COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 24th, 2020, 3:14 pm

The present situation we are now faced with has sadly come as no big surprise.
I am trying to steel myself for the horror stories we are going to become party to over the next few weeks and there is no getting around the associated sadness.
The parallel health care system and our normal already weak system are now converging with covid19 victims getting into both simultaneously as a result of diagnostic breakdown and this is going to create a new dangerous opportunity for acceleration of the infection rate.
We must at this time not allow this virus to break our resolve to get control and place full focus on following the rules whilst taking time to work on motivating ourselves and those around us to commit to win.
Patriotism isnt something you hear too much about nowadays and maybe now is a time for real reflection about what this means.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1031 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 24th, 2020, 3:33 pm

So no press conference from the PM yet?

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2020, 3:34 pm

These countries have never reported a coronavirus case
By Hannah Frishberg August 24, 2020 | 1:21pm | Updated

These islands did what no other country managed to: Keep the coronavirus wholly out of their borders.

Across the globe, there are only 10 United Nations member countries with no recorded COVID-19 cases. All Pacific Ocean islands, they are the Republic of Palau, Micronesia, the Republic of Nauru (a microstate of Micronesia), the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Republic of Kiribati, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, the Independent State of Samoa, the Republic of Vanuatu and the Kingdom of Tonga, the BBC reported.

While the rest of the world fights the coronavirus, these assorted isles and archipelagos boast the honor of successfully managing to keep the novel virus at bay. But in order to do that, they’ve had to aggressively close their borders, and in the process, restrict tourism dollars vital to their economies and imperiling business owners’ livelihoods.

Still, even those looking at fiscal despair feel their government made the right move in temporarily sacrificing the economy in the name of keeping out COVID-19.

“I think they did a good job,” Brian Lee, co-owner of a nearly 40-year-old hotel on Palau, told the BBC of the government’s decision to functionally close, and keep closed, the republic’s borders since March. Still, if Palau’s borders do not soon open, even with the nation’s public financial support, he may have to shutter his business.

“I can stay for another half-a-year,” said Lee, who usually enjoys a 70 to 80% occupancy rate but now finds himself struggling to keep his 20-some-person staff busy. “Then I may have to close.”

The Marshall Islands anticipates losing over 700 jobs as a result of the pandemic, many in hospitality as well as the fishing industry, where strict quarantine restrictions have contributed to what some reports estimate as a 50% depletion in exports.

There remains a general consensus among experts, though, that prioritizing residents’ health over their wealth was the right move.

“Even if they kept their borders open, their major tourism markets of Australia and New Zealand wouldn’t be open, as they’ve locked down their own borders,” Jonathan Pryke, director of the Pacific islands program at an independent international policy think tank told the BBC. “If the islands had chosen to prioritize their economy, they would have the worst of both worlds — a health crisis and an economic crisis,” Pryke added.

While it’ll take years for society to decide what the best policies for handling the coronavirus were, Pryke feels confidently that “looking back, no one’s going to doubt that locking down was the right move by these Pacific nations.”

https://nypost.com/2020/08/24/these-10- ... heres-how/
Last edited by bluefete on August 24th, 2020, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2020, 3:36 pm

goalpost wrote:So no press conference from the PM yet?

The PM and wifey ALLEGEDLY took a private jet to NY over the weekend. Ostensibly for medical purposes.

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2020, 3:47 pm

Trinis need the Govt/PNM to tell them how and when to wear a mask?

Trinis need the Govt/PNM to tell them when to wash their hands?

Trinis need the Govt/PNM to lockdown the country to fight the spread of Covid 19?

Trinis could do anything on their own?

How much more must the Govt do?

If Trinis had learnt from the initial lockdown, we would not be in this position.

Stop blaming PNM/UNC.........blame yourselves.

Wear you mask
Wash your hands
Keep your distance
Stay Home

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10y friends31 cases, 15 deaths, 851 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
pete wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:My friend after 13 days just got her POSITIVE Covid-19 results today.

What kind of nonsense is this?! they take almost 2 weeks to get back results to a positive patient.

This friend here is mostly fine now, but her parents are sick and she told the MoH that over the phone. They said they'll try to fast track their results (I think they tested some time early last week). But it's kinda obvious they have Covid-19.

The system is slowly falling apart here.

Does she have any idea how she got it?

