COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2020, 8:04 am

real pressure
fire, army and cg need to watch out too
as they live dorms all the time
unlike non trainee cops

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Aka the barracks^. Primary contacts and contact tracing list very ridiculous
Last edited by pugboy on September 1st, 2020, 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

fokhan_96

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby fokhan_96 » September 1st, 2020, 8:04 am

All this talk just to wear masks. Reminds a few years ago when they wanted to make it law to wear seatbelts. The older folks here would remember clearly. Same kinda shiet arguments people come up with... they can't breathe wearing seatbelts, it uncomfortable, it making them feel claustrophobic, it too tight, it cuts off circulation, some people are short so it does not fit them properly, the poor man cannot afford to install seatbelts in car, the fines too high for the poor man, you overburdening the children, etc. Now everyone wearing (or supposed to be wearing) seatbelts normal. Just like if you can't wear a seatbelt, then STAY HOME, if you can't wear a mask, STAY HOME.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 8:12 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Me here again with meh rumors. It is believed that quite a few trainees at the ttps academy have tested +. The necessary is being done to have them moved to quarantine facilities
Well, those numbers will get absorbed by the present count.

Would be binteresting to know thier source of infections, cause the Authorities are supposed to have the best practices with respect to the virus.

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 8:13 am

fokhan_96 wrote:All this talk just to wear masks. Reminds a few years ago when they wanted to make it law to wear seatbelts. The older folks here would remember clearly. Same kinda shiet arguments people come up with... they can't breathe wearing seatbelts, it uncomfortable, it making them feel claustrophobic, it too tight, it cuts off circulation, some people are short so it does not fit them properly, the poor man cannot afford to install seatbelts in car, the fines too high for the poor man, you overburdening the children, etc. Now everyone wearing (or supposed to be wearing) seatbelts normal. Just like if you can't wear a seatbelt, then STAY HOME, if you can't wear a mask, STAY HOME.
Wearing the mask is not the issue. Getting charged for nonesene is the issue.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 1st, 2020, 8:16 am

If you don't want to get charged, then wear your mask, or stay home.
sMASH wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:All this talk just to wear masks. Reminds a few years ago when they wanted to make it law to wear seatbelts. The older folks here would remember clearly. Same kinda shiet arguments people come up with... they can't breathe wearing seatbelts, it uncomfortable, it making them feel claustrophobic, it too tight, it cuts off circulation, some people are short so it does not fit them properly, the poor man cannot afford to install seatbelts in car, the fines too high for the poor man, you overburdening the children, etc. Now everyone wearing (or supposed to be wearing) seatbelts normal. Just like if you can't wear a seatbelt, then STAY HOME, if you can't wear a mask, STAY HOME.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 1st, 2020, 8:35 am

sMASH wrote:

I'm still not clear on whether my kids in the back seat have to wear masks
,,, but when we're home, no?

Postby sMASH » September 1st, 2020, 8:41 am

FrankChag wrote:
sMASH wrote:

The ordinance is, if only one person in a vehicle can be without mask. From two aand more, the all persons need to have on masks properly covering nose, mouth and chin. The if the persons are under 8 years of age, the the guardian will be charged. If the child is above 8 yrs, then the child can be charged if unaccompanied and eventually made to appear before the courts if it reaches that.

Ur own car is a pH taxi according to farris.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 1st, 2020, 8:42 am

fokhan_96 wrote:If you don't want to get charged, then wear your mask, or stay home.
sMASH wrote:
^^^ this.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 1st, 2020, 8:44 am

Is there a need for the kids to be out and about? Once they are home then this should not be a concern.

And if they really have to be out and about (which should not be really necessary), then to remove any doubt, have them wear the masks while in the vehicle.
FrankChag wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Postby Dave » September 1st, 2020, 8:52 am

As the old adage goes, always better to be safe than sorry.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2020, 8:58 am

Guys, if someone is under quarantine orders, how is the police able to verify that the subject(s) in a particular household, in a particular house does not breach said orders? Surely an officer won't be stationed at your residence right? Apologies if this was asked before.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 1st, 2020, 9:22 am

Nobody verifying sheit. Medical personnel will call to continue follow up and possibly visit depending on reported status.

Also some clarification on home quarantine from a buddy at SWRHA. This is for confirmed positives.

Positive patients now at home

14 days quarantine does NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT apply to you!!

Do NOT tell family you are all clear and invite them home after 14 days!!

You will be under a MINIMUM of 20 days quarantine from the day your symptoms began...

FIRST REQUIREMENT: 10 days after your onset of symptoms MUST have passed...

SECOND REQUIREMENT: Only then can we start counting asymptomatic days. Of course, If you still have ANY symptoms...We cannot start that count!! If you STILL have ANY symptoms do NOT say that you are symptom free please!! After those first 10 days you must THEN have a MINIMUM of 10 FURTHER asymptomatic days (WITHOUT using ANY medication)

That's how we get the MINIMUM of 20 days after your symptoms began

Quite likely MANY will need more than 20 days because remember, we can ONLY start counting those 10 asymptomatic days when you stop showing ALL symptoms...WITHOUT medication

If you still have symptoms do NOT tell Drs you are symptom free...

And for goodness sake do NOT tell your family that either and have them come over!!

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2020, 9:51 am

agent007 wrote:Guys, if someone is under quarantine orders, how is the police able to verify that the subject(s) in a particular household, in a particular house does not breach said orders? Surely an officer won't be stationed at your residence right? Apologies if this was asked before.

Hello agent007,

Hope all is well and safe.

This is exactly how community spread started.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » September 1st, 2020, 10:06 am

Morning fellas, anyone here still waiting on results after 14 days? My 14 up and when i contacted the center they stated they don't have my results at yet.

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 10:27 am

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Me here again with meh rumors. It is believed that quite a few trainees at the ttps academy have tested +. The necessary is being done to have them moved to quarantine facilities
Well, those numbers will get absorbed by the present count.

Would be binteresting to know thier source of infections, cause the Authorities are supposed to have the best practices with respect to the virus.

i know a senior officer who up to last week was walking into a food court on Edward St POS with no mask on. smh and d G4S guard let him in eh :roll:

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 10:31 am

pugboy wrote:academy where them living in shared dorm quarters ?

academies are schools and should have been shut down also

they fall under TTPS so essential service exception maybe- but they should by doing virtual wherever possible

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 1st, 2020, 10:43 am

14+, 3 deaths
118579946_3663405020355946_569706743514368398_o.jpeg
The attachment 118579946_3663405020355946_569706743514368398_o.jpeg is no longer available

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 1st, 2020, 10:45 am

14+
3 additional deaths
FB_IMG_1598971416422.jpg
FB_IMG_1598971421288.jpg

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 1st, 2020, 10:47 am

3 deaths wth

Postby redmanjp » September 1st, 2020, 11:01 am

^yeah and 6 more in ICU. seems that once u reach there crapaud smoke yuh pipe

also most seem to be males

Postby teems1 » September 1st, 2020, 11:39 am

sMASH wrote:
FrankChag wrote:
sMASH wrote:

The ordinance is, if only one person in a vehicle can be without mask. From two aand more, the all persons need to have on masks properly covering nose, mouth and chin. The if the persons are under 8 years of age, the the guardian will be charged. If the child is above 8 yrs, then the child can be charged if unaccompanied and eventually made to appear before the courts if it reaches that.

Ur own car is a pH taxi according to farris.

Police aren't mind readers. From a quick visual glance at your car, they can only tell if all the occupants are wearing a mask or not.

They cannot tell if you are

1) Working PH
2) same family in single home
3) extended family in single home
4) extended family in second home etc.

etc

If they can't tell those things, then it's safer to just wear the mask so they don't have to stop your vehicle and interact just to find out. It's safer to just wear your mask and remove all doubt.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2020, 11:58 am

:oops:
redmanjp wrote:^yeah and 6 more in ICU. seems that once u reach there crapaud smoke yuh pipe

Yes exactly, ICU is basically a death sentence, typically there is a 10% survival rate with Covid and ICU.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 1st, 2020, 11:59 am

jhonnieblue wrote:3 deaths wth

You're missing the far more important number here, only 16 new cases. Decline yo. We all good.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1773 cases, 25 deaths, 1063 active, 685 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » September 1st, 2020, 12:04 pm

I really lost track on how to read them numbers they does be posting on their press releases eh.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2020, 12:17 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:3 deaths wth

You're missing the far more important number here, only 16 new cases. Decline yo. We all good.

Backlog yo, my neighbor who is almost certainly postive was told she'd get her results on the 24th of August but is still waiting.

tropi_flakes

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1773 cases, 25 deaths, 1063 active, 685 discharged in T&T

Postby tropi_flakes » September 1st, 2020, 12:22 pm

The dates on the updates is messed up tho, I finally got tru with the Dr who did my test and she said no results came back as yet from that date " 18th August" so she's extending my sick leave to drop for my employer.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2020, 12:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:^yeah and 6 more in ICU. seems that once u reach there crapaud smoke yuh pipe

nah doh say that. meh padna father still there...They took him off the ventilator on saturday. Doctors said that's a good sign

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2020, 12:39 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:The dates on the updates is messed up tho, I finally got tru with the Dr who did my test and she said no results came back as yet from that date " 18th August" so she's extending my sick leave to drop for my employer.

My neighbor was tested on the 19th or 20th I believe and still no results

killercow

Postby killercow » September 1st, 2020, 1:11 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:The dates on the updates is messed up tho, I finally got tru with the Dr who did my test and she said no results came back as yet from that date " 18th August" so she's extending my sick leave to drop for my employer.

My neighbor was tested on the 19th or 20th I believe and still no results
And yet they continue to bullsh!t us daily in their press briefings. If it wasn't for this thread, I would have been completely oblivious to the sh!tstorm that continues to brew behind closed doors.