COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5194 cases, 93 deaths, 1599 active, 3502 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » October 17th, 2020, 7:24 pm

in the press conference today, they had a lady come on to talk about proper mask use.

the lady estimate about 1 in 10 people wearing mask correctly.

:drinking:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5194 cases, 93 deaths, 1599 active, 3502 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2020, 8:27 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:This thread real die down. Deaths went up by 2 bt yesterday and today. FB_IMG_1602897491944.jpeg

we hitting 100 next week
And 200 by year's end is projected.

about 170 if it's 1 a day. of course that is with current restrictions. if they open back up everything then yes we'll have more.

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2020, 8:34 pm

Kenjo wrote:No one really letting corona stop them anymore unless they are old people

some of those young ppl who have family members with commodities still need to be vigilant -tanty cud stay home all she want if she have family going out they cud bring it home to her. i sure that is how some of them dead already - they already confirmed at least 1 case like that.

Postby paid_influencer » October 17th, 2020, 8:55 pm

christmas will be the real test. fete and ham with a chin cover doh work.

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2020, 8:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:christmas will be the real test. fete and ham with a chin cover doh work.

i wonder what guidance MOH will give for Christmas lunch, family gatherings etc. none this year?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 18th, 2020, 2:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:christmas will be the real test. fete and ham with a chin cover doh work.

i wonder what guidance MOH will give for Christmas lunch, family gatherings etc. none this year?

I've seen so many countries and health bodies in Europe and UK advise on how to hold safe public gatherings. Quite simple really:

1. Have it outdoors and wear masks as much as possible
2. If eating or drinking, try not to have everyone eat at the same time, best case option is one person/family group eats at a time and everyone wears masks.
3. No hugging and kissing
4. Don't visit or have visitors if you're showing symptoms (obviously)
5. No large indoor gatherings.

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2020, 3:32 pm

^trinis not that disciplined. everybody go be hugging, taking off mask to eat, drink, etc. and not put them back on.

they should just say every household just have their own lunch and have a virtual link up with extended family via zoom or something- big holidays are going to cause problems 1-2 weeks later

i think the law on gatherings should apply to ppl visiting other ppl's homes - as it's not their property

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 18th, 2020, 4:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:^trinis not that disciplined. everybody go be hugging, taking off mask to eat, drink, etc. and not put them back on.

they should just say every household just have their own lunch and have a virtual link up with extended family via zoom or something- big holidays are going to cause problems 1-2 weeks later

i think the law on gatherings should apply to ppl visiting other ppl's homes - as it's not their property

That's true, but the best we can do is advise. They need to push this advice from now, especially for Divali too.

It's not trinis being delinquent, many just don't know what safety protocols to take. And many WILL gather for Christmas because you can't expect us not to celebrate. Especially after being locked down so long.

The Ministry of Health is failing big time in giving practical advice. Imagine after so long and pushing mask wearing they haven't told the public to wear masks while in office.

Them same PNM co-workers I have bad talking the Bayside party, while 10 of them crowd up in the office with no masks. And whenever I tell them, they say they being safe, because they wearing masks outside.......well yes.

We need to face reality, we need to live with the virus, not run from it.....because we can't Time for that done. We should have locked down hard when the first unknown sourced case was found. But no, we went ahead with elections like the dumbasses we are. We could have been like NZ which is now covid free again and just had their election. Now, we need to adapt to it.

Every single business can and should open, but mitigation strategies should be enforced. There was an entire ~20 page document given to gyms for their covid guidelines. Why create those guidelines if you're going to shut it down? Same for cinemas, bars, airtravel, restaurants etc.

We aren't getting a vacine for at least 6 months, and the level of risk we have right now will be no different 6 months from now.

Postby j.o.e » October 18th, 2020, 4:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:^trinis not that disciplined. everybody go be hugging, taking off mask to eat, drink, etc. and not put them back on.

Trinis ? If this virus has taught us anything is that people are more or less the same all around the world. World wide there has been low conformity with policies and laws to reduce to spread. Many places are significantly worse than us in terms of their behavior.