Yea she worked with a covid+ patient in the same office.

pugboy wrote:she need to do contact tracing on those 13 days

the ambulance reach as yet ?

Dohplaydat wrote:My friend after 13 days just got her POSITIVE Covid-19 results today.

What kind of nonsense is this?! they take almost 2 weeks to get back results to a positive patient.

This friend here is mostly fine now, but her parents are sick and she told the MoH that over the phone. They said they'll try to fast track their results (I think they tested some time early last week). But it's kinda obvious they have Covid-19.

The system is slowly falling apart here.

No idea, she just posted this update on our whatsapp group. But I'll find out. She is far more concerned about her parents being admitted. I'm hoping they are admitted given that it's quite obvious they are covid+.

in the mean time they will have no choice but to start treating themselves at home- especially if they are elderly or have health conditions- they should be taking some Vit. D (2000IU at least), C, Zinc.

also lying in prone position (stomach) would help if they begin to get breathing problems- of course if this starts to happen call 811- MOH said again this morning that for severely ill patients u don't need a +ve result o be admitted/

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 4:12 pm

better they try and get in the system before it overloaded next week

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2020, 4:24 pm

bluefete wrote:

The PM and wifey ALLEGEDLY took a private jet to NY over the weekend. Ostensibly for medical purposes.

Hearing that talk too but don't know how true that is.

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 4:28 pm

We need a TV camera to go in Caura & Couva hospital and show T&T what's going on especially those in ICU- of course blurring out faces to keep patient confidentiality. Just like some of these images from Italy in this song.

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2020, 4:30 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Hearing that talk too but don't know how true that is.
Dictators operate like that , but could be false

Postby maj. tom » August 24th, 2020, 4:34 pm

So it really was here since Carnival and just covered up by skewed and low testing numbers?
I suppose the "normal" deaths at hospitals since that time, were just recorded as "respiratory illness/failure," and could have easily been dismissed as non-covid. Deaths that were not part of the parallel healthcare system and undetected because of the low test numbers. Plenty people coming out and saying how they got really sick just after carnival, but never reported it. Plus how they were treating people like dog in quarantine later.

Sounds like conspiracy theory realm, but incompetence may be the better answer if it ever turns out to be true.
Last edited by maj. tom on August 24th, 2020, 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 4:34 pm

PM eh even supposed to be leaving he house now he still in quarantine

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2020, 4:36 pm

maj. tom wrote:So it really was here since Carnival and just covered up by skewed and low testing numbers?
I suppose the "normal" deaths at hospitals since that time, were just recorded as "respiratory illness/failure," and could have easily been dismissed as non-covid. Deaths that were not part of the parallel healthcare system and undetected because of the low test numbers. Plenty people coming out and saying how they got really sick just after carnival, but never reported it. Plus how they were treating people like dog in quarantine later.

Sounds like conspiracy theory realm, but incompetence may be the better answer if it ever turns out to be true.
Don't you feel cheated and conned

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 4:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:So it really was here since Carnival and just covered up by skewed and low testing numbers?

u talking about what we seeing now being related to Carnival? if what we seeing now was from carnival we would have seen it since community testing was introduced- but we went several weeks without 1 positive from that - besides this wave started last month- this virus spreading too fast to only now show up from all d way back in February :lol: we would have like 100000 cases by now but the first lock down would have taken care of any carnival cases plus the 20000 who rush and come in b4 borders close.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 24th, 2020, 5:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:We need a TV camera to go in Caura & Couva hospital and show T&T what's going on especially those in ICU- of course blurring out faces to keep patient confidentiality. Just like some of these images from Italy in this song.

I mean yeah it is a good idea, but the ones who thinks Covid is all a Hoax, no amount of video will convince them of anything. But atleast the right thinking people on the side of science will acknowledge just how serious of an illness this is.

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2020, 5:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:PM eh even supposed to be leaving he house now he still in quarantine

Actually, I forgot that. He did say he was going into quarantine.

Postby goalpost » August 24th, 2020, 5:24 pm

His quarantine suppose to finish today.

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 24th, 2020, 6:14 pm

They making up for this morning
118248970_3638969196132862_7162911321748856697_o.jpeg

tropi_flakes

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1099 cases, 15 deaths, 919 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby tropi_flakes » August 24th, 2020, 6:34 pm

The numbers are getting so consistent that I don't even feel the initial shock that I used to when the updates come out.....

