, during an afternoon press call. “Our staff are being infected mostly due to community spread, and this impacts our ability to care for patients. We need everyone in the communities we serve to do their part to limit the spread of COVID-19.”

The 900 staff newly diagnosed with COVID-19 equals over one-third of the 2,981 Mayo employees diagnosed since the start of the outbreak. When you add in staff who are quarantined or taken offline in order to care for relatives, the clinic is currently experiencing a stable shortage of 1,500 staff systemwide, 1,000 in Rochester.

In other news, with 32 COVID-19 patients hospitalized in the clinic’s General Medicine ICU dedicated for the care of COVID-19, the clinic has filled all of its allotted ICU beds for the virus in Rochester, and is in the process of expanding that center by 12 to 13 beds.

“We have 32 COVID patients needing tertiary care, and that’s not good,” Williams said. “It tells us we’re in a surge.”

The clinic has 18 specialty ICU wards in Rochester total with multiple beds in each, but those floors are designed to treat a host of other patients whose numbers are not decreasing.

Williams said there are currently 73 patients hospitalized with COVID-19 in a non-ICU setting at Mayo, 255 system-wide.

In northwest Wisconsin, Mayo has hospitalized 79 COVID-19 patients, nine in an ICU. In southeast Minnesota, Mayo has hospitalized 11 COVID-19 patients, three in an ICU. In southwest Minnesota, Mayo has hospitalized 38 COVID-19 patients, five in an ICU. And in southwest Wisconsin, Mayo has hospitalized 22 COVID-19 patients, one in an ICU.

You do know masks are not fool proof right?

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2020, 2:08 pm

hover11 wrote:

Mayo Clinic

yes but it should reduce infections- but it probably wasn't being worn by a lot of them

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 18th, 2020, 2:59 pm

hover11 wrote:

Mayo Clinic

that may be so....but it is your best bet. Also, what plays a contributing role is the volume of virus that enters your body. The more viral particles, the sicker you become. If masks had been taken seriously at the start of the pandemic, i guarantee you that virus would have been controlled early by China and it may not have even reached our part of the world

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 19th, 2020, 12:48 pm

https://youtu.be/Dvmj8tMUEzo
Prime minister need to play this at his next press conference.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 19th, 2020, 1:00 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Mayo Clinic

that may be so....but it is your best bet. Also, what plays a contributing role is the volume of virus that enters your body. The more viral particles, the sicker you become. If masks had been taken seriously at the start of the pandemic, i guarantee you that virus would have been controlled early by China and it may not have even reached our part of the world

Well it actually was, in Chinese and well Asian culture in general, mask wearing is norm for even the slightest news of an outbreak.

Why do you think S. Korea, Japan, Vietman, Thailand and Taiwan feared so well?

You know who you can 'technically' blame? Chinese (Wuhanese) tourists who didn't wear masks or westerns returning back home from Wuhan.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6180 cases, 113 deaths, 562 active, 5505 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2020, 1:52 pm

^ the ppl who silenced the doctors as well in the last weeks of december last year

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 6180 cases, 113 deaths, 562 active, 5505 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2020, 4:25 pm

53 cases from Nov. 16th-18th

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 19th, 2020, 4:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ the ppl who silenced the doctors as well in the last weeks of december last year

Well true dat too, so still mostly China but China contained it. The rest of the world did not.

Postby hover11 » November 19th, 2020, 5:07 pm

One thing which this has shown me is how easy a pandemic can be created even in today's modern society, it scary if something worse than this appears how would we cope
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^ the ppl who silenced the doctors as well in the last weeks of december last year

Well true dat too, so still mostly China but China contained it. The rest of the world did not.

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2020, 5:49 pm

hover11 wrote:One thing which this has shown me is how easy a pandemic can be created even in today's modern society, it scary if something worse than this appears how would we cope
Dohplaydat wrote:

it's a double edged sword- one one hand we have advancements in technology but on the other we have 1000s of planes flying everywhere in the world everyday which can spread it much faster than a century ago.

and yes, something worse can emerge like bird flu- it's not just how deadly, but how contagious it is. covid's mortality ranges between 1-3% but is so contagious it has killed way more than SARS-cov1 even though it was more deadly. (SARS-COV2 being covid) i hope that 'songbird' movie with covid-23 doh come to pass :shock:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 19th, 2020, 6:05 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:One thing which this has shown me is how easy a pandemic can be created even in today's modern society, it scary if something worse than this appears how would we cope
Dohplaydat wrote:

it's a double edged sword- one one hand we have advancements in technology but on the other we have 1000s of planes flying everywhere in the world everyday which can spread it much faster than a century ago.

and yes, something worse can emerge like bird flu- it's not just how deadly, but how contagious it is. covid's mortality ranges between 1-3% but is so contagious it has killed way more than SARS-cov1 even though it was more deadly. (SARS-COV2 being covid) i hope that 'songbird' movie with covid-23 doh come to pass :shock:

1-3% is the CFR (Case Fatality Rate) which uses confirmed cases. However, given that covid-19 is highly infectious and has many mild to asymptomatics (who would not have been tested). We need to use the term Infection Fatality Rate (IFR) to reflect closer on it's mortality rate which ends up being ~0.5%.....still bad but not THAT bad.

Keep in mind, an IFR that is closer to 2% would be disastrous.