Postby matr1x » October 18th, 2020, 4:38 pm

trinis are a lot more disciplined than you realize

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2020, 4:44 pm

^ the majority yes, but a significant minority isn't. that minority is enough to cause spread large enough to overwhelm hospitals if we were to ease restrictions. Also at the MOH conference i believe it was said that in a certain place 1 in 10 ppl were wearing masks properly
Last edited by redmanjp on October 18th, 2020, 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » October 18th, 2020, 4:45 pm

matr1x wrote:trinis are a lot more disciplined than you realize

why don't they wear the mask properly then? why must 9 out of 10 trinis be told to pull up their mask when in a public place? the damn thing is not a chin cover.

Postby MaxPower » October 18th, 2020, 5:15 pm

Lol Slim,

Sure they are.

Only by force.

Nothing learnt.

Postby Country_Bookie » October 18th, 2020, 5:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
why don't they wear the mask properly then? why must 9 out of 10 trinis be told to pull up their mask when in a public place? the damn thing is not a chin cover.

Exactly! Worse yet is they feel ppl can't hear them when they talk with the mask on, so they pull it down to speak. Don't they realize they expel more particles when speaking? It just defeats the purpose of the mask.

Sadly once we have a lot of ppl wearing masks incorrectly, we won't be getting rid of the virus anytime soon in TT.

Postby matr1x » October 18th, 2020, 5:51 pm

Some masks are poor fits, and do not accommodate all face shapes. Its not rocket science

Postby Dizzy28 » October 18th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Plus 1 death
FB_IMG_1603060054560.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Exactly! Worse yet is they feel ppl can't hear them when they talk with the mask on, so they pull it down to speak. Don't they realize they expel more particles when speaking? It just defeats the purpose of the mask.

Sadly once we have a lot of ppl wearing masks incorrectly, we won't be getting rid of the virus anytime soon in TT.

perhaps Govt officials to blame for that, both locally and abroad when they are speaking they are allowed to remove their mask- even the MOH conferences. Now if you are a distance from everyone else it is less of a risk but of course trinis would come up close to you and still pull down dey mask to talk and expel droplets.

Postby goalpost » October 18th, 2020, 7:57 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

9 out of 10? That's 1.26 million people.

I srsly doubt.

Postby paid_influencer » October 18th, 2020, 8:12 pm

^ the 1 in 10 figure comes from yesterday's MoH press conference. a snippet is below:

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/you ... ium=social

also, masks should have 3 layers at the minimum, apparently.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5297 cases, 96 deaths, 1549 active, 3652 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » October 19th, 2020, 5:50 pm

so, if she lying, why did china arrest her mother?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5297 cases, 96 deaths, 1549 active, 3652 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » October 19th, 2020, 6:38 pm

only 1 new case today

122206829_10158548422505610_635423625338039411_o.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 8422500610

we reach! tomorrow might be 0 new cases!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 19th, 2020, 7:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:only 1 new case today

Yup :drinking: :drinking: time to re-open!!!

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2020, 7:18 pm

curve flat

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2020, 7:34 pm

where is ED and rSpan?

Postby Gem_in_i » October 19th, 2020, 7:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:only 1 new case today

But one more death

Postby MaxPower » October 19th, 2020, 9:07 pm

sMASH wrote:where is ED and rSpan?

Hello sMASH,

ED was banned a while ago for posting explicit content, in particular, Anal/BBC/interracial categories.

Many of us have reached out to rspann but have received no word.

I wish both him and ED a hearty return.

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2020, 9:43 pm

i always thought ed was his unc neighbor that he spoke about.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » October 19th, 2020, 11:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:so, if she lying, why did china arrest her mother?

She going to kill she self by 3 shots to the back of her head for disgracing the very good image of china with such false claims

Postby Kenjo » October 20th, 2020, 7:23 am

redmanjp wrote:
Kenjo wrote:No one really letting corona stop them anymore unless they are old people

some of those young ppl who have family members with commodities still need to be vigilant -tanty cud stay home all she want if she have family going out they cud bring it home to her. i sure that is how some of them dead already - they already confirmed at least 1 case like that.

Don’t blame the young people , you will hurt their feelings

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2020, 1:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:This thread real die down. Deaths went up by 2 bt yesterday and today.

we hitting 100 next week
And 200 by year's end is projected.

about 170 if it's 1 a day. of course that is with current restrictions. if they open back up everything then yes we'll have more.

200 deaths by year's end with restrictions is projected.Image