Postby redmanjp » August 24th, 2020, 6:38 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:The numbers are getting so consistent that I don't even feel the initial shock that I used to when the updates come out.....

is like the murder toll- we get numb -that is until it hits home and someone in your family gets it bad

Postby 88sins » August 24th, 2020, 6:45 pm

A public announcement to all the tuners and the wider public at large in Trinidad and Tobago:
Good evening
It is with little to no regret that I am obligated to inform you that if you know me and or my family, and where I or my family reside, unless invited please cease and desist from visiting us if you were not invited or not expected. You will be effectively wasting your fuel/taxi fare and time, you will not be admitted to the premises. If you insist to enter the premises without permission, you will be considered a hostile invader and measures will be taken to encourage you to effectively terminate such actions. Measures may include but are not limited to actions such as being attacked and bitten by multiple dogs simultaneously (see the movie Django Unchained for examples), removal of your extremities from your person, perforations to the thoracic and cranial cavities, etc. These measures will come into effect immediately when your body or any part thereof passes the exterior of the fence & protrudes into the property by as little as 6 inches.
These measures have become necessary to protect us from potential exposure to and contamination with COVID-19. When these measures are no longer necessary you will be informed thusly.

Until such time, we hope you stay tay safe from COVID-19, and me and meh famalee
We bid you a good evening.

Postby paid_influencer » August 24th, 2020, 6:57 pm

anyone else thinking of going AWOL from work? I have enough in my bank account to last me a couple months.

I not brave/dotish enough to believe a mask and some sanitizer makes me immune.

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 7:08 pm

most definitely we all need to look at ways to reduce exposure risk.

Postby K74T » August 24th, 2020, 7:17 pm

FB_IMG_1598310975233.jpeg

Postby Ted_v2 » August 24th, 2020, 7:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:anyone else thinking of going AWOL from work? I have enough in my bank account to last me a couple months.

I kinda agree. i hearing some horror stories and from a nurse too

in a ideal world, i would of taken some time off and stay at home for a while... i however used some of my vacation and i have like 4 days remaining. :|

Postby 88sins » August 24th, 2020, 7:35 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:anyone else thinking of going AWOL from work? I have enough in my bank account to last me a couple months.

I kinda agree. i hearing some horror stories and from a nurse too

in a ideal world, i would of taken some time off and stay at home for a while... i however used some of my vacation and i have like 4 days remaining. :|

There's a thing I hear people talking about, they call it "unpaid leave" :lol:
If your employer is willing to give you such, and of course if you can afford it, you should consider taking it if you are at higher than average risk of contracting the disease.

Postby The_Honourable » August 24th, 2020, 8:02 pm

You need to go back to the first covid-19 death, Hansel Leon which up to now, MoH can't explain.

The Express learned Leon presented at the San Fernando General hospital on March 13, 2020. Leon came to Trinidad from New York on February 5, 2020 and fell ill long after the 14-day incubation period for the deadly virus.

Medical information in circulation stated the man had fever, cough, shortness of breath and loss of appetite for two days. It added that on admission to the hospital his temperature was 39.3 Celsius.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 949a5.html

Carnival was the 24th and 25th where relatives came down to stay with him. So is either he had it already when he came to Trinidad or more than likely, he got it from those same persons who stayed with him during the carnival period. Those relatives either came to Trinidad with it, or they got infected by another visitor somewhere locally where the relatives unknowingly got infected, went to his home with it and then departed T&T. Of course when you try to have this discussion, you are anti-govt, unpatriotic, religious fundamentalist or a racist because you don't like carnival or black man party.

With low and selective testing (even to deceased persons suspected of having the virus), covid was spreading but slowly and then we went into lockdown. We reopened and the spread continued. As testing began to ramp up and MoH was more liberal in their testing, we're finding more positive cases. We was suppose to lockdown or at least reverse phases when numbers started to go up in July. Elections more important as "covid management" was the only thing the government had going for them, the population was still anxious and scared, unc botched themselves trying to argue against the government's handling of covid and well... here we are.

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2020, 8:13 pm

i feel those yankee relatives came down with it asymptomatically
his timeline was rather long here

remember the airport was only doing a jokey verbal screening asking if you had visited china.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Low cost supermarket in cunupia get touch. One employee +. Im constantly warning you guys about Cunupia and environs

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2020, 8:43 pm

I hope this is not local and not true.

Last edited by bluefete on August 24th, 2020, 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.