Also, SARS-COV2 and MERs never had the virality of Covid-19 because (1) it was only really contagious when the person was experiencing symptoms (easier to identify and isolate at that point), (2) there were no mild to asymptomatics to spread it around and (3) I don't believe it was as easily transmitted as Covid-19 which has proven to be effectively airborne.

Postby pete » November 20th, 2020, 9:46 am

That's saying that the only thing to worry about is death and isn't considering all the other health complications associated with it. It causes a lot of damage to the body which may cause health complications both short term and later in life.

Even the flu increases risk of heart disease etc.

The goal of every country should be to try to keep that from happening.

Side note. After yesterday's update, using only the daily update data, our 7 day average has doubled to 34 from 17 cases a day on the 10th. This isn't taking into consideration the prison outbreak or repatriated persons.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 20th, 2020, 10:54 am

pete wrote:That's saying that the only thing to worry about is death and isn't considering all the other health complications associated with it. It causes a lot of damage to the body which may cause health complications both short term and later in life.

Even the flu increases risk of heart disease etc.

The goal of every country should be to try to keep that from happening.

Side note. After yesterday's update, using only the daily update data, our 7 day average has doubled to 34 from 17 cases a day on the 10th. This isn't taking into consideration the prison outbreak or repatriated persons.

Well that is interesting, good observation.

I've seen the usual pattern with this is steady but slow growth for 4 to 6 weeks then a sudden surge i.e. the exponential growth phase. Which unfortunately looks like it'll be right before Christmas. Dangerous situation ahead.

Postby K74T » November 20th, 2020, 5:02 pm

FB_IMG_1605906112994.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 -6261 cases, 113 deaths, 589active, 5559 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » November 20th, 2020, 8:28 pm

I took a quick trip to the mall yesterday for some Christmas shopping. What going on right now is madness - people liming in food court without masks, people walking around the mall with mask on chin, crowds at regular pre-covid levels, and the mall decorated up with large props and stages - forcing crowds into more limited spaces. I was legit disturbed by how people seem to have completely forgotten there is a pandemic going on.

This will not end well. What is happening in the USA is going to happen here. And we, with our shithole resources, will not handle it nearly as well.

Keith, end this now. Roll it back before it is too late.

Blaze d Chalice

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 -6261 cases, 113 deaths, 589active, 5559 recovered in T&T

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 20th, 2020, 8:33 pm

So we back on track then?

Postby redmanjp » November 20th, 2020, 9:06 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I took a quick trip to the mall yesterday for some Christmas shopping. What going on right now is madness - people liming in food court without masks, people walking around the mall with mask on chin, crowds at regular pre-covid levels, and the mall decorated up with large props and stages - forcing crowds into more limited spaces. I was legit disturbed by how people seem to have completely forgotten there is a pandemic going on.

This will not end well. What is happening in the USA is going to happen here. And we, with our shithole resources, will not handle it nearly as well.

Keith, end this now. Roll it back before it is too late.

at the moment the USA is handling it pretty bad actually- and millions of them are flying across states to gather for thanksgiving

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » November 20th, 2020, 9:41 pm

^ its well known that cases will boom in november and december due to the festivities. I think this will be globally. The UK had some discussion of banning people from visiting families over the holidays but i think the public backlash caused them to backtrack on that decision (the UK is reacting badly to restrictions you can see that the people there on the verge of rioting).

Postby K74T » November 21st, 2020, 2:38 pm

PM conference started

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2020, 3:28 pm

PM says Tobago hotels booked full for Christmas. Not good for Tobago.

Do not congregate for Christmas on order to allow school to open in January.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2020, 3:34 pm

No Xmas parties in the public sector.
10m for employees of the bar and entertainment sector.
Last edited by Dizzy28 on November 21st, 2020, 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » November 21st, 2020, 3:34 pm

^ doubt schools re-opening anytime soon. We saw it before. As soon as school opened for SEA some kids got infected. And that was just for one level of students. Imagine for all students. Imo school ain't re-opening until 2022 (i believe that we are carded to get the vaccine 8 to 10 months after the developed countries and even so that vaccine is for those at risk so we may not have vaccination to the level needed to reopen school till mid or late 2022).

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2020, 3:38 pm

Grants for employees of bars and restaurants

Postby K74T » November 21st, 2020, 3:46 pm

Hunting will be allowed by the end of next week. No extensions to the season, it will end at its normal time.

Postby adnj » November 21st, 2020, 3:49 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ doubt schools re-opening anytime soon. We saw it before. As soon as school opened for SEA some kids got infected. And that was just for one level of students. Imagine for all students. Imo school ain't re-opening until 2022 (i believe that we are carded to get the vaccine 8 to 10 months after the developed countries and even so that vaccine is for those at risk so we may not have vaccination to the level needed to reopen school till mid or late 2022).

T&T is a COVAX participant where percentages are delivered across all participating countries at the same rate.

"The vaccines pillar of the ACT-Accelerator, convened by CEPI GAVI and WHO, is speeding up the search for an effective vaccine for all countries. At the same time, it is supporting the building of manufacturing capabilities, and buying supply, ahead of time so that 2 billion doses can be fairly distributed by the end of 2021."

https://www.who.int/initiatives/act-accelerator/covax

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2020, 4:32 pm

They said around April we could get it