COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 26th, 2020, 10:17 am

In our early days of the pandemic and during the press conferences/daily update, I seem to remember the MOH advising that quite a few PCR machines were being imported to be deployed to various locations.
What struck me at the time was how quickly there was a response of this nature and the training of techs to operate these units appeared well planned.
The question is how many of these testing sites are up and running as planned.
I am reasonably certain of my recall and can anyone advise any new infor.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2020, 10:18 am

Looks like moh reading through this thread...they finally releasing the 100+ figure....

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2020, 10:18 am

132 more allyuh

FB_IMG_1598451470330.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598451472570.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 10:20 am

wonder if we going for a double century today

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 10:22 am

that’s called the hot and sweaty phase

i remember terry had staff parading in the full ppe like a fashion show to say they well trained in wearing the gowns etc. all tv pappy show then

now is real hard knocks school

toyolink wrote:In our early days of the pandemic and during the press conferences/daily update, I seem to remember the MOH advising that quite a few PCR machines were being imported to be deployed to various locations.
What struck me at the time was how quickly there was a response of this nature and the training of techs to operate these units appeared well planned.
The question is how many of these testing sites are up and running as planned.
I am reasonably certain of my recall and can anyone advise any new infor.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 26th, 2020, 10:30 am

Up and up
FB_IMG_1598452215049.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598452217046.jpeg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 26th, 2020, 10:31 am

Over 100 cases in the morning. It begins. The end is near.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 10:41 am

sMASH wrote:
ron_28 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
ron_28 wrote:Some one where I work was tested on Monday the 10th, an only got their results on Monday the 24th, an it came back positive
So from the 10th to the results, they were moving normel?

when tested he was told to self quarantine. but who knows if he was moving normal. he wasn't showing any symptoms, he was a primary contact to a positive patient.
To sit down home for 2 weeks and not know nutten... Who supporting u, food income bills etc.

family, friends, etc should buy groceries for u. or do delivery where possible. we should perhaps make a list of supermarkets or other entities who do delivery of groceries & essential items so that ppl here would know they have options and not wonder out their home because they hungry. e.g. wieat i think is one. many bills can be paid online. i order kfc/dominoes pizza and they now have a portable linx machine so no worry about having cash

btw family should ideally mean extended family- as members of your household are exposed as well unless they take precautions.

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2020, 10:45 am

The nation got Played well and proper

Postby 88sins » August 26th, 2020, 10:53 am

132 more this morning. For a grand total of 1384

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2020, 10:54 am

The govt:
-They could have delayed election and campaigning...
-Introduced the mask law
-bring curfew 6-6
-rollback a phase earlier when a spike was detected
-maintain borders better (strange u eh hearing nothing about this now)

----------
We as a nation could have:

-follow warnings more and act on it

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2020, 10:55 am

Note: 5 icu and 9 hdu

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 26th, 2020, 11:05 am

Friends I would like to remind you all that even if wee reach 8000 cases before it starts to decline, this is still a drop in the bucket for a country with 1.4 million people.

We are doing fine, this is significantly less than the seasonal flu average

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 11:07 am

bro by the time we reach 2000+
the health system will be collapsing

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Friends I would like to remind you all that even if wee reach 8000 cases before it starts to decline, this is still a drop in the bucket for a country with 1.4 million people.

We are doing fine, this is significantly less than the seasonal flu average

Postby Les Bain » August 26th, 2020, 11:10 am

K74T wrote:More details on these 3

August 26th, 2020

MEDIA RELEASE

3 Venezuelan Teens – Persons of Interest
The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is searching for three Venezuelan teens who have been described as “Persons of Interest”.

The three broke quarantine while being housed at Canada Hall, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine, sometime between Monday night and Tuesday morning.

A nurse at the quarantine facility reported to the St. Joseph Police Station, that between 8 am and 12 noon on Tuesday 25th August, 2020, the three minors, ages 14, 15 and 17, failed to report for breakfast. Checks revealed they were missing.

Should anyone have information about their whereabouts, please communicate directly with ACP (Ag.) Wendell Williams at telephone number 237-3428, or any of the TTPS hotline contact numbers 999, 555 or report via the TTPS App or online via the TTPS website.

Corporate Communications Unit
August 26th, 2020
END

FB_IMG_1598451311471.jpegFB_IMG_1598451309462.jpegFB_IMG_1598451307138.jpeg

Most likely some slack Trini(s) knowledgeably housing them, screwing their teeth out (as rent) while them chicas coughing in their face.

