COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2020, 3:07 pm

they believe they have enough healthcare capacity to handle the virus

no adjustments coming

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » August 29th, 2020, 3:09 pm

"I want to tell you that that there is no scientific data now which requires us to make any more drastic arrangements but it does require that we stay on the pathway on the things we said we will do 2 weeks ago..." - Keith Rowley

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » August 29th, 2020, 3:20 pm

As soon as the man started talking I was seeing this in my head.
this-is-fine.0.jpg

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 3:28 pm

So if I am private car ...dropping one of my family member to work. Am I required to wear mask in the car?

Postby Chimera » August 29th, 2020, 3:29 pm

They say something about essential services only for public services

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2020, 3:41 pm

border exemptions like rain from next week

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2020, 3:49 pm

aaron17 wrote:So if I am private car ...dropping one of my family member to work. Am I required to wear mask in the car?

Yes. Unless your windows up with the AC, but i don't see how that's a guarantee of not getting contact with the virus. I wear a mask even though my AC is on because i try not to be complacent in my thinking and actions. And now i don't want a police officer knocking on my glass to admonish and charge me about wearing a mask, however they decide to interpret the law.

The virus is aerosolized and can spread just by an infectee breathing near you. There could be reside somewhere that you touched. Wearing a mask helps you not to touch your face too. You have anything to gain by not wearing a mask? Wear a mask once you're outside your house. Wash your hands with soap anytime you can.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 3:52 pm

so folks walking and running round savannah ?

eitech

Postby eitech » August 29th, 2020, 3:54 pm

pugboy wrote:so folks walking and running round savannah ?

Allyuh harden eh. If yuh outside in public space wear yuh mask

Postby goalpost » August 29th, 2020, 3:54 pm

This man playing up.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 4:08 pm

will be interesting to see them runners sweating it out with a wet mask

eitech wrote:

Zim

Re: Possible lockdown from Tuesday?

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2020, 4:11 pm

All dis modern tech & dey takin so damn long to make d cure????

Logic has left the chat

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2020, 4:14 pm

Hopefully this discourages people from going to the park to exercise.

I do my due diligence and bought a skipping rope I get a far better workout than going to the park and I also help stop the spread of this virus at the same time.

If you can't skip them walk around your house or your apartment google ways to exercise at home.

I am proud of the PM regarding his approach to managing this thing, as Maj Tom rightfully said this virus is here to stay it going NOWHERE, this is the new way of life so shutting down again makes no sense it would only bankrupt the country and actually turn us into Venezuela.

Seeing the good doctor speak today gave me a sense of pride knowing I elected this individual I feel safe in his hands. I hope the mask law passes soon, we need it NOW because I sick of telling people to wear a damn mask.

Postby Country_Bookie » August 29th, 2020, 4:50 pm

pugboy wrote:most of these expert doctor folks haven’t lived thru a true pandemic eh, their experience just marginally more than a reasonable intelligent person off the street who can read research on their own history.

eitech wrote:You can look at their “expert “ opinion that way or maybe they should have come out and say well we dont have a chance of not getting corona virus and by September this year we should have close to 1600 active cases and 20 deaths. It,s not that these ppl dont know but they withhold all the information to not cause panic. Whether it was the right thing to say at the time...idk. One can either withhold information or falsify it....same deception
You sound like a loyal Trevor Sayers customer

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 4:57 pm

#sarcasm bro
We were taught that in school

Country_Bookie wrote:
pugboy wrote:most of these expert doctor folks haven’t lived thru a true pandemic eh, their experience just marginally more than a reasonable intelligent person off the street who can read research on their own history.

eitech wrote:You can look at their “expert “ opinion that way or maybe they should have come out and say well we dont have a chance of not getting corona virus and by September this year we should have close to 1600 active cases and 20 deaths. It,s not that these ppl dont know but they withhold all the information to not cause panic. Whether it was the right thing to say at the time...idk. One can either withhold information or falsify it....same deception
You sound like a loyal Trevor Sayers customer

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 5:00 pm

What is a permanent method of not fogging up glasses due to the mask? Tape?
It(fog) blocks my view of driving.

Postby Dave » August 29th, 2020, 5:03 pm

Window cleaner with anti fog has worked for me.
Be careful with the ammonia and any treatment you may have on your lenses.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Key Points from Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley’s Media Conference on COVID-19 – Saturday August 29th 2020:

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley said there will be no drastic changes in Government’s COVID-19 response but measures implemented over the last few weeks and months will continue. They include:
- No in-house dining at restaurants and bars.
- All beaches to remain closed to the public (without exemptions).
- All places of worship to remain closed.
- Gyms to remain closed.
- No Team sports and contact sports.
- Water parks to remain closed.
- Casinos and Members Clubs to remain closed.
- Cinemas to remain closed.
- Gatherings remain limited to five people.
- Funerals and weddings remain limited to 10 people.
- Travel between both islands to be restricted unless it is absolutely essential.

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley noted that the Senate is currently debating the Bill to make mask wearing mandatory. He said if the Bill is passed, by Monday it would be illegal to be in a public place without a mask.

Maxi Taxi groups are expected to meet the Transport Minister on their concerns on limited passenger capacity.

For the next 14 days, in order to keep the population of moving people down as much as possible, the Public Service will be on "essential services only." This means more people will be working from home, utilising teleconferencing and other means in order to get their jobs done. Workers are reminded that they are NOT on vacation. Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram said Essential Services are being asked to implement their contingency plans now to ensure business continuity. He confirmed that three units in the Ministry of Health were down in the last few weeks due to matters related to COVID-19.

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley said there is life, and there is livelihood. He said Government is trying to preserve lives while keeping livelihoods going. He said the Government is not shutting down places "as a fashion."

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley: We are not expecting to eliminate the virus from the population. The virus is here with us, in all populations in the world. But we have to be in a position to have the health care response so the virus does not overcome us.

Prime Minister Rowley noted that there have been no COVID-19 related deaths at any of the Homes for the Aged. This is because the Government took steps to isolate this vulnerable group.

Prime Minister Rowley is to meet with the Minister of National Security to work on maximising exemptions for TT Nationals abroad to return home.

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley noted that T&T has been responding to the Coronavirus pandemic since January 2020. He assured the national community that measures over the past eight months are working.

Currently there are 76 persons hospitalised for COVID-19.
COUVA: 63 (6 in ICU, 10 in HDU)
CAURA: 13

The following is a breakdown of persons at Step Down facilities:
BALANDRA: 2
TACARIGUA: 2
UWI DEBE: 3
NAPA: 3

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said persons who live in close quarters with others and are unable to properly self-isolate can voluntarily come in to State-supervised quarantine. This applies to people who live in apartment buildings, small homes with limited bedroom/bathroom space.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh noted that health officials have always maintained that they wanted hospital capacity to remain between 60% and 75%. If they didn't take recent measures, occupation levels would have increased but new measures have ensured numbers have come down.

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley said he has been getting a lot of "aggressive advice" on COVID-19. He said no advice is ever dismissed but all adjustments have been made on scientific data.

National Security Minister Stuart Young: A motorist alone in their vehicle doesn't have to wear a mask while in the vehicle. However, family members traveling in a vehicle or passengers in PH/taxis/maxi taxis MUST wear their masks.

Courtesy TTT Live Online

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2020, 5:22 pm

So no cure invented yet?

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2020, 5:27 pm

So no cure invented yet?

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2020, 5:28 pm

"Currently there are 76 persons hospitalised for COVID-19.

NAPA: 3"

Daaaaaangggg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 29th, 2020, 5:33 pm

eitech wrote:

it still have A hole in the aranguez Savannah walking and running without mask. it had a red man GYM instructor with about 5 students in the same Savannah this morning and no one had on mask. idk how people dotish so. the AG shuda put a being dotish fixed penalty in the law books.

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 6:03 pm

Sooo for press conferences they will have to keep on masks?
The TV and radio announcers will have to have on masks?
Does it extend tour own family in vehicle?

I would really like to see the fines applied to the homeless. Cause they in breach of loitering ever since but nothing done.

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 6:05 pm

Dave wrote:Window cleaner with anti fog has worked for me.
Be careful with the ammonia and any treatment you may have on your lenses.
I dont have anti fog lens...and i am wary that it would affect seeing while driving.

Postby K74T » August 29th, 2020, 6:09 pm

68+

FB_IMG_1598738929695.jpeg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2020, 6:15 pm

Zim wrote:So no cure invented yet?

Hello Zim,

Dr Anthony Faucci said there is no cure and at most he is hopeful that a vaccine of 60% efficacy will be developed by the end of the year he says this is within a reasonable expectation.

He also says that when the vaccine finally arrives NOTHING will return to normal as the way it was. SOME restrictions can be lifted, however life as we know it will remain as a lockdown life with socializing being banned. What this means is a significant portion of businesses and jobs will be lost forever and humans will have to cope with it.

At 60% efficacy you still have an almost half and half chance of catching covid and it could still kill you. 60% is NOT very good but it is much better than 0%

We also need to prepare for other new viruses coming out of wet markets in Asia, Bill Gates has warned more Viruses are on the way some maybe worse than Covid 19. Which is why the regulations are here to stay, people are slowly realizing just what is happening to life as we know it. The masks being mandatory and constant hand sanitizing is a good thing it will not only eliminate the Norovirus and seasonal flu but help stop the spread of the upcoming viruses from China and Africa's Wet Markets which will make Covid look like a walk in the park.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 29th, 2020, 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2020, 6:16 pm

Zim wrote:"Currently there are 76 persons hospitalised for COVID-19.

NAPA: 3"

Daaaaaangggg

And just like that 700+ positive persons went poof. The curve is flat. Nothing to worry about.

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2020, 6:16 pm

aaron17 wrote:What is a permanent method of not fogging up glasses due to the mask? Tape?
It(fog) blocks my view of driving.

You're using the mask improperly. If hot air is escaping your nose and mouth to get up to the eyes, there isn't a proper seal at the top of the mask, or you're panting and gasping hard for breath. I don't have a problem with fogging unless it's extremely humid.

Every mask is supposed to have a flexible wire clamp on one side that molds to the shape of your nose. Mold it to fit snug on your nose bridge and press it down. You can then use surgical tape to secure it if it's still a problem. Breathe normally through your nose.

Your home-made cloth mask doesn't have this wire? Well who designed that mask?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 29th, 2020, 6:16 pm

sMASH wrote:Sooo for press conferences they will have to keep on masks?
The TV and radio announcers will have to have on masks?
Does it extend tour own family in vehicle?

I would really like to see the fines applied to the homeless. Cause they in breach of loitering ever since but nothing done.

Eh...GG will hold a news conference to say just because it pass in parliament doh mean is a law. He and he ociffers could only act on the law.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 6:18 pm

but them was shutting down sauce doubles saying the customer lines would be contravening health ordinance laws and ting

he even threaten to shutdown banks with pensioners lined up