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2020, 11:12 am

Hopefully the govt will implement something...

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 11:19 am

cmo relaxing discharge criteria
they want to let + folks go home quicker and self quarantine

like they panicking for bed space now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2020, 11:20 am

aaron17 wrote:Hopefully the govt will implement something...

Have to wait until friday and well maybe saturday

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 11:25 am

pugboy wrote:cmo relaxing discharge criteria

that would expose their families!!

it will spread more unless pl are strick about isolating in their own room.

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2020, 11:29 am

Everyone has to be exposed sooner or later.

I'll repost something i wrote earlier:

It doesn't end. Covid is here to stay as part of human existence, just like so many viruses in human history. HIV, herpes, chicken pox, the common cold, the flu, etc. This virus is new, extremely contagious and deadly. Just like Black Death (bacteria) and many other viruses when it first appeared.

Once we get a vaccine, the global population would be able to manage it fairly well within a decade as it's spread among humans and we all develop immunity. But think of it as the Flu in our global lives. It's always there, it's always deadly, and we will always need seasonal vaccination. Till then, fittest survive. We should come to terms with this sort of thinking. We are all going to get it sooner or later, maybe as "a common cold" or maybe as something deadlier.

Socialization at the level as we knew it is over for a while, and social distancing and the forced internet communication will end up pushing human communications technology another step further at a faster pace. Think about schooling models: we're witnessing a complete change in a social structure that existed for a century.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 11:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Hopefully the govt will implement something...

Have to wait until friday and well maybe saturday

they laying the mask law tomorrow- otherwise is only when the PM hold a conference then u can expect restrictions

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 11:35 am

terry relying on ttps to enforce home self quarantine, man keep repeating about tobago case steups

Postby mero » August 26th, 2020, 11:36 am

Have a sistren from Czech Republic.. she said its only mandatory to wear a mask on the tram. Ppl out and about at bars like normal..

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 26th, 2020, 11:47 am

this is how they plan to "bring down" the numbers of active cases to make the thing look good, but in reality there will be a lot of asymptomatic ppl outside, leaving the ones with underlying medical conditions vulnerable

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2020, 11:50 am

mero wrote:Have a sistren from Czech Republic.. she said its only mandatory to wear a mask on the tram. Ppl out and about at bars like normal..

That's because u don't need to wear it except in close proximity to others in doors. Bars though are still risky, let's not discount that. But their new cases per population are ~20-30 a day.....we're having 5 times that or more now.

This means this isn't a 2nd wave, this is our first real wave and we have no herd immunity. Remember how badly hit many countries were in March and April? That's us now.

It's also possible since Prague as a popular tourist destination, experienced it earlier before testing was rampant. And therefore, lots of the younger population may have been infected. So there might be some level of herd immunity there too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2020, 11:51 am

from the MoH press conference this morning in the presentation by the CMO
blue is July and purple is August

Screenshot 2020-08-26 at 11.50.48 AM.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2020, 11:54 am

ron_28 wrote:

this is how they plan to "bring down" the numbers of active cases to make the thing look good, but in reality there will be a lot of asymptomatic ppl outside, leaving the ones with underlying medical conditions vulnerable

This means they out of quarantine space like many were saying would happen this week or next.

The good thing is that people like myself who may have it quite mild will now actually go in for testing. I haven't gone because I don't need/want to be quarantined by the state. I live alone and I can safely isolate for 2 to 3 weeks.

Given the massive delays in testing though, it appears this won't make much of a difference in terms of infection.

I just hope persons who live with elderly parents, grandparents or others with risk factors can isolate properly.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2020, 11:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:from the MoH press conference this morning in the presentation by the CMO

Screenshot 2020-08-26 at 11.50.48 AM.jpg (25.35 KiB) Viewed 1337 times

That curved line looks like a running average, but how accurate are their test results as it looks quite different to the numbers being released daily.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 11:56 am

curve heading downwards
even an sea student could see we heading in right direction

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:from the MoH press conference this morning in the presentation by the CMO

Postby pete » August 26th, 2020, 12:00 pm

pugboy wrote:terry relying on ttps to enforce home self quarantine, man keep repeating about tobago case steups

The Tobago case he's talking about is the police officer who broke quarantine and was charged